Bad Bloggers Time!

Time to spread some blame around again. Quite a few books have come into the house and it’s a nice mix of all different sorts of books. I’ve started quite a few of them too and what I have started I’m really enjoying! Here’s what’s entered the house!

1. Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness – I still can’t even talk about this book publicly without going OMGOMGOMGOMGOMG. But I’m hoping that one day soon I can get my thoughts down coherently enough to do some kind of review :p Yes, I’ve finished it already and it’s everything I hoped it would be and lots more. I just love Patrick Ness. He’s so wonderful. I promise you that when my review does finally come, it’ll be spoiler free completely! (Gift from a friend)

2. Goodbye Chunky Rice by Craig Thompson – After reading Blankets, I wanted everything that Craig Thompson has written. And this is one of those things. And I have it now thanks to Paperback Swap! (Paperback Swap)

3. Stranger in the House by Julie Summers – I can’t WAIT to read this one. Ana reviewed it a few weeks ago and I couldn’t find it anywhere…it looks like it’s out of print now. But I did finally find it on eBay. And I bought it. It’s about how war affects the lives of the women and children back home. Specifically through WWII I think. Point for Ana. (Bought it)

4. Animal, Vegetable, Miracle by Barbara Kingsolver – I’m in the middle of this one right now and it’s such an amazing book. When I wrote my first post on gardening, I asked for book suggestions and this was one that Heather at Tales of a Capricious Reader suggested. And I’m so glad she did, because it’s such an inspirational book on the benefits of eating from your own garden, buying locally and supporting your own community. I find it especially important since the oil spill down here as it talks about the price in oil it takes to transport food and produce across the nation when you buy from the supermarket. Point to Heather. (Bought it)

5. Christ in Concrete by Pietro di Donato – I found this one when looking for classics from the 30’s for Ana’s mini-challenge. I have never heard of this book before, but apparently it’s a classic! It sounds excellent. It’s about the great depression and Italian immigrants in New York. That’s all I really know. (Paperback Swap)

6. The Dream Keeper and Other Poems by Langston Hughes – Another one that I’m reading for Ana’s 30’s mini-challenge and I’m almost through with this one. I love Hughes’ poetry. I read a lot of it in high school and hadn’t read any of it since. It’s nice to revisit it and I look forward to sharing it with everyone! (Paperback Swap)

7. The Tale of Murasaki by Liza Dalby – I have been wanting this book for so freaking long. Eva reviewed it AGES ago…at least it seems like ages ago. And now I don’t even remember what it’s about. Except that I wanted to read it. So a point goes to Eva. (Bookmooch)

8. The Painted Veil by W. Somerset Maugham – I got a birthday present from Amanda!! My birthday isn’t until Tuesday, but this came early along with the next book and a beautiful hand painted (by Amanda) garden fairy boy that will be revealed tomorrow in my Sunday Gardening post 🙂 But I’ve been wanting to read Maugham ever since she first talked about him. I don’t know much about him, but for some reason, I feel like he’s a classic author that I’ll really like. Can’t wait to see if it’s true! And even though Amanda gave this to me, she’s totally getting a point for it because I wouldn’t have even discovered Maugham had it not been for her :p (Gift from a friend)

9. Liar by Justine Larbalestier – Also a birthday present from Amanda! I didn’t think I’d ever want to read this book, honestly UNTIL Amanda reviewed it…and then it went right to the top of my wishlist after she reviewed it. So she’s also getting a point for this one even though it’s a gift :p (Gift from a friend)

10 Responses

  1. Not only do you have Monsters of Men, but you have finished it as well.OMG!!!!!
    I cannot contain my envy!

  2. Ooh, you changed your header!!

    I really hope you like those two books I sent. I really can’t wait to hear your thoughts on Liar particularly!! 😀

  3. I sooooo know where you’re coming from with reviewing Monsters of Men! I was telling Ana the other day I was tempted to just do the OMG! thing repeated about 100 times and be done with it! 😀

  4. I loved Animal Vegetable Miracle! It’s such a fantastic book, and really helped inspire me in my own feed-my-own-family efforts, with my garden (such small scale, compared to hers!)

  5. You will LOVE The Painted Veil! Maugham is awesome, so simple and yet so powerful. My book club is reading On Razor’s Edge in July. I can’t wait!

  6. I haven’t read any of those, but I have a copy of The Painted Veil on my shelf and I adore Maugham. I should dig for my copy and read it with you. Wouldn’t that be fun?

  7. I’m jealous 🙂 Monsters of Men is one of the books that I really really want to read. And Stranger in the House looks really good too!

  8. Vivienne, It’s OMG good!!! You simply must read it 😀 Go get it at The Book Depository 😀

    Amanda, I did!! It’s the header I’ve actually had since I’ve started this blog when I was at blogger and the free version of WordPress…and I was really missing it lately, so I brought it back :p I’m SURE I’ll enjoy my books!! I’m really looking forward to them both! Thanks again 🙂

    Darren, I’m still tempted to just OMGOMGOMG my whole way through and just flail my arms :p It was just so damn good!

    Jeane, Isn’t it such an awesome book? Every night after I read a few chapters I lay in bed thinking “ooooh, I want to plant that now too! LOL…My mom is going to go absolutely crazy if I keep planting stuff :p

    Michelle, I can’t wait to read Maugham! I’ve just discovered him this year. And by discovered him, I mean “heard his name”. :/ I’m so excited now though because that means I have lots of great stuff to read!

    Nancy, I’m totally up for a readalong of The Painted Veil!!!! And it’s pretty short too! Just let me know when you want to read it. I’ve known the title for awhile, but still don’t really know THAT much about it, so it’ll be fun to discover it!!

    Becky, OMG you’re going to fall so much in love with this book. Seriously…SO much in love I promise you!! Doesn’t Stranger in the House sound fantastic?? I can’t wait to read it! I’ll let you know how it is!

  9. OMG Chris, we have to talk! I finished Monsters of Men today! You can just ask Nymeth (I was live tweeting DMing her as I read it), I thought it was amazing! And very OMGOMGOMGOMG OMG!

    I am so very glad you’re enjoying AVM. It is such an important book to read, for anyone considering gardening and looking at where your food comes from. Which means everyone should read it. Add it to the school curriculum I say!

  10. Oh, yay, we should read Stranger in the House together! I forgot I heard about it on Ana’s blog, but I picked up a copy from the library the other day… It looks good! I really need to read the second book in the Patrick Ness series. I have it but I can’t find it! 😦

Leave a Reply

