Bad Bloggers on Thanksgiving

Happy Thanksgiving everyone πŸ™‚ I realize that as I’m writing this, Thanksgiving is nearly over, so I hope everyone had a fantastic one filled with family and friends and food and fun. I for one had WAY too much food…but that’s a good thing πŸ™‚ I wanted to share something with you all and I hope that you all read it! For Thanksgiving, S.G. Browne, author of Breathers, put up the Thanksgiving chapter of his book, Breathers, on his blog. It’s one of my favorite chapters in the book and it’s super short and it’s poignant, witty, and hilarious all in one breath. If you enjoy that chapter then you will fall in love with the book. Hop on over there and check it out!

Now for the Bad Bloggers part of the post….oh, it’s bad this time. I haven’t been feeling too good lately….emotionally, physically, just not good. And when I don’t feel good, my book intake increases. Funny how that works, huh? πŸ˜‰ Needless to say, my book buying ban has gone out of the window too :/ I’ve started Christmas shopping and for me it goes a little like this: “one for me, one for you”. Sound familiar? Anyway, here’s what’s walked into my house since the last Bad Bloggers post:

12345678910111213

1. Feed by M.T. Anderson – Well, I still haven’t read anything by M.T. Anderson….but Anderson is one of those authors that I’m just convinced that I’m really going to like! And this book sounds really good. And they had it on Bookmooch…so I got it :/ (Bookmooch)

2. Native by Mona Kuhn – This book was so gorgeous! I actually reviewed it last week. It was a review copy sent to me and it’s filled with gorgeous photographs of the Brazilian rainforest and the people who live there. It does have some nudity in it (both male and female) so if that offends you for whatever reason, this may not be for you, but this is such a beautiful piece of art! (Review copy)

3. The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker by Leanna Renee Hieber – Nymeth was sweet enough to send me this book along with a mix CD. Even though Nymeth sent me this book, it’s actually Shanra’s fault that I want to read it πŸ˜‰ So she’ll get the first point of this post! She’s raved about this book quite a few times so I was actually quite excited when Ana offered it to me! (Sent by a friend)

4. Luck in the Shadows by Lynn Flewelling – I love Lynn Flewelling. She’s my hero. I’ve actually only read one of her books, The Bone Doll’s twin, but it quickly became one of my all time favorite fantasy books for the gender issues that it tackled after reading that book. I really need to finish that series! After reading that book, many people suggested that I try the Nightrunner series as well and this is the first book in that series! Really looking forward to it!! (Paperback Swap)

5. Story of a Girl by Sara Zarr – Just because it’s Sara Zarr and I’m convinced that I’ll love her even though I still haven’t read Sweethearts which I own :/ (Paperback Swap)

6. Sonny’s House of Spies by George Ella Lyon – A point for my dear friend Debi! She did it with this review. Yeah, just go read that and try not to add this one to your wishlist! Can’t wait to dig into it…this one has been on my wishlist for so long!!! (Paperback Swap)

7. Spring Snow by Yukio Mishima – Just because I really want to read some Mishima for the Japanese Lit Challenge this year. I have Confessions of a Mask and plan on reading that, but I wanted to read this one too. And I got this really cool old paperback from 1978 too off of Paperback Swap πŸ™‚ I love old paperbacks! (Paperback Swap)

8. A Christmas Memory by Truman Capote – I saw this one at Barnes and Noble the other night while Christmas shopping and just had to buy it. It’s a gorgeous edition and actually has 3 short stories in it. I know that A Christmas Memory is one of Ana’s favorite Christmas stories, so that’s the main reason I bought this one…so a point to Nymeth for this one. I may just read this one tonight since we put up the Christmas tree and I’m in a Christmas-y mood now! (Bought it)

9. Let it Snow by John Green, Maureen Johnson, and Lauren Myracle – How could I not buy this one when looking for Christmas books to read?! Plus Nymeth also reviewed this one last year and left me aching to read it :p So she’s getting a point for this too. I was so happy to see Maureen Johnson’s excitement at hitting the NYT bestseller list with this new paperback release! (Bought it)

10. The Book of Genesis Illustrated by R. Crumb – I’m super stoked about this one. It’s a graphic novel of the book of Genesis. I wouldn’t consider myself a religious person at all, but I’m super interested in religions. Always have been. And I love the book of Genesis. This is such a neat idea and after just reading the preface to this I’m so excited. Can’t wait to get into it…yeah, I bought this one too :p (Bought it)

11. The King of Elfland’s Daughter by Lord Dunsany – It’s about damn time I bought this one! All Neil Gaiman’s fault!! (Bookmooch)

12. The Blue Sky by Galsan Tschinag – I don’t even remember what this one is about!! All I remember is that it has something to do with a Mongolian boy and that Eva did an awesome review of it ages ago that made me want it really bad. And now I have it!! Point to Eva πŸ™‚ (Paperback Swap)

13. The Legend of Sigurd & Gudrun by J.R.R. Tolkien – Well I had to get this one. While shopping on Amazon I decided to click in their bargain bin section and this one was on clearance!! I’ve been wanting it for ages. So now I have it πŸ™‚ And it looks amazing. I love the cover!! (Bought it)

17 Responses

  1. Happy Thanksgiving to you and your family Chris. I’m sitting here post eating and post traditional touch football game, feeling all of my 41 years. I’m almost afraid to go to bed, knowing just how sore I might be tomorrow! We had a lot of fun. I hope yours was fun as well.

    I bought King of Elflands Daughter long ago but have yet to read it. Not sure why as it is not a very large book. Maybe for this coming year’s Once Upon a Time.

  2. Happy Thanksgiving Chris! I hope it was a good one and you didn’t eat TOO much!!

    One for me, one for you….that is something that I would love to try!! Don’t sweat it. You didn’t buy THAT many books. Compared to pre-ban, I’d say you are doing just fine!

  3. Your comment about the Mongolian book cracked me up! I hope you enjoy it. πŸ™‚ I love the title of The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Mercy Parker! Mishima is such an awesome writer-and you’re how I ‘met’ him! πŸ™‚ I LOVE “A Christmas Memory” by Capote as well-it’s so beautiful. And I’ve been wanting to read Let It Snow.

  4. Hello Chris – I hope you don’t mind me getting in touch. I wondered if your blog was free on the 1st of March next year? I’m a British author and a fellow Bookblogs member and my next novel, Thaw, will be published online next year after its physical publication. I wanted to invite you to participate in my Blogsplash – there’s more information at http://www.fionarobyn.com/thawblogsplash.htm.

    Thanks for listening!
    Warmest,
    Fiona
    PS hope you’re feeling better…

  5. Oh thank you my wonderful friend!!! You had me rolling with you “one for me, one for you” policy! And you know just how badly we need some laughs this week. I’m definitely going to share this with Rich…I think he’ll agree that it’s a policy we should adopt. πŸ˜‰

    And you have no idea how excited I am that you got Sonny’s House of Spies! Oh Chris, you will love it…it’s such a wonderful little book. And you know, I think you could use it for Amanda’s GLBT challenge.

    So glad to hear you all had such a lovely Thanksgiving, Chris.

  6. Happy Thanksgiving! I hope you enjoy the Lynn Flewelling – I always like her books. The newest one in the Nightrunner series keeps having its publication date pushed back later and later. Grrrr!

  7. I hope you feel better soon, Chris. Both physically and emotionally.

  8. I got to go to my “other sons” for thanksgiving..so I am cooking my turkey as we speak here..

    gads Chris you really are Incorrigible !!! lol but I’ll keep you anyway!

    I hope you had a wonderful Thanksgiving, and ate too much! most of all I hope you are feeling better.. this not feeling good has gone on far too long!

  9. Carl, Thanks man!! Glad to hear that you had an enjoyable thanksgiving as well! Though it sounds like you may be suffering a bit for it now πŸ˜‰ Happy belated birthday by the way!!! Sorry I missed it the other day. I’m still having a hard time moving after all the food I ate yesterday. I’m thinking I might read the Dunsany book for OUaT too this year.

    Steph, Oh, I DEFINITELY ate too much, lol…especially too much turkey, lol. My head is killing me today…I don’t know what it is about turkey, but I know it gives me headaches. Weird, huh? Now I’m suffering for it. And you should totally try my Christmas buying philosophy πŸ˜‰ You deserve it, lol.

    Eva, Glad my comment gave you a giggle πŸ™‚ Made me laugh too as I realized I had no idea what the book was about :p I just know I’ve been wanting to read more about Mongolia ever since I read The Horse Boy! Such a good book. I forgot that you read Mishima! You read The Sound of Waves, right? Isn’t that an amazing book? I’d love to reread that one!

    Fiona, I’ll check it out!

    Debi, I’m glad I gave you a laugh πŸ˜€ You think I’m joking? lol…I seriously think I’ve bought myself something with every order I’ve placed or with every shopping trip I’ve made…Pretty bad! Oh well, Christmas is a time to break bans :p I didn’t remember Sonny’s House of Spies having any GLBT themes! That’s really cool! Like I said, I’ve been wanting to read that one for ages…really looking forward to it!

    Jenny, Oooh, I didn’t know that she was still publishing books in the series! That’s exciting to know!!

    Amanda, Thanks πŸ™‚

    Deslily, So glad that you got to spendyour thanksgiving over there πŸ™‚ Can’t wait to hear all about how your turkey came out!! I know I’m incorrigible :/ I can’t seem to stop myself….I did have a good Thanksgiving! THanks Pat πŸ™‚

  10. Now, come on. I’m looking to people like you to show me just how easy a book buying ban is to keep up to!

  11. Awww, Chris, you’re still not feeling 100%? *hugs and sends good thoughts* I was hoping things were looking up for you by now… (You know, if it’ll help cheer you up, I’ll consider the package you’re sending a true Christmas present and live with the guilt of not being a Christmas person… ^-~ That said, I may have to make an exception for you in this case then.) *sends some more good thoughts* You’re too lovely a person to have bad things happen to you.

    Mishima is on my wishlist as well, by the by. For no other reason than that it sounds interesting. (My wishlist is scary, though. I think, by now, it’s actually larger than the one you have on Amazon. Which is a very creepy thought.) And the Dunsany book… ^-^ Need to get my hands on it too sometime.

    And I hope you’ll enjoy “The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker”! It’s such a sweet thing. Heart-warming too. (You’re just giving me that point so I’ll shut up, aren’t you? ^-~ *bemusedly happy, though*)

    *huggles again and sends some more good thoughts, because*

  12. Yay! I’m so glad you got LUCK IN THE SHADOWS! I absolutely cannot wait to see what you think of it!

  13. You need to read “A Christmas Memory” RIGHT NOW. Just saying πŸ˜›

    And like Carl, I’ve had The King of Elfland’s Daughter on my tbr pile for ages…I suck :S

  14. No worries, I appreciate the birthday wishes regardless of when they come! πŸ™‚ I didn’t eat nearly enough this year. I’m going to have to make up for that come Christmas time, when there are no family traditions that involve exercise! LOL! I’m still hurting today, worse than any of the other days actually, but that’s what happens when you only seriously work out once a year!

    Hope the Saints pull off another win this week! I need Brees to have a good game for my daughter’s (read: mine, since I do all the work) Fantasy Football team.

  15. For someone that is on a book buying ban a lot of books seem to walk into your house… I plan to buy The Strangely Beautiful Tale of Miss Percy Parker, so if you hold on to it until the next year let me know. It could be our first buddy read of 2010. πŸ™‚

  16. I recently read Luck in the Shadows and enjoyed it. It’s lots of fun. Kind of a guilty pleasure for me. I’ve book two but have not started it yet.

  17. I’m just now catching up on reading posts! I am really curious to see what you think of M.T. Anderson. The three or four I’ve read have all been really different from one another. Feed and Thirsty being NOTHING like the two Octavian Nothings I’ve read πŸ™‚ I think you will enjoy Feed because it’s a novel that creates its own world and makes you think a bit.

    I just got to Let It Snow myself. So my review will be coming up in the next day or so.

Leave a Reply

