Bad Bloggers – 7/13/10

I actually feel good about this Bad Bloggers post, because even though there are 11 books here, I get to blame so many other people for them :p Nearly every single one of them comes with a point attached to it! I’ve had a lot of luck lately with Paperback Swap. It seems that I go in and out of phases of luck over there. I’ll have these long dry spells and all of a sudden I’ll get like 15 books within a week! Then it’s just a matter of finding shelf space for them all :/ Anyway, here’s what walked in the house this week:

1. Germinal by Emile Zola – Who do you think of when you think of this book? Can you guess who’s getting the point for this book? Well if you guessed Amanda from The Zen Leaf, then you are right :p I won Amanda’s blame game and she asked which book I would like and I told her it had to be Germinal because when I think of books who’s praises she has sung, this is the first that pops into my head!! Now she is getting a point in MY blame game for this one :p This is a very circular thing….(Gift from a friend)

2. Field Notes From a Catastrophe by Elizabeth Kolbert – This is a title that I’m extremely familiar with, but that I haven’t had the super strong urge to go out and pick up yet…that is until Debi told me that, really, I must read it. And when Debi talks, I listen πŸ˜‰ So she shall get a point for this one! (Paperback Swap)

3. Nomansland by Lesley Hauge – This is an ARC that I won from Amanda when she was giving it away on Twitter! I don’t know much about it aside from it’s a dystopian book and I’m guessing from the title that it’s about an all women society! (Giveaway win)

4. Seedfolks by Paul Fleischman – Well, if you read this blog, then you already know that I absolutely adored this book. I reviewed it a few days ago just a few hours after receiving it in the mail from Debi (who’s getting a point for this one as well). A lovely book about a community of different ethnic backgrounds brought together by a community garden started by a young Vietnamese girl. After Debi told me about this one, I was going to get it anyway, but she went out and got it for me πŸ™‚ (Gift from a friend)

5. Cold Comfort Farm by Stella Gibbons – I got it! I finally got it!! Ana has been trying to get me to read this one for awhile now. Ever since she read it and it sounds just so delightful and wonderful. For some reason, I could never find it at Barnes and Noble. Well I got a copy on Paperback Swap the other day! Now the only question is…can I get it read before the end of the 1930’s mini-challene? Or is that already over? :/ Point for Ana! (Paperback Swap)

6. The Enchanted Places by Christopher Milne – Another one that I just had to read after Ana reviewed it. Ok..so what book don’t I HAVE to read after Ana reviews it. Seriously, sometimes I’ll literally laugh aloud because it seems like everything she reads I add to my wishlist. We should just start a “Nymeth Reading Challenge” Who’s hosting it?? We can call it “Reading Means A Lot” or something like that :p Anyway, this book was just such a treasure when I got it because it’s out of print and has wonderful pictures of Christopher Milne with his father, A.A. Milne in it from when he was a child. I couldn’t believe it when I got a copy on PBS! Point to Ana. (Paperback Swap)

7. The Color Purple by Alice Walker – *sigh* Another point for Ana. This one came as a recommendation by Ana as well after reading Push by Sapphire. It was a book that I didn’t think I’d ever really read. Until I read Sapphire, actually. This book is brought up in Push a few times, and after Ana told me I should read it, I really became interested. And so it went onto my wishlist. I’ve flipped through it already and it just looks amazing! (Paperback Swap)

8. Migraine by Oliver Sacks – It’s Sacks talking about Migraines….it has to be good :p Looks like some of the info may be a little bit dated as it’s an older books but I’m still really looking forward to it! (Paperback Swap)

9. Cycler by Lauren McLaughlin – I’ve been wanting to read this one forever! Becky reviewed this one awhile back instantly putting it on my wishlist. It’s about a person who cycles between being a male and a female. Sounds really interesting. Point to Becky! (Bookmooch)

10. The Annotated Lolita by Vladimir NabokovLolita is a book that I have yet to tackle! But it’s one that I’ve always wanted to read. And then I got to talking to Drew Ferguson, author of The Screwed Up Life of Charlie the Second and just an awesome guy, and he recommended the Annotated version of it to me. Said that it’s excellent. So it’s been on my wishlist for awhile now and I’ve finally got my hands on it! Point to Drew Ferguson! (Paperback Swap)

11. Bean Blossom Dreams by Sallyann Murphey – When Carl talked about this book, I knew it was one that I just had to read. He said that it’s one that he’s read several times now and it sounds like something that’s right out of my alley. From what I’ve read, it’s about a family raising and growing their own food, producing for themselves and documenting it all and talking about the process and the emotions and tales behind it. And there’s a few recipes in the back πŸ™‚ It looks like just a good old fashioned book πŸ™‚ Point to Carl (Paperback Swap)



11 Responses

  1. Yay you got Lolita!! I love that book and I’m really due for a second reading of it. Maybe I’ll read it in 2011, exactly a decade after the first read! And just recently I got interested in Cold Comfort Farm because of some comments my friend Kim made, where she compared one of my short stories to that book. :O So of course I have to check it out now.

  2. Your Bad Blogger posts are always so dangerous for ME, too. I feel as this one is chock full of classics, you should have no guilt- obviously you are improving yourself!

  3. I knew the second I saw Germinal that it must be Amanda!

  4. Germinal is such a powerful book. I now want to read Seedfolks thanks to you! And I really really want to read Field Notes from a Catastrophe (don’t remember where I first heard about that one.) I just got a copy of Enchanted Places from Paperback Swap myself! (My points are getting low there, I haven’t sent out any books in a while…)

  5. I’m co-hosting a read-a-long of THE COLOR PURPLE this month – you should join in! I found the book surprisingly easy to read and finished it in just a few days. I’d love to hear your thoughts on it and to have you join the discussion. If you’re interested, basic details are here: http://age30books.blogspot.com/2010/07/color-purple-summer-read-long.html And I’ll be posting optional discussion questions on 7/15. πŸ™‚

  6. Great list! I totalllyyy want to read Germinal and for a stupendously shallow reason. Simon the bum reads it in one of my fave movies: With Honors. I’ll read anything Simon reads.

    Enjoy all the goodies!

  7. Okay, now I’m just not speaking to you because I didn’t get a point for Field Notes from a Catastrophe. I am so bummed.

    But, I’m kidding about not speaking to you, of course.

  8. Amanda, I did! I got Lolita πŸ˜€ I probably won’t have even read it by next year :p So if you want to do a buddy read, let me know! I’ll read it with you if you want. Just let me know when you start it! That’s awesome that one of your stories got compared to Cold Comfort Farm! It sounds like such an awesome book.

    Aarti, I like to think that any reading I do is improving myself :p But I know what you mean, lol. For me, classics are normally a major challenge. For some reason I have this irrational block that I’m too dumb for classics until I get into them…I just need to read the RIGHT classics. They’re not all for me, but some of them definitely are!

    Stephanie, You’re absolutely right πŸ™‚ Really looking forward to that one!

    Jeane, Oh good! Glad to hear good things about Germinal from you too πŸ™‚ Oh I can’t wait until you read Seedfolks, Jeane. You’re just going to love it so much, I promise you! And yay yay yay for The Enchanted Places πŸ™‚ Doesn’t it just look wonderful?

    Heather, I have to admit that you’re totally part of my motivation for wanting to read The Color Purple too!! Trust me, I’m well aware of your read along πŸ˜‰ I really want to join in but just don’t know if I’m going to have the time..I know I could read it quickly but I have so many other book obligations going on right now!! I hate when that happens :/

    Andi, LOL…Trust me, I think I’ve had much shallower reasons than that :p I think that’s a pretty cool reason πŸ˜‰

    Nancy, I’m sorry!!!! Seriously, I could blame SO SO SO many people for Field Notes…like I said, it’s been on my radar for so long and so many people have reviewed that one! But it was Debi that pushed me over the edge :/ If it makes you feel any better though, you have TWO points coming to you shortly :p

  9. Chris, I just finished The Color Purple. It. Is. Excellent! You’ll love it, swears!

    Now I want to see this giant okra! πŸ™‚

  10. ooh, does that mean I get a partial bad blogger point?! LOL

  11. Yay, The Color Purple! It’s one of my favorite ever books in all the world. It’s amazing to me how Alice Walker manages to address so many different things–race, gender, sexuality–so beautifully in such a short book. I hope you love it!

Leave a Reply

