Long Time No Vlog

So Eva convinced me to vlog again :/ I seriously needed to do a library loot/bad bloggers thing anyway, and this is the easiest way to go I suppose, so here it is :p If you desire, you can listen to me babble for ten minutes by watching this video:

Here are all of the books that I mentioned and the people who get the points:

1. Between Mom and Jo by Julie Anne Peters (Paperback Swap) (Point to Amanda)

2. Define Normal by Julie Anne Peters (Paperback Swap)

3. Raven Summer by David Almond (Paperback Swap) (Point to Darren)

4. Small Gods by Terry Pratchett (Paperback Swap) (Point to Nymeth and Aarti)

5. Looking for Bapu by Anjali Banerjee (Library) (Point to Lu)

6. Postsecret: Confessions of Life, Death, and God by Frank Warren (Library)

7. Mare’s War by Tanita S. Davis (Library) (Point to Heather)

8. The Storm in the Barn by Matt Phelan (Library) (Point to Vasilly)

9. The Nature of Jade by Deb Caletti (Library) (Point to Amanda)

10. The Einstein Intersection by Samuel R. Delany (Bought it) (Point to Neil Gaiman)

11. They Were Just People by Bill Tammeus (Bought it) (Point to Nancy)

12. Little Boy Lost by Marghanita Laski (Bought it)

13. A Little Book of Irish Verse (Gift from Shanra)

14. Beyond This Dark House by Guy Gavriel Kay (Gift from Shanra) (Point to Shanra)

15. Skin by Adrienne Maria Vrettos (Paperback Swap) (Point to Becky)

16. Goblin Market and Other Poems by Christina Rossetti (Bookmooch)

17. The Sandman: Vol 2 – The Doll’s House by Neil Gaiman (Library)

18 Responses

  1. Hey, just wanted to say you have fricken awesome taste in books. I mean, Deb Caletti, Neil Gaiman, Terry Pratchett… I just want to give you a high-five.

  2. Yay!!! I’m doing the Eva happy dance right now!!! (And isn’t that 10 minute limit the most frustrating thing ever?! lol)

    Seriously, this made my Friday. 😀 (Which probably says sad things about my social life, but oh well.) And do I see a Saints shirt?! Who dat?!

    ‘Oh My Lord’ <– the cutest thing ever. I heart your accent.

    I just realised this whole comment might not talk about books! lol I'm too tired to say smart things though. Oh! But Rosetti just came up! I've been wanting to read her forever, since I lurve Possession so much. But poetry scares me.

    And thus ends my stream-of-conscious reaction to your vlog. But seriously, I lurved it, and I hope you do them more frequently.

  3. Quite happy to accept the point in general for Almond 😉 but Raven/Jacdaw Summer is one of the Almonds I’ve not read yet… Still when I do, I can give you the point right back now! 😀

  4. Oh … I love your accent!!! I could listen to you talk all da \o/

    Tigana is one of my favourite books _ I hope you give it a shot, but you’ve got an awesome-sounding selection there 😀

  5. I love you. That’s it.. i love you…
    I even love that you BUY a book you’ve already read.. yep.. that helps the weight on the bookshelves uhuh.. :o)

  6. Chris! You got Mare’s War! It is the best book, I just love it to pieces. Mare is such an amazing character. I’m glad you’re enjoying it.

    And it was so great to “see” you! Love the accent 😉

  7. 😀 I wish you’d vlog EVERY day!!! Of course, I did just want to reach right through the screen to hug you.

    Ana got Rich Small Gods for Christmas…he ABSOLUTELY LOVED it!!! In fact, she turned him into a Discworld fan with that one book. He’s bought several more since. I really need to read it, too.

    I was so sad…I couldn’t find Looking for Bapu yesterday. 😦 Guess I’ll just have to order it.

  8. A fabulous vlog. Now I am worried how you pronounce Aarti!

    Raven Summer by David Almond – I am presuming it is the same as Jackdaw Summer over here, which I have just read. I wonder why they do that. I loved it and I hope you do too.

  9. We should read Define Normal together! I’ve loved everythign I’ve read by Peters so far, too. So many good books on there! And you checked out The Nature of Jade! That book is the REASON I love elephants, seriously. I never even thought about them before that. I hope you love it!

    I agree with Eva, you have the best accent in the world. The only problem with vlogs like this is that they make me miss you so much. I need another NOLA vacation, seriously!!

  10. GOBLIN MARKET! goblinmarketgoblinmarketgoblinmarketgoblinmarketgoblinmarketgoblinmarketMUSHROOMMUSHROOM!

    I LOVE Goblin Market! It’s one of my all time favorite poems EVER! EVER! EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Sorry. I’m better now.

    EVER!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  11. Jason’s right, Goblin Market is awesome! I finally get a point! Yay! *dancing* Happy reading!

  12. Thanks for the mention of my new book, “They Were Just People: Stories of Rescue in Poland During the Holocaust.” For more information about it see http://www.theywerejustpeople.com. Cheers, Bill Tammeus

  13. So many good books! No worries on the name- no one gets it right 😉 I’m so glad you’re reading Small Gods! One of my favorite Discworld novels ever. The God Om. And Brutha. So great 🙂

  14. I think that one is my first Bad Blogger point!!!! That’s really exciting 😀

  15. I’m just going to join the small polonaise of people who think “Goblin Market” is a good read… ^-~ (Only coursework reading I ever felt vaguely comfortable saying something in class about too.)

    I love how you go “Four books, two minutes, gotta hurry up!” and then slow right back down again for the books you’re really, really excited about. XD

    And you’re welcome for the book(s). ^-^ I’d completely forgotten I’d included that little hardcover.

    Discworld! I need to find the mood to read Pratchett in. I have several Discworld books lying around unread. Not “Small Gods”, though. I want to finish up the story arcs I started first. (Starting with the Rincewind books since I only have one more to go in that.) My first official Pratchett (by which I mean ‘finished’) was “The Last Hero”. It has pictures! But it also really isn’t the best place to start.

    *is all over the place* Vloooooooooooog! Yay! *needs to do a vlog herself, but doesn’t really have anything vlog-worthy that she can think of*

  16. You’ve got some great books there–some I’ve read already, and some I’ve just been meaning to read! And I’m thrilled to see Skin on your list. (Granted, I’m always excited to get a bad blogger point…but I’m even more excited that it is for this book!) I can’t wait to see what you think of it!!!

    Mare’s War is one that I’ve been looking forward to for a while now. I am going to try to fit it in next week 🙂

  17. Off to check the library catalogue for They Were Just People!

    I have really fond memories of Small Gods, and actually remembered more of that book than I did of the first two Discworld books which I reread recently.

    Enjoyed your vlog.

  18. I’m rather fond of Ms. Christina Rossetti myself.

    I’d love to invite you and your readers to join my poetry survey. I’m looking for your 10 favorite classic poems. Read more about it here.

Leave a Reply

