Not Quite The WORST Bad Bloggers Ever, But…

I’ve done worse….I remember a Bad Bloggers post once where I had 30 books that I had to dole out blame for. It’s not quite that bad this time, but it’s not great either. There’s 24 books that I’m about to present to you. The good thing is, I got rid of 80 BOOKS a couple of weeks ago!!! When I go into these funks I start to get really bothered by clutter. It’s a mental thing. So I just went through my shelves and said “what can I live without” And I discovered that 80 books is what I could live without. So 80 out 24 in is not so bad, right? Anyway, here’s what came into the house:

1. Popular Music From Vittula by Mikael NiemiChartroose reviewed this one ages ago and really raved about it and man I’ve been wanting to read it like crazy ever since then. And I finally got myself a copy. I miss Chartroose a lot 😦 But after this last episode, I totally understand the need to take some time away from blogging every now and then too. A point to Ms. Chartroose though! (Paperback Swap)

2. Alcatraz Vs. The Evil Librarians by Brandon Sanderson – This book just sounds like a lot of fun. And I know I’ll like it based on the cover alone. And I’m not entirely convinced that I don’t have my own evil librarians at my library. Why are some of them so MEAN??? Thank got for librarians like Nicky (stormfilled) and Ana the future purple librarian to balance those out! Oh, and a point totally goes to Becky for me acquiring this one! (Paperback Swap)

3. Aurora Leigh by Elizabeth Barrett Browning Jason over at Moored at Sea recommended this one to me and to be honest with you I was SCARED TO DEATH of it! Totally out of my comfort zone, but it sounded so intriguing. It’s a 19th century novel written in verse that deals with a lot of womens issues. I started it two nights ago right after I had finished Push by Sapphire (which was mega intense) and couldn’t get into it right away. Well I went back to it last night and I’m loving it!! The language is so beautiful and the story moves with such ease!! Really enjoying it. Point to Jason! (Bought it)

4. Maya Running by Anjali Banerjee –Β  After I read Looking for Bapu, I just had to read everything else she’s written! And I plan to start with this one πŸ™‚ It sounds amazing and I can’t wait to read it!! I just can’t wait to read more of anything that Anjali has written. Looking for Bapu was just such an incredible book.

5. Looking for Bapu by Anjali Banerjee – So excited to have my own copy of this one now! The copy I had before was a library copy. Now I have my own!

6. Raven Stole the Moon by Garth Stein – I was sent this book to review by the publisher and I feel horrible that I didn’t get it reviewed by the time I was supposed to 😦 Total #chrisfail. I just haven’t had the time, the motivation, the energy with everything that’s been going on. I’m over halfway through it though and what I can tell you is that I’m seriously loving this book!! It’s even better than what I was expecting it to be. I’ll still have my full review up as soon as I finish it. Just feel really bad that it wasn’t up when it was supposed to be 😦 (From the publisher)

7. Beyond the Night by Joss Ware – I’m so excited about this book πŸ˜€ The reason being is that Joss Ware is a pen name of Colleen Gleason, the author of The Gardella Vampire Series, one of my favorite series. Not only is Colleen an amazing author, but she’s just an amazing person too. Can’t wait to read her new series!!! From what I know, it’s a post-apocalyptic series with zombies!! And a touch of romance of course. AND, to make this even better, my wonderful friend Nancy sent this to me along with the next three books I’m going to mention πŸ˜€ I don’t know what I’d do without the Bookfool!!!! (Gift from a friend)

8. Lunchtime Enlightenment by Pragito Dove – I don’t even know much about this book! But Nancy knows my tastes and my interests well and she knows I like this Eastern meditation type stuff, so I’m guessing I’ll enjoy this one πŸ˜€ (Gift from a friend)

9. If a Tree Falls at Lunch Period by Gennifer Choldenko – Now even though Nancy gave me this book, she’s getting a point for it too 😦 Sorry Nancy, isn’t it unfortunate how that works out? πŸ˜‰ Why? Because her review of it made it sounds so good! It’s a young adult book that deals with race issues and sounds like just the kind of book that I love! (Gift from a friend)

10. The Swan Thieves by Elizabeth Kostova – When Nancy sent me her ARC of this one I nearly had a heart attack :p I’ve been dying for Kostova’s next book ever since I read The Historian!!! I doubt that this will live up to the love I have for The Historian, but I’m sure I’ll enjoy it none the less! (Gift from a friend)

11. What is the What by Dave Eggers – Just because ever since reading The Wild Things I want everything that Dave Eggers has ever written. I’m convinced that the man is a freaking genius. (Paperback Swap)

12. Wait Until Twilight by Sang Pak – Another one that I can’t remember entirely what it’s about but that I became obsessed with wanting as soon as Joanne at Book Zombie reviewed it. I just remember she did an incredible review of it and the cover is so intriguing. It reminds me a lot of Ishiguro’s Never Let me Go in the cover with just the blank face. (Paperback Swap)

13. The Metamorphosis by Franz Kafka, adapted by Peter Kuper – So as soon as Amanda reviewed this graphic novel version of The Metamorphosis, I knew I had to have it. I LOVE The Metamorphosis. It’s one of the things I read in high school that I actually really loved. And then she flat out offered me her copy!!! So Amanda, sadly this is yet another instance where I have to inflict a point of blame on you even though you did a charitable thing :/ Sorry. (Gift from a Friend)

14. Precious (or Push) by Sapphire – I hadn’t heard of this book until the movie Precious came out. I wish I was aware of it before that. But I’m glad I’m aware of it now. I hate these movie tie in versions where they change the title, but the book is the same. I’m not going to tell you about it now because I plan on reviewing it in full, but damn it’s good and damn it hurts and damn it’s powerful. You can just get it now! (Paperback Swap)

15. Supermarket by Satoshi Azuchi – I’ve just been wanting this book forever…ever since it was first announced. It’s a fictional look at Japan around the time that supermarkets were first introduced to the country. Interesting (Bought it) By the way, all of the following books (or the next 8 were all bought from book closeouts :p)

16. Hero by Perry Moore – Yes!!! I finally have Hero!!! I’ve been wanting to read this one for ages, but especially ever since Ana over at Things Mean A Lot reviewed it however long ago that was. So she gets a point for this one. It’s about a gay superhero. (bought it)

17. Warhorses by Yusef Komunyakaa – A point to Lu at Regular Rumination for this one!!! I asked her for poetry suggestions awhile back and this is one of the poets that she suggested to me! Really looks like an incredibly awesome little collection. (Bought it)

18. My Mistresses Sparrow is Dead ed. by Jeffery Eugenides – A fine looking collection of love stories from throughout the ages. I first heard about this one from Eva atΒ  A Striped Armchair! If I recall there were hits and misses with her with this collection, but it just looks like such a unique and interesting collection that when I saw it at such a good price at bookcloseouts.com I had to have it :p Point to Eva! (Bought it)

19. Fidelity: Poems by Grace Paley – Can I give points to Nancy’s future Daughter in Law? :/ No? I’ll just give another point to Nancy for this one :p Nancy’s future DIL recommended this one to her. She said that it’s her favorite poet and favorite book and Nancy seemed to really enjoy it too. And I found it at a great price, so I thought I’d check it out as well! Looking forward to it. (Bought it)

20. The Boy in the Dress by David Walliams – I’m SO excited about this book!!! It’s about a boy who is “different”. He plays soccer and everything else but finds that he likes to sew and wear dresses. And the book is marketed to children which makes it even better in my eyes. Can’t wait to actually read it. (Bought it)

21. Girl Meets Boy by Ali Smith – Part of the Canongate Myth Series. And Ana reviewed it and gets a point for it. And I’ve just been wanting to read it FOREVAH!! (Bought it)

22. Mojo: Conjure Stories by Various – Just looks like a really awesome short story collection that includes a great short story by Neil Gaiman among a few other cool authors and many authors that I’ve never heard of. But I love stories in this genre. Can’t wait to check it out!! And isn’t the cover image awesome? (Bought it)

23. The Dead Tossed Waves by Carrie Ryan – I pre-ordered this one and It’s here! It’s here!! The companion novel to The Forest of Hands and Teeth which I absolutely loved last year. Hope this one is just as good if not even better!! (Bought it)

24. This World We Live In by Susan Beth Pfeffer – Phew!! Finally, the last book! I don’t think this book is supposed to come out until April! But Amazon shipped it to me already :p SQUEE!!! Why am I so excited? Because I freaking love this series!!! Can’t wait to read the third “moon book”. (Bought it)

21 Responses

  1. I love the story about the author of Looking for Bapu! Really I’m having to exercise extreme self-control not to go out and buy that one (not all my birthday presents are here – my mom told me today she hadn’t had time to go shopping for me so she says I’m still forbidden to buy anything on my wishlist, which that one is…). It sounds so amazing and I want to read it NOW.

    You’ll have to let me know if The Dead-Tossed Waves is good. I liked The Forest of Hands and Teeth and I wanted to read the next book, but then I found out it wasn’t a continuation of Mary’s story, but a story about her daughter and that made me less interested. If it’s good, though, I’ll definitely want to read it!

  2. I’m interested to see what you think of this world we live in. I read it in back in december and I’ve been waiting (sometimes not so patiently) to see what people think about it!

  3. to my Charlie Brown son… “good grief!” lol lol

  4. Yay Yusef! I love him! SO MUCH.

  5. You have so many great ones!! My 18-year old love Hero! You have many that I want to read!! Enjoy!

  6. Fidelity is a nice collection of poetry. Enjoyed it – hope you do too!

  7. I just finished The Wild Things and a little disappointed. Although I still love him. What is the What is amazing. I always jump at the chance to plug it! One of my fave books ever.

  8. Uh-oh. I’m not sure I wanted to know there’s another Susan Beth Pfeffer book out. I love those books. You got quite a nice pile, there. Have fun reading!!

  9. Anjali Banerjee and I went to high school together so I am so excited that you loved “Bapu”. I’ve enjoyed all her books so far and she has a new one (Seaglass Summer) coming out soon. I also really enjoyed the graphic novel of Metamorphosis. Enjoy them all!

  10. Amanda, Oh if you don’t get Looking for Bapu for your birthday you either have to go buy it or get it from the library or I’ll just buy it for you :p Somehow you have to read it!!! It’s such an incredible book and I know for a fact that you’ll love it. It’s just your type of book. It’ll definitely be making my top whatever number of the year! I sort of wish that Dead Tossed Waves was a continuation of Forest of Hands and Teeth as well 😦 But at the same time, I liked FOHAT so much that I can’t imagine hating this one…we’ll see how I feel about it. I’ll be sure to let you know πŸ˜‰

    Becky, I can’t tell you how hard it’s been for me to keep looking at that one and not just start it!!! I’m so obsessed with that series and have been waiting so impatiently for that book to come out πŸ˜€ Can’t wait!!

    Deslily, What can I say :p Did you really expect anything less, lol.

    Lu, I know!! That’s why I got it!! LOL..Look at you up to 4 points now!

    Staci, How cool that your 18 year old loved Hero so much! I should get a list of recommendations from him? her? You should let your child write a guest post of recommended books πŸ˜€

    Melissa, I’m sure I’ll like it!! It sounds excellent!

    Claire, Oh no! I’m sorry to hear you were disappointed in The Wild Things 😦 I really loved it! Aha!!! Now I remember! It’s YOU that loved What is the What so much! I knew it was someone πŸ˜€ Can’t wait to read it and tell you what I thought of it! I’m sure I’ll enjoy it too.

    Nancy, Mwuhahahahha, Now there’s yet another book you must get! I should really just get it for you after the books that you showered upon me!! Isn’t it such a great series? Supposedly Miranda and Alex meet up in this book! Sounds fun to me. Fun and depressing, lol. As both were.

    Helen, Oh how cool! I’ve talked to Anjali Banerjee a few times now over email and she is just the most incredible, sweetest person. And so easy to talk to. Can’t wait to read her collection. Maya Running looks fantastic. And I was just reading about Seaglass Summer. Really looks good. Can’t wait to check out The Metamorphosis in graphic form! Looks great πŸ™‚

  11. What a fun list of books! Looking for Bapu just arrived via ILL for me! I can’t wait. πŸ˜€

  12. You got This world we live in????!!!!!! I want that one too. I freaking love that series as well. Must check Amazon at once.

  13. I’m reading The Dead and the Gone at the moment (well among 3 other books so when I say reading, I mean I’ve started it!) But I definitely want to read This World We Live in, as soon as I can shuffle some more books off the TBR pile. πŸ˜€

    An thank-you, once again you make me feel so much better about my own book acquisition habits when you stick up posts like these! ;P

  14. Eva, Oh YAY!!!! You’re going to love it πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ At least I hope you do!! LOL. It’s such a good book. Can’t wait to hear what you think of it!

    Louise, I did! I did!! Go run to Amazon πŸ˜€

    Darren, I’m in the middle of 3 books right now too :p I feel your pain, lol. I started This World We Live In last night!!! And of course read half of it :p It’s just one of those series that you just can’t put down once you start!! It’s so damned good! I live to serve my friend πŸ˜‰ I only hope I can continue to make you feel better, lol

  15. I pre-ordered Dead-Tossed Waves and it didn’t come!! Instead of complaining I just canceled it and went and bought it today. So, now I have it here to read. Yay! I never get points for Bad Blogger. Is that a good thing or a bad thing…

  16. -80 vs +24 = a very good job!

    Love how you blurb each book, and since I’m being frugal I only added three to my TBR list from your list – Beyond The Night, Dead Tossed Wave and World We Live In – all must reads for me!

    Hope you enjoy all your bookish bounty πŸ™‚

  17. Awesome! I was first on the library list for Dead-Tossed waves, so I’ll be getting to that very soon.

  18. Oh, no! Just enjoy the books I sent you — please do NOT feel like you owe me anything in return. I’ve put the new Moon book on my wish list. I’ll get it, someday.

    Now, to get you into trouble . . . I’m reading a poetry book that I just know you’ll love: Sailing Alone Around the World by Billy Collins. Have you read it? It’s many flavors of awesome!!

  19. Kelly, I saw that you’re reading The Dead Tossed Waves! I debated starting that one or This World We Live in and This World We Live in won out :p I’ll prob read the Ryan book next :p As for Bad Blogger points, you definitely got some last round!! And you have 3 already for this round!!! That’s a lot more than most people!!!

    Joanne, I could just ramble about books all day :p It’s what I do best. And those are three excellent books to pick to add to the wishlist!

    Beth, Woohoo!!! Can’t wait to hear what you think about it!!

    Nancy, Well, i don’t feel like I OWE you anything….It may just be a surprise πŸ˜‰ Whenever I remember to order surprises, lol. I’m almost finished it and it’s REALLY good!! Ooooh, I haven’t heard of Sailing Alone Around the World but it sounds really good based on the title alone!!! I’ve been pretty big into poetry books lately. Have to go check it out now!

  20. Horrors, I got the title wrong. It’s Sailing Alone Around the Room. Sigh. I’ll bet you won’t see this, but I will tell you it’s wonderful and then . . . I guess I’ll go tell you again in another comment section, just to be sure. πŸ˜‰

  21. Nancy, I did see it :p And I actually already found the book and it’s added to my PBS wishlist :p I added it yesterday. I’m 5th in line!

Leave a Reply

