Time For Bad Bloggers

Eh…it’s either been a little while since my last bad bloggers post, or a pile of books has accumulated on my floor….or a combination of the two, which is the more likely. Anyway, these are the 8 books that have made their way into my house since my last post:

1. By the Time You Read This, I’ll Be Dead by Julie Anne Peters – I’m convinced that Julie Anne Peters can do no wrong after reading Between Mom and Jo and Luna. Yes, after reading just two books, I’m in love with her writing. This is her newest book and it sounds just as fantastic. This one deals with a teenage girl contemplating suicide. Another important subject that faces adolescents. When I saw it at the bookstore, I had to get it. Can’t wait to read it now…..ready when you are, Amanda 😉 (Bought it)

2. Swallow Me Whole by Nate Powell – This graphic novel was a total impulse buy and I’m SO glad that I bought it. You can see my review of it right underneath this post. Truly a fantastic post that shows what schizophrenia looks like. (Bought it).

3. Nightmares & Fairy Tales: Once Upon a Time by Serena Valentino – And now we start handing out the blame 😉 This is another graphic novel and this one has been on my wishlist forever! I think I added this one to my wishlist the first year I started blogging after Rhinoa reviewed the series. Sounds really good and I think the second book in the series actually takes place in New Orleans if I remember correctly. Point to Rhinoa! (Bookmooch)

4. Blood and Chocolate by Annette Curtis Klause – A point goes to Carl for this one. He had reviewed it quite awhile back and I’ve been wanting it ever since. He actually put Freaks on my list too by the same author and I still have that to read! I really need to get to her books! (Bookmooch)

5. Polaroids from the Dead by Douglas Coupland – Just because it’s Douglas Coupland and I’ve been wanting this one for awhile. And it looks so freaking cool!! There are pictures all throughout it and it looks like a series of short stories. Or maybe it’s essays…not really sure. But it looks good. (Bookmooch)

6. Chronicle of a Death Foretold by Gabriel Garcia Marquez Darren at Barts’ Bookshelf reviewed this one just the other day and I zipped right over to paperback swap to see if I could find a copy because he made it sound so good. And sure enough they had it! Can’t wait to read it now!! Point to Darren! (Paperback Swap)

7. Memories of My Melancholy Whores by Gabriel Garcia Marquez – And continuing with the Marquez, this one comes on a recommendation by the friend who first led me to discover Marquez. And that would be Robin from A Fondness for Reading. I first read Love in the Time of Cholera because of her review and I’ll be reading this one because of her review. I’m forever grateful to her for my discovering him 🙂 Point to Robin! (Paperback Swap)

8. Mrs. Dalloway by Virginia Woolf – So many people have been reviewing this one lately, but no one has made me want to read it like Jason has. His review was the one that made me say…ok, yes…I have to read Mrs. Dalloway. And so I shall. Point to Jason! (Paperback Swap)

15 Responses

  1. I think Jason and I should get to combine our points since we live in the same house. 😀 j/k

  2. Thanks for the Bad Bloggers point! I’ll be interested in what you think of Memories… I wasn’t sure what to think of it, but I like his writing so much. Looking forward to your review.

  3. Chronicle of a Death Foretold has such a cool cover! I want it, I want it.

  4. I’ve just finished my first Julie Anne Peters’ book and loved it (Between Mom and Jo) definitely going to have to check out more of her work.

    Thanks for the point for the Marquez book, I do have to warn you there are some points coming back your way on Monday! 😛

  5. Mrs Dalloway – a book I must read at some point!

  6. Nice! Going to check out your Swallow Me Whole review right now 🙂

  7. The problem with Amanda and I combining points, of course, would be that we don’t usually want the same books… :D.

    I’m glad you want to read Mrs. D! I hope you love it :D.

  8. Ooh, a fabulous selection of books there. I do love Mrs Dalloway, and I have Gabriel Garcia Marquez, Douglas Coupland and Annette Curtis Klause on my TBR. 😀

  9. I couldn’t get through Memories of My Melancholy Whores, although I do love GGM. He’s an awesome writer. I don’t think I have Chronicles of a Death Foretold. I LOVE that cover. Oooooh, a Douglas Coupland I haven’t heard of!!!! Troublemaker. 😉

  10. How are you liking Manhood for Amateurs? I just bought Maps and Legends by Chabon last night.

  11. Rhinoa got blamed when I bought Nightmares & Fairy Tales a while back, too. And you’re so going to be collecting some blame for Polaroids from the Dead as soon as I can get my hands on that! Me wants. Me wants so bad. All it took was the picture of Sharon Tate on the cover to sell me. You would have collected a point in my last trip to the bookstore, too, if they’d had Swallow Me Whole. Which they didn’t. Jerks. 😉 But I suspect blame for that will be coming soon…will just have to order it on-line.

  12. Love the look of nightmares!

  13. Polaroids from the Dead looks good–I just reserved it at my library!

  14. Holy Crap! You need to read Freaks. Now!!! 😉 Just kidding, but it is a great book. I personally enjoyed it better than Blood and Chocolate, but it is a fun read as well.

    Swallow Me Whole looks excellent, and even if I wasn’t in the field I would want to read that.

    I read Nightmares and Fairy Tales in single issue format as they came out (except I had missed one of the last issues in the last story arc and recently found it at a comic book convention, so I need to finish it) and I really liked the art and the stories. Genuinely creepy at times, warm and fuzzy at others. Good stuff.

  15. Nightmares and Fairy Tales looks awesome and I LOVED By The Time You Read This…
    It’s very intense, but with some lighthearted/funny moments as well. I hope you like it too.

    I don’t know if you entered the Holey Donuts giveaway or not, but if you could check out this post and do so for my blog, it would mean a TON for my family and you can enter for the book afterwards too if you wish (White Cat by Holly Black ARC)!:

    http://shootingstarsmag.blogspot.com/2010/02/giveaway-white-cat-arc-250-holey-donuts.html

Leave a Reply

