Peeking Out Of The Hole

I was just stating on Twitter that I wasn’t going to be able to blog or comment or blog hop or anything this week, and then I took a nap for about a half an hour. And now I feel a little better. So I’ll try to do a little of all of those things while I can. It’s just been a really crazy week. Ive gotten thrown off schedule because my boss is out of town for the week, so I’m taken off of my normal night shift and put onto the day shift. And I am NOT a morning person. Not at all. And things have been really hectic at work. So I’ll probably continue to be a hermit this week when not at work, but I wanted to drop in and say Hi!

Not much to say on the book front I’m afraid…I swear, this year this has become less of a book blog. I guess it always has been a personal blog with lots of book updates, but even more so this year! I did finish The Wild Things by Dave Eggers, but you’re going to have to wait for a review on that one because I’m reviewing it with Kelly from The Written World. What I will tell you is that it was just amazing and it definitely will not be my last Dave Eggers book. In fact, I may just read them in backwards publication order, because I have Zeitoun sitting here waiting to be read which is all about a Muslim family living in New Orleans during Hurricane Katrina. Sounds really good!

midwinterNext random subject, as I’m writing this, I’m listening to Tori Amos’ new seasonal album, Midwinter Graces and really enjoying it! You all know I’ve always been a fan of hers, and when I heard she was doing a seasonal album I was just ecstatic because I love Christmas and everything to do with it. I love it because she takes songs from all different cultures and performs them with a few originals as well. She also does my all time favorite Christmas song, “Jeanette, Isabella”. I just wish she would’ve sung it in the original French 😦 When I was 8 or 9 I sang it in French with my choir and I think it’s just one of the most beautiful songs ever written. But I’ll take it any way I can get it from Tori Amos 🙂 The most exciting thing of all, her daughter Natashya sings with her on Holly, Ivy and Rose!!!! And she sounds lovely 😀

Speaking of Christmas, is anyone else freaking out over it?? I know it’s stupid to be freaking out over Christmas on November 10th but I feel like this year has just gone by so fast that it’s going to sneak up on me before I know it and I won’t have anything done! I need to do Christmas Cards and I need to start shopping or at least make a list of who I need to buy for. I’m the king of finding things to stress over :p Ok…I’m off to stress some more…but first I will go spend a little while catching up on everyone’s posts!! Hope everyone’s been well!

21 Responses

  1. Hi Chris! Nice to see you peeking out! 😀

    So I have to confess: I despise Tori Amos. Something about her music affects me and makes me physically ill. I believe it somehow got associated with a very bad moment in my life, which is what does it, but each time I hear her music (or Enya’s for that matter) I just cringe. It’s too bad, because she seems like a nice person and everyone and their dog seems to love her music. Ah well. 😦

    On the upside, that David Eggers book about the Muslim family in New Orleans sounds really interesting. I can’t wait to see what you think of it. I’ve never really heard anything about Eggers.

  2. Glad you loved Eggers! I’m excited to start reading The Wild Things and Zeitoun as well. Hope your next one after Zeitoun is his What is the What, which is awesome.

  3. Christmas always catches me unawares. So this year, I did my Christmas shopping in October. Crazy, right? Well, it seems like December is the month of birthdays and extra expenses. I already feel like I can kick my feet up and not worry.

    But I’m with you on totally loving it!

  4. Ugh, I sympathise. I’m not a morning person either. I’m STILL waiting for my copy of Wild Things to come in … sigh …

  5. Oh thanks for reminding me about Tori’s new seasonal album! That will be perfect for a track or two for this year’s Christmas mix. I too am mildly freaking out but it’s mainly because I’m poor this year and have no idea how I am going to manage Christmas this year :(. Oh woe is me ;).

  6. i haven’t been in the best of health (chiropractor and neck not seeming to be getting better) and very depressed over things..crying so much my eyes can hardly open.. i keep trying to walk around the pond to keep something “normal” but I do know I’m not up to blogs and books right now either..must be a family thing huh? love you baby boy..do a little something each day that you enjoy normally…it helps.

  7. Quit stressing right now!!! 🙂 Stop and enjoy the everyday and just go from there!! 🙂 I now have to see if my library has Tori Amos’ Christmas cd, you’ve made me WANT to listen to it!!!

  8. I’m freaking about Christmas myself because we have to buy gifts for the two teens in our house and we HAVEN’T EVEN STARTED. And generally I start in September. Oy!

    Can’t wait to read what you thought of Wild Things. I only realized it existed this weekend when I saw it at Borders. I’m so out o’the loop.

  9. Glad to see we are going to be reviewing our book together soon! Just email me when you have the time and we will figure something out. 🙂

  10. Amanda, I won’t argue Tori Amos with you because I’m slightly biased there 😉 I’ve been a fan of her music for 14 years now and she’s gotten me through quite a few rough times! So I think I’ll like just about anything she puts out. But I’m totally with you on Enya!! Gah, she annoys the hell out of me :p Zeitoun does look really fantastic! It’s funny, I have like the entire Eggers collection, but The Wild Things is the first thing of his that I’ve read. I just knew I’d like him though…sometimes you just know that about authors. He really is fantastic if The Wild Things is a good example of his writing.

    Claire, I know how much you loved What is the What!! I can’t wait to read that one actually. I’ve heard some really great things about it, not the least of which has come from you 😀 Really looking forward to it!!

    Lena, I totally wish I would’ve done my Christmas shopping already 😦 I had every intention of doing it ahead of time this year and I didn’t. And now I feel like Christmas is like…tomorrow! I need to get started…especially since I have stuff I have to MAIL!

    Maree, You still haven’t gotten it?! Oh no!! I hope you get it soon! It’s worth the wait though. I absolutely adored the book. It’s fantastic!!

    Claire, I make Christmas mixes too 😀 I love doing them every year. And I’ll definitely have a few tracks off of Tori’s album on this years. Sorry to hear that you’re broke this year 😦 Maybe you can do some homemade gifts!! Baked goods and fancy photographs are always good 🙂

    Deslily, Oh I’m so sorry to hear that Pat 😦 You know how much I hate to hear that. And I know you hate feeling it at least 1000 times more than I can hate to hear it. I wish there was something I could do for you. I especially hate to hear that you have physical pain on top of everything. It’s so frustrating. I think these depressive funks really must run in our family 😉 You have to laugh to keep from crying sometimes, huh? I love you too Pat!! And make sure you take your own advice and do a little something you enjoy each day!! I absolutely love the little knit creatures and afghan that you made by the way!! I’m off to actually comment on the post in a sec 🙂

    Staci, Well thanks for that great advice 😀 I wish I could actually listen to that every now and then. I don’t know why I stress so much sometimes. I do hope you can find the Tori Amos CD!!! It’s super fantastic!!! Love every second of it.

    Andi, I usually try to start early too, but I haven’t bought a single gift yet this year. I’m off on Friday though, so I think I’m going to try to knock a few of the “big gifts” off of the list then. And get a few little things done too. And I really need to get my Christmas Cards picked out and ready to mail!! The Wild Things is so good. You would absolutely love it Andi!!! You must check it out 🙂

    Kailana, I’m so excited about reviewing this one actually 🙂 I hope you loved it as much as me, lol. I just shot you an email!

  11. Nope, not stressing. Thanksgiving worries me a little because we still have a half-finished kitchen and haven’t finished the trim in the den. And, now I decided to lose my mind, move the futon out of the office and start painting the walls in another room. As if two rooms in progress were not enough. But, it’s fun updating our rotten old house.

    Psst! I’ve managed just over 9,000 words in 3 days on my new Nano and I’m having soooo much fun. I wish you were still Nanoing. I miss you.

  12. I have a band like that, too, except they don’t exist anymore and no one’s ever heard of them, but Jason feels the same way about them as I do about Tori Amos, which is just sad. :/

    I don’t like Enya on a taste level, but that’s not really the problem. For some reason, she actually causes me to get physically ill, like with shaking and nausea and muscle cramps. My dad used to play her all the time when I was in high school and I always had to get away. He thought I was faking it, but it still happens. Weird.

  13. BTW, I love Jeanette Isabella (but, yeah, French is best). I don’t know why I haven’t managed to get hooked on Tori Amos, as much as you talk about her. My favorite Xmas albums used to be Amy Grant’s first two, but now my fave is Wintersong by Sarah McLachlan — which, by the way, is also the cat’s favorite. I am so not kidding.

  14. First of all, you need some Dragon Eye Oolong right now! I’ll be thinking of you this week because I’m not a morning person either, although I have to be by force for my job. Don’t worry about Christmas; somehow it always comes together. I’ll never forget the first card I received last year was from you, with the beautiful glittery snowflake on a creamy background. I loved it!

  15. I’m glad your nap helped! 🙂 I’m freaking out a little about Christmas…I want to crochet my mom, my sister, my niece, and myself matching hats, and if my muscles don’t feel better soon, I don’t know how I’m going to manage that! But I just found out yesterday that our Christmas is going to be delayed, so at least that gives me a few more days. 😉

  16. Thanks for the heads-up re the Tori Amos seasonal album. I hadn’t heard about this yet and I love Christmas music. Yay!

  17. I understand the hole. I feel like I’m not only in one, but that someone has shoveled truckloads of dirt on top of the opening. 😦 And yes, I am totally freaking out about Christmas. Seriously, I just want to cry. Totally overdoing it. As usual. You know, just that whole “I want to make everything positively magical for everyone else!” thing, that ends up leaving me exhausted and wishing for nothing more than five minutes of downtime. But hey, that’s life, right? And goodness knows, I’ll survive. And see, already something new to smile about…I want that Tori Amos CD now! And I don’t have a ban on music buying, so I’m damn well going to get it!

  18. Tori’s new album sounds great, I’ll have to hunt it down. Feeling very festive at the moment!

  19. I love these inside, personal peeks at what’s going on in a person’s life. Thanks for sharing! I have to admit, I started not talking as much about my life, but have noticed that they are one of my favorite parts of other people’s blogs. Anyway, I just wanted to tell you that. 🙂 I’m also ready to admit that I’m just about finished Christmas shopping. Yes, I’m one of those that has to have it done BEFORE December rolls around, or I’m freaking out too much and not enjoying it. Besides, the money issue all at once in one month is too much to handle.

    BTW–I officially back out of trying to figure out what causes a migraine. I had them ALL summer (one a week), and then came home and have only had two…but those two have been in the last two weeks. I think they are a mind control method by Satan, and just when we think we’ve figured out what triggers them…WAMMO…he zaps us one to remind us who is boss! LOL. Well, I hope Satan leaves all of us migraine sufferers alone for a bit, eh?

  20. I forgot about the new Tori album…thanks for the reminder!!! She is wonderful.

    I’m not so much ‘freaking out’ about Christmas as I am having this panicky feeling that it will all be over and done way too soon, which is why I am planning on celebrating my birthday this weekend by putting up the inside lights and going ahead and officially starting Christmas. I realize that before I know it January will be here and I will be having that melancholy, bittersweet feeling of another Christmas season being over mixed with the excitement of a New Year. I enjoy that time, but I CAN wait for it to get here…I need time to slow down!

  21. Okay, how did I not know that Tori’d done a seasonal album?!? I gotta get myself to the music store.

Leave a Reply

