I'm Three Today

Apparently this blog turned three years old today! Who knew? Nymeth did :p Yes, it took Nymeth pointing out to me on Twitter that it was my third blogiversary for me to realize that. I’m assuming she remembered because it happens to fall on her birthday. Which makes me super happy that I decided to start my blog on her birthday even though I didn’t even know her yet. Anyway, these things don’t mean all that much to me, but it is a little reminder of how time flies when you’re having fun. I feel like I just started this blog yesterday. It has gone through three different makeovers since I started. I started in blogger, switched to wordpress, and now I’m self hosting and I swear to you guys I’ll stay put for awhile :p

I think what I’ve taken most from this experience so far is the connections I’ve made. Something that I NEVER expected. I’ve been blogging since 2000 off and on believe it or not, but I’ve never become so close to people as I have with this blog. Prior to this, I blogged on Myspace and before that I blogged on DeadJournal which is now defunct I think….If it’s not, I can’t seem to find my old blog 😦 But I never formed the relationships I have here. I started my “book blog” not knowing what to expect. I had read Neil Gaiman’s blog and Carl’s blog and I loved them both, so I thought I’d start my own and people just started commenting on what I wrote! I was amazed that people actually cared about what I had to say and I still am to this day honestly :p When I get more than like 2 comments on a post, I’m still surprised. Honestly, each and every comment makes me super excited, lol.

Anyway, thanks to everyone….each and every one of you that has come around even if only once over the last three years. And here’s to starting the fourth!! Exciting news, by the way! I found out that I was nominated for the third year in a row for best review site on the Preditors and Editors poll. I don’t even know who would nominate me for this, but thanks so much to whoever did. So sweet 🙂

ETA: I’ve also just updated the Graphic Novels 2010 blog with a welcome post and a link to an awesome mini challenge!! Read all about it here! If you haven’t signed up for the challenge yet, please do!! This is really cool on my third blogiversary, because I never in my wildest dreams thought that I’d get to host The Graphic Novels challenge. I just love graphic novels so much, it was an idea started by Dewey and I’m cohosting it with Nymeth, one of my best friends…it just doesn’t get any better than that!!

33 Responses

  1. Happy third year, Chris!

  2. Happy blogoversary! I’m glad Ana remembered.

    ps – Death and Baby Death are singing you a song for the celebration.

  3. Happy blogiversary, Chris! Many of us started our blogs about the same time…Eva, Nymeth, me… I’ve enjoyed your blog all along!! 3 great years and more to come! Congrats!

  4. Happy 3rd Chris!! And here’s to many more years of great bookish fun. And I shall always remember your blogiversary as well – looks like Nymeth and I share a birthday.

  5. Happy blogiversary, Chris 😀

  6. Happy blogoversary, Chris! Here’s to many good books in your next blog year! *raises a glass*

  7. Happy blogoversary, Chris! About the graphic novel challenge, I’m reading a book that is half-graphic novel and half novel-novel, does it count for the challenge? Over half the pages are in graphic format, but it has prose bits too that aren’t illustrated–so I’m not quite sure where it fits or if it fits 🙂

  8. Happy blogiversary, Chris! We’re glad you’re here. May you have many more years.

  9. Always one to swim against the current, I’m going to spell it differently: Happy Bloggiversary!!

  10. Thanks So much everyone 😀

    Amanda, A death song for me?! Awwwww…should I be scared or honored? :p

    Becky, Of course you can count it!!

  11. Congratulations on 3 years! It is so wonderful that you have enjoyed them and had such a great time.

  12. Wishing you a very happy 3rd Blogiversary and here’s to the next three!

  13. Happy Blogiversary Chris!

  14. Either that, or as you so kindly reminded me I know because I’m a stalker 😉

    And are you SURE you’ll stay put? You’ve yet to give typepad a try… 😛

    Here’s to many more years, my friend 😀

  15. I would say you found your nitch !
    Happy Blog Anniversary Chris!
    I found you thru Carls blog so I will always be grateful to him for finding my baby boy!

  16. Happy 3rd Bloggiversary! (I’m spelling like Nancy. I don’t think you can spell a fake word wrong anyway.)

  17. I just said this to Eva, too…but god, I can’t bear contemplating how much my life would be missing if you hadn’t started blogging! Here’s to many, many more years!!!

    #luvchris

  18. Happy bloggiversary, Chris!

  19. I had no idea that we were almost blogging twins!!! I thought yours was older than mine; it still freaks me out that Nymeth’s is younger, lol.

    Oh, and Happy Blogiversary! 😀

  20. Well done Chris on reaching three years of blogging and being voted best review site too. You do a grand job. I wonder if you might be able to help me,knowing that you live in New Orleans, I wonder if you could recommend some really good books about New Orleans. I love to read about it and I really enjoyed reading Ruined and Voodoo Dreams. It is a place I keep being drawn back to in literature, but I am struggling to find some more fantastic books. Let me know if you can help.

  21. A surprise blogiversary! 😀

    Congratulations Chris, here’s to year 4!

  22. A very happy blogiversary to you!

  23. Happy belated blogiversary!

  24. Aw, Thank you all so much!!!

    Nymeth, hmmm…typepad…..:p

    Vivienne, Off the top of my head, have you read any Anne Rice? I think The Witching Hour is simply AMAZING and probably the best depiction of New Orleans and it’s gothic feel that I’ve read. I just love that book!!! City of Refuge is a pretty good book if you want a really true to the city feel. And anything by Poppy Z. Brite is pretty good, but I recommend her earlier books. Lost Souls is my favorite!!

  25. Happy third birthday, Chris!!! any birthday cake left for me? I’m sorry I’m late to the party! you are truly one of the most kind and generous bloggers out there, someone I am happy I have met. I hope this coming year is less stressful for you, which means more reading time and fun for you!!! *hugs* and congrats, Chris 😀

  26. I’m a little late, but happy third blogiversary!!!!

  27. Happy Blogiversary!! I knew you and I were close to the same “age”, but I guess I didn’t realize how close!! My 3rd was on December 22nd!!

    Thanks for being one my favorite bloggers…and one of my favorite people, in general!

  28. Happy Blogoversary, Chris! I’m glad we share the same one; it’s great to be in such awesome company!

  29. Hey, hey, happy third! I am fast approaching my 5th and it is frankly hard to believe that I blogged for two years before you started yours. That just doesn’t seem right. You seem like a fixture in this community to me! So glad you are still in the groove!

  30. Thanks ladies! And Thanks Carl! Wow!! 5 years!!

  31. Happy Anniversary, Chris! -C

  32. Chris – thankyou for your recommendations.

    I had City of Refuge on my list already, after reading your amazing review of it last year. Ana mentioned the Anne Rice ones too, which I already own, so I shall definitely read them. I haven’t heard of Poppy Z.Brite, so I shall definitely add her books to my list.

    Thanks for taking the time to answer my question.

  33. Happy Blogiversary!! I love your blog so keep it up!

Leave a Reply

