Saturday Farmer's Market – 7/11/10

Yes, yes, I know it’s Sunday, but my internet sadly went down all day yesterday and is just coming back up, so I missed the Saturday Farmer’s Market which is hosted by Heather, so I’m posting on Sunday. Hope you all don’t mind! There’s really not too much to report on this week. At least not picture wise, so excuse the not too exciting pictures. They’re exciting to me, but I doubt they would be to anyone else :p

I love this picture for so many reasons. I swear, next year, I’m doing at least 3 okra plants. This year, I only did one. It’s been by far my biggest producer, but the only thing is, you need SO MUCH okra to do a dish that I still haven’t gotten enough to do a dish of okra. I could fry some up and why I haven’t yet I have no idea. But right now, I have half of a freezer bag full of chopped okra. I’m getting there. What I love more than anything about the okra plant though is the beautiful flower that it puts out before the okra comes. I just wish the blossom lasted longer. This blossom will only stay open for about 6-8 hours, then it falls off and behind it is a little tiny okra 🙂 I’d love to have a whole row of these blossoming! It always makes me so happy when I see the flowers open. The other morning I went outside and there were THREE of them open! I’ve noticed that my biggest insect pollinator on my okra seems to be ants! They’re my new best friend. They crawl up and down the stalk all day.

I have another new insect friend on my pepper plants! Can you find him? He’s the cute little wasp on there. I swear I never thought I’d say those words, but look what gardening has done to me. He let me get so close with my iPhone too to take this picture. Couldn’t be bothered by me. Different than any wasp I’ve normally seen around here too. The reason I’ve been waiting for these is that I’ve heard they’re about the only way you get rid of armyworms which I’ve been fighting for over a month now!! They eat everything. These wasps will lay their eggs on the back of them and when they hatch they kill the worms. They’ll also destroy other BAD insects and they’re good little pollinators, so for the first time in my life, I’m glad to see a wasp! And he’s just been happy as can be going from one pepper plant to another all day 🙂

My little sunflower bed is doing well too. This is about three weeks since I planted the seeds, so I’m happy. The only thing that makes me sad is that some of them have been eaten down to just the stem by armyworms 😦 I pick them off and drown them when I can find them, but sometimes they do their damage when I’m not around. Hopefully my new wasp friend gets them. I have no clue if these will thrive and eventually flower, but it’s fun seeing if they will or not.

In other gardening news, the eggplant seeds that I planted for the fall sprouted yesterday. I planted three and all three came up! So I’m going to see which one does best and pick the other two. I’m only going to keep one in the garden…I only have a 4×4 garden after all…mom won’t let me dig up any more :p All of the carrots that I planted last weekend are starting to poke their heads up out of the ground! I have little tiny green sprouts that look like grass peeking out of the ground. So that’s good news too!  In the bean garden, I planted some black eye peas yesterday. About 12 plants. I read in my Louisiana Gardening guide that now’s the time for southern peas and those are my favorites…so instead of buying them, I just pocketed a few while shopping at whole foods yesterday 😛 It was only 12!! I swear I would’ve bought them if I could find them, but I couldn’t find them for sale anywhere!

And as for keeping it local, me and my brother went shopping uptown yesterday and came home with these delicious treats 😀

There’s a little place on Magazine St. called Be Sweet Cupcakes that sells gourmet cupcakes and well…who can pass up a place like that. I have no idea what the name of the one I got was, but it was a chocolate cupcake with buttercream icing and reeses pieces! My mom got a Drew B’s Cupcake (get it?), my brother got a Kickin’ it Old School cupcacke (vanilla with chocolate frosting), and my sister got a Holly’s Mint cupcake (chocolate with mint icing). They were delicious!!

That’s all for this week!!

11 Responses

  1. that okra blossom is really beautiful..sad that it only lasts for a few short hours!! I’m jonesing for one of those cupcakes now!!!

  2. You make me want to plant some okra! I think I would like it if I could get it fresh. I’m learning a lot about bugs from you :o) This will be helpful if I ever plant something besides herbs. I’ve got a lovely rosemary bush. It really seems to grow well here and, seriously, you can’t kill it. And it smells so good. Thanks for posting the picture of cupcakes. Cupcakes are one of my favorite sweets!

  3. I am in awe of anyone who is able to describe a wasp as “cute.” 🙂

    I also love okra!

  4. I agree with Aarti. I can’t imagine a wasp ever being cute, or that I would ever be happy to see one!

  5. Staci, Isn’t it? It’s one of my favorite flowers and it’s a veggie! The cupcakes were deeeeelicious 😀

    Terri, You should totally plant some okra! It’s such a cool plant to begin with, grows really well and it tastes so much better fresh than the frozen stuff. I’m learning a lot about myself from bugs as I go :p I’m constantly on the internet trying to find out what the hell is in my garden. And the cupcakes were to die for! They’re definitely my weakness 😉

    Aarti, I would’ve said the same thing about wasps a year ago, lol. I used to (and still am really) be scared to death of them! Mmmm….I love okra too! Any good recipes? The only three ways I know how to cook it is stewed down with okra, in a seafood gumbo, or fried!

    Amanda, LOL…I hate them still if they’re outside of my garden, but I’m learning to respect them a bit more :p

  6. Wow, I’d love some of that mint chocolate cupcakes! And while I’m happy, really for your backyard garden (looking forward to seeing you harvest carrots) I have to admit I’m not a fan of okra. Ok, that’s an understatement. I hate okra 😛

  7. oh wow.. i never knew Okra flowered like that! most at those tiny yellow flowers.. it is very pretty, but I still don’t like Okra lol.

    that’s not like any wasp I’ve ever seen.. in fact the way the wings are it looks like those nasty fruit flies that bite but what do i know? whatever it is I hope it helps your garden!!

  8. Chris! The garden! It’s gorgeous!

    I went out last night and picked more tomatoes and okra and there was a new bloom. I was like, where were you yesterday so I could have gotten a picture of you? They are so pretty! I had no idea they were so pretty, I love them too! I can’t wait to see your sunflowers.

    And the cupcakes look divine! *drool*

  9. I just posted about our Farmer’s Market, on my blog, but we didn’t have any Okra, that I noticed. I will now keep my eyes out for one next week. Oh, and thanks for the cupcake craving. I don’t know if I can make it through the day without one now. 🙂

  10. Wow, look at your gardens! You’re Mr. Green Thumb!! Not me. I’m miss hide-from-the-heat, this year, now that half of what I planted died. I’m going to have to do a better job of picking out someone to water my plants, next time I leave town. Yeesh. He was supposed to pick up parcels off my porch, too, and there were SIX when we got here. Don’t think that fella looked for packages at all.

    Those cupcakes look like some major noms!!

  11. I’ve come to like the little wasps in my garden, too. You could try protecting your baby sunflowers with a plastic cloche (that is, if the armyworms aren’t hiding in crevices in the soil during the day, in which case you’d just trap them in with your plant). Take a plastic bottle- from water, juice, whatever- and cut the bottom off. Leave the cap off, so the plant can breathe. Set it over your plant. Be sure to take it off when it’s real sunny, or the leaves will get scorched. Sometimes I just put them on at night and take off during the day, until the plants are big enough to fend for themselves. Hope that helps some!

Leave a Reply

