The Sunday Salon – A Rambling Post

I haven’t done a Salon post in a while and I just felt like rambling today, so I figured I’d put the two together and call it a blog post 🙂 I’m liking 2010 so far. Yes, I know, we’re only 10 days into the year, but I’m trying to make this a year of balance and a year of focusing on the good in life. Something that hasn’t always been an easy thing for me to do. I’m one of those people that thrive off of anxiety, unfortunately. Everything needs to be done NOW and everything needs to be done PERFECT. And I’m learning that life doesn’t work out too well with that mindset. That there can be a happy medium between having a good work ethic, doing things well, and still actually taking CARE of yourself. I’ve neglected the latter for a long time.

So I’ve put a few things in motion this year to help me focus more on me. I’m giving myself down time when I’m not at work. Forcing myself really to separate work from my personal life and I’m mainly doing that by keeping a personal journal this year. Something I haven’t done in years. I’ve been writing in it every night as soon as I get home from work and the goal of the journal is to simply write down all of the things that have made me happy during the day. It automatically takes me away from the work day I’m learning that it’s impossible to be depressed or anxious when you’re writing about things that have made you happy. Now I’ll admit that sometimes it’s hard for me to get the motivation to open that journal and start writing, but I’m always happy once I do. And I haven’t skipped a night yet!

The other thing I’m doing is blogging again and responding to my comments! I hope this lasts. I never really stopped blogging, but I stopped doing it regularly and it’s something that I really missed. I stopped mainly because I felt like I didn’t have the time or the energy. But I’m making the time now, because I know that I need that time for me. I need more in my life than just work and sleep. Yes, my job is part of who I am, but it is not all of who I am. And I need to remember that.

And the final thing that has made me happy is fun activities!! Like reading and crocheting. Though right now, we’re going to call crocheting a total failure. Yes, I’ve learned how to do a chain, but even with the help of videos that sweet friends have sent me, I can’t do any more than that :/ But I’ve been reading some wonderful books and even though I’ve only actually finished two books so far this year, I’m happy with that.

So I’m hoping that this year continues as it’s started. With this sense of balance being the main theme. And that I can remember to keep things going like they have if things start to get tough. That’s always the hardest part.

19 Responses

  1. You know, if you come visit me, I can make you a crochet master in no time! 😀

    I’m so happy that the year’s feeling good for you so far; like you, I’m trying to establish new habits now so that I have a rhythm to fall back on when things get toucher.

  2. And um by ‘toucher’ I meant ‘tougher.’ I’m going to blame that on having cold fingers from going outside to take pictures without any gloves! hehe

  3. Balance is so crucial to happiness in life. It seems so easy, but yet it is the one thing that is so difficult to remember or accomplish. Your idea of a journal is a wonderful one. I’ve taken to writing in one first thing in the morning – jot down my thoughts to prep for the workday ahead. It sounds like you have a wonderful start to finding that important balance. Good luck through the rest of the year!

  4. I’m glad you’re taking time out for yourself. So many people get lost in their jobs, and it’s not good!

  5. I’m working on happiness this year, too. I read The Happiness Project which is very, very full of ideas for how to be happier. It is also an online blog.

  6. I struggle with the same problem and my perfectionism is one of the reasons! I want to do everything right and stress myself out.

  7. Keep striving to keep that balance in your life Chris. It is really so very important. I think that you have an extremely stressful job where you deal with so many things that can be depressing and that has to creep into your subconscious with you even realizing it. Stay focused on the positive!! I love the idea of your daily journal. I sort of do that on Facebook every day. Instead of writing down, “I’m doing laundry” I post a Good stuff for the day. I stole that idea right from Debi!!!! 🙂 I told Debi that she has to do a crochet vlog just for you and me!! I still can’t get it either!!

  8. So glad you’re having a good year so far! I used to crochet in the evenings while we watched TV or a movie – but now I usually have my laptop open. 🙂

  9. Eva, I TOTALLY need crochet lessons :p And I can’t tell you how many times I’ve thought of visiting bloggers so that they could help me learn to crochet. NOT that that would be my only motivation in visiting them of course :p It’s a good thing to establish healthier goals!! They can be hard to do, but I’m so glad that I am!!

    Michelle, I’m not a morning person, but BOY would that be wonderful if I could learn to write in a journal in the morning and get the day started off right! I’m so bad at looking at things in a positive light in the morning :p I just want more sleep. I’m starting to find that balance though 🙂

    Amanda, It’s really not good 😦 I think that’s what made the latter part of 2009 so bad for me is that I started to get lost in my job and just completely lost my time for myself…which was really rough! I don’t want that to happen again.

    Debnance, Sounds good!! I’m definitely going to have to check that out..thanks!

    Amanda A, Isn’t it a pain in the ass being a perfectionist? lol…And for me, it’s mostly when it comes to work and organizational type things. Not with everything in my life…but enough things where it drives me nuts!

    Staci, Thanks 🙂 I know it’s important and I’m going to keep striving for that balance! It’s something I really need to do. You’re right…I’m sure my job does get to me to a point more than I realize. Debi was totally my inspiration too when it comes to the good stuff journal and I thank her so much for that 🙂 And I would so love a crochet vlog from her!!! That would be amazing!

    Carrie, LOL…My laptop is open all the time too when I’m home :p I don’t think I’ll ever get this crochet thing down 😦

  10. Right on, balance! I’m striving for that myself which has meant streamlining a great deal in my everyday life. Work still too often follows me home, but once my little guy gets here, that won’t be the case anymore! I’m trying to wean myself before then, though. Good luck to you, and I admire your journal keeping. I’ve always been a horrible journaler.

  11. This post makes me happy. It’s good to hear about people remembering the importance of “me-time” Love your idea of nightly journaling – seems like a very healthy/helpful stress reliever and relaxation tool and it will give you a wonderful memento to look back on later in life.

  12. Chris, your crocheting sounds about as good as mine at the moment. I am a bit slow at learning this but I am determined to be able to crochet properly by the end of the year. If I manage it, I may attempt knitting next year!

    Your journal sounds fabulous. I love reading Debi’s and Amanda’s and I am considering writing one myself. You all seem to be benefiting from the activity.

  13. Good for you, Chris! And you made me laugh about your total crochet failure! Goodness, I can’t even do a decent chain!

  14. Oh Chris, this post just made me happy, happy, happy!!!! Why is it that some people always put themselves last anyway?!! I’m so glad you’re going to try to break out of that mindset, Chris. So very, very glad!

    No, no, no…no #crochetfail!!! Just wait till we get together again…you’ll see…I’ll have you whipping out little creatures in no time. 😀

  15. it is very important to take care of yourself and to put your first now and then…but even more so when you deal with problems all day long. It’s not easy but I hope you manage to find a way AND that you manage to keep it!

  16. Andi, I’ve always been a horrible journaler too..until this year! I’m actually surprised with myself at how good I’ve been! I know it’s only 11 days into the year, but so far, so good :p Are you gonna be a stay at home mom once the baby arrives??

    Joanne, I totally need to learn to have more me time…and you’re right! This will be a great thing to look back on in the future!!

    Vivienne, Oh I’m so glad to hear that someone else is trying to learn too 😀 Yay, I’m not alone 😀 I’ll stick with your goal..hopefully by the end of the year, we’ll both be expert crocheters!! And just to let you in on a little secret, I’m keeping an online blog of happy things too and I’d love for you to stop by and visit 😉 Here’s the link: http://yearofgoodstuff.blogspot.com/

    Lightheaded, It’s so damn hard!! I never thought it would be this hard, lol. I swear I’ll get it some day. You should totally try to learn with me and Vivienne!!

    Debi, I’m glad it made you happy 🙂 The key word there is I’m going to TRY to break out of that mindset…it’s so easier said than done 😦 I’m trying not to #crochetfail!!! I swear I won’t give up Debi!!! It’s just so frustrating. When I come to visit you, I’m totally packing my crochet needle and some yarn 😀 And I’m making you the cutest little creature EVAH!

    Deslily, I swear to you that I’m gonna keep on trying!! And I’m gonna stick with it too 🙂 I know it stresses you out too when I don’t take care of myself and the last thing I want to do is add extra stress to you!!

  17. It does seem that those who do the most for others do little for theirself. The old saying says that if you don’t take care of yourself first you cant properly take care of others…so there.

  18. Don’t feel bad… I can’t figure out how to crochet OR knit! I have tried various ways, but it hasn’t worked out so well.

  19. I think it is so incredibly vital to be able to separate work from personal life and am so glad you are making a concerted effort to do so. Work stress and anxiety can so easily creep into off time. I hate it when I find myself dwelling on work issues when I am at home, hate it even more when I find them cropping up in my dreams. I think the journal sounds like a great idea, especially using it the way that you are. It is so healing and outlook-changing to make ones self look at the positive things and focus on them.

    I certainly always miss you when your blogging time lessens, but I understand completely how it can become such a time drain and how the motivation can ebb and flow based on whatever else is going on in life. It happens to me all the time. I hope to maintain more control over that myself this year rather than letting circumstances control it, but I do believe sometimes breaks are necessary to keep it from becoming a chore.

    I wish you all the best with your goals for this year, Chris. Sounds like you are off to a great start.

Leave a Reply

