Bad Bloggers On A Friday

It’s looking like it’s time to do a round-up of all of the books that have made their way into my house again :p Once they hit that over 10 number, my brain goes into “oh crap, better get the bad blogger post up and then get them filed away” mode. What do you do with your books once they come into the house? Do they just sit in a pile for a long time or do they get filed onto the shelves? I’m a bit of an organizational freak, so mine get filed onto the shelves alphabetically by author’s last name after my bad blogger’s post goes up. And here’s what will get shelved away shortly (at least what’s not going back to the library):

1. The Sandman Vol. 5: A Game of You by Neil Gaiman – I’m in the middle of my reread of the Sandman series of graphic novels and I’m up to the halfway point now of the main series with A Game of You! I’ve really been wanting to review these, but I just don’t know how…I think I may just start writing small comments on the series here and there. That may work…sort of essay posts or something. (Library)

2. Junk Beautiful by Sue Whitney – This is not my normal fare of book and I don’t have any redecorating going on right now, but after seeing Carl’s recent post on this book, I realized that you don’t have to have redecoration going on to enjoy this type of book. I’ve already thumbed through this and it’s incredible!! I plan on spending time with it and actually reading it. Amazing ways to reuse old things. Point for Carl. (Library)

3. Ishmael by Daniel Quinn – A few weeks ago I was venting about the oil spill and vegetable gardens and the environment and on what man has done to the world to my friends Ana and Debi in an email and Ana asked me if I’ve ever read Ishmael. I said no. She told me that it was one of Dewey’s favorite books and that I’d probably really enjoy this one. And so I ordered a copy πŸ™‚ And I’m giving a point to Ana AND Dewey for this one! (Paperback Swap)

4. The Unicorn Sonata by Peter Beagle – One of my best finds EVER on Paperback Swap. This is such an amazingly beautiful book!! First of all, it’s a unicorn book by Peter Beagle which makes it automatically awesome, but you should see the production of this book! It’s just amazing. Gorgeous full color paintings all throughout. And it’s in brand new condition. Can’t wait to read this. (Paperback Swap)

5. Giant Bones by Peter Beagle – Another Beagle that I’ve been wanting to read for a long time now! I thought it was funny that I got this one on paperback swap in the same week from a totally different seller after they’ve both been on my wishlist for so long now :p I was a happy boy this week! (Paperback Swap)

6. A Woman of Independent Means by Elizabeth Forsythe Hailey – Another fantastic sounding Ana recommendation that I was lucky enough to find on paperback swap! I’ve had such awesome luck over there lately!! Hope this streak keeps up πŸ˜‰Β  Point for Ana (Paperback Swap)

7. Animythical Tales by Sarah Totton – I just reviewed this one! If you scroll down to the post just below this one, you’ll see that πŸ™‚ This was such a beautiful book and I keep thinking about it! I love books that stick with you likeΒ  that. I so wish that Ms. Totton would publish a novel….or just another collection of short stories…basically I’m just selfish and want more stuff by her to read :p (review copy)

8. The Case of the Missing Books by Ian Sansom – This was a total random request of mine on Paperback Swap! I’ve never heard of this book before. It’s part of a series of mysteries called the Mobile Library Mysteries. Doesn’t that sound like fun? I figured that if it’s horrible, I didn’t pay for it, but it sounds like fun! So I’d give it a shot. (Paperback Swap)

9. The Thin Man by Dashiell Hammett – Here’s another one that I got for Ana’s 30’s mini challenge which is now almost over 😦 I figure I’ll eventually read it anyway though, so that’s a good thing! The point is that I read something from this time period! This one came recommended by Amanda at The Zen Leaf and Yay! I have a copy now πŸ™‚ Point for Amanda! (Paperback Swap)

10. Stories ed. by Neil Gaiman and Al Sarrantonio – So FREAKING excited about this one….and no, I still haven’t read any more than the intro 😦 but I’ll be reading more of it tonight I’m thinking!! For those who don’t know, it’s a collection of short stories by some of today’s most amazing authors. (Bought it)

11. The Dark House Book of Hauntings by Various – This is a graphic novel anthology that Dark Horse put out awhile back with so many awesome people contributing to it! Like P. Craig Russell, Mike Mignola, and Jill Thompson among others. And of course the stories are all about hauntings! Looks really great! (Paperback Swap)

12. In Cold Blood by Truman Capote – Finally! I’ve gotten my hands on this one..now we’ll see how long it takes me to actually read it. It was Ana that convinced me to actually read this one and Vivienne who pushed me over the edge to finally get it…so I guess that Vivienne technically gets the point for this one! (Paperback Swap)

10 Responses

  1. Okay, so I’ve read the first one and the last one…now I just need to get my hands on all the ones in the middle. πŸ˜‰ Seriously, you made an awesome haul this week! Most want–Stories! Oh, and Carl got me too–I have Junk Beautiful on order from the library. πŸ™‚ And Ishmael–I really, really want to read that, too, thanks to Ana. *sigh* So many great books out there. And The Dark House Book of Hauntings–I’d never heard of that before and now I must find it too…

    And you know, I pretty much do the same as you–as books come into my home, I pile them up by the computer until I get around to writing a blame post. Then they go to the library and get shelved alphabetically by author. (Except for non-fiction, which sort of get grouped by subject–history, science, memoir, etc.) Of course, you can see for yourself in just 54 days!!!!! πŸ˜€

  2. I want to know what you’ll think of Giant Bones. I tried it a few times and just couldn’t get into it. And I did love The Last Unicorn so.

  3. How do you manage to keep enough shelf space free to accommodate your books in alphabetical order? When I get new books, I usually keep them separate until there’s enough of them existing outside my organizational system for me to justify doing it over again. I swear next time I do, I’m organizing by color! πŸ™‚

  4. I have got to read something by Peter S. Beagle at some point!!

    If you don’t get to The Thin Man right away, Chris, maybe we can read/review it together during RIP?

  5. I’m particularly admiring your two Peter S. Beagle books (love that guy) and the Anamythical Tales (which I’ve never heard of before this). Nice loot!

  6. I’ve read The Thin Man twice. It is hilarious. I adore Dashiell Hammett (love The Maltese Falcon, too). I actually just purchased the entire Thin Man series on DVD. Have you ever seen any of the movies? They’re a hoot. Even Kiddo, who hates B & W *anything*, sat chuckling through two of them.

    I read The Case of the Missing Books in 2007. You can see my mini review, here:

    http://bookfoolery.blogspot.com/2007/08/light-books-times-three-and-sorry-sorry.html

    It’s a fun read; I think you’ll like it.

    I should have added In Cold Blood to my most recent post – Books I Haven’t Read. It’s one I won’t touch with a 10-foot pole. I am not interested in True Crime, period. But, I’ve got Breakfast at Tiffany’s. I can handle that, I think. πŸ™‚

    Have fun reading!

  7. Oh, what ho! I just looked and you commented on that post with the little mini review of The Case of the Missing Books! Funny! Maybe it subliminally lingered for 3 years. I think I deserve a point. Heh.

  8. Great seeing a point for Dewey.

    I have loved the Thin Man movies for years, and finally read the book for the first time last year. I really enjoyed it. Can’t remember if you’ve read The Manual of Detection, but I would recommend reading it sometime after you read Thin Man. It was inspired, in part, by that book and it is fun to read it with that in mind.

  9. Debi, I’ve had so much fun reading the Sandman series again!! It’s so awesome, isn’t it?? And I can’t wait to read In Cold Blood! It sounds fantastic. Stories just looks freaking incredible. Can’t wait to dive in…may start tonight. And doesn’t Junk Beautiful look awesome? I couldn’t resist it! You sort your non fic by subject??? That’s so freaking awesome!!! It’s like an actual library system :O I’m so freaking excited to see it when I get there πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ My nonfic is all just mixed in on my shelves with everything else, lol.

    Jeane, I seem to have that same feeling about Giant Bones but I just have to give it a try! I’ve never really been disappointed in Beagle…there were a couple of stories in his last short story collection that I wasn’t completely nuts about, but aside from that I’ve always loved him.

    Jenny, My TBR shelves are sort of a constant revolving door :p I’m constantly getting rid of stuff and adding new stuff. And I pretty much just make myself constantly reorder them. If I don’t I go nuts, lol. I can’t stand to see them just pile up which is exactly what they’re doing right now :/

    Amanda, Gah! You still haven’t read any Beagle??? OMG you have to read A Fine and Private Place!!! Such a freaking amazing book! Either that or Tamsin. Both just absolutely incredible. Personally I think they’re both miles better than The Last Unicorn. I’ll Totally read The Thin Man with you during RIP πŸ˜€ That sounds like fun!!

    Terri, Don’t you just love him? I haven’t found a Beagle book yet that I don’t adore. He’s certainly one of my favorite authors! And Animythical tales was such an incredible book!! I highly highly recommend it!!

    Nancy, I had no idea that The Thin Man was funny! I would’ve never guessed that in a million years!! I’ve heard nothing but great stuff about Hammet’s books. I’m really looking forward to reading his stuff! I think it’s hilarious that I commented on that post three years ago πŸ˜€ I’m TOTALLY giving you a point for that book now!! And going to read my comment right after this! And I’ll let you know just how far you should stay away from In Cold Blood after I read it πŸ˜‰ What you SHOULD read by Capote is A Christmas Memory! OMG it’s just the best Christmas book I’ve ever read!! Definitely read it when Christmas comes around this year! Yeah….we’re planning ahead here :p

    Carl, It made me happy to give her a point πŸ™‚ I haven’t seen the Thin Man movies! But I’m definitely going to wait to watch them until after I’ve read the book now that I’ve waited this long. I haven’t read The Manual of Detection, but I remember you talking about it and I’ve been curious about it!

  10. I’ll have to check to see if A Christmas Memory is in that Breakfast at Tiffany’s book — I know there are three other stories. Never hurts to plan ahead. πŸ™‚

    Yes, The Thin Man is funny! You really should see at least the first movie. There are 7 of them, I think.

Leave a Reply

