It's Once Upon A Time Time!

I’m so very excited 😀 If there’s one thing that can jumpstart me and really get me back into the swing of things when it comes to blogging, it’s the Once Upon a Time challenge, hosted by one of my very favorite bloggers, Carl at Stainless Steel Droppings. Carl’s one of the first bloggers that I met and his very first Once Upon a Time Challenge was the first challenge that I ever joined. So I’m thrilled to join it again for the fourth year in a row! It celebrates what will always be my favorite genre of books – fantasy, folklore, mythology and fairy tales. Just those words put a huge smile on my face!

I’ll be doing Quest the First which is to read at least five books that fit into any of the categories that Carl offers for the challenge. As for a pool, I leaving my options WAY open. I’m sure I’ll find books throughout the challenge that aren’t listed here that I want to read. But here are a few that are on my TBR list that really stood out that I want to read:

1. Girl Meets Boy by Ali Smith
2. Small Gods by Terry Pratchett
3. Lips Touch Three Times by Laini Taylor
4. Goblin Market and Other Poems by Christina Rossetti
5. Haroun and the Sea of Stories by Salman Rushdie
6. Transformations by Anne Sexton
7. The Onion Girl by Charles De Lint
8. Fables Vol. 5: The Mean Seasons by Bill Willingham
9. Dangerous Angels: The Weetzie Bat Collection by Francesca Lia Black
10. The Book on Fire by Keith Miller
11. Skellig by David Almond
12. Bone Vol. 3 by Jeff Smith
13. Ash by Malinda Lo
14. The Fox Woman by Kij Johnson
15. Black Juice by Margo Lanagan
16. Graceling by Kristin Cashore
17. A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray
18. Weight by Jeanette Winterson
19. The Alchemy of Stone by Ekaterina Sedia
20. Lux the Poet by Martin Millar
21. His Majesty’s Dragon by Naomi Novik
22. Voices of Our Shadow by Jonathan Carrol
23. Pedro Paramo by Juan Rulfo
24. Zahrah the Windseeker by Nnedi Okorafor-Mbachu
25. Hidden Warrior by Lynn Flewelling
26. The Ice Queen by Alice Hoffman
27. The Tempest by William Shakespeare
28. Lud in the Mist by Hope Mirless
29. One Hundred Years of Solitude by Gabriel Garcia Marquez
30. The Watermelon King by Daniel Wallace
31. The Green Man ed. by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling
32. The Faerie Reel ed. by Ellen Datlow and Terri Windling
33. Enchanted Night by Steven Millhauser

So I’d say that should get me through about three months at least, eh? lol…Where do you think I should start??

24 Responses

  1. What a fantastic selection of books to choose from! I’ve not read many from the list but both Graceling and His Majesty’s Dragon are great fun. So pleased that it’s this time of year again. Time to explore my own shelves for inspiration…

  2. The Ice Queen is excellent, quirky and original. I have His Majesty’s Dragon (Temeraire) on my list too – hoping to get to it this year.

  3. I’d start with Graceling. You know how much I love Kristin Cashore. Or A Great and Terrible Beauty. I love the Gemma Doyle trilogy. Of course, The Faery Reel and The Green Man collections are fantastic. You have a great pool there Chris! Have fun! I hope it brings back your blogging mojo; I’ve missed you!

  4. ….and I’m sure that list is just a small portion of what you really have to choose from! LOL..
    the ONLY one of all those books I’ve read is Graceling.. (yes it is good!) but I wouldn’t even guess at where you should start! lol.. reading is like a box of chocolates.. you never know what you will get lol

  5. Go with Skellig,it is fabulous and quite an easy read to get you in the mood for fantasy.

  6. You have Skellig and Ash on your list too?? !!! We might be reading some of the same books! 😀 And Enchanted Night by Milhauser is a very interesting book. I read it last year in the spring. It was STRANGE. I still think about it sometimes.

  7. SUCH a bunch of good books. Transformations, Fables, and Skellig are all among my all-time faves.

  8. Start with Lud-in-the-Mist! It’s like Stardust’s godparent!

  9. your list has made me wnt to go out shopping! One Hundred Years of Solitude would be a fab read to start with. Enjoy x

  10. Weight by Jeanette Winterson is hands down one of my favourite novels and one of my favourite myth re-tellings (the entire series is actually quite good but I’m partial to the story of Atlas). It’s short but incredibly satisfying – that’s what I’d recommend you start with! (:

  11. Nice book pool! Best of luck with the challenge, I’m sure you will have no problem 😀
    My choices would be Skellig (because it was wonderful all-around) and Ash (because I’ve heard great things and just picked it up myself) 🙂

  12. I don’t think you should put such limited restrictions on your reading pool, you really should open it up a little!… 😉

    As for where to start, I’m joining the Skellig crowd! Wonderful book and a perfect one to start with!

  13. Wow! You have a very long, but great-looking list! I’d start with Lips Touch Three Times.

  14. What a fabulous pool of books! You’ve included some of my favorites. I would suggest starting with “Haroun and the Sea of Stories”.

  15. Holy S…, Chris, that is a worthy and exciting pile to choose from! I’m in awe of the knowledge you have in this genre, which makes sharing this challenge with you all the more enriching. I think I’m going to have to revise some of my plans to include something more than my childhood favorites. 😉

  16. What a great stack! I’m glad I’m not the only one who has a ton of books picked for this list. The Green Man and The Faery Reel are both on my list for this challenge! The Tempest is a good read but I wouldn’t pick it as the first book to pick up. I’m suggesting Fables Vol. 5 first then Gobin Market then Lips Touch Three Times. Happy reading!

  17. Aww, your list almost made me want to add more things to my list! Black Juice is amazing, and Lud in the Mist is one of my favourites. Will be interested to hear what you think of The Alchemy of Stone; I read A Secret History of Moscow a few months ago and loved it. So excited to be doing this challenge with all of you!

  18. Wow, that’s one hell of a pile you’ve got, there. I think I have exactly one of those titles: The Ice Queen by Alice Hoffman. Oh, no, I still have some Bone titles I haven’t read and I read 100 Years of Solitude many years ago. I liked it. It took me nearly 100 years to read it, though.

  19. Awesome list! I love BONE!!!!!!

  20. I shall selfishly say “Start with ‘Lud-in-the-Mist’ and ‘The Alchemy of Stone’!” ^-~

    Both “Graceling” and “A Great and Terrible Beauty” are on my TBR pile somewhere. ^-^ I’m not sure, but I think “The Fox Woman” is as well. No, wait. That’s “Fudoki” I’ve got…

    It sounds like a wonderfully exciting list put all together, though! I hope you’ll enjoy the books loads! ^-^

  21. Enjoy your books! Happy reading! I am hoping I can read for this challenge!

  22. Skellig skellig Skellig!!!

  23. I’m with Jenny – Lud-in-the-Mist is a must-read! I’ve got both The Green Man and Weight on my list. I like the cover of The Fox Woman, it makes me want to read it.

  24. well, i’ve read six of yours! I will recommend you go for Hidden Warrior (i’ve got the next on my list this year) and Skellig is wonderful! also, Fables is a very cool series so you can’t go wrong with that.

Leave a Reply

