I'm Still Alive!!

zombie-santaYou know it’s bad when you start getting emails from multiple people asking if you’re still alive :p The answer to that is “yes, I am”. I just took an unannounced break from blogging and twitter for the last week or so because it was very much needed. The holidays are my absolute favorite time of the year, but boy can they be a stressful time of the year too!! I love my downtime, but work is not so much fun. I’ve wanted to do nothing but sleep when I’m not at work lately, and sadly that’s about what I’ve been doing. And this constant weather change has my migraines acting a fool. But I got a full body massage today and that seems to have sort of done the trick πŸ˜‰ Let’s hope it lasts!

Last night sort of refreshed my spirits as well. I have two friends that play in local bands and they played a show together last night!! So me and Megan headed out to The Howlin’ Wolf to see them and it was fantastic. The crowd was small due to the weather (which has caused flooding all day today), but I kind of liked it like that. Made it even more fun! If you want to check out the bands, the first was The Lucks, whom my friend Rachel sings for and the second was The Public whom my friend Jack plays guitar for. Both are fantastic and they’re both doing really well and on their way to big stuff πŸ™‚

As for the rest of life, not too much new has been going on…you’re not missing out on anything. I’ve finished a couple of books that I’ll be reviewing here soon. I should have buddy reviews with Bart of Bart’s Bookshelf and Kelly of The Written World up soon. I have a really embarrassing Bad Bloggers post to do, but I’m thinking I’m just going to wait until Christmas is over and make it the post to end all posts :p Right now, I’m going back to reading The Vintner’s Luck because I had taken a break from it to do some Christmas reading and then I’m going back to Christmas reading with Let it Snow!!

As for Christmas itself, I have nearly all of my shopping done!! How about you? I have gifts too!! Of course, I got my wonderful secret santa gift from Amanda that I’m sure you’ve all read about by now πŸ™‚ Then Debi sent me this package that I really can’t even begin to describe to you!! Just…major spoilage!! I haven’t even opened it yet though…I’m trying to wait until Christmas :p And then today I got the most awesome journal from Nicky AKA Stormfilled!!!! I need to take a pic of it and show you, and I will, but for now I’ll describe it to you. It’s basically a small journal with beautiful cream coloured pages and a lovely red ribbon with these gorgeous marbled endpapers and genuine black leather cover and it says “Evil Plans” on the outside :p I’m in love with it!!!!! I’ll never stop advertising her gorgeous work…she makes all of her gorgeous journals by hand and I’m the proud owner of four of them now!!! Two I’ve bought and this is the second that she’s gifted to me…the last was a replica of the journal from The Watchmen!!!! So please head over to her website and check out her gorgeous work, and if you have some extra money to help out an incredible independent artist and craftswoman, please do!

So please let me know what I’ve missed!!! I’m afraid I’ll never catch up with everything on my own :/

15 Responses

  1. Happy holidays to you and your family, Chris. It’s been a while, I know. πŸ˜‰

  2. I haven’t blogged much lately, either. Glad you’re okay though πŸ™‚

  3. gosh Chris, where’d ya find that pic of “santa?”.. heh he needs help badly lol

    Sorry to hear about the headaches..I haven’t been feeling to great lately either (neck/ head/ back ugh) Someone caught a huge Snook in our pond yesterday! (photo on facebook) I couldn’t believe there was a fish that big in our tiny pond!! I haven’t seen the Gator in a few days, I’d like to think he took a hike but I doubt it… can’t believe the holidays are here and nearly over..next you know everyone will be talking about spring and I haven’t cooled off for more then 2 days in a row yet! arrrrgh! lol

  4. Happy holidays! Glad you like your book; thought it might be helpful during those long work days. πŸ˜‰ Sorry to anyone looking for up to date stuff on the Blackthorn blog, I just haven’t had time to top it up recently, but I do have lots of books if anyone’s in need. (Thanks for the plug Chris!)

  5. Do you realize that there were FOUR LINKS in this post that I have to go investigate now?? I saw this post last night and kept it unread, even after I read it, simply because I need to go check out those links. Sometimes you’re evil. I think it’s Baby Death’s twin’s influence.

    ps – I’m still wondering what you’re going to name the twin. Technically, he (she?) is part of a triplet set, as another “twin” went to my friend Karen and her daughters, who immediately dubbed him Baby Doom. πŸ˜€

  6. Glad you’re doing okay – sounds like your evening out was a lot of fun! No need to gloat about being almost finished with your Christmas shopping, though. 😦 (LOL)

  7. Glad to see you’re back! I had to take an unexpected break last week also for finals.I stalled on The Vintner’s Luck but will pick it up again this week.

  8. I’m excited to see your (and everyone else’s) review of The Vintner’s Luck because I’ve had it on my shelf for quite some time but just haven’t read it yet. Congratulations on being done with the Christmas shopping!

  9. 😦 to the headaches. Here’s hoping the massage has lasting results in that area!

    I’m so excited to see that you’re reading THE VINTNER’S LUCK right now! I’m looking forward to everybody’s reviews.

  10. I was getting a bit worried. I do understand though. These past few weeks have been awful for me when it comes to migraines! I can’t wait to see your Bad Bloggers post πŸ™‚ Those are always so fun to read!

  11. I can understand why work is stressful this time of year!! A full body massage??? Sounds like heaven!! I can’t wait to see what Debi sent you!!
    I’m going to check out those journals!!! Take care!

  12. Zombie Santa just cracked me up! You know, I’ll bet that’s just how the poor overworked man must feel sometimes.

    Oh, your new journal sounds positively gorgeous. “Evil Plans”…I love it! I keep telling myself that one day I’m going to splurge on myself and buy one of Stormfilled’s journals, but then I keep forgetting. Dumb me.

    Glad you had such a great time out seeing your friends’ bands, Chris! That sounds like the PERFECT way to spend an evening! And I can’t wait to go check out the links to their bands. πŸ™‚

    And Chris, I must say that I am mighty impressed with your restraint! Seriously, every day I expect to get e-mail from you telling me that you just couldn’t wait any longer. πŸ˜‰ I have told you how much you remind me of my mom in this area, right? πŸ˜€

    Have a positively delightful week, my dear friend!

  13. You are definitely missed when you are not in the conversational mix, but we all understand, really. It happens to us all. I just went through what you are going through during the first couple of weeks of Nov. After work all I wanted to do was play Dragon Age and get lost to all the stress. Glad to hear that the funk is lifting.

    Its hard to believe the year is almost over. I am trying to finish some half finished books, finish my shopping, survive the next week and a half of work and planning for the Sci Fi Experience and the big End of Year posts that I just love doing (and reading).

    Have a great week, my friend.

  14. I’m glad you’re alive. πŸ™‚ Hope this week’s weather changes don’t slap you down (and I have my fingers crossed for myself, as well). As to Christmas . . . disaster. I’ve only bought a few gifts and I hid one from my son. I always do this. When I hid it, I hid it a little too well and no I can’t remember where I put it!!! ARGH!!!

  15. That would be “now”. Now I can’t remember. I’ve been scrounging around, tonight, trying to jog my memory. Wish me luck.

Leave a Reply

