Saturday Farmer's Market – 7/3/10

Heather the Capricious Reader has made things a lot more fun šŸ˜€ I’ve been doing the Backyard Produce Section here for a couple of months now and hoping that other people would start posting garden pics, posts on sustainable living, farmers market stuff, cooking posts, etc. Well, she’s made a weekly post for it!!! I’m so excited! She’s started the Saturday Farmer’s Market! Complete with a Mr. Linky for your posts and everything. And she has some gorgeous pictures of her own garden up there. So please join in!

My own little garden is not so exciting in pictures this week, but it’s exciting for me because of all the new stuff that’s starting! Last week, I planted a bunch of sunflower seeds in the ground and they’re already sprouting up. It’s always exciting for me to see seedlings coming out of the ground. In the back row (the “mammoth’s) all but one of them came up…these will grow to be 10 – 12 feet tall at their full height! And there are tons of smaller “autumn colored” sunflowers popping up in front that will grow to be 4-6 feet tall. I just keep picturing how pretty these will be when they come to bloom.

The one plant that continues to produce like crazy despite the heat is my okra! It seems to really like the heat. I pick at least one okra off of my plant every day. I can let this one get a little bit bigger before I chop it off. The only thing with okra is that you need a LOT to make a dish with it. Unless you just want to pickle it. So what I usually do is just chop it up and add it to a bag that I keep frozen. When I get enough I’ll make a dish with it! Or we may fry some soon…yum šŸ˜€ I loooooove fried okra!! So freaking good. I also love the smell of fresh okra when I’m cutting it. Smells so good. I’ve probably gotten about 15 of these so far and they’re far from stopping!

I was about to give up on all of my peppers when my jalapeno plant did this šŸ™‚ And it now has a couple more that look like they’re going to grow. I’ve just had horrible luck with my peppers this year šŸ˜¦ I haven’t gotten ONE bell pepper out of my three plants. I just started too late. It’s been too hot for them. But I’m going to leave them in the ground and hope to get some during the cooler months coming. The other little bell peppers that I did have growing ended up rotting on the plant and never got any bigger šŸ˜¦ But the jalapeno surprises me every now and then with a few peppers!

No! These are not weeds! I dug up the whole back row of my garden and planted some root veggies and these are my turnips coming up šŸ˜€ I planted 16 of them and 14 came up, so not too bad! I suppose I could actually plant two seeds in the other two places, huh? And next to that, I planted two square feet of carrots where my two cherry tomato plants were (too hot for them right now :()Ā  It’s just sad when you can’t grow tomatoes. The good news is that at the end of July, it’ll be time to plant tomatoes again for the Fall!!! And I’m going to get started early this time so that I actually have time to grow them! I have to learn how to garden in the heat. Next year I’m starting in January, I swear…not waiting until May šŸ˜¦

I also planted some eggplant seeds for the Fall crop today as well as put a zucchini plant in the ground that I started from seed last weekend! It’s already come up and has three leaves! So how’s your garden doing? I’d love to hear about it. And if you do a post, link it up over on Heather’s blog!!!

6 Responses

  1. Chris! Your excitement! It is contagious!

    I love that you planted sunflowers. I looove sunflowers! They are so pretty. And the okra! YOu are so right. I have picked 3 so far and like you, I’m just chopping them up and adding the to the freezer for later. I hope I get to cook a batch soon; we love the fried okra too. So yummy!

    I just went out a minute ago and picked 4 more tomatoes, with several more that will be ready soon. That has been one of the most fascinating things, seeing everyone’s posts this year – how different the growing season is for all of us. You can’t have tomatoes yet because it’s too hot, while I’m starting to get them now! I’ve seen where some are getting strawberries, when that season has been over for about a month here! It’s just so interesting! I need to figure out what to plant where my oregano was…it’s a huge metal tub and that oregano just had it’s last season I’m afraid. It will be too woody if I let it grow another year. šŸ˜¦ It’s been a good one, I’m sad to see it go!

  2. I love sunflowers. I just planted some (probably too late for here) but they haven’t come up yet. Look at your peppers! It’s nice to see new stuff coming up already, where you had to clear the ground.

  3. Awwww.. my son the farmer!! I always love to see and hear what you are doing outside!! I look forward to your pics each week Chris..

  4. Oooo … sunflowers. Someday I must plant some of those. I got so excited about the strawberries I got this week at farmers’ market that I posted a picture of them. They are soooo good. Who needs candy??

  5. Heather, I’m totally loving watching the sunflowers come up! They grow so quick! They’re like 5 inches tall already and were just planted a week ago! You should totally plant some šŸ™‚ I think my okra has been my favorite plant of the year so far! Which is a big surprise to me. I wasn’t expecting that at all. It started out so puny and I thought it was just going to die, but I just love it! The flowers are just so pretty and I love watching them grow. And yes indeed on the fried okra! I love watching all of the different growing seasons too!! They’re so much fun to watch. And would you know, I had cut back all of my strawberries and I just saw a new one growing on my plants today!!

    Jeane, Oh, I hope your sunflowers do well šŸ˜€ I have no idea if mine will actually flower or not, but at least they’re growing!! I’ll be so happy if they do. I planted a few more today because some of them didn’t come up! I just wish I would actually get some peppers on my plant!! I get some jalapenos here and there, but no bells šŸ˜¦ And yep, I love seeing new stuff come up šŸ™‚

    Deslily, Yep šŸ˜€ Your son the farmer!! The urban farmer :p I know you enjoy the posts! That’s one of the reason that I keep putting them up!!

    Terri, I just love sunflowers so much. They remind me of when I was a little kid. My uncle used to plant them and they looked like alien flowers to me!! But they bring me back to my childhood. Oh, I just love strawberries!! I’ll take some candy šŸ˜€

  6. Yay! My bell peppers are REALLY small, and they don’t seem to be growing beyond the 2-inch mark, so maybe it’s the heat doing it. They’re large enough to make an omelette, so maybe I’ll have to be happy with that. My jalapenos are blooming like CRAZY, but that’s as far as they’ve gotten. Same with my serranos.

    Yay for okra! I love the smell while cutting it up, too.

Leave a Reply

