NaNoWriMo Day #2 and Closing October

Well today has been a rather slow day on the NaNo front, but it’s been such a fun day in story development!! I got to introduce my teen romance that will gradually develop over the course of the novel and I think it will be perfectly sweet. Favorite scene of the day is my main character, Devin and his crush, Lindsay driving down St. Charles Ave. in Lindsay’s car listening to Vampire Weekend as the sun goes down through the oak trees 🙂 I’m actually liking this novel! And I know that doesn’t mean much at just 3,600 words in, but it means something to me. It really helps when you like your characters, I’ve learned that! I’ve come to despise my first NaNo novel. I’ve learned one thing, while I enjoy reading fantasy, I hate writing it. Yes, this is a ghost story, and that is a form of fantasy, but the other story was set in a fantasy world…and I did not like the world that I created. Not at all. The only thing I feel bad about today is that I put poor Devin into a near catatonic state by scaring the shit out of him with a ghost :/ Poor guy.

Well, I need to close out my reading month for October!! Here’s what I read:

78. Breathers by S.G. Browne, 2009, 320 pgs., 4.75/5
79. Normal by Amy Bloom, 2002, 140 pgs., 4/5
80. Between Mom and Jo by Julie Anne Peters, 2006, 240 pgs., 5/5
81. Rose by Jeff Smith, 2000, 138 pgs., 3/5
82. Sometimes My Heart Pushes My Ribs by Ellen Kennedy, 2009, 64 pgs., 4/5
83. The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling, 2008, 111 pgs., 4/5
84. The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo, 2009, 201 pgs., 5/5
85. Fables Vol. 4 – March of the Wooden Soldiers by Bill Willingham, 2004, 231 pgs., 4.5/5
86. Pictures for Sad Children by John Campbell, 2009, 197 pgs., 3.5/5

That’s 9 books, 1,642 Pages! Thank God for the Readathon or I don’t know if I would’ve gotten any reading done! Well, I would’ve gotten two books read and that would’ve been it. Favorites of the month….those would be Breathers, Between Mom and Jo, and The Magician’s Elephant. I could seriously put all three of those in my top 10. Yes, it’s going to be another rough year when it comes to making the top 10!! My goal was to make it to 100 books this year, but I don’t know if I’m going to do that with NaNoWriMo this year. It’s going to be rough to read 14 more books this year with two months left. We’ll see what happens. I did complete a challenge too! Here’s my RIP Wrap Up:

1. Bayou Volume 1 by Jeremy Love
2. Fingersmith by Sarah Waters
3. Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr
4. The Purloined Boy by Mortimus Clay
5. The Haunted Playground by Shaun Tan
6. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness
7. Uncle Montague’s Tales of Terror by Chris Priestley
8. Breathers by S. G. Browne

8 Books read isn’t all that bad!! Favorite read of this challenge would DEFINITELY be The Knife of Never Letting Go with Breathers coming in second. My humongous thanks go to Carl once again for putting all of his hard work and time into this challenge to make it the wonderful tradition that it is.

And last but not least, I found this at Parajunkee’s blog, my local blogger friend that I discovered recently and fell in love with it!!! Tonight is the big Saints/Falcon’s game and she made this…Love it!!

day_of_the_dead_skull-[Converted]_small

10 Responses

  1. You’re doing great if characters are popping up to scare people. I’m at #Nanofail stage, myself — working on a blog post about what I’ve figured out and why I’m stopping at (sigh) 6,400 word. I’m reading a really terrific book about writing so maybe it will help. Keep going! You’re doing fantastic!

  2. Oh Chris, I’m so happy for you! It sounds like your book is coming along fabulously!!! So, December 1st is the day I get to read it, right? 😀

  3. Yay for liking your characters! Good luck with NaNo this month!

  4. Making your own fantasy world is SO HARD. I could never attempt to do that for a NaNo novel. There’s just so much work involved. I have a couple book ideas like that that I’ve been unraveling for years and still havne’t gotten to because world creation is a bear.

    I’m glad you’re liking your novel so far!

  5. I’m so glad you’re having fun with your story, Chris 😀 And yay for Vampire Weekend! I love it when novels include music references, hehehe.

  6. Looks like you made a great deal of reading progress in October. Have a great Nano!

  7. Great reading month! I am looking forward to reading Breathers when it comes for me. I am glad you are having fun writing your story!

  8. Nanomaster! I’m totally not up to Nano…like ever. I think it would kill me. I give props to ya for sure. Great reading! I need to go back and read your review of Wicked Lovely. It’s been on my shelves for entirely too long.

  9. I love the sound of this story, hope it keeps getting better and better!
    I love when characters just pop up on their own and beg to be included in the story, it’s such a great feeling!
    and you know, I love fantasy too and I’m not saying I will never write fantasy again, but now I feel more like writing general fiction. I would have said it’s YA but then they main characters are 18 and 19 and apparently that’s adult…ah well.. they’re still teenagers for me:)

  10. I hope you don’t feel too bad for hating your first story or more exactly the world you created…
    I’ll cheer you on through NaNo and can’t wait to see the celebration after you completed the 50k!

Leave a Reply

