Thank Yous and Bad Bloggers

First off, I wanted to thank everyone for your kind and wonderful comments about my somewhat dropping out of NaNoWriMo. I felt like a complete failure at the time, especially after convincing other people that they couldn’t drop out, but you all made me feel much better. The truth is, this is a story that I really care about and I want to give it a fair amount of time to work itself out. I don’t want to rush through it. And I didn’t expect that when I started it. AND I didn’t expect life to be as crazy as it is. I guess I just assumed it would be as easy for me as it was 2 years ago, but it definitely isn’t. But thank you all for your support. When this book gets published (bwahahahahahahahaha!) I’ll dedicate it to all of you πŸ™‚

As for the migraines, thanks for all the sympathies on that too. They’ve been better again. Today is day number two without one, which is a good thing. My normal pattern for the last 6 months or so has been either a headache every day or every other day. So while two days without a headache doesn’t sound all that great, it actually is believe it or not and I’ll take it!!

Now back to our regularly scheduled blogging pattern. How about some bad bloggers points?! Here are the books that have entered my house since the last Bad Bloggers post:

123456

1. The Red Tree by Shaun Tan – You guys! I let out a squeak so loud when I opened this package! My bestest friend in the whole world, Debi, sent this to me πŸ˜€ I had to get this one from the library ages ago because it has been out of print for awhile and I’ve been unable to find it. But I fell in love with it immediately and I’ve wanted my own copy of it forever. It’s the most beautiful children’s book I’ve ever read and it’s something that I think everyone should own. Not just children. It’s something everyone could use on a bad day. Well Debi found it for me on The Book Depository!! It’s back in print and they have it at a great price and I think everyone should go get themselves a copy!! (Gift from a friend)

2. Clay by David Almond – I don’t think anyone is at fault for this one. It’s just a David Almond book that I found on Paperback Swap that sounded incredible (as do all his books) so I picked up a copy! (Paperback Swap)

3. Last Days of Summer by Steve Kluger – Ok, so I kind of feel terrible about this one. Darren AKA Bart of Bart’s Bookshelf had this on his Bookmooch wishlist. And I kind of stalk him over there to see what he’s putting on his wishlist. And this was on there. And it was available. And I stole it off his wishlist :/ OMG I’m a bad friend!!!! I will however be giving him some blame AKA a point for the book and sending the book to him after I read it whenever that may be. I’m so sorry Darren!!! I assure you I’m drowning in guilt >> (Bookmooch)

4. Heck, Where the Bad Kids Go by Dale E. BasyeStephanie totally gets a point for this one!! I can’t even remember now if she actually reviewed this one or if it was part of her library loot one day, but I remembered that it sounded really fun πŸ™‚ So I put it on my wishlist and just scored a copy on Paperback Swap!! (Paperback Swap)

5. Atlas by Katrina Vandenberg – I have a long and tedious relationship with this book, but the joy that I have in finally having it in my hands has no bounds!! Nymeth reviewed this collection of beautiful sounding poetry ages ago. And I ordered it immediately after her review. Amazon told me they would ship it right away. And then they told me it would be a couple of weeks. Three months later they told me that it was no longer in print and that they would not ever be able to ship it to me! Now just the other day, it came back in print!! So despite my book buying ban, I bought it :p And I haves it now!!! Point to Nymeth!! (Bought it)

6. We Are On Our Own by Miriam Katin – This is probably my favorite find of this whole edition of Bad Bloggers. And that’s because Dewey gets a point for this one. This has been on my wishlist for well over a year now. In fact, I think it may have been the first book that I added to my wishlist because of Dewey. It’s an incredible looking graphic novel! Very unique style. And I actually scored this one on Paperback Swap too. I emailed the girl who sent it to me this long rambling email about how special of a find this was for me and how excited I was about it and she probably thinks I’m crazy :p But there’s a lot of sentiment behind this one. Thanks Dewey! I’m throwing a point your way! (Paperback Swap)

12 Responses

  1. You really shouldn’t feel bad! No way! We all have other things besides blogging, writing etc. that keep us busy. So, have fun writing on your own schedule, and maybe keep us posted? Please? πŸ™‚

    As for the migraines, that really worries me. It seems they’re a bit often. Get well soon!

    And enjoy the books!

  2. STOP THIEF! πŸ˜‰

  3. We Are On Our Own is an excellent book! I read it back in May I think.

    I just ordered The Red Tree based on Darren’s review of it recently. It looks so wonderful.

  4. I read We Are On Our Own because of Dewey too. It is a great book, one that fills the reader with strong emotions. Happy reading.

  5. I too read We Are On Our Own because of Dewey, and like Vasilly and Amanda I loved it! I’m sure you will too. And I’m sorry it took you this long to get Atlas, but I’m VERY glad you have it a last πŸ˜€ Do yourself a favour and read “Tulipomania” this very minute. It’s on page 23 – yep, I know that by heart πŸ˜› It makes me cry every time.

    The Book Depository has The Red Tree, does it? Well, it would count as a comic, and comics are not banned….hmmm πŸ˜›

    And finally, no bwahahahahahing your novel getting published!

  6. Kathrin, Thanks πŸ™‚ I’m not feeling too bad about it now. I’m actually feeling much better now and relieved actually and feeling like I made the right decision. As for the headaches, they worry me too, but there’s not much that anyone can do. Good thing is, I’ve had several MRIs done and I get bloodwork done often enough to rule out the big major scary things. And I will indeed enjoy my books!

    Bart, Um…I don’t know what you’re talking about *runs*

    Amanda, It looks excellent!! I can’t wait to read it! The Red Tree is such an amazing book. I first reviewed it either earlier this year or late last year..don’t even remember at this point :p I think it may have been last year, but it’s such an amazing little book. I think it’ll always be a favorite when it comes to picture books.

    Vasilly, That book just seems tied to Dewey for some reason, doesn’t it? I may just read it tonight because I’m dying to get into it. It looks like it’ll evoke quite a few emotions!

    Nymeth, Like I told Vasilly, it seems like WAOOO is tied to Dewey, doesn’t it? Can’t wait to read it. And I will indeed crack open Atlas and read “tulipomania”. I’ll probably end up just reading the whole thing though :p I’ve been on a poetry kick lately!! You really should get Ellen Kennedy’s Sometimes My Heart Pushes My Ribs by the way. I just loved her poems. Do you know of any other modern poets along those lines? I’d love to read some more…And yes, you should indeed go get The Red Tree right now πŸ˜‰ Though I think it’s more of a picture book, but you can call it a comic if you’d like πŸ˜‰ And while you’re there, you should also get The Arrival and The Rabbits and The Lost Thing πŸ˜‰ And no comment on the last thing you wrote because I’ll sound like Debi :/ And Shanra will come hitting me with newspapers.

  7. I’m glad you are feeling better about dropping out. If it’s a story you care about, then you should give it the time it needs. Nurture that sucker!! I’ll be waiting for my dedication!!

    Glad to see you picked up Heck! I bought it on a whim, and still haven’t read it. But I will!! Got my head stuck in a fantastic book of essays right now. I’m not a huge fan of essays, but this is totally worth reading.

    (Oh….Go Saints!!)

  8. Chris, glad to hear you’re feeling much better now πŸ™‚ As for the headaches, ruling out the “major scary things” is a good thing. (But not knowing why you have them must suck!) Happy reading!

  9. Oh man, what are you trying to do…send me into happiness overload?!! First your e-mail and now your sweet words here! πŸ˜€ I’m sooooo glad you love the book! (Of course, I knew you would.) I just wish I’d got you two copies, so you could take one to the office.

    Wonder how many people have read We Are On Our Own because of Dewey. You can add my name to that list. But I sooooo love how she still continues to touch us every day, don’t you?

    And WOW…those cool connection things just keep coming! Guess what book the boys and I started reading together last night. Come on, guess. Yep, Heck!

    Have a great week, my dear friend! #luvchris

  10. Looks like you got some great books. I’m glad that you are going to continue working on the novel even though you are dropping out of Nano

  11. Heck is on both my and my daughter’s lists right now – it looks like so much fun!

  12. I could have sworn I said something because I remember reading this post. Hmm. Well . . . I planned to say that I loved Last Days of Summer. I don’t think I reviewed that one because I read it while I was taking care of my mother and had only brief internet access at Burger King (it was a high-fat month, let me tell ya) but it’s hilarious and touching and just flat wonderful. Read it when you need an upper. You will love it.

    I just did something crazy with my Nano. Drop by to read about it. I think you’ll like my new cover art that I just created.

Leave a Reply

