Saturday Farmers Market – 7/17/10

I managed to make it outside through the seemingly endless migraines that I’ve been having all week. Don’t know what the hell is going on with these things. Maybe it’s the heat. Maybe it’s just headaches. But I thought I’d just curl up in my bed with an ice pack and type up a Saturday Farmers Market post to let everyone know what’s going on in my little garden! For more posts like this, head over to Heather’s site for this fantastic new feature. And if you have your own garden, went to the farmers market, or just made something fresh…consider adding your own link!

This is the most exciting thing for me of the week. It seems that pepper season is finally coming back in Louisiana!! I have blossoms all over my four pepper plants and look! There’s an actual bell pepper growing πŸ˜€ This may also be attributed to Herman the wasp (yes I’ve named him) who’s been hanging around the garden still. He’s become my little pet. He likes it there. Maybe he’s pollinating the plants, I don’t know. But I’ll finally have bell peppers!! I’ve been waiting since freaking May!

The black eye peas that I planted last Sunday have not only already sprouted, but they’ve done considerable growing! I’m surprised at how fast these little guys have grown. I planted 13 of them and 10 came up. So not bad. One of them got eaten by slugs immediately, so it looks like I’ll have 9 black eye pea plants. And they’re actually in season down here right now. I’ve finally gotten on track with what has to be planted when down here thanks to the Louisiana agricultural guide I found. So hopefully for now on I won’t be planting spinach in July…which doesn’t work by the way…it’s an October veggie in New Orleans.

And of course, I couldn’t let a garden post go by without sharing my okra with you :p My favorite plant. I’ve been harvesting these little guys like crazy!! On any given day, there are probably four or five on the plant just about ready to be picked. And they’ve been huge lately!! Bigger than my hand from the top of my forefinger to the base of my palm. What I’ve been doing is just chopping them up and keeping them in a freezer bag and eventually we’ll have some kind of giant okra dish πŸ™‚ And yes, I am a dork and labeled that bag “Chris’ garden fresh organic okra” :p Because I’m just so darn proud of it :p

And finally, I wanted to share this new tree that I bought today with you all! It’s so gorgeous!! I went to Perrino’s which is this incredible garden shop that we have here and I fell in love with this the second I saw it. It’s called a Duranta “Sapphire Showers” tree. The purple blossoms smell like warm honey vanilla and they have these little lemon yellow balls all throughout them too. They attract bumble bees and butterflies and the bees just completely ignore humans πŸ™‚ They’re cute. It’s like they’re hypnotized by the plant. I could just sit and stare at this plant all day! Anyway, the guy at Perrino’s said that if you plant this, it could grow to be 8 ft. tall, but you can put it in a pot (like I plan on doing) and keep it trimmed and it’ll stay nice and ornamental sized. Isn’t it gorgeous? I’m hoping it’ll bring some bees to the backyard to help pollinate my veggies too!

So that’s my post for the week! How does your garden grow?

9 Responses

  1. Yay for peppers! The garden looks great and that tree is lovely.

    I’ve been having terrible headaches because of the heat too. I want to do so many things outside but if I’m out too long that’s it.

  2. Chris, thanks for stopping by my blog! I have some book recommendations for you. Mostly about gardening…

    There is, of course, The Secret Garden.

    But the one I love, love, love the most–though it is a flower garden–is Mandy by Julie Edwards (aka Julie Andrews).

    I’d also recommend Squashed by Joan Bauer–the heroine in this one grows pumpkins.

    There’s also Me and the Pumpkin Queen by Marlane Kennedy.

    I also wanted to recommend another book to you. One I think you would REALLY love…Boneshaker by Kate Milford.

  3. Other Chris, Yay for peppers indeed πŸ™‚ Isn’t the tree great? I love it!! I’m sorry to hear that you’ve been having such bad headaches too 😦 I feel bad for anyone that has them 😦

    Becky, Oh wow!! Thank you so much for the recommendations πŸ˜€ I just knew you’d have some good ones!! I’m going to add them all to Paperback Swap!!

  4. On top of all the good food, some of your photos look like art prints, Chris!

  5. I love your garden, and that you like it so much! glad to find out the name of that plant: Duranta β€œSapphire Showers” tree. I’ve never heard of it before! It really is gorgeous!.. and you have a pepper!!! woohooooo for the pepper!!!! lol
    I am sooo sorry you are having so many migraines..that really concernss me. I hope they stop soon… you need a break!

  6. Beautiful! I love your pretty new tree, and I hope your peppers get bigger than mine. Our banana peppers get big and beautiful, but our bell peppers stay small–but they’re still delicious. I have one tiny little tomato on my hanging tomato vine, so I’ve got my fingers crossed that more will follow!

  7. Okay, I just can’t decide what’s my favorite thing in this post–Herman? or your gorgeous, gorgeous new plant? or your “Chris’ garden fresh organic okra” baggie? I love it all!!!!!! πŸ˜€

  8. Isn’t that little pepper the cutest thing ever? And that okra looks to die for. Gotta ask–do you like pickled okra? Seriously so good. I made special mention of you on my blog today.

  9. Amanda, That’s totally just because of an app on the iphone called Camera Bag :p I can take no credit for that one, lol.

    Deslily, Isn’t that a gorgeous tree??? I’m totally in love with it!! I still just keep going out to play with it and smell the flowers. I wish there was a way I could give you a clipping. The guy at the store said that if you plant some of it, you can grow another tree from it. And yay for the pepper!! Good news on the headache front…none today!!! πŸ˜€

    Andi, This pepper is growing like crazy!! I hope it keeps it up. It doubled in size over night and has a nice big stem. I had two peppers on my cajun bell and kept thinking they would get bigger so I left them on there and they eventually rotted 😦 I should’ve just picked them small 😦 Our tomatoes eventually just got dug up and composted. It was too hot for them. It’s too hot in louisiana for pretty much every flowering plant. The pollen gets tacky and the plants can’t pollinate. But I did just plant new tomato seeds for the Fall πŸ˜€

    Debi, Those are all my favorite things πŸ˜€ Herman continues to hang out in the garden. He follows me around, always keeping his eyes on me. Isn’t that tree incredible?? You should see if you can find one :p And yes yes…I’m a nerd with my okra :p But I love it!

    Trish, It is quite cute :p It’s getting bigger now! The okra is delicious and yes I LOVE pickled okra!! I’ve thought about pickling some actually. Next year for sure as I plan on doing a lot more okra. I love pickled anything. Well…vegetable wise…I stay the hell away from pickled pigs feet :p And thanks for the blog award πŸ˜€ I saw that but hadn’t made my comment rounds yet!! About to go do that now!

Leave a Reply

