And Another Year Of Life Begins

My 29th birthday started with a dream of thunderstorms. Which was my first gift today. Last night as I was going to bed, I thought to myself that I would just love if it rained and thundered on my birthday because I love that kind of weather so much. During that time this morning that I was half in and half out of sleep I swore that I heard rumbling thunder and rain hitting the window and it was so nice. But I woke up to sunshine and heat. I savored that dream though and it felt so nice. So I thank the dream gods for that.

The day only got better from there though. As usual, I went on my routine of checking my email, checking twitter, and checking blogs as soon as I woke up and I was overwhelmed with all of the Happy Birthday wishes that I received!! I’ve never had so many in all of my life and I just want to thank everyone so much for that. It truly made my day. I thought all day today how lucky I am to have so many wonderful friends and was reminded later of how wonderful of a family I have too. It’s nice to get texts from friends throughout the day, facebook messages all day, phone calls, twitter messages, emails. It was overload!! But a good kind of overload 🙂 Thank you everyone 🙂

And then there was all the music today!! I wasn’t even expecting or thinking about that, but damn! Yesterday, I got my Jonsi limited edition CD/DVD boxset of Go and Go Quiet and I watched Go Quiet…amazing!! And then today, both The National and Sleigh Bells released their new albums and they’re both so incredible that I still can’t fully comprehend them. But I’m in love with them and I’ve been listening to them interchangeably on repeat all day as I drove around to the library and the mall and getting the most amazing massage ever!! And then to top it all off, Florence and the Machine released their video for my favorite song on their album “Lungs” today, Cosmic Love...have a look see on the main page of their site!

What else…oh yeah! Dinner and gifts 😀 When my mom and my sister got home from work, we got together at my dad’s house for dinner and gifts and my dad made the most amazing dinner!! I picked the recipe from a New Orleans cookbook and it’s this cajun meets Mediterranean recipe for a lemon and garlic chicken dish sauteed in white wine. It was so delicious!! We had it with a dry fettuccine that he made. I got to celebrate with my grandma who turned 87 yesterday…we always celebrate together since her birthday is the day before mine. As for gifts, I got so many wonderful things including a bunch of Lush bath stuff for those migraine days, a Where the Wild Things Are tshirt and um…A NOOK!!!! 😀

I’ve named the nook Shadow after my favorite character from American Gods and I can’t wait to read my first book on it. I was iffy on the whole ebook thing for awhile, but I’m enjoying ebooks lately. I could NEVER give up my paper books, but this is a nice addition and of course it cuts down on trees being shredded. Of course it also puts an entire bookstore in my hands for immediate access which is VERY dangerous :p

Finally, I’d like to give someone else something for my birthday, and it’s not entirely unselfish. See that tshirt I’m wearing in the picture up top? It’s a Defend the Coast tshirt and it’s made by my favorite local company, Defend New Orleans…the proceeds from those shirts go towards rebuilding Louisiana’s coast and right now, we need all the money we can to help with this horrible oil spill. So if you want one of those tshirts, of course you can buy one from either defendneworleans.com or defendthecoast.org. I promise you it’s an awesome shirt 😉 But you can also just let me know in the comments that you want one and on my Sunday gardening post this week, I’ll pick a commenter by random and ship a shirt off to you!!

Off to enjoy my nook now!!

22 Responses

  1. Happy Birthday!

    I did not like the Kindle my sister won and then it broke and I never really missed it. Anyway I wonder if I would like the Nook better. It looks cool in your picture. Every time I go to Barnes and Noble I think about it. lol I look forward to seeing more of your impressions. 🙂

  2. I am glad you have a great birthday! DO I HAVE YOUR ADDRESS???

  3. Happy Birthday! I hope you like your Nook and can’t wait to hear your thoughts in a month or so. I have a kindle, but really only use it for travel.

  4. Wow. Giving away gifts for your birthday? And I thought you couldn’t get more awesome, Chris!

    Happy birthday, dear! I’m so happy that you had a good day all the way from the beginning! 😀 And I guess I’ll go ahead and sign up for one of the shirts. It’d be a good thing to have and I’ve been thinking about buying one myself anyway. 🙂

  5. Late happy birthday! I hope you enjoy your last year of youth (I’m past it sadly) and your Nook!

  6. Happy birthday, Chris! And WOW to your Nook! I wasn’t so big on the whole e-book thing at first, either, but I’ve been reading them on my iPod for the past week and now I’m starting to change my mind. The bookstore sites are uber dangerous, but it’s really easy to find free stuff, too. When I get the urge to binge, I just hit one of those catalogues instead. 🙂

  7. Happy birthday. It sounds like you had a fabulous day. I love your Nook.

  8. happy Birthday Chris! it sounds like you had a fantastic day:)
    I was very excited about Florence’s new video, it’s amaaaaazing! It might be her best video since Drumming Song.
    Also, that recipe sounds delicious, could I have it?? I’m always looking for recipes from around the world, I love cooking!

    again, happy birthday, and happy all year round!

    ps:I don’t know what a Nook is and I’m not fond of e-books but that looks cool:P

  9. it sure sounds like you had a fantastic birthday!!!! I am so happy you had such a great day you deserve it! As they say, you don’t deserve just one good day though.. you deserve most everyday to be wonderful!

    (once again) Happy 29th baby boy

  10. Happy Birthday! Have fun with your new Nook!

  11. Happy Birthday, dear Chris!! I hope you enjoy your Nook. I was iffy about eBooks at first, too, but now I love my Kindle, and have discovered that it’s easier on my eyes–less eye strain. Enjoy!

  12. HAPPY BIRTHDAY! (funny, another book blogger who’s bday was yesterday also received a gift of a Nook!)
    and don’t enter me – I think I will buy my husband one for Father’s Day.
    🙂

  13. I’m glad you had a great birthday. Funny about the thunderstorm dream — all the joy of the storm without the headache, right? 🙂

    Very cool about the Nook. Sometimes I think I’m going to be the last person on the planet to end up with an electronic reading device. Unless something changes (like I suddenly begin traveling . . . okay, it could change because Kiddo is about to graduate from HS), I have no valid excuse to own one. Someday, maybe.

    Love the shirt. I just tried to figure out how to buy one and the site did a lot of flashing but I couldn’t get anything to pop up on the “how to join” link. It might just be me. I’m so tired, today, I’m not even bothering with Twitter or Facebook or reviews or . . . well, much of anything. I do have to mail some parcels, though. Oh, the effort. LOL

  14. Happy Happy birthday! Bookfool’s not going to be the last to have an elec reading device, I am! I keep seeing other readers fall in love with them, though, so maybe someday I’ll just have to try one out.

  15. Happy, happy birthday! I’m looking forward to hearing what you think of the Nook. 🙂 No need to enter me for the shirt – I already have one!

  16. Love your gifts especially Shadow!!

  17. Happy birthday, Chris! It sounds like you had a great day. Have fun with your Nook.

  18. Congrats on the birthday! sorry i’m late 😦

  19. Happy Happy birthday Mr. Chris!! I apologize I’m late but it sounds like you had a fantastic day!! I didn’t realize we were the same age–I’ll be 29 in August. That 3-0 is looming close, huh? 🙂

    Hope this is a wonderful birthday week, month…and great year for you.

  20. I am so glad you had a great birthday! I am still iffy on the ebook franchise. There is a new reader available at the local bookstore chain and I keep looking at it, but haven’t decided if I want one yet or not…

  21. I’m sorry I’m so late but. …HAPPY BIRTHDAY! !!!!!

  22. Though it is late in coming, Happy Birthday my friend! I couldn’t be more pleased to read that it was a wonderful birthday. Looks/sounds like you made out like a bandit! Cool name for the Nook! Hope this year is your very best ever.

Leave a Reply

