First Bad Bloggers of The New Year!

I seem to have come down with a nasty head cold. It’s not the most miserable I’ve ever been sick, but it’s bad enough. Can’t hear, can’t smell, can’t think, but at least the sore throat is starting to go away. So I needed some cheering up and figured what better way to cheer up than to celebrate all of the wonderful books that have walked into the house since Christmas! So you’re all probably wondering what business I have bringing 9 books into the house so soon after bringing um…33 into the house in a months time…well, my answer is that I had to spend gift cards and for the rest, I have no excuse except for that I’m a book lover :p Here you go:

1. The Awakening by Neal Shaffer – Honestly, I have no idea what this one is about :p I was just browsing the graphic novels on PaperbackSwap and Oni Press publishes this one…they’re one of my favorite GN publishers, so I figured I’d check it out!! Looking forward to it. (Paperback Swap)

2. Locke & Key: Welcome to Lovecraft by Joe Hill – Another graphic novel that I’ve had my eye on for awhile now. I finally bought this one with one of my Christmas gift cards!! It looks really fantastic! (Bought it)

3. The Dissociative Identity Disorder Sourcebook by Deborah Haddock – I picked this one up to help out one of my clients that I’m seeing. I’m surprised by how much I’m actually enjoying it though! Dissociation and Dissociative Identity Disorder has always really intrigued me but I never knew much about it. Now that I’m encountering it with a client, I thought that it’s about time I learn! And I’m learning all kinds of new stuff. (Bought it)

4. Boy’s Life by Robert McCammon – I first read this book in my freshman year of high school and I absolutely fell in love with it. Such a wonderful book. But I haven’t read it since and I’ve been dying to. Then CJ reviewed it awhile back and I’ve really been wanting to read it since then. I found this really great trade paperback version and I just love the cover! Can’t wait to rediscover it. I’m giving a point to CJ for this one for bringing my interest back to it! (Bought it)

5. Above His Shoulders by Dan Williams – This one’s a memoir about a young boy who was sexually abused as a child and the impact it has on his life as an adult. It’s something that I think will also help the client that I’m seeing, but I can probably learn a lot from this one as well. I’m getting ready to start this one tonight! (Bought it)

6. The Girl in the Picture by Denise Chong – I had to get this one the second that I heard Eva mention it on her library loot video! It sounds like it will be as heartwrenching as the photo on the cover, but it really sounds like an important and wonderful read about the Vietnam war and this amazing Nobel prize winning photo and Kim Phuc, the girl in it. A point to Eva. (Paperback Swap)

7. Manhood for Amateurs by Michael Chabon – I wanted this one as soon as it came out! I haven’t read anything by Chabon yet believe it or not, but I keep collecting his books. I’m actually more excited about his non-fiction books for some reason than I am about his fiction books. Maps and Legends is on my shelf and I can’t wait to read that one, but this one has just bumped it’s way to the top of the list. It’s all about his life as a boy, a teen, a man, a parent, etc. All the roles he’s played…sort of an autobiography I guess…really looking forward to this one! (Bought it)

8. Angel Time by Anne Rice – I’ve just been dying to read some Anne Rice lately, and I figured I’d give some of her new fiction a shot. I got one of her newer books out of the library not long ago, but never did start it. I think what I love more than anything about this book at first glance is the cover :p It’s awesome! (Bought it)

9. Eating Animals by Jonathan Safran Foer – I squealed with excitement when I first saw this one!! I’ve been dying for this book ever since I heard Debi talk about it ages ago and then saw a video for it with Mr. Foer on Amazon. Foer himself is a vegetarian, but he wrote this book all about the animal industry and it just sounds fascinating. Oh, I can’t wait to read it!! A definite point to Debi for this one!

19 Responses

  1. Man. I haven’t thought about Boy’s Life in years, but man I loved that book when I read it. I think I was in high school too. So good. That’s one that would definitely be worth a re-read. (I’m having a Stand moment, and I’m just dying to reread it. It’s been a few years!!)

    I haven’t read Eating Animals. And I hate to admit it, but I think I love my cheeseburgers too much to enjoy the book!! But I love Foer. Every since I read Extremely Loud and Incredibly Close, Foer is tops of my list!!

  2. How’s that book buying ban thing going again? 😉

    I meant to order Manhood for Amateurs with one of my gift cards so I could read it with Kelly but totally forgot 😦 The Girl in the Picture sounds so awesome!

  3. Thanks for the point and the link! You’ve managed to return the favor, btw. I’ve been struggling to find a book that will keep my interest and Boy’s Life will definitely do that. I think a re-read is in order.

    Also, while on the subject, I believe it’s past time to re-read To Kill A Mockingbird so I guess that’s what I’ll do. Mockingbird first.

    I hope the cold goes away soon!

    cjh

  4. Nymeth cracked me up reading her comment! LOL.. sorry baby boy I’m not laughing at you… honest!… well.. yes I am! That’s my boy!!

  5. I must get my hands on the Anne Rice one. I have heard really good things about it and it is only about one of four books around about angels at the moment. I hope it is good.

  6. Locke & Key looks interesting.

    I’m with Stephanie. I don’t think I could read Eating Animals – I don’t eat enough non-meat to live if something turned me off meat.

  7. 😦 Don’t like it that your sick! Not one little bit. So do me a favor and just get better soon, okay?

    I’ve wanted Manhood for Amateurs ever since I heard him talking about it on NPR. He was talking about some of the essays on fatherhood, and I just fell totally in love with him!

    *hugs, hugs, and then some more hugs*

  8. We’re like all sick. 😦 I’m reviewing The Girl in the Picture in my next Sunday Salon…it might damper your enthusiasm a touch. I liked it, but it could have used some harsh editing!

    I’ve been on my library’s list for Eating Animals for awhile-I can’t wait for it to arrive!

  9. Steph, I never realized that Boy’s Life was regular high school reading until recently! That was such a great book though. Can’t wait to read it again. I didn’t remember how much of a chunkster it was though! I love cheeseburgers too, but I could use a good challenge as to how many of them I eat 😉

    Nymeth, Not so well my friend, not so well 😦 Manhood for Amateurs sounds SO good!!! As soon as I heard about it I knew I had to have it. And I’m hearing mixed things about The Girl in the Picture now 😦 I read a review of it on LibraryThing saying that the editing was horrible and it looks like Eva’s saying the same thing..boo 😦

    CJ, Oh good!!! It’s one that I definitely need to reread again as well! I don’t remember much about it except for the fact that I really loved it in high school and that still sticks with me! To Kill a Mockingbird is certainly one of those books that can be read again and again as well, isn’t it. Enjoy!!

    Deslily, Laugh away :p I’m laughing at myself over here. Restraint? What’s that??

    Vivienne, I’m really hoping that it’s a good one too!! She’s one of my absolute favorite authors and I haven’t read anything by her in ages…I’m hoping she hasn’t changed her writing style completely since the last time I’ve read her! We’ll see. I doubt she has!

    Amanda, I doubt it will deter me from cheeseburgers :p But like I was telling Steph, I could definitely use something to lessen the amount of them that I eat these days, lol.

    Debi, I sorry!!! Go complain to my boss and coworker…they both came into work sick and got me sick and now they’re making me come to work sick and inevitably get other people sick 😦 Doesn’t Manhood for Amateurs sound wonderful?? I wish I would’ve heard that interview with him on NPR! It sounds like such a great book!! Thanks for the hugs 🙂 Right back atcha!

    Eva, I’m sorry that you’re sick too 😦 Hope you get better soon!! I’ve already seen on librarything that Girl in the Picture could use a really good editor. That bummed me out pretty bad. Oh well, at least I didn’t pay for it, lol. Got it off of PBS. Is it at least readable? I can’t wait to dig into Eating Animals!!

  10. Eating Animals is very good. i just finished it yesterday!

  11. Just added Locke & Key to my wishlist, looks great….

  12. Let the blaming begin!!! What a great looking set of books…enjoy!

  13. I’ve every intention of reading me some Chabon this year! (probably The Final Solution as I have that one)

    I’ve never heard of Boy’s Life, before, but then first you and Stephanie big it up,so I have to go and check it out on Bookmooch…

    …Well maybe it won’t arrive until after I’ve read enough books to allow an addition!

  14. I’ve had my eye on Locke & Key for some time now, but instead of a book buying ban I’ve been restricting my graphic novel buying – comic book stores are way dangerous places for me 😛 However … I am anticipating your review of Locke & Key because it would give me a wonderful excuse to maybe pop into the comic shop!

  15. Chris – you’ve got two books of Chabon essays on your shelves and you didn’t join my 2010 Essay Reading Challenge? What gives?! ~wink~

  16. Melanie, Oh Awesome!! Glad you enjoyed it so much 🙂 I’m looking forward to it even more now 🙂

    Bride of the Book God, It does look great, doesn’t it?

    Staci, I will!!

    Darren, Let it be a year of Chabon!! I’m guessing you found a copy of A Boy’s Life? It’s SUCH an awesome book!! I think that it may end up making your best of the year if you read it this year…yep, it’s THAT good!

    Joanne, Well it looks like I’ll just have to read that one soon and review it so I can get you an excuse to head on over to the comic book store!!

    Carrie, What?! I didn’t even know you were hosting the Essay reading challenge!! I’m totally in! I was regretting not doing that one last year! I’ll be signing up soon 😉

  17. Ohhh-let me clarify! It could have used a good editor, in that Chang includes every single detail of Kim Phuc’s life. Which gets a tad tedious. But it’s DEFINITELY readable, and a lot of it was interesting. It’s just that rather than 400 pages, it should have been 300. It’s worth a read, you just might get a bit sick of Kim Phuc! lol I did enjoy Chang’s writing style. 🙂 And I learned a lot about what everyday life was like for the Southern Vietnamese during the war and after, which I really appreciated it. I’m glad I read it, for sure!

    Does that make you feel better? I hope?

  18. Eva, Oh good!! I just assumed that the writing was really bad :p I can deal with lots of info on her life :p As long as the writing isn’t terrible. Phew!

  19. The Michael Chabon could be our buddy read to make up for the other book… I own that one…

Leave a Reply

