In Honor of Orpheus

I’ve become a bit infatuated with music lately. Well, one can say that I’ve always been infatuated with music, but I’ve fallen back into it like I haven’t in awhile. And that’s a very good thing. By this, I mean I’m once again stalking bands, downloading rare tracks and live editions, praying to the gods that they’ll come to my town. That sort of thing. Music had become something that I just listened to in the background for awhile and had forgotten to experience and I didn’t like that. It’s always been a passion of mine, but I missed being passionate about it. I happen to be bored right now and listening to music…and Ana posted about going to a festival today….and I happened to find an old quiz she did on her last.fm profile, so I’m going to take it and pass some time by filling it out here based on my top 25 artists from my last.fm profile :p

1. What was the first song you ever heard by 6? That would be Kaki King. The first song I ever heard by her was just recently actually…it was “Falling Day” from her new album. After hearing that song, I went and downloaded two of her albums and instantly fell in love with her stuff.

2. What is your favourite album by 2? Radiohead! Oh god…I have to pick just one album?? I think I’d probably pick Amnesiac…or would I pick Kid A? Hmmm…No, I think it would be Kid A, actually…we’re going with Kid A!

3. What is your favourite lyric that 1 has sung? The National. I just love the lyrics to all of “Conversation 16” from their new album, but the imagery in these lyrics in particular just gave me chills the first time I heard it:

I’m a confident liar
Had my head in the oven so you’d know where I’ll be
I’ll try to be more romantic
I want to believe in everything you believe
I was less than amazing
Do not know what all the troubles are for
Fall asleep in your branches
You’re the only thing I ever want anymore

4. How many times have you seen 11 live? Sufjan Stevens…gah, never!! But I would LOVE too!!

5. What is your favourite song by 7? The Radio Dept. This changes daily really, but I really love “Messy Enough”

6. What is a good memory you have involving 20? Yeasayer. πŸ™‚ I haven’t even been listening to them for but a year, but I have so many good memories attached to them already and they’re all mostly with my ex, Megan. We were broken up but we’re still friends and we used to just drive around in the car listening to them on sunny days with the windows down. They just remind me of that. Drinking coffee in the car, chatting and singing.

7. Is there a song by 3 that makes you sad? Tori Amos. Oh Tori. She’s been there for me through so much. She could never make me sad, but I associate a lot of her music with rough times because she’s gotten me through a lot of rough times. A lot of the hardest times of my life. Especially her Under the Pink album….When I was kicked out of high school, I just put Under the Pink on repeat and listened to it over and over and over again.

8. What is your favourite song by 19? Vampire Weekend. Walcott.

9. How did you get into 22? Amanda Palmer πŸ™‚ Funny story. I had listened to The Dresden Dolls awhile back not even realizing that Amanda Palmer was the lead singer until just recently when I started listening to her solo stuff. And then Neil Gaiman started hanging out with her awhile back (eventually getting engaged to her) and I discovered her solo stuff and put two and two together. I like her solo stuff better than The Dresden Dolls, personally…it’s absolutely incredible to put it frankly. And she has a freaking cover album of Radiohead tunes on the ukulele coming out!!!! And she just rocks πŸ˜€

10. What was the first song you heard by 21? Sigur Ros….oh god, I have NO idea…it was something when they first came out. I remember seeing them on some HBO special right after they came out. The song may have been Svefn-G-Englar. It was a live set of theirs and I was literally freaking hypnotized by their music. Just completely blown away. And I’ve continued to be blown away ever since.

11. What is your favourite song by 4? Beach House. Again, this changes daily, but right now, it’s “Norway”.

12. How many times have you seen 10 live? Florence + The Machine. NEVER! But this is changing soon πŸ˜€ I’ll be seeing her at Voodoo Music Fest Halloween weekend πŸ˜€ If anyone wants to come down, its’ going to be an awesome festival and it’s Halloween in New Orleans!

13. What is a good memory you have involving 13? Regina Spektor. One of my favorite memories involves her song Eet. I was at work and this girl that I had a crush on started singing “Eet” (which is a beautiful song) very quietly at her desk. And I joined in at the chorus with her :p We’re really good friends now and she rocks. And she has an awesome voice.

14. Is there a song by 23 that makes you sad? Sia. Hmmm…Yes. “Breathe Me” can make me incredibly sad sometimes depending on how I’m feeling already. It’s just one of those emotionally draining, desperate feeling songs.

15. What is your favourite album by 15? Broken Social Scene. The new one! Forgiveness Rock Record…it’s so good!

16. What is your favourite lyric that 9 have sung? Bon Iver. Hmmm..probably Flume, though so many of his lyrics are beautiful…here are some lyrics from the beginning of flume:

I am my mother’s only one
It’s enough
I wear my garment so it shows

Now you know
Only love is all maroon

Gluey feathers on a flume
Sky is womb and she’s the moon
I am my mother on the wall, with us all

I move in water, shore to shore;
Nothing’s more

17. What is your favourite song by 8? Feist. Easy…I think it always will be “Intuition” Not that I don’t love everything she’s ever done, but that song nearly always brings me close to tears.

18. What is your favorite song by 16? Jonsi. This fluctuates too..but of his solo stuff, I cannot WAIT to see “Grow Til Tall” live!!!

19. How many times have you seen 5 live? Placebo! Just once and it was such an incredible show!! Brian Molko is so cute πŸ™‚

20. What is your favourite album by 12? Neon Indian. Seeing as they only have one, I’ll have to go with Psychic Chasms.

21. What is a good memory you have involving 25? The Arcade Fire. Hmm…I can’t think of a specific good memory, but all of the Funeral album just brings back really good feelings for me. I love how music has the power to do that!

22. What was the first song you heard by 18? Local Natives. First song I heard was their first single, Wide Eyes, which is really awesome! You should check it out πŸ™‚

23. What is your favorite album by 24? Jeff Buckley. Grace, of course. Just one of the greatest albums of all times and I’ve bought three copies of it to date because I continually wear them out. What an amazing man he was and I wish I could’ve had the chance to see him.

24. What was the first song you heard by 14? Edward Sharpe and the Magnetic Zeroes. “Home”! OMG it’s such an awesome song!!! Seriously, if you haven’t heard this song yet, you really have to go download it. Just try to be sad while you’re listening to it….I dare you!

25. What is your favourite lyric that 17 have sung? JBM. Honestly, I can’t give you a favorite lyric, because I just got to know his stuff!! I saw him open up for Rogue Wave and Avi Buffalo a couple of months ago and he was absolutely incredible! I got to meet him after the show and he was such a nice guy too. He’s from upstate New York and there’s a lot of talent there.

I’d love to see other people do this meme too!! If you don’t have last.fm, maybe use your top 25 itunes artists? I don’t know how you would make it work, but you should totally do this! And if you do have last.fm, add me as a friend πŸ™‚ Just click on my profile link on the top of this post.

7 Responses

  1. Of those artists, I only know and like . . . one. Jeff Buckley. I’m on a Jack Johnson and NewWorldSon kick, right now. But, the thing in this post that grabbed me eye was that you got kicked out of school. Really? Why? Just curious. It’s okay if you don’t want to tell me, though. I think my eldest has put his 5-day suspension for fighting well and truly behind him and I would never bring it up.

    Just FYI, my little fur buddy just tried to climb up to the window behind me (we have some weird, high windows in two of the bedrooms) and I had to peel her off the wall. She was hanging by her claws. Now, she’s having a luxurious bath (the “I’m totally unfazed by the fact that I was hanging with my claws embedded in a windowsill, just moments ago,” look).

  2. Just posted mine, had loads of fun with this! πŸ˜€

  3. This was so incredibly fun to read, Chris! Though it made me feel really freakin’ old. πŸ˜‰ And you know–you really made me want to go play “Home”…and I think I will, along with the rest of the album. πŸ˜€

  4. I’m not sure how I’m going to do this, since I don’t know what .fm is!! lol I do have a playlist on my MP3 player so I might try that. I enjoyed reading your answers very much, Chris! I know what you mean by music being so powerful and moving. I have whole albums that I’ve played at times in my life so that if I hear a song from them, it takes me back instantly to that time. The power of music πŸ™‚ Love this meme, thanks to you and Ana!

    PS when did you get kicked out of high school? not you!!

  5. Nancy, I didn’t know you were a Jeff Buckley fan πŸ˜€ Very cool πŸ˜€ You actually DID know that I was kicked out of high school πŸ˜‰ You just don’t know that you remember that :p But I posted about it on my original blog way back in the day and I went back and found the post…here it is: http://chrisa511.blogspot.com/2007/05/8-things-about-me-meme.html Fiona is so damn cute!!!

    Darren, I had loads of fun reading your post!!

    Debi, Glad you had fun reading the post πŸ™‚ And you are so not old Debi!! Stop saying that! Plus, you like some of these bands now too πŸ˜‰ Glad you got a dose of “Home” in today πŸ™‚

    Susan, last.fm is such a fun site!! It’s a social networking site sort of all based on music!! It’s really great! And you could just do this based on the first 25 artists that pop up on your MP3 player! I’d love to read your answers πŸ™‚ That would be loads of fun!! The story behind the high school thing is here: http://chrisa511.blogspot.com/2007/05/8-things-about-me-meme.html

  6. Thanks for the link, Chris! As I was reading your post (and my response), I thought, “Oh, yeah. I remember that and that and that.” Like, I remembered you were goth but I’d forgotten I told you about Jesus in the alarm clock, but then I remembered I’d shared that story.

    Have you ever read Doomsday Book by Connie Willis? I’m reading it, at the moment (forsaking all those ARCs I should be reading because a book copyrighted in 1996 called my name). If not, you must. I can’t put that sucker, down. This must be my year for chunksters. It’s about 600 pages.

    Your okra is beautiful. Hope you don’t mind if I comment on that here. πŸ™‚

  7. THEY CLOSED WITH WALCOTT πŸ˜€ It was so awesome. And they played Diplomat’s Son and Giving Up Your Gun one right after the other, which made me think of you. And I jumped liked there was no tomorrow during all of A-Punk and Oxford Comma πŸ˜€ I’d SO love to see them with you one day. We should add “going to a music festival together” to our list of things to do before we die.

Leave a Reply

