Mercury by Hope Larson

Mercury is a graphic novel set in Nova Scotia during the present and simultaneously set in 1859 on the same land. We follow two families both going through their own individual difficulties. In both stories, we have a young female lead. In 1859, there is Josey Fraser, a young girl who has fallen in love with a new stranger in town who has found gold on her property. Her father is eager to go into business with the man while her mother is wary of him and holds a much more stern outlook.

Flash forward 150 years and there is another Fraser on the same property. Only not exactly because the farm has burnt down 😦 So now she’s living with her cousin while her mother works a job miles away. This is Tara Fraser, a slightly punky girl who’s mistakenly identified as a boy during her first day at school…a boy that she soon develops a crush for.

This is my first experience with Hope Larson and now I get why people speak so highly of her. Her stories are fantastic! AtΒ  least this one is. I loved her characters so much and she tells two stories here simultaneously that expertly mimic each other and feed off of one another. The world may change and generations may forget those that came before, but life remains the same….or sometimes, we do have the ability to change what has happened before.

Larson taught me so much in this book too! I learned a lot about Nova Scotia here! There were little facts thrown in here and there…I now know what a looney is for example (it’s a coin worth 1 Canadian dollar because it has a picture of a Loon on it!). And while she’s teaching you history, she relates it all to you with characters that are so identifiable. Just wonderful characters.

And the art is just fantastic!! Seriously, I loved her art. Each page was a treat for the eyes and she surely put a lot of love and work into this book which shows on each page. I’ll certainly have my eye out for more Larson books!

13 Responses

  1. This really does sound wonderful! I haven’t read any of her books yet…bad me.

    And just think…in just a few short months you can have some of your very own loonies! πŸ˜€

  2. Oops…that wasn’t Annie, it was just me. πŸ˜›

  3. I haven’t heard of this one, but I love Hope Larson so I’ll definitely be tracking it down. She does great stories. My library’s online catalog is down…which has been annoying me something fierce all week…or I’d add it right now. It is going on my list.

  4. The only Hope Larson I’ve read is Grey Horses and I really liked that one. I think I need to put this one and some others of hers on my TBR.

  5. I’ve never heard of this one even though I live in NS. Must look it up.

  6. Don’t think I’ve read any Hope Larson yet, but this one looks great.

  7. Annie/Debi, :p I can’t wait to get my own Loonie!! This was my first book by her and it was such a treat! I can’t wait to read MORE by her now. Like everything she’s written!

    Carl, I can’t wait to read more of her work. If everything is even half as good as this one then I know I’m in for a treat. She really does tell fantastic stories. I think she may have had a story in Comic Book Tattoo as well now that I think about it!

    Amanda, I’ve heard so much great stuff about Gray Horses! I really need to read that one. And if you added her stuff to PBS, we’ll be competing for it, because I did the same thing :p

    Other Chris, I’m so glad that you did put this one on hold at the library πŸ˜€ I really think you’ll enjoy it and I’m looking forward to a Nova Scotians thoughts on it!

    Darren, You must! This was my first by her and it was so good!

  8. I believe I’m at position number 1 in my library queue for this and can’t wait to get to it.

  9. Set in Nova Scotia!?! Really! I must have!

  10. […] Other reviews: Reading Rants!, Stuff As Dreams Are Made On…, […]

  11. […] Chrisbookarama (Mercury) – Stuff As Dreams Are Made On (Mercury) – Life According to Annabelle (Good Omens) – A Book Blog. Period. (Good Omens) – […]

  12. […] Rants!, Mama Librarian, The Boston Bibliophile, Stuff As Dreams Are Made On, Buried in Print and The Zen Leaf all have posts about Mercury by Hope Larson. Do you? Link to your […]

  13. […] Stuff As Dreams Are Made On […]

Leave a Reply

