What's Going On In My Book World

I was going to write a couple of reviews tonight but I’m really not feeling up to it right now, so I’m not :p Instead, I thought I’d just chat about books right now. That’s always fun, right? What I’m reading, what I’ve read, what I’m looking forward to…that kind of stuff.

I have a few books that I NEED to review right now. Ever since I started book blogging, it drives me nuts when I finish a book and don’t review it. It’s something that constantly just sits in the back of my mind until I get it done. I used to literally review each and every book I read the second I turned the last page. But now it may be a month after I read a book before I get around to reviewing it. Is it just me or does everyone else go crazy when they have books to review?

Right now I have three books to review. One of them is in the works, and that’s Manhood for Amateurs by Michael Chabon. I’m co-reviewing that with Kelly from The Written World. We’ve exchanged questions, now we just have to answer them. I loved that book so much. I didn’t know what to think of Chabon before reading that and I’m so glad that I finally got up the nerve to read something by him. I also finished This World We Live In by Susan Beth Pfeffer in two sittings and need to review that one. No surprise here, but I loved that one as well :p More when I review it. And finally, I finished Raven Stole the Moon by Garth Stein tonight and wow what an awesome book! I know everyone is sick of hearing about it after the recent blog tour, but you’re just going to have to hear me rave about it some more. It was just a solid book and I really enjoyed it.

Right now…believe it or not, I’m down to only reading ONE BOOK!! Which I haven’t done in ages. I’m still reading Aurora Leigh by Elizabeth Barrett Browning. I had put it aside to get some other reading done and just picked it back up tonight. My plan is to read one “book” of it a night for the next 6 nights. So I’ll have it finished by the 28th. I don’t do well with reading large chunks of classics at a time, so I’m taking it in baby steps. I think I’m also going to read The Storm in the Barn by Matt Phelan tonight. It’s a graphic novel and I haven’t read one of those in awhile.

Last thing I wanted to talk about is all of the cool books that are coming out soon!!! I was looking at my Amazon wishlist the other day and just realized how much I have to be excited about! Look at all of this stuff:

1. Instructions by Neil Gaiman, Illustrated by Charles Vess – After the beauty of Blueberry Girl, I can’t wait to see how the picture book collaboration of Instructions comes out between Gaiman and Vess. I’m sure it will be just as incredible! I’ve already pre-ordered my copy 😀 Actually, I’ve already pre-ordered all of the above books :/

2. The Beastly Bride ed. by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling – In the spirit of books like The Coyote Road and The Faerie Reel comes, The Beastly Bride, tales of “the animal people”, animals in myth and folklore and fairy tales. This one is just going to be so amazing!! Peter Beagle, Tanith Lee, Jane Yolen…among others….yeah…

3. The Hurricane Party by Klas Ostergen – One of the Canongate Myth books. I’ve only read the Penelopiad in this series, but I want to get and read them all. So I’m excited about this one 😀

4. Mockingjay by Suzanne Collins – Duh..last book in the Hunger Games trilogy. Can’t wait to see how this one concludes!!

5. Puppet Master by Joanne Owen – This one actually came out in hardcover a couple of years ago and I’ve been wanting to read it. Mariel reviewed it and I’ve had it on my radar since then. But I LOVE the paperback cover, so I’m really excited about it 😀

6. Stories: Ed. by Neil Gaiman – A short story collection edited by Neil Gaiman??? I’m all there!

7. Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green and David Leviathan – You better believe that I preordered my copy!

8. Monsters of Men by Patrick Ness – Possibly the most anticipated book of my life.

So what am I missing here? Are there any books that you know of that are coming out that I should be super ecstatic about that I don’t have on my list? Or are there any books that you’re super ecstatic about that you feel like chatting about? Let me know! Hopefully I’ll have some reviews coming soon.

12 Responses

  1. Ooh, that Puppet Masters book looks gorgeous. I’ve never even heard of it but between the title and the cover I’m intrigued.

    I’m afraid I’m still in the write-this-review-the-moment-I-finish phase. I draft them and post them later, but I have to write them within a day. I rarely go more than a day without it, I get all antsy.

  2. Isn’t anticipation wonderful?!!! sometimes I think it’s better then the actual thing, whatever it is!
    Now.. you know I love you, so that said mom2 is giving you a suggestion I think you should consider…” move all your bookshelves, DOWNSTAIRS… before upstairs “becomes” downstairs from all the weight of books”!!!! (I am laughing and shaking my head and ALMOST (but not really) glad I am mom 2 and not mom ! LOL LOL

    I cant laugh too hard as I have “anticipation” of a few books too (naturally) but at least I am on the ground floor lol.. I might do a short “anticipation” list myself …you are too cute for your own good Chris!

  3. There are two books that I definitely want on your list. Mockingjay and Monsters of Men – I can’t wait for both.

    I find I have to review the books quite quickly after reading them otherwise I forget what I wanted to say.

    I am glad to hear that Raven Stole the Moon is as good as they say. When it has been on a blog tour,you are never sure whether it is all just hype.

  4. I still haven’t read Catching Fire because I don’t want to read it too long before the last book is released. But I will soon!

    And yes, I hate knowing I have books to review too.

  5. oh.. forgot to mention but when I wrote it for MY post I thought I should come back and let you know that the new Fablehaven book has been released!

  6. I want to read that story anthology edited by Gaiman! I’m expecting some fantastical things.

  7. I think I just need to copy and paste that whole list and pre-order them all, too. Yikes. But I’m with you…Monsters of Men may just be the most anticipated book of my life, too! I may just have to give Annie the day off school when it arrives. 😉 Of course, Rich and I might be fighting over it when it does get here. He’s just reached the “Davy part” in TAATA. Oh, and Instructions! I love that poem soooo much–I’ve no doubt that book is going to be gorgeous!

  8. I go crazy when I am finished with a book and haven’t written the review yet. I have three in my queue right now and really need to get at least one of them written soon! P.S. It is exciting too see all of the new Neil Gaiman books!

  9. I’m looking forward to hearing your thoughts on Aurora Leigh! I’ve read excerpts from it, but never (yet) the whole thing.

  10. Lemmie see….

    Monsters, Mockingjay and Will Grayson/Will Grayson are definitely on my “IWANTTHEMNOW!” list, as is This World We Live in. 🙂

  11. Oh, boy! A John Green book. Wahoo!

    Yes, I’m haunted by unwritten reviews. Not as much as I’m haunted by the unread books, though. The stacks are getting on my nerves, again. I’m really not reading much at all, lately — too intimidated by all those books that are screaming at me and way too tired.

  12. excelenta troslalim de desos y tucos con deirias porfitiza. rirem a jupoi y stamo bradiais con iteal ananamo!

Leave a Reply

