Oh Hai! Bad Bloggers Time….

I’ve made it through the Monday from hell at work, and delirious as I am, I’m going to go through all of the books that have made it into my house in only a weeks time…it’s an average of two books a day…it could be worse :p

1. Recycle This Book ed. by Dan Gutman – This is such an awesome book so far. I’m about a third of the way through it right now and basically they asked 100 children and YA authors to contribute ways that they “go green” and help to save the environment in their every day lives. Some great authors that I’ve read so far in here like Eoin Colfer, Lois Lowry, Libba Bray, Jane Yolen and so many more! And they’re great every day tips that we can all use. (From the Library)

2. Food Matters by Mark Bittman – Just saw this one at the library and it looked really good! Has some great sounding recipes and it’s another great book on the food industry and on making healthy and environmentally conscious food choices for sustainable living. (From the Library)

3. Little Children by Tom Perrotta – I had to have this book as SOON as Amanda reviewed it!! Funny thing is, I had looked at this book so many times at Barnes and Noble and always put it back down. Never knew entirely what it was about. But seeing how much Amanda enjoyed it and reading her review really hooked me. Point for Amanda! (Paperback Swap)

4. Saplings by Noel Streatfeild – 🙂 😀 :O I can’t express my joy enough over getting this one!!! First of all, it’s a Persephone. Second of all, I have been craving this book ever since Ana reviewed it a few months back, and finally and most importantly, it was a gift from my dear friend Ana 🙂 I can’t wait to dig into this book!! It sounds so good. And I just love the title….I don’t know why. It’s just beautiful despite it only being a word, isn’t it? Point for Ana! (Gift from a friend)

5. Magnificent Obsession by Lloyd C. Douglas – I was looking for books to read for Ana’s 30’s mini-challenge and found that Lloyd C. Douglas was quite the popular author in the 30’s! And this is one of his more popular books. It sounds really good. So I picked it up…I don’t know if I’ll get to it though by the end of the challenge! Love the cover though! (Paperback Swap)

6. Love Invents Us by Amy Bloom – Just cuz I’ve gotta have more Amy Bloom after reading Come to Me!! God, I’m in love with her writing! Seriously, if you haven’t read any of her short stories, you simply must!! This is another short story collection. (Paperback Swap)

7. The Bread Lover’s Bread Machine Cookbook by Beth Hensperger – If you have a bread machine and you like to make bread, I assure you that you want this book!!! My mom and I have both drooled over this book. They have a recipe for everything you can possibly imagine along with detailed instructions, precise measurements for different sized loaves, great advice on using bread machines. I never knew all you could do with a bread machine! Seriously, this book rocks! (Bought it)

8. All New Square Foot Gardening by Mel Bartholomew – I fell in love with Heather’s garden after she posted pictures of it last weekend 😀 So I had to email her right away and ask her about it :p And she told me about this book which I then proceeded to order right away. And it’s so fantastic!! No, I haven’t built my own square foot garden (yet), but I have applied the basic principle in planting some garlic over this past weekend! This is such a fantastic book especially if you’re growing veggies in a small place like I am. Point to Heather! (Bought it)

9. Away by Amy Bloom – Like I said before, I just need more Amy Bloom!! This is her novel that garnered quite a bit of praise! I know many of you have read it and this is one that I really didn’t pay much attention to before sadly 😦 I had just assumed I wouldn’t like it…I really REALLY need to stop doing that. It’s a horrible thing. (Paperback Swap)

10. The Sonnets to Orpheus by Rainer Maria Rilke – Ok…so ALL of the rest of these books were presents to me from Shanra!!!!!! Can you believe that???? Seriously, I have the best friends in the world. Not because they give me things, but because they’re so damn thoughtful and just make me feel so loved. I love you guys. Shanra knows I’ve been craving poetry lately so she sent me this and I absolutely love it!! First of all, it’s sonnets to Orpheus which is AWESOME, but second of all, it’s a tiny little pocket edition which I’m in love with. Thank you so much! (Gift from a friend)

11. Music of a Distant Drum by Bernard Lewis – This is a collection of classical Arabic, Turkish, Persian and Hebrew poetry! Isn’t that awesome??? Seriously, I wish I just had 4 brains right now because I want to start so many poetry collections right now. I think I may just start always having a poetry collection going because I have so many great sounding ones now. (Gift from a friend)

12. The Vampyre by Tom Holland – I have wanted this one for over a year now, ever since Ana reviewed it and Shanra was kind enough to send me a copy 😀 So it can now be deleted off my wishlist and make it’s way onto my TBR! Hooray! Oh, and Ana accrues another point :p (Gift from a friend)

13. Kaspar by Michael Morpurgo – I told Shanra in my email to her that I will forever connect this book to her. This book that I haven’t even read yet. I don’t know why, but she reviewed this book during one of the readathons and I just fell in love with it right away! Without even having read it yet. And I bought a copy for Debi’s son for Christmas and she said he loved it too! And now Shanra has sent me my own copy and I finally get to read it!! This is definitely the most special of all the books she sent. And she gets a point for this one too! (Gift from a friend)

14. Mouse Guard: Winter 1152 by David Petersen – :O Finally!!! I’ve been wanting to read this forever!! Thank you Shanra!!! (Gift from a friend)

*note* I use too many exclamation marks and random smiley faces….#fail

17 Responses

  1. We used All New Square Foot Gardening last year and loved the results! This is our second year – we just planted.

    And we love Mouse Guard at our house – my three boys and I have all read Fall and Winter – the artwork is gorgeous!

  2. I LOVED Food Matters! It’s a book I want to give to all the omnivores in my life just as soon as I have some disposable income. 😀

    That’s so awesome you got so many wonderful presents. 🙂 Book bloggers are the bestest!

  3. look at you! cookbooks and gardening books are in there!! Wow! I am seriously impressed!!!! (and chuckling just a little for having said it lol)

  4. Yeah, two weeks in a row was too much to expect, huh? 😉 (Shhhh…don’t tell anyone, but I actually prefer it when you’ve got huge hauls…makes me feel like I’m in very good company!) Hope our library has Recycle This Book–sounds like fun to read with the whole family.

  5. Saplings and The Little Children are both on my list to buy. I fell in love with them because of the reviews too.

  6. First off, I hope you like Little Children! Second, smiley faces and exclamation points can NEVER be associated with #fail, at least when you’re talking about happy things like books! 😀

  7. The only Morpurgo I’ve read (The Kites are Flying) was truly excellent and I’ve heard really good things about Kasper as well.

  8. I love Persephone. I just finished reading Miss Pettigrew Lives for a Day. I checked the DVD out from the library and I can’t wait to watch it and compare. 🙂

  9. Note to self: Chris loves tiny-sized bookses. (I know the feeling. I have this uber-tiny copy of “The Wizard of Oz” and it’s so cute. And easy to carry! Fits into anything!)

    I hope you’ll enjoy them all, Chris! I’m so glad you’re happy with the poetry books! (They’re really pretty poems, but I’m not very good at reading poetry. *sad noise*)

    Also, for the record: I agree with Amanda on the exclamation marks and the smileys. You can NEVER associate them with fail. Especially not in this context of super-enthusiasm!

    *pauses, goes over list again* Wait. Did I actually forget to include the translated Chinese poetry I intended to send you because it’s preeeeetty? Please tell me I didn’t forget…

  10. I use that bread machine cookbook all the time!!! It’s one of the best.

  11. I want to read Saplings, too. You can’t read too many Persephones, although my mother just returned Greenery Street to me saying she found it trite. Hmmm…I think the quaintness of the period might have escaped her.

  12. too many exclam points?!?!??! how can you say that?!!! The world needs more excited passion for books – NEVER apologize!

  13. My husband loves Square Foot Gardening. I’ve never read it. I’m flowers; he’s veggies.

    Noel Streatfield is on my “I wanna get” list. Somewhere, I have the Tom Perrotta and Magnificent Obsession is on the good shelves, although I’ve yet to get around to reading it. I grabbed it in the library sale because I’d heard the title and my brain screamed “Classic!” Was my brain correct?

    Fun piles!! Happy reading!!

  14. I read Love Invents Us and quite liked it! It was a few years ago now, so I could probably reread it like reading it for the first time.

  15. I have total book lust after reading this book. Buuuut, I’ve been SO good this year and will not slip.

    PS–it’s never #fail in my book to use too many exclamation points and smiley faces. I honestly think it’s a thing that can’t be helped and why should excitement and happiness be a bad thing?!!! 🙂 🙂 🙂

  16. LOL…#fail for not reading comment before hitting “submit” I mean to say I have total book lust after reading this post (and was probably thinking “reading about these books”). Gah!

  17. I just finished reading Amy Bloom’s “Where the God of Love Hangs Out” — I totally get what you mean by the need for more Amy Bloom. She has so much compassion and love for her characters.

Leave a Reply

