Thoughts On A Sunday Afternoon

I’ve been happy lately. Which is a good thing. Things had not been going so good lately which I’m sure many of you noticed with my random two or three week disappearances from blog land, but I feel things starting to get back to “normal” again lately, whatever that may be. I was telling a friend over email earlier that “normal” is something that I really missed. Something I take for granted all the time. And I still don’t really know that it exists aside from being the opposite of “not chaos”. But I’ll definitely take the opposite of “not chaos”!

With being happy again, I’m finding that my reading is improving too! I swear, it’s like I can’t pick a bad book lately. Seriously, I think that if I tried to pick something awful to read right now, it would magically turn into a prize winner. I’m currently right in the middle of Lonely Werewolf Girl by Martin Millar and damn this is an AWESOME freaking book!!! Seriously, I can’t believe I haven’t read this one before now. Millar is just a genius. I loved The Good Fairies of New York, but this one is 100 times better. It’s so sad and sweet sometimes and then it’s full of action and then it’s hilarious. And more than anything, I just love the characters so much. Malveria? Maybe the best character ever. Seriously, she cracks me up. And of course this book is right after Transformations and The Dream of Perpetual Motion, two AMAZING reads! I just hope it keeps going.

I’m sure that I’ll fit in some more excellent reading soon for Ana’s 1930’s mini-challenge!!! I’m so excited about this one. I definitely want to fit in some more Dorothy Sayers, but I have to catch up to her books in the 1930’s as I’m reading them in published order. I also want to read Cold Comfort Farm. But I don’t know what else to read. Any suggestions? I’d really like to read some more mysteries from that time.

Aside from reading, I decided I wanted to have a green thumb and plant things this weekend, so we planted some strawberries which are already doing fantastic!! There are berries sprouting already! I was most excited about my orange tree though! I’ve been wanting an orange tree forever, but since Hurricane Katrina, we’ve been moving from place to place, so could never plant one. Well now that we’re in our house, we finally can. So I picked out a tree and went to plant it today only to realize that I totally suck at picking out trees 😦 Some of the leaves are diseased 😦 I went to exchange it at the store but ALL of the trees are diseased 😦 So no orange tree this weekend. Instead, I got some tomatoes. Boring old tomatoes. And I think I may plant some cucumbers next weekend. But I desperately want my orange tree…..

So that’s what’s up with me….what about you? How are you guys doing?

18 Responses

  1. LA strawberries are the best. Most of my LA relatives live in New Iberia but my stepfather is from right outside of Baton Rouge. They are my favorite fruit but lately the ones in the stores do not taste good. Anyway I hope some end up in MS soon. Glad to hear you are doing well. πŸ™‚

  2. Yay for strawberries! I planted my first strawberry patch this year, and already we have little green berries too. I’m so excited about it. I had some tiny trees the Arbor Foundation gave me, but when I planted them they just turned black. I think they’re dead. O well. Now there’s more room for watermelon!

  3. I’m so jealous of your plants! I think my mom & I are going to try to have a garden this year, but I expect the deer to eat everything. :/

  4. I just had my cukes and tomaters and string beans and radishes sprout up. I’m hoping for a good harvest. i’ve tried to plant strawberries before but always miss the right season (lol, I wait until summer, d’oh, and the florida heat gets to be too much).

    I’m glad that you’re doing better, funks suck.

  5. Am glad happiness is here for you. And glad for your foray into green thumbery. I like planting herbs near windows so when you open the kitchen window the basil wafts in and when you open the dining room window, thyme wafts in.

    An orange tree sounds sooo good. Get a good green thumby friend to pick out the next orange tree with you. Dreams must be gotten, say I. Is it diseased past all repair? Still, maybe it’s not the best of idea to start with a diseased plant.

    Am reading a good little crime thriller called Bloodline, by Bill Loehfelm. Not bad. Waiting for Nora’s Ten Thousand Kingdoms to arrive. Other than that: just chilling and going through the WIPS. Been battling the fibro and writing through the sleeplessness. Which is a mercy and which helps the stories feel more urgent. So am doing well.

    Been thinking of Mennonites and the Broderhof community north of my home. (Hey, you asked us to tell you what was going on with us!) I think deep in my heart I always wanted to live in one of those communities. A kind of Americanized longhouse. Anyway, it’s either spring fever or romanticized wistfulness. But so far not enough wistfulness to make me pull out an Amish Christian romance. (May I never get that wistful!)

    Life’s interesting, though. Ain’t nothing here that a whole lotta money can’t fix.

    Wishing you continued happiness. -C

  6. I love strawberries, too. Ours are kind of buried under the mint. I haven’t felt like gardening at all. Not a happy camper, right now, but I’m so, so glad you’re getting back in the swing of things!!!!!

  7. Brittanie, Aren’t they the best? You should try growing some!! They grow so easily and they taste delicious! If you ever drive down here, pick up a few plants πŸ˜‰

    Jeane, Oooh, you grow watermelons? My gram used to grow cantaloupes and I used to love hunting for them in the patches πŸ™‚ I’m loving seeing all the green berries popping up right now. Isn’t it fun??

    Eva, It’s so much fun to have a garden!! I’m going to plant some more stuff next weekend. Think I’m going to do some bell peppers, cucumbers and green onions and then a little potted herb garden. I would totally love to have deer by the way :p I wouldn’t even mind if they ate my veggies :p Just having them around would be awesome!

    Christina, Oooh, string beans! Now that’s a good idea! If you want to grow strawberries, plant them now! It’s the perfect time for growing them. Funks do indeed suck, don’t they?

    Carole, Hey you! I definitely want to grow some herbs…that sounds delightful..opening windows and letting the smells blow through the house πŸ™‚ Yeah, the orange tree was beyond repair once I started looking at it 😦 It had this black stuff on some of the leaves and most of the leaves were curling up…I don’t know why I didn’t notice it. Sorry your fibro has been acting up!! Wish it would leave you alone! Though I’m glad to hear that the stories are flowing freely. Sounds like you’ve been thinking a lot though!! LOL An Amish Christian society, eh? Sounds like you could do some research there for a book or a short story! Wishing you the same happiness Carole πŸ™‚

    Nancy, Don’t you just love them πŸ™‚ I plan on getting some mint next weekend when I plant a true garden. There’s nothing I love more than fresh mint in iced tea!! It’s so good! You should come drive down here and help me pick out a good orange tree and then you can buy some LA strawberry plants to bring back with you πŸ™‚ Why aren’t you a happy camper? 😦 Hope it’s nothing too bad.

  8. How fun. I’m glad you had a chance to plant a few things. I leave every summer, so I’m always a little sad that I can’t try my hand at anything. I’ve also had some good luck with reading lately, but a pretty nasty three-day migraine had me reaching for an audiobook a couple nights this past week. Strangely, it was perfect for calming me down and helping me get to sleep. As for mysteries…I’m horrible with mysteries. I’ve actually blogged about my aversion to certain types of books, and that one has me scratching my head. Oh well. Every once in awhile a good one snags my attention though.

    Well, have a great week! Here’s to good and healthy plants, along with more great books. πŸ™‚

  9. I’m glad things have been going so much better for you Chris! The opposite of Chaos is GOOD. πŸ˜€ Yay for good books, for good plants, but boo for diseased trees. 😦

    As for 1930s books – have you ever read anything by Dashiell Hammett? The Thin Man and The Maltese Falcon are both excellent and both from the 30s… πŸ˜€ They aren’t quite mysteries, but more like noir crime fiction mysteries. Think old black and white noir films, only in book form! Hammett was a pioneer!

  10. Becky, Ouch!! I just got over a three day migraine recently, so I completely sympathize 😦 I’m so sorry that you had to suffer through that yourself. Aren’t they just awful. Sometimes you can just take all the meds in the world too and it just doesn’t do anything. I used to be horrible with mysteries too until I discovered Dorothy Sayers! And now I want more!! If I can find more that are as good as her then I’ll be happy πŸ˜€ Thanks for the good wishes, that’s a great one!

    Amanda, Thanks πŸ˜€ Boo for diseased trees indeed 😦 I was so upset when I noticed all that black crap on the leaves. It made me so sad. I wanted to get the tree better, but I don’t have the time right now to put into it. I have not read any Hammett! But I most certainly will be now!!! I’ve always wanted to read The Thin Man and now I’m so excited about it. Your description of it is just perfect. I LOVE black and white noir films. Yep…going to check Paperback Swap now πŸ˜€ Thanks!!

  11. Really, you like it better than Good Fairies? I love them both to bits, but I think Good Fairies will always be number one for me.

    And hey, tomatoes aren’t boring! πŸ˜›

  12. I laughed out loud when I read : it’s like I can’t pick a bad book lately.
    “lately????!!!” You almost never don’t like a book!!! hahahaha Of which I am very jealous since that means you don’t waste money on books you wind up not enjoying!

    Oh.. and the boring tomato plants?.. any boring fruit from those plants that you don’t want just send them my way!!! Ohhhhhhhh how I looovvvve fresh tomatoes!!!! When I was younger I always had veggie gardens!!! I could never get enough tomatoes! So remember when they turn red and you say, “oh not another tomato”.. just send that baby right to me! lol

  13. I loved Cold Comfort Farm and after reading Ana’s review I picked up Nightingale Wood by Stella Gibbons too, so I shall probably read that for her challenge.

    Glad to hear that things are looking up for you now.

  14. Well, I tried watermelon last year and got one little one. Icebox variety, but still it was so small we each only got a few bites! I’m hoping to do better this year. I’ve been more successful with cantaloupes, except the bugs really like them too… boring tomatoes? try growing some heirloom varieties! They look interesting and taste fantastic, too.

  15. Good to hear things are looking up for you Chris! πŸ™‚

  16. Glad things are going better for you! And isn’t Lonely Werewolf Girl amazing? Of course when you finish it you’ll join the ranks of those of us who are suffering agonies of waiting for the sequel to come out later on this year…

  17. I would love to come visit you and help you pick out an orange tree!!! I need out of here, soon. I’m getting stir crazy. Careful with the mint — it grows like a weed and it will take over your garden, jump into the yard and kill the neighbors. Okay, it’s not that extreme, but it’s very, very hard to get rid of once you get it going.

    I’m not a happy camper because my eldest child is driving me nuts. I would tell you the details but I think it’s best to keep them off a public forum. You can write to me, if you’d like. I would welcome an email. πŸ™‚ Also, we’re in appliance hell and the pipes keep backing up, plus the house is a mess because we were painting and preparing to put down new flooring before the dryer died. Basically, I’m dealing with my own form of chaos, right now. There’s good happening, too. Like . . . Fiona. All good. She is a crazy-fun little fur girl.

  18. Ha – I’m laughing at Nancy’s comment about mint – too funny. Yep, mine is taking over but I don’t mind at all. GO MINT! be fruitful and multiply and let me pick you for my yummy alcoholic drinks! I planted strawberries, too but I’m actually worried my dog will eat them. he loves strawberries. We’ll see. I love planting perennial herbs – tarragon, oregano, sage – can’t wait! I love to garden but I’m not that knowledgeable and usually get frustrated that books don’t seem to tell me exactly what I want to know. sigh.

Leave a Reply

