Oh Hai Neglected Blog!

I’m bored and feel horrible for neglecting my blog, so I’m here to do what I always do when I really don’t have anything to say but feel like blogging….a Bad Bloggers Post!! But first I thought I’d give you all a Florence and the Machine video to watch because I’m freaking obsessed with this song even though I’ve worn it out for everyone around me. It’s like the song of the year for me and well, it’s sort of book related as she makes mention to the myth of Midas…”Midas is king and he holds me so tight, and turns me to gold in the sunlight.” Anyway, here it is:

Ok, now onto Bad Bloggers….here’s what walked into my house since the last post:

And here’s who’s to blame:

1. Indigo by Marina Warner – So now, Nymeth is getting points through email…she suggested this one while we were talking about The Tempest over email…apparently it’s a retelling of Shakespeare’s, The Tempest, which is my favorite of his plays, that deals with some of the race issues in it. I’m really excited about this one! Point to Ana. (Paperback Swap)

2. Charles Darwin’s On the Origin of Species by Michael Keller – I finished this one finally!! I don’t know why it’s been taking me so long to read books :/ This one was such an awesome read!! I’ll have a review up of it shortly. Another one recommended by Nymeth. It’s exactly what the title says…but a GRAPHIC NOVEL form of it 😀 Another point to Ana. (Bought it)

3. Blankets by Craig Thompson – Another absolutely incredible graphic novel that I’ve already finished and reviewed. It was hard for me to even put into words how much I loved this one, but I tried. So many people have recommended this one, but it’s Lu who really pushed me over the edge and made me get it, so she gets the point. (Bought it)

4. 1491: New Revelations of the Americas Before Columbus by Charles C. Mann – And Dewey continues to suggest books to me…I found this one on her bookmooch wishlist a long time ago and added it to my own and I finally scored a copy over there!! I don’t think she ever read this one…but it’s one she wanted to read. So I’m really looking forward to it! Point to Dewey. (Bookmooch)

5. Luna by Julie Anne Peters – I’ve wanted to read all of her books ever since reading Between Mom and Jo last year during the readathon. What a fantastic author! I’ve started this one and even though I’m only about 75 pages in, I’m loving it just as much as Between Mom and Jo. Julie Anne Peters can WRITE! Perfect if you’re looking for some YA for the GLBT challenge. (Paperback Swap)

6. We Have Always Lived In The Castle by Shirley Jackson – Another one that sooooo many people have read and recommended. I had to go way back in my notes to see who originally put this one on my bad bloggers list of SHAME! And it turns out that it’s none other than Eva! So, my friend, you must take the point :p (Paperback Swap)

7. Emiko Superstar by Mariko Tamaki – And Eva, you must also take the point for this one! I’m so excited about this one!!!! I loved Tamaki’s Skim so much. One of my favorite GNs that I read last year and I hadn’t heard much about this one…but after Eva’s review of it, I knew I had to get my grubby little hands on it. And Paperback Swap had a copy! (Paperback Swap)

8. Daddy Long Legs by Jean Webster – Who didn’t add this one to their wishlist after Nymeth reviewed it the other day? Hmmm, that’s funny…no one has their hands up :p I was like her…I hadn’t even heard of this one before her review! How had I missed out on it! I got so excited when I got my copy in the mail because not only is it slim and written in letters like she told us but it also has cute little drawings throughout! I’m so excited about this one and I might just read it tonight :p Point to Ana. (Paperback Swap)

20 Responses

  1. I love that Florence and the Machine song! I got the album with my Christmas vouchers and that’s my favourite song. Such a great album to drive to.

    Everyone’s been raving about Blankets so much, I’m going to have to do some shopping I think. It’s quickly becoming necessary.

  2. They played a Florence + Machine song on The Vampire Diaries tonight!! I’m really loving this band right now!

    I’ve missed your posts over here!! I just put up my review of Breathers. Giving you total credit for my reading it!

  3. Well, I will admit that daddy longlegs went on my wish list but I haven’t bought it yet.
    I’m guessing as of the new year the book ban is off?? tsk tsk, how can you save to travel this way? (good incentive eh?) I am determined to get the tbr list down this year..DETERMINED! (not having money to spend helps lol)and I don’t think there are many to the series I read due out this year (I hope, I hope) lol..

  4. I’m glad to hear Luna is every bit as good as Between Mom and Jo. I’m about to start Keeping You a Secret by Julie Anne Peters and now I’m even more excited about it.

  5. Yay for a new Chris post! Yay for all those awesome sounding books! 😀

  6. Oh I love love love Florence and the Machine!! Their album is brilliant and after hearing Valentina gush about them on her blog, I knew I wanted to see them live. Fingers crossed I can snap up some Glastonbury Festival tickets when they come back on sale!

  7. *giggles* So I think I have figured out how to make the blogosphere read what I want it to read – recommend the desired books to Nymeth & allow her to do that magical thing she does of causing everyone to want to read every book she reviews. I hope you enjoy Daddy-Long-Legs – it’s one of my favorites from when I was a kid!

  8. I just finished Daddy Long Legs last night and loved it! And yes, it’s all Nymeth’s fault.

  9. Daddy Long-Legs was one of my favourites when I was young-er. 😀 Coincidentally, the picture you have there of its cover was the exact same copy I had.

  10. Indigo sounds neat. in a weird coincidence, I’m going to see The Tempest tonight here in Nashville! and i just read a review on Ready When You Are, CB of A Brave Vessel by Hobson Woodward which is about the real events that inspired the play!

  11. Should I feel like I’m cheating because I get points via e-mail? 😛 A warning about Indigo: There are two alternating storylines: a present time one and one set in the past, in a Caribbean island being colonised (which is the one that is a retelling of The Tempest). The modern-day storyline didn’t interest me nearly as much, but the other one is so good I’d still wholeheartedly recommend the book.

    Also, this weekend is Blankets weekend for Aarti and I 😀 SO excited.

  12. Stormfilled, I’m right with you!! I love that entire album from beginning to end. It’s perfect driving music. And it’s constantly playing in my car 🙂 And oh yes yes yes…you must get Blankets!

    Steph, Isn’t Florence AMAZING? I’m seriously obsessed with her. And she’s just such an awesome person. I’ve been watching all sorts of interviews with her and she’s just cool! Yay Breathers!!! Off to read your review shortly!

    Deslily, Oh I think that the book buying ban was off a long time ago :p It shouldn’t have been but it seems to be 😦 You can do it Pat!! I’ve been saying for the last three years that “this will be the year the TBR pile goes down” But every year it just grows 😦

    Amanda, I’m really REALLY enjoying it so far and I think of you every time I pick it up! I think you’ll love it. I really want her new book too…doesn’t it sound awesome?

    Eva, 😀 And two of them are all your fault!

    Mariel, Yay!! Another Florence fan 😀 I was so excited when I found out that Valentina loved them too. I’m so jealous that you may get to see her! I so wish that she’d come tour the states. She’s starting to gain a bit of a following here, so maybe she will.

    Jenny, LOL…I think that if anyone can get Ana to read something they love then the rest of the world will read it as well :p

    Softdrink, Oh yay!! I’m glad that you loved it too!! It sounds so good!!

    Claire, You too? How had I never heard of it. How cool that you had the same copy 😀 It’s all yellowish and everything, but I love those old yellowed paperbacks.

    Melanie, Indigo does sound awesome. What an awesome coincidence!! And that’s so cool that you’re going to see it tonight!! Enjoy it Mel! It’s my fav as I mentioned 🙂 Oooh, Must go check out A Brave Vessel now!

  13. Nymeth, Nah, I think you’ve gotten points from Twitter too :p Yes, you have gotten points from twitter in the past. I’ll consider myself warned about Indigo! It sounds really good! And YAY!!! I’m so excited that you’re reading Blankets this weekend!!!! Ooooh, I can’t wait to hear what you think of it!!

  14. Who else would be responsible for We Have Always Lived in the Castle, but Eva! 😉 (who was responsible for forcing it into my house as well!)

    Damn creepy book as well…

  15. I’ve been neglecting my blog a little too so I understand. Blankets looks so good. I have the Darwin graphic novel out right now because of Nymeth too. Happy reading.

  16. I wonder why we’re all neglecting our blogs? I’m not much better this month, either. I like how books are still coming into your home, because they are mine, too!! lol I’m just considering this a reading break, so I don’t get all worried about not being on my blog as often as I think I will be! if that makes sense….enjoy reading time, Chris, and blogging when you want to. Miss you, though!

  17. Oh, wow, my first Bad Bloggers point! I feel so honored!! 😀

  18. Darren, Yeah she started the whole thing!!! I can’t wait to read it 😀 I love a good creepy book! I don’t know if I can hold off until RIP time though :p

    Vasilly, It seems a lot of people have been neglecting their blogs lately! That’s sad 😦 Blankets is amazing. You really must read it…I think you’ll love it. And the Darwin graphic novel was great!

    Susan, I don’t know! Maybe it’s the new year stuff going on…who knows. Oh books are coming into my home like crazy…that never changes :p I miss you too Susan!! Though my google reader tells me you posted today!! Have to go check that out 🙂

    Lu, It’s not your first point! You got another point for a Mary Oliver poetry collection!!

  19. Whoa…I’m impressed! You’ve already read so many of this latest batch of acquisitions! I wouldn’t worry about accumulating so many if I actually got them read that quickly.

  20. Oh Florence! ❤
    My heart had a jolt when I saw her video here!
    I'm so in love with her…and her music of course:P
    I hope you get to see her live cause SHE. IS. THE. BUSINESS.

Leave a Reply

