How To Cause Migraines Or "Thanks BP!"

Please excuse any expletives. Wanna know how to cause a month (or longer) continual migraine? Just dump a million fucking gallons of oil into the gulf of Mexico and then let it continue to spill into the gulf while you think of some way to clean it up and/or rely on others to come to your aid. Oh…that’s because BP didn’t want to spend the half million dollars that they were supposed to in the first place to assure that this wouldn’t happen. Yes, there is now a RIVER of oil in the gulf of Mexico that has now made it’s way to the coast of Louisiana and this city smells like a cauldron of gasoline. And it’s expected to continue to smell like this for at least a month. Go air quality! Thanks BP! This does wonders for those of us with horrible migraines and for those with bad breathing problems. It’s been suggested that we all just stay indoors. >>

I can’t begin to express all of the emotions and anger and aggravation and distress that this brings to me. As a human, as a citizen of Louisiana, as a citizen of the country, as a consumer, as a global citizen…..So much frustration. As an immediate stressor, it brings on a killer migraine. For any migraine sufferer, think of breathing gasoline all day. Yeah, instant migraine, right? I have a horrible one right now. Now, they’re predicting this smell in the city for awhile…not looking forward to it. Pain killers are not gonna make it that long.

As a citizen of Louisiana, this breaks my heart. So much. Right when we’re recovering from Hurricane Katrina, this comes. We’re a city and a state that relies so much…so VERY much on the wetlands. We supply 30 % of the nations fresh seafood. This has just destroyed that and will continue to destroy it. So many fisherman are out of work now for the forseeable future. Not to mention that the average spawning cycle for many fish is 3 to 4 years. This is really a disaster. We cherish our wetlands. There are myths and folktales built around them. They’re engrained in our culture. It’s like a stab to our heart when something like this happens to them. It hurts to see those oil dregs put out there in the first place, but when this happens, it’s a bullet. Yes, oil brings in money, but is it worth it? We rely so much on oil, but it’s so DAMN destructive.

Which brings me to my next point. We’ve made so much progress it seems to move towards a more “green” way of living. I know I’ve tried to be as environmentally conscious as I can be. I choose paper products whenever I can over plastic and I’ve formed a HATRED of plastic products these days. I rarely ever use them. I love reusable things now like shopping bags, cups, etc. I’m very conscious these days of using things that have chemicals…I avoid them. I’ve been trying to go a more natural route and even with my garden that I recently planted, I went all organic! Many people have done this. But this oil spill just seems like a giant slap in the face…a big negation of everything the country has done so far. That’s what it feels like. Mr. Big Corporation unleashes their oil dregs and dumps one million plus gallons of oil into our water and unleashes toxic fumes into the air and kills all of our marine life in the process as well. I’m SICK OF IT!!! What can we do??? Tell me what I can do someone and I will do it! I WILL write my congressman and tell them I’m sick of it. But I want to do more.

There plan so far was to set the oil slick on fire and hope to burn it off :/ They said that it will have “minimal damage to the fish and sea turtles in the gulf” Um….really? Fire retardant fish and turtles? Never heard of them. Fuck that! That’s bullshit! You made the problem, find a way to fix it that’s the least invasive and the most effective that DOESN’T cost OUR tax dollars. Which of course, it now is since the federal government is getting involved. I was glad to hear that the government said that they are helping but BP will ultimately be responsible for all costs related to clean up.

I just needed to vent about all of this. I’m so upset about it. I’m hurt for my state. I can deal with my headaches, but more than anything, I feel for the fisherman, for their families. You would think that it doesn’t affect many people, but it’s thousands upon thousands. More than you even realize. And it’s not just fisherman. There are so many people who’s lives rely on the gulf of Mexico down here. We’re a cityΒ  and a state that is one with the gulf of Mexico…we’re one with our wetlands and this one hurts. There’s an excellent article on Nola.com that describes everything that’s going on really well. I highly recommend you check it out!

14 Responses

  1. This makes me so sad, for so many reasons 😦 I’m so sorry, Chris.

  2. I’m sorry Chris. It is really sad. It’s just one bad thing after another lately.

  3. I choose paper products whenever I can over plastic … this is one of those damned if I do and damned if I don’t..for the trash this is a good thing. But in order to keep using paper the trees must be cut down. Considering billions of people have this choice, it’s not an easy one. I do think plastic was made so useful so as to save the paper products (trees) and the breakable glass products. As with most things (the cell phone jumps to mind) how it will effect the future is not known until it’s too late.

    The oil in the Gulf will effect a lot more people when the products aren’t there to purchase. but that’s small when you think of the people this is putting out of work.. from the fisherman to the the restaurant

    A door should not be opened without a workable plan as to how to shut it again. Only a fool steps off of a cliff without a parachute. Which makes America a pretty big fool

  4. Well you know we’re not quite as affected here – a couple hours from the coast, no gasoline smell – but you guys are so close and we hear a lot more about this than we would have when, say, we lived in Wisconsin. We feel your pain. This is terrible and part of me just feels like saying “yep, we told you so” to the oil companies. Remember all that awful “drill baby drill” stuff? Hm, was it worth this? NO.

    Jason heard an article the other day about a man from NOLA whose family had been in the oyster business for almost 150 years. There was a lot of stuff about some big oyster festival that was canceled first because of Katrina, and now – not cancelled, but who’s going to be able to sell oil-tainted oysters? The fisherman himself said he wouldn’t eat them!

    This is just so terrible on so many levels. 😦

  5. This is horrible. I’m going to start boycotting BP.

  6. I’m so mad about this. I’m far enough inland that the smell hasn’t become an issue here, but this just makes me furious.

  7. First – so sorry about the headaches. I’m not that far inland but it almost seems like there’s no coverage at all of the oil leakage, apart from the generalities about what they’re planning to do. I would never have even thought about the gasoline smell.

    The death of wildlife and the impact on fisherman is always astounding and what’s amazing is that these things just keep on happening!! We need alternate energy; that’s definitely part of the problem. But, the oil companies still do get away without really paying for what they’ve done. Remember the Exxon Valdez oil spill? You’re probably too young to remember (it was in 1989), but it was huge and horrible. Entire villages in Alaska lost their livelihood and Exxon got away with paying barely anything by comparison with what the fishermen lost — and it took 20 years of court battling to get to that point. Here’s a bit about the impact on the environment from Wikipedia:

    Almost 20 years after the spill, a team of scientists at the University of North Carolina found that the effects are lasting far longer than expected. The team estimates some shoreline Arctic habitats may take up to 30 years to recover. Exxon Mobil denies any concerns over this, stating that they anticipated a remaining fraction that they assert will not cause any long-term ecological impacts, according to the conclusions of 350 peer-reviewed studies. However, a study from scientists from the NOAA concluded that this contamination can produce chronic low-level exposure, discourage subsistence where the contamination is heavy, and decrease the “wilderness character” of the area.

    This doubly pisses me off because I grew up the child of an accountant who worked for an oil company. It was during a summer that I worked at the oil company while my husband was working on his master’s degree in bio-environmental engineering that I found out they actually show videos to the employees to reduce concern about the environmental impact of regular drilling — not accidents, but just everyday drilling. I can’t remember the pretty name they gave to the nasty stuff left behind, but environmental engineers have given it a meaningful name: “sludge”. It’s just as disgusting as it sounds. And, the chemicals used to break it down can be carcinogenic. There is no easy solution to a disaster like this. Prevention is the only way to protect the environment. We all have reason to be concerned.

    Also, just FYI, the oil companies like us to believe they’re doing poorly but I still have relatives working for the same company and their benefits are amazing. I was paying $4000 a year, after insurance, for allergy shots and my sister just walks down to the medical department where she works and gets her shots free of charge, for example (I gave up the shots because they were just too expensive). Plus, the oil company hands out “gifts” to the regular employees (a computer was one of the options — complete set-up, one year) when the profits are good.

  8. And, sorry that was such a huge post. Obviously, my tree-hugging sentimentality took over. πŸ™‚

  9. I’m so sorry … for the migraines (right there with you), and of course, for the heartbreak that is consuming your city and state you so truly love. It’s a small thing, but I will not be purchasing gas from BP. And, I will be linking to this post in my next link roundup.

    All of you will be in my thoughts.

  10. It is terrible. I live about an hour from Nancy so I don’t smell anything either but yikes the damage is horrific. I love the coastal environments and the economic consequences are astounding. I was watching the news a few mintues ago and they mentioned BP has a history of bad accidents and slighting safety measures. I hope they make them pay if possible for this. I am sorry to hear about your migraines. The Doctor told my Mom today that she has them. I thought hers were blood pressure related but he gave her medicine for them. They are nowhere near as bad as yours though. I hope they go away soon.

  11. No wonder you have a migraine – that smell is awful – cloying and invasive. I can’t stand it when I’ve been using gloss paint or anything like that, so I hate to think what you guys are going through with that wafting across from the sea. Vinegar is supposed to help get the smell out of clothes, but that’ll be useless until the slick’s cleared. It’s going to absolutely catastrophic for wildlife and it’s so gut wrenching when a landscape you love is ruined.
    I know there’s not much I can do to help from here, but I certainly won’t be giving BP any of my money. If it’s even a tiny consolation, there’s already a big boycot of BP round here for oil price rises. This gives me another reason never to buy from them again 😦

  12. well, if ya feel like driving i’ve got a open couch here in Nashville! πŸ™‚ i hope you feel better soon. I was in Breaux Bridge last weekendto visit my family and i read about the accident but at that point there was still hope that the spill would be contained. It is so terrible, from the men that died on the rig to all the people who’s livelihoods are affected to the environmental damage. And i can’t imagine “staying inside” would help you any more than it’s helped me with my allergies this year! good luck!

  13. This just sucks, in so many ways. 😦

  14. This whole situation is so incredibly frustrating, even from afar. I can’t imagine how it must feel to have it right in front of you all the time destroying the quality of life and livelihoods of the people who live in your city. I hope that oil companies will learn from this in future, but somehow doubt that they will. Here’s hoping someone comes up with a *decent* damage control idea and soon for what good it can even do at this point. 😦

Leave a Reply

