Bad Bloggers – 5/17/10

So Darren has challenged me to a duel this week, and I admit defeat!!! Oh what a good thing that is to say :p I wish I could admit defeat more often. I cannot compete with Darren’s eye popping fifteen book acquisition. No, no…sadly, I have only brought 12 books into the house since my last Bad Bloggers post :p BUT! 5 of those 12 are library books and 3 are ebooks so in reality only 4 are here to stay! Not too bad, eh? So lets get to it:

1. The Bloody Chamber by Angela Carter – People have been telling me to read this book for so long. So very very long. And why I haven’t listened to them is so beyond me. I’m nearly finished with it now and should have a review up any day. It’s incredible!! I first heard about it and put it on my wishlist after Carl reviewed it, so he gets the point for this one. Though I must admit that Ana is the one who pushed me to pick it up finally :p I’m tempted to give her a point too. They are amazing renditions of fairy tales that we all know, but Angela Carter puts a spin onto them like you’ve never heard before. (Library)

2. Mercury by Hope Larson – This is my FIRST Hope Larson graphic novel and I was so excited to be the first on the list to get it from the library πŸ˜€ And it’s next up in my library pile to be read so I should be reading it any day now. It sounds wonderful and I can’t wait to get to know Ms. Hope! (Library)

3. Come to Me by Amy Bloom – This one sounds fantastic. It’s a collection of some of Amy Bloom’s short stories and it tackles some of my favorite subjects: gender, sexuality, psychology…and it’s written by the woman who wrote Normal, a nonfiction book on gender that was amazing. Can’t wait to try out her fiction. (Library)

4. The Sandman Volume Four: Seasons of Mist by Neil Gaiman – Just because I’m rereading the Sandman series (Library)

5. Local by Brian Wood – I heard about this one from Debi and it just sounds so damn good!! She told me that she thought I would really like it and I really do think I will!! It’s a graphic novel that looks at life in different cities in each issue. This collects the whole series. Point to Debi. (Library)

6. Crank by Ellen Hopkins – I don’t ENTIRELY know what this one is about but I’m very excited to read it πŸ˜€ What I do know is that Annie has been wanting to read it for awhile now and I put it on my wishlist awhile back because of her just because I knew she wanted to read it! And then she and her family sent it to me for my birthday πŸ˜€ So Annie gets a point for it and a thank you for it πŸ™‚ (Birthday gift)

7. The Sex Lives of Cannibals by J. Maarten Troost – This was another birthday gift! This one coming from Rich. And it sounds so awesome. It’s subtitled Adrift in the Equatorial Pacific. I always love the sounds of the books that Rich reads and I seriously think I could just devour a whole list of his recommendations. (Birthday gift)

8. Baba Yaga Laid an Egg by Dubravka Ugresic – I’ve been wanting this book ever since I first heard it was coming out!!! It’s part of the Canongate Myth series and as you can guess, it centers around the Baba Yaga myth and is a book who’s focus is on feminism. Sounds fantastic, eh? (Bought it)

9. Blue is for Nightmares by Laurie Faria Stolarz – No one’s fault but Amanda’s here!! I hadn’t even heard of this series until Amanda reviewed it and started talking about it and as soon as she did, I knew I had to have it :p It sounds so good and right up my alley. Like something I’ll really enjoy! Point for Amanda. (Paperback Swap)

10. The Less-Dead by April Lurie – I was a fan for life of April Lurie’s after reading The Latent Powers of Dylan Fontaine. I fell in love with that book right away and I’ve been anticipating The Less-Dead since she started writing it! So when I got my Nook for my birthday, it was the obvious choice for “what should I buy first?” I gobbled it up in one night and what an amazing story it was!! I should have a review up for this one tomorrow! (Bought it…ebook)

11. Last Exit to Normal by Michael Harmon – This was one of the final picks for the Nerds Heart YA tournament last year and it just sounded so good!!! It made it pretty far too from what I remember and I’ve been wanting to read it. So I put this one on my Nook too :p (Bought it…ebook)

12. The Handmaid’s Tale by Margaret Atwood – Did anyone think we’d make it through a bad bloggers post without a point for Ana? Of course not!! I was talking to Debi earlier about how certain authors scare the shit out of me. Even though I’ve read The Penelopiad and loved it, The Handmaid’s Tale is still very intimidating to me. But Ana just made it sound so damn good, so I bought this one for my Nook too :p And it was only $3.98!! Point for Ana. (Bought it…ebook)

12 Responses

  1. Last year my YA book club read Last Exit to Normal, but I ended up not being able to go to that meeting and consequently never read the book. You’ll have to let us know if it’s good!

  2. I acquired more books than you? *feels faint*

    Isn’t that one of the signs of the apocalypse? πŸ˜‰

  3. The Bloody Chamber really gave me the shivers. It was too dark for me. But I bet you’ll like it!

  4. I really want to read some Angela Carter. I’m glad to hear that it is just as enjoyable as I would expect! Oooh, and I think that you will find Ellen Hopkins to be poetically beautiful and heart-wrenching. I have all of her books (except her newest). She’s incredible.

  5. Great list! I bought Baba Yaga Laid an Egg a few months back. We definitely nee to read it! Happy reading!

  6. The Handmaid’s Tale is a great book!

  7. I want every single one of those books that I don’t already have! πŸ˜€ I hope you’ll like The Sex Lives of Cannibals…I love that Rich picked that one for you. I loved it when he read that book (and Troost’s other two books), because he would just burst out laughing all the time as we laid in bed reading. Always me smile that he was having such fun reading them. πŸ˜€ Annie and I will be reading Crank in a couple weeks…I have a feeling that both us and you will really like this one. Hope so anyway! Ooooh, and thanks to you, Rich, Annie, and I will be starting reading The Temptest aloud tonight…I’m so excited!

  8. What a cool selection of books there! I’m kind of intrigued by The Sex Lives of Cannibals, but who isn’t, right? πŸ™‚ My students really love Ellen Hopkins’ books. They tear through them and steal them from our library. Any book that a teen would steal rates pretty high on the cool meter.

  9. Amanda, I’m in the middle of it right now and it’s SO good!! Right up your alley πŸ˜€ And another one for the LGBT challenge πŸ˜€

    Darren, Surely it is….*watches for flying horsemen*

    Jeane, How’d you guess? LOL…I did like it! A lot!! My review of it should be up tomorrow.

    Christina, I absolutely fell in love with Angela Carter right away!! You really should try her!! And I’m so excited about Ellen Hopkins now!!! She sounds incredible from everything I’m reading!

    Vasilly, I’m totally up for a buddy read if you want!! I’m dying to read that one πŸ˜€

    Stephanie, I’m excited about reading that one! It’s one I’ve been wanting to read for a long time now!

    Debi, Ok…so you have me wanting to dive into The Sex Lives of Cannibals RIGHT now!! How do you not just start reading everything he reads as soon as he finishes? ;p That’s what I think I would do. Oh can you let me know when you two start Crank??? I think I’ll read it with you all! That would be fun! And I can’t wait to hear what you all think of The Tempest πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ As you know, it’s my favorite play πŸ˜€

    Becky, Yes yes, we’re all intrigued by The Sex Lives of Cannibals :p Can’t wait to tear into the Hopkins book! You’re so right…any book that a teen would steal must be a damn cool book :p

  10. I really enjoyed The Last Exit to Normal. I’ve got a copy of Mercury, but I haven’t picked it up just yet. There are always so many books begging to be read all at the same time.

  11. The handmaid’s tale is so not intimidating! it’s very gripping, from the start, especially if you like dystopian novels:)

  12. You should not be scared of Margaret Atwood! She is great! Crank was really good, too. I read it and its sequel last year. There is a third book due out at some point.

Leave a Reply

