Bad Bloggers on a Friday – 7/23/10

I’ve managed to keep the loot down to only six books this week. And it would’ve only been FOUR books if it weren’t for the two that walked in the house today :p But here’s what came into the house in the last week or so:

1. Sailing Alone Around the Room by Billy Collins – I’ve yet to read any of Billy Collins’ poetry, but I’ve heard wonderful things about it. Nancy, the Bookfool, made this one sound just irresistible , so I had to add it to my collection! Hoping to get to it sooner rather than later! Point to Nancy! (Paperback Swap)

2. Prodigal Summer by Barbara Kingsolver – Just because it’s Barbara Kingsolver and the lady who I got the above book from had it in her PBS inventory…so I got this one from her too 🙂 (Paperback swap)

3. Wild Roses by Deb Caletti – Another one that reminds me of Amanda’s trip down here in New Orleans…I love these covers to Caletti’s books because they remind me of that trip. And so Amanda gets a point for this one too! (Paperback Swap)

4. A Mango Shaped Space by Wendy Mass – I’m so excited about this one!!! Nancy reviewed this one recently too and it’s a book all about a young girl who meets a young boy and they both have synesthesia…something I’ve always been really interested in! Another point for Nancy. (Paperback Swap)

5. Veracity by Laura Bynum – And yet ANOTHER point for Nancy! You really racked up this week! I don’t remember much about this book except really wanting to read it after she reviewed it. And that it was post apocalyptic maybe? (Paperback Swap)

6. Scott Pilgrim Vol. 6: Scott Pilgrim’s Finest Hour by Bryan Lee O’Malley – This is my most prized possession of the week 😀 I’m a bit melancholy about this book but I guarantee you I’ll have it read (for the first time) within the next hour. It’s the last installment of the Scott Pilgrim comic series and I’ve had it pre-ordered since the day I could pre-order it. I just love this series so damn much and I’m so sad to see the last book released but so excited at the same time. (Bought it)

11 Responses

  1. Billy Collins is a poetry maestro – and that is one of my favorite collections.

  2. I hope you have more luck than I did with A Mango-Shaped Space… I didn’t like it all that much 😦

  3. Only 6?!! Are you having withdrawal symptoms? 😉

    I’ve never read Billy Collins either, but have heard such good things about his poetry that I really must give him a read one of these days. I love poetry, but am sort of limited in what I like. (Because I’m simply not sophisticated enough to “get” most poetry, I think. 😛 )

  4. I have to admit, I’m kind of with Ana on A Mango Shaped Space. I tried to read it but after a few chapters had to put it away. The synesthesia parts were interesting but it felt like too many types of syn combined. Plus the book was just really, really young, more like Morrigan’s age for reading, and I have a hard time reading books that young.

    On the other hand, Morrigan absolutely loved it and found it fascinating. I think maybe you just have to be in the right mood ot read it or something. He still has it on his shelf and I plan to give it another try when I’m in the mood for kid’s books.

  5. Wild Roses is a great book! Hope you enjoy it. 🙂

  6. Carrie, Awesome! That makes me even more excited to read it now 😀

    Ana, I vaguely remember you reading this one now. Oh no…I hope I like it!! From Nancy’s review, it sounded like something I would really enjoy!! I don’t know if I want to go back and read your review or not now :p

    Debi, I know!! I’m slacking here! I’ve flipped through the Billy Collins book and it looks like a winner to me! I’m with you my dear….I don’t really get most poetry either, but some of it just hits me like an 18 wheeler and it’s those poems that really stick with me.

    Amanda, Oh no!! Not two of you!! I’m hoping it works more for me than it did for the two of you!! Hopefully I’ll fall more on the Morrigan side of things :p I’ve always liked books for young people too, so it may work for me. I’ll keep that in mind though and read it when I’m in the mood for younger books!

    Megan, Awesome 😀 I’m really looking forward to that one. I’m looking forward to just reading some Caletti!

  7. I really enjoyed A Mango-Shaped Space, so hopefully you will too! 🙂

  8. I really liked Prodigal Summer. It’s my third-favorite Kingsolver book!

  9. Chris, I haven’t actually reviewed it yet 😛 I will next week or the following though. I’m with Amanda on it feeling very young. And that’s not a bad thing necessarily, but in this case… well, I’ll save the rambling for my review 😛

  10. Oh my gosh! Billy Collins…how do I love thee 😉

  11. Yay, blame points! And, now I’m all worried because Ana and Amanda didn’t like A Mango-Shaped Space and I apparently have the brain of a 6-year-old. Actually, I have no idea how old Morrigan is, but you know . . . I loved it. It’s definitely light reading, though.

Leave a Reply

