Reading On A Rainy Saturday

I haven’t been doing a whole lot of reading lately sadly. So that’s the plans for the rest of tonight. Yes, I’m spending my Saturday night in bed reading. And that sounds like a good plan to me. This past week has just sucked the life out of me and I feel like I haven’t had time to do anything but work, sleep, work, sleep, work, sleep….and sometimes sleep has even been an issue. Next week doesn’t look to be much better…worse if anything, so I’m taking the weekend just to relax and do whatever I want.

Today consisted of mostly just baking stuff and playing in the garden before it started to rain. I’ve been playing with my new bread making machine like crazy and today’s products were a loaf of honey wheat bread and some bagels! Both of which turned out delicious. As far as the garden goes, I got some garlic planted and marveled at all of the new stuff popping up, but more on that tomorrow in the weekly garden post šŸ˜‰

As for WHAT I’m actually reading (because it’s a miracle if I finish anything this month), I’ve got some good stuff going right now! My main read is Middlemarch by George Elliot and I can’t believe how much I’m loving this book. I haven’t liked a classics author this much since Dickens. She’s just fantastic! She’s made me ponder so many things, made me laugh aloud quite a few times and she already has me hooked in her story and I’m only 100 pages in…and the book itself didn’t start until page 45 in my edition. I’ve also got Don’t Tell: The Sexual Abuse of Boys going again after I put it aside for a little while. Not because it’s not a very enlightening read, just because I had too much going on to really give it the time it needs. I’m kind of falling into that trap again though. And then there are all of the library books that need to get read.

And finally, after my very well behaved Bad Bloggers post last week, I’m afraid I’m going to have a not so nice one coming up this week. I knew I couldn’t keep it decent two weeks in a row :/ They’re not ALL my fault though…a few were gifts :p But yeah…it’s pretty bad this week. Alright…off to curl up with Middlemarch.

13 Responses

  1. I’m glad you’re enjoying Middlemarch! Have you ever tried Trollope?

  2. I love your bag bloggers posts! It’s so much fun to see what you picked up!

  3. Isn’t Middlemarch grand?! I adore Eliot. šŸ˜€

    Also, I’m so jealous of your bread maker! I wonder if they make one aimed at gluten free stuff…that’d be awesome!

  4. I spent my saturday night (and day) reading too! I was supposed to write, but I decided to indulge, as I haven’t done in ages. I really rediscovered the pleasure of reading a book from start to finish and loved it.

    I should probably start Middlemarch now. I’m sort of intimidated though, what if I can’t get into it? but you make it sound like fun so I should give it a try, at least!

  5. oh boy… sorry to hear about work.. unfortunately that happens a lot in life and you are right.. it sucks!

    I am glad you are relaxing in bed and reading.. the times you want to be alone and escape can be some of the best times…(sometimes lol) I hope you had a good evening reading!! and I hope you have a second restful day today!

  6. I hope your evening of reading was just the medicine you needed!!!!

    And garlic–I’m so envious! We’ve have been looking everywhere for garlic to plant, and having no luck. Next year, we’ve decided to do a little more planning and stop just being so spontaneous with our gardening. So already, I’m looking forward to pouring over seed catalogs next year! Look what you’ve done to me, my friend!!! Gardening used to just be something we just did…now it’s something we’re excited about! šŸ˜€

    Enjoy your Sunday, my dear!

  7. Oh, and Eva–
    We’ve starting looking for a bread machine, and in the process of our search, I have seen bread machine cookbooks that are specifically gluten-free!

  8. Sounds like you’re having a well-deserved break. I hope next week’s less draining than you’re anticipating! Whenever I have a particularly stressful week, I stop reading new books and curl up with all the same books I read when I was about eight years old.

  9. I need to get to crackin’ on my Middlemarch re-read. I don’t have a bread machine, but a firend of mine said that The lady who wrote the bread bible wrote a baking book for the bread machine. She made brioche IN A BREAD MACHINE!

    I hope the baking, rain, and reading brightened your week!

  10. Becky, Nope! I haven’t read Trollope before! Shall check it out though šŸ˜€

    Amanda, I’ll hopefully have one up tomorrow if I’m not too exhausted…it’s going to be a loooong day though…we’ll see :/

    Eva, It really is! I’m surprising myself with it. I didn’t think I’d like it so much! And like Debi said, I’ve seen a lot of gluten free recipes for bread!! You should totally get a bread machine! I think you’d have so much fun with it!

    Valentina, Well that sounds just wonderful šŸ™‚ What did you read??? Start Middlemarch! It’s so good Valentina and there’s no reason to be intimidated (aside from the lenght :/) If I can read it, anyone can.

    Deslily, It was such a long week, and this one’s going to be so much longer! I actually didn’t get much reading done yesterday, but it was still nice and relaxing!! Just what I needed šŸ™‚

    Debi, I actually just went to whole foods and bought some garlic and planted the cloves!! As long as you buy organic garlic, you should be able to plant it. Just find a variety that you like šŸ™‚ I’ve bought a bunch of stuff from seed catalogs :p Strange stuff, lol…I’m going to try it out next year. I guess one good thing about the south is that you can really grow all year because it never really freezes! I’m glad you’ve become excited about gardening šŸ˜€

    Jenny, I really hope it’s less stressful too! And reading an old favorite from my childhood sounds perfect šŸ˜€ I’d love to curl up with The Mouse and the Motorcycle by Beverly Cleary right now :p

    Amanda A., Totally! Middlemarch is great so far! I have her baking book for the bread machine šŸ˜€ It’s really fantastic! You wold be totally shocked at what you can make in a bread machine. A lot of them have programs for just the dough, so you just make your dough in the machine and then take it out and bake it or make it into rolls or whatever. Saves you the time of kneading by hand and letting it rise under a towel and all that…It did help a bit, thanks šŸ™‚

  11. Awwwww. But as you say all the blame doesn’t fall on you for the Bad Blogger post. Are you going to make another vlog for them? ^-~

    You sound so happy with your bread maker and your garden. ^-^ It’s a lovely thing to hear about! And I’m glad to hear the day was relaxing even if you didn’t get much reading done!

  12. Ooh ooh, what kind of bread machine do you have? That’s the next thing I want to embark upon: homemade bread! We have a family of four, and two almost-teens, so they race through bread like no one’s business.

  13. Sorry you’ve been going through a rough patch of late. That work/sleep cycle can certainly overwhelm sometimes, especially doing the kind of work you do. I think you’ve got the right way to handle it, which is using your free time to relax and recharge. I took an ‘all I’m doing to do is read’ day recently on the weekend and it felt so good to just veg out. After tearing through Game of Thrones in a three day whirlwind, I did not do to much reading this past weekend, mostly entertained guests and ate food. Good times!

Leave a Reply

