The Sunday Salon – Howdy Folks

TSSbadge3I just wanted to drop in and tell everyone “hi”. I feel like I’ve been such a stranger lately and there’s reasons for that. I seem to have gotten the flu or some kind of deadly virus. It’s really not that bad. It mostly just feels like a headcold accompanied by sneezing fits, constant fatigue, and occasional stomach problems that no one wants to hear about. But that’s where I’ve been. I’ve had some reviews that have made their way up this week, but they’ve all been scheduled, so I’ve still felt like a stranger even though I’ve reviewed four books. In reality, I haven’t touched my computer. My boss has made me go to work for the last couple of days, so by the time I get home, I don’t want to do anything but sleep.

Have I missed anything big and exciting in the blogging world this week? I know there are some new challenges going up! I’m signing up for three as of now. Darren is hosting the incredibly cool Twenty Ten Reading Challenge that I just have to sign up for (my 10th category is going to be chunksters over 500 pages that I already own!), then there’s Amanda’s amazing GLBT challenge that I think everyone should sign up for, and finally, I’ve decided that yes, I’m signing up for the Women Unbound challenge! Because women rock and I love them and damnit, they’ve fought like hell to get where they are and never should’ve had to do that in the first place! And it promises some really cool reads too.

You might remember that Robin and I were hosting our own challenge too in memory of Dewey, the Dewey’s Books Reading Challenge. I’ve put up a wrap up post for that challenge on the challenge blog if you’d like to drop a comment over there and Kelly has also put up a final mini-challenge over on her blog!! Please join in! It’s a great one. I read some great books for this challenge that I never would’ve read had it not been for Dewey’s inspiration. Six books to be exact: The Polysyllabic Spree by Nick Hornby, The Penelopiad by Margaret Atwood, The Tale of One Bad Rat by Bryan Talbot, After Dark by Haruki Murakami, The Sandman Vol. 1 by Neil Gaiman (reread), and The Complete Persepolis by Marjane Satrapi. Despite the fact that three of these are graphic novels, I still love the diversity of these….it goes to show what an eclectic reader Dewey was.

Anyone have any big plans for the weekend? My plans are mostly just to enjoy my sick time and curl up in bed with a good book, drink some hot tea, and watch the Saints game tomorrow. One last thing, then I’ll stop rambling…it has to do with hot tea. I discovered the most AMAZING hot tea. I’ve always been a big tea drinker and get so excited when I find the perfect brew. This one is by Mighty Leaf which is starting to pop up in more and more stores. I found it at Whole Foods, but I’ve seen it at World Market as well. Or you can get it at Amazon. The tea I’ve been drinking is called Orange Dulce and it is to die for! It has orange rind, vanilla, ceylon black tea leaves, china green tea leaves and lavender in it. The tea is pretty coarse too and there are actually flowers in the sachet. It’s not shred to pieces, which I like. Perfect with two teaspoons of sugar in the raw πŸ™‚ Definitely try it out if you can find it!

14 Responses

  1. Sorry to hear you’ve been feeling crappy. I’ve been pretty absent from the blogosphere myself, for much less valid reasons (the twin evils of busy-ness and laziness!), so I won’t be much good for updating you on interesting bloggy developments, but if you discover any juicy ones, let me know. πŸ˜‰

    Hope you enjoy your time off and feel better soon!

  2. I hope you feel better soon, Chris!

  3. First off, I hope your flu goes away soon, and I hope you’re getting some time off work (that’s what you mean by sick time, yes?). Second, you’ve just put me in the mood for tea. I’m not a huge fan of tea, but I like herbal tea if it’s the right stuff. Particularly gingerbread tea with lots of lemon and honey…

  4. oh my, i sure don’t like to hear that my baby boy is sick! I’m “guessing” you haven’t been to a doctor. (“I seem to have got” tells me you are self diagnosing) I hope hope hope that you feel better soon. All I hear are that any of the flu’s going around make you sick for a much longer time than they used to. Please take care of yourself.

    as for me.. well my star trek movie came yesterday and I quite enjoyed watching Karl Urban once again..I truly love when he tells Kirk he has “numb tongue” LOL.. then after I watched that a movie called Pathfinder came on..guess who starred in it?!.. Karl Urban!! So I had an afternoon of looking at a handsome young man who is turning into a very fine actor! However at 4:30 am I woke up stressed and knotted stomach (nothing new there) so I am up early with no plans.

    enjoy your book and football game.. hugs.. mom2

  5. Hiya stranger! I’ve been sick, too, with a head cold that’s left me with a horrid case of tinnitus. I can’t hear a thing over the ringing in my ears. Hope you feel better, soon. If you’ve got anything like I’ve had, I feel for you; whatever I’ve got is stubbornly hanging on. I skidded to a halt on my Nano at 30,000 words, two days ago, and kind of don’t care. At least I got 3/5 of the way. When you feel crappy you want to sleep, drink tea (oh, I’ll have to look that tea up, thanks!) and read, not write.

    Sounds like you read some great books for the Dewey’s Reads challenge. I’ve read exactly one of those: The Polysyllabic Spree.

    Sorry your boss is such a big meanie. A pox on him!!! ((((HUGS)))) Get well soon!!!!

  6. Hope you’re starting to feel better, and thank you for the kind words about my challenge! Hope you enjoy those chunksters!

  7. Megan, Business and laziness are as good of reasons as any to be a stranger from blogging! I know they’ve been my reason many times πŸ˜‰

    Lu, Thanks! I’ve felt much better today than I have in awhile!

    Amanda, I doubt I’ll get any time off work :/ I’m feeling a little better today, so I’ll be going in tomorrow. I’m a huge tea fan! Gingerbread tea sounds delicious! I could go for some of that now πŸ˜‰

    Deslily, I didn’t want to write on here that I was sick because I didn’t want you to worry!! But what I can tell you is that I am feeling better now than I was before. And guess what? I told you this on twitter and your blog already, but I got Star Trek and I absolutely loved it!! So good! Karl Urban really did do a fantastic job and the “numb tongue” scene really was hilarious :p That whole scene cracked me up!! Sorry to hear that you’ve still been feeling bad though Pat 😦 I really hate to hear that…Hugs right back to you my friend!

    Bookfool, You’re still feeling bad?? It seems like ages ago that you started feeling bad 😦 Oh, I can’t stand tinnitus. I get it every now and then, but it lasts for all of 30 seconds and then goes away…I can’t imagine it lasting longer than that! It would drive me nuts! You’ve done so fantastic on NaNo!! Pat yourself on your back for what you have done!! If that’s all you do, then it’s all you do! Hugs right back to you too πŸ™‚ Hope you feel better!!

    Bart, Thanks man! I really am starting to feel better. Started feeling better today. I’m so looking forward to your challenge! It sounds really awesome. And I hope I can finally get rid of a couple of those chunksters that have been sitting on my shelf for ages!

  8. I’m so sorry that you’ve been fighting illness. I hope you’ve won the battle and today finds you feeling better. I also hope you were able to get that relaxing weekend. I had started to feel feverish on Thursday afternoon and I so didn’t want to be sick, especially not this past weekend. The combination of Advil, sleep and prayer did the trick and Friday morning found me back in the thick of things at work.

    You read some great books in honor of Dewey!

    I need to follow your example and get some book reviews up. I managed one last night, but that was for my most recent read. I have several piled up from previous reads that I need to get out.

  9. I’m turning into a tea fanatic myself. The Revolution tea (Dragon Eye Oolong, baby!) came in from Amazon and that’s pretty much what I’m drinking every evening. Me, you, C.S. Lewis…hope you feel better in time for turkey!

  10. I had lots to comment about but forgot it. So I’ll just say I’m super happy to see a guy joining Women Unbound! πŸ˜€

  11. Hi there,

    I’m from Mighty Leaf Tea and am glad you like Orange Dulce. I also find it makes a good tea latte with a splash of milk added in. I’m also a voracious reader and noticed you’re reading “Her Fearful Symmetry.” I read the inside description at a bookstore the other day and was tempted to pick it up. Amazon has mixed reviews and I’m curious to hear what you think about it so far. I liked “Time Traveler’s Wife” and the premise behind this book. I look forward to your thoughts.

    Annelies Z.

  12. I hope you’re feeling better and better, Chris. I’m thinking of Women Unbound challenge too. Get well!

  13. Hi again, Chris! I hope you see this.

    I’m feeling much, much better. I think I’m just prone to getting stuffed ears. At one point, I was diagnosed with Meniere’s disease — which is a disease I promise you don’t want. I had to carry a bottle of anti-dizzy drops for emergencies (meaning times when the room flipped upside-down) and I had roaring tinnitus and couldn’t walk straight. I *always* have tinnitus, but it’s mild now, so when the cold made it bad I was kind of ticked. My bad ear is better, today.

    Also, I wanted to say “Thank you!!!” for your words about my Nano. I still love the idea, the characters and the setting — in fact, I adore my little world. But, I thought it was missing something and I’m very pleased that I got 30K, really. You know I was never enthusiastic about Nano, this year, and since I’ve won it twice I don’t feel like it’ll kill me not to win. I already know I can force myself to put out 50,000 words in a month. πŸ™‚ So, I’m happy with my 30K and I’m going to see if I can come up with some ways to make the rest of the story really rock.

    BTW, while we were in the Big City, I looked for your new favorite tea and found it at Fresh Foods. Yummo, that is so good! My husband likes it, too. I don’t sugar my tea, so I’m trying to switch myself to drinking tea to get off sodas. Thanks for the help!!! πŸ™‚

  14. I know we’ve been chatting e-mail style, but I wanted to pop in here (yes, even though I’m not supposed to be blogging…shhh) to say “hi” and say once again that I hope you’re soon feeling 100%! Love you!

    And Eva–Rich is joining Women Unbound, too…even has his books picked out, but is so lazy about posting on his blog that he just hasn’t gotten around to it yet.

Leave a Reply

