The Advent Tour Day 6 – Holiday Books!

Large Advent 1

Hey everyone!! It’s my turn to post for the Advent Calendar today, hosted by Kailana and Marg, and I thought that I would revisit my post from last year with a few updates. I know I’ve gathered some new readers since last year and I thought everyone could use a refresher too. Last year I talked about Christmas books!! I don’t know about you, but one of my favorite things to do during the holiday season is to read holiday themed books. Here’s the thing about Christmas books…I think they get a bad rap. They’re sort of stereotyped as automatically cheesy, but that’s not always the case. I think there’s something out there for everyone! And so without further ado, here’s a list of Christmas books for everyone! Clicking on the links will take you to reviews of the books…most are by me but some are by others.

For the Sci-Fi nut: A War of Gifts by Orson Scott Card (set in the Enderverse)

For the Christmas Traditionalist that enjoys “touching” stories: The Christmas Tree by Julie Salamon

The Family Read/Fans of great art: Great Joy by Kate DiCamillo

The Fantasy Lover: When Santa Fell to Earth by Cornelia Funke

The “Bah humbug” type: Holidays on Ice by David Sedaris

The Christmas Miracle Lover: For the Love of St. Nick by Garasamo Macagnone

The Bittersweet Christmas person: Zanna’s Gift by Orson Scott Card

The modern Christmas story involving kidnapping type: A Jolly Good Fellow by Stephen V. Masse

The History Buff: The Man Who Invented Christmas by Les Standiford

The Classics Lover: A Christmas Carol by Charles Dickens

More for the Classics Lover: A Child’s Christmas in Wales by Dylan Thomas

The Dark Fantasy Lover: The Dark is Rising (Book 2) by Susan Cooper

The Young Adult Lover: Let it Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson and Lauren Myracle

The Memoir Lover: A Christmas Memory by Truman Capote

The Graphic Novel Lover: The Fir-Tree by Hans Christian Andersen Adapted by Lilli Carre

Do you have anything else to add to the list? These are just some of my favorites. I’d love to know of some more wonderful Christmas books. Please feel free to leave your suggestions in the comments so we can keep adding to this list.

I wanted to end this with a Tori Amos Christmas song and found my favorite song from her new album, Midwinter Graces on YouTube. It’s Holly, Ivy and Rose and her daughter, Natashya sings with her! It’s not actually a video, just still pictures set to the music, but I love it just the same…hope you do too! Enjoy and Happy Holidays everyone!!

Don’t forget to stop by the other hosts for today!

Melissa @ Book Nut
Stephanie @ Stephanie’s Confessions of a Book-a-holic
Lilly @ Reading Extravaganza

26 Responses

  1. Awesome! Thank you for this list! I still haven’t decided what to read for Christmas this year (The Dark is Rising last year set the bar high), but I might go with The Man Who Invited Christmas. And ❤ for Tori and Tash.

  2. I have A Christmas Carol and The Man Who Invented Christmas waiting to be read, and I will read them this month sometime..at least I hope to! my reading is in a slump and I don’t know why..I am enjoying the books I am reading but my head seems to not concentrate well..

  3. I would like to read A Christmas Carol sometime since it in my mind is sort of THE X-mas book. Never been a fan of Hans Christian Andersen (although proud of the fact that he was Danish like myself and although I generally like darker tales), but he and his stories just make me mega-depressed.

    Great post and always fun to do the advent rounds in the blogisphere.

  4. I’m loving Tori’s Christmas album! So mellow and awesome. I didn’t realize that was her daughter singing with her though.

  5. Very nice list! Haven’t read a lot on it, but I’m thinking I should. The Kate DiCamillo in particular appeals to me for this year. I finished Let it Snow not that long ago and absolutely thought it was a riot — sweet but not saccharine, very funny. It just generally put me in the mood for the season. Happy holidays!

  6. Great recommendations for Christmas reading. Thank you so much because I am one of those people who do not read themed books for holidays but can’t really give a reason why. I will be definitely perusing this list in the future as starting to read holiday books is one of my reading goals.

  7. Great list of books. I have Let it Snow waiting for me at the library right now, I can’t wait! I’ve enjoyed a few on the list (Capote, Thomas).

    My two favorites are: Dave Cooks the Turkey by Stuart MacLean of CBC, which I’m sure could be found on a podcast to listen to if a person wanted to search, and The Best Christmas Pageant Ever by Barbara Robinson, a wonderful children’s novel.
    Merry Christmas, Chris!

  8. I didn’t like A Christmas Carol so much, but I tend to read A Tree Grows in Brooklyn around this time, which is not about Christmas but has several memorable scenes around Christmas and which I for some reason associate with this time of year. Maybe I need to reread it now, since I’m in this stupid slump.

    Can’t wait to read Let it Snow, though!

  9. I saw ‘The modern Christmas story involving kidnapping type’ and though – YES! He’s getting to some of the specific types! I have a chance.

    Alas, I got all the way through the list,and NO entry for ‘The Obssessed with White Worms Type’. Sigh… no christmas books for me this year… 😉

  10. How could you Chris?

    How could you post a list of such tempting things, when I’m not able to acquire them? :p

    However since you have pointed me towards Tori’s album as well, which I’m now listening to on Spotify, I’ll let it go…

    PS: Are we still starting on Clay this week? 🙂

  11. Great list! I have already read several of those, but I should look into the few I haven’t. Thanks for joining in with the Virtual Advent and Happy Holidays!

  12. Love your list!! I’ll have to check out a few from it.

    Happy Holidays to you too!

  13. Stop by my blog if you get a chance and take a look at my list of favorite children’s Christmas picture books. A winter storm knocked out our Internet connection yesterday, so I ended up posting today.

    http://www.readerbuzz.blogspot.com.

  14. I haven’t read ANY of those books! Ack. My favorite Christmas stories (granted, I haven’t read many) are probably The Hogfather and from way back in childhood, The Best Christmas Pageant Ever. Both so good and fun 🙂

  15. YAY for The Dark is Rising being on your list! 🙂 I *wish* I could read it again this season, but I don’t have the time this year. 😦 Next year, though. And, I didn’t realize that OSC has written so many Christmas Stories. We only have one: Christmas in Hell (I think).

    Happy Holidays!

  16. Great post Chris! Lots of great ideas here. War of Gifts and Zanna’s Gift are both wonderful choices, as are many of the others. I’ve been thinking back recently to a couple of years ago when a certain someone sent me Speaker for the Dead and I did a December/January Card love fest, with War of Gifts in there as well. I’ve really been craving getting back to this world and may have to pick up a copy of Xenocide for myself this year.

    Hope all is going well for you at work and home and that you are enjoying your Christmas season. (I’m not happy with the way the Saints are playing today! 😉 )

  17. Well, that was quite a comeback! Well done Saints!!!

  18. I love all of your types-of-reader categories, especially: ‘The modern Christmas story involving kidnapping type’ – LOL!

    And the medley from Tori Amos was really lovely.

  19. Last year I read Connie Willis’ collection of Christmas-themed short stories Miracle and Other Christmas Stories. Not every story was a winner, but some have stayed with me through the whole year. I’d recommend it.

  20. Wonderful list, Chris! I’ve read a few of them (you know I love Kate Dicamillo!), but look forward to reading the others. Thanks!

  21. I like how you put each book into categories to help make each book the perfect gift. Great stop on the Virtual Advent Tour.

  22. Aw man. So I’m reading happily down your list of books, thinking of all the good reading left to do in my life, and then I come to Zanna’s Gift. I ordered that right after your review of it last year. Remember? But I’ll be damned if I have a clue what happened to it! I remember it arrived…but I don’t think I’ve seen it since last Christmas. How freakin’ weird is that. *pouts*

    *stops pouting* Because Rich and I are going Christmas shopping tomorrow night…and he’s promised me he’s buying me the Tori Amos CD and I don’t even have to wait until Christmas to have it! 😀 😀 😀

  23. I generally have a love/hate relationship with Christmas books…much like Christmas movies. I tend to be a ‘twisted Christmas’ kind of girl. I see Holidays on Ice on your list, so I’m off to spelunk more titles of far-reaching varieties. Whee! Thanks, Chris!

  24. What fun!!! I haven’t read a Christmas book in YEARS, but your list is making me want to try them out. 🙂

  25. Ooh, there are so many other Christmas books that I love: LM Montgomery’s Christmas with Anne (short stories), Jean Shepherd’s A Christmas Story, Louisa May Alcott’s The Quiet Little Woman, ah!! So many!

  26. Nice contribution, good website design and style, stick to the great work

Leave a Reply

