Ok, I'm Coming Back Now

Sorry to have disappeared everyone. I had some personal crap (best word to describe it) come up, and it’s dealt with as best as it can be for now. For those who have been following this blog for any amount of time, you’ve probably noticed that the way I deal with stress is to sort of just disappear. Probably not the most healthiest of coping mechanisms, but it seems to work. But things have started to settle down now and I knew I was feeling better when today I had a craving to blog.

Over the next few days, you should see reviews for the three books that I’ve read over the last week or so, all of them so freaking good!! I read The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness and JFC, I want Monsters of Men NOW!!!! That man is just a genius. On the hardest of nights, I sat down in the tub with Anjali Banerjee’s Looking for Bapu and though the book centers around a death, I can’t tell you how much this little treasure of a book lifted me up. I got it from the library and I just don’t want to give it back now!! And finally, I read Postsecret’s latest book, Confession on Life, Death and God and absolutely loved it as I usually do with all of the Postsecret stuff. Like I said, I’ll have reviews of all three in the coming days, and yet another bad bloggers post as I seem to have acquired a few more books AND I made a big trip to the library after paying off fines finally and getting my privileges back :p

Anyway, I missed all of you guys so much!! Thanks to everyone who sent me concerned emails or twitter messages and to those who I owe emails too….I’m sorry T_T I have the worst track record with replying to emails. I’m just horrible. I’m going to have to work my way back in to blogging with catching up with everything, but I’ll be here!

18 Responses

  1. I do exactly the same thing. If I’m stressed, I can’t get any words out. So glad you’re back and things are improving. We had a really crappy week, last week, till the snow. Snow almost erases the bad, at least for a short time. Off the wall, I see you’ve got Daddy Long-Legs in your personal library. Have you read it? I love that book. I snitched my sister’s copy in junior high or high school and read it (but I returned it . . . just so you know).

  2. Nancy, Yep, I’m like you…just go into total shutdown mode. It’s easier for me that way. I’m glad to be back too though!! I’ve been spying on you on twitter though, so I saw your snow 😀 I also saw that you’re preparing for new kitties!!!!! So exciting!!!! Oooh, I can’t wait 😀 I haven’t read Daddy Long-Legs yet. I hadn’t even heard of it actually until a month or so ago when Nymeth reviewed it. And then I had to get my hands on it right away. Can’t wait to read it now. Looks like one you could knock out pretty quickly too. I should read it soon!

  3. Glad things are looking brighter, or at least that you’re feeling a little better. Wondered if you were just off dancing, collecting Mardi Gras beads and eating endless Jesus cakes! Sooo glad you loved TAATA, now you can join us hammering on Ness’s door until we get Monsters of Men. I’m almost dreading it actually, I’ll read most of it with my hands over my eyes, peeping through my fingers.

    Good to have you back 🙂

  4. ok.. lesson #1…it’s called “a group email” that stops you from having to write a dozen emails when you want to tell everyone the same thing.

    so.. that being said… i emailed you before I saw your blog so ignore it ..heh. sheesh.. yeah moms can be a pita sometimes lol

  5. God to see to back!

    TAATA is soooooooo good isn’t it? 🙂

  6. Hey Chris. It’s good to see you. I’m afraid I’m the opposite of disappearing/total shut down when bad things happen. I’m a distraction sort of girl. When I get stressed, I throw myself into something that doesn’t matter at all. I read a bajillion books and stress about not having enough days left on the calendar to review them all. It’s easier to stress about that than whatever’s affecting me. I guess we all have different ways of dealing with it.

    That Looking for Bapu book sounds interesting. Can’t wait to see your review of it. I’m afraid I just couldn’t force myself to read TAATA. TKONLG wore me out so much that I just wasn’t prepared to go on that sort of journey again, so I gave away my ARC.

  7. Glad you’re back. I really like all of Anjalie Banerjee’s books. If you like Bapu, definitely check out the others. She has a new one coming out this spring as well.

  8. Can’t wait to read your review of The Ask and The Answer!

  9. Chris, thanks for your kind words about LOOKING FOR BAPU. I posted a link to your blog on my Facebook page. I’m glad you’re back.

    Helen, good to see you here.

  10. Yay! I’m so glad you’re feeling better. You really had me worried there buddy. And FINALLY you read The Ask and the Answer. I cannot wait to hear your thoughts on it. I preordered Monsters of Men from the UK yesterday, so I’ll get it in May! Woot!

  11. Spying on me, eh? LOL Wasn’t our snow beautiful? The roads were clear, so we had a wonderful time driving around to take pictures and admire it. Daddy Long-Legs is a bit of a classic and, as I recall, a very quick read. It’s also a really uplifting story — a little bit Cinderella, in its way. I hope you love it! I’m pretty sure there’s a movie, too, although I’ve never seen it.

    No kitties, yet. 😦 We started cleaning in preparation and realized we have a lot of hazards we need to work on, so the litter box is ready and we have kitten chow but nobody’s moving in. I should just stop talking about kittens till we get them.

  12. Missed you! I’m a totally retreater in the face of stress too, so I can’t blame you. 🙂

  13. Welcome back! I’m glad things seem to be evening out!

  14. So glad to see that you feel like blogging again. Postsecret is a slight obsession of mine!!!

  15. I love Post Secret books and bubble baths. Perfect for hiding out and away from stress.

    I’m an “I” naturally (INFJ) so if anything in my life becomes “too much” I just want to hideaway. Glad to see you back though. 🙂

  16. I hide too, as only a perfect passive aggressive can, (not that you’re a passive aggressive!). I hope all is well with you, dear Chris, and I loved your enthusiasm for the Monsters of Men.

  17. Glad you’re back, Chris, and I hope things work out okay and settle down for you soon. I retreat from the world, too, and am currently in retreat mode due to massive energy outputs in my work life! Must be the alignments of the planets or something…:)

  18. Thanks everybody 😀 I’m glad to be back!!!

Leave a Reply

