The Read-A-Thon Hangover Post

Ah…it felt SO good to sleep. :p I threw in the towel at about 3:30 this morning with three and a half hours to go in the read-a-thon. I didn’t actually go to bed until about five, but I just couldn’t read anymore. It was making my eyes shut. But I was quite happy with myself yesterday!! I read 7 books!! And 1200 pages!! And I got a tarot card reading from Jason! And I won my first ever prize during the readathon! I’d say it was a huge success. As for today, I plan on sitting on my ass yet again and watching the Saints kick the Dolphins’ ass. And then maybe hanging out with a friend tonight because I’m off of work tomorrow!! I thought I’d go ahead and do the read-a-thon End of Event Questionairre, so here are my answers:

1. Which hour was most daunting for you?

I had 2 hours that were really bad..the first was around 5 pm…I got a killer headache and that was when the first wave of tiredness cam, the second hour was about 3 o’clock…I finally had to throw in the towel then :p

2. Could you list a few high-interest books that you think could keep a Reader engaged for next year?

Definitely, The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo and Between Mom and Jo by Julie Ann Peters were certainly my favorites and excellent readathon books!!

3. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?

For the most part, I think it ran super smoothly!!

4. What do you think worked really well in this yearโ€™s Read-a-thon?

The cheerleaders were so good!!! Seriously, I got so many wonderful comments that kept me going when I was wearing down :p They really perked me up. There was a lot of variety in the mini-challenges so there was a lot to choose from. It was just fun!

5. How many books did you read?

7!

6. What were the names of the books you read?

Between Mom and Jo by Julie Anne Peters, Sometimes My Heart Pushes My Ribs by Ellen Kennedy, Rose by Jeff Smith, The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling, The Magicianโ€™s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo, Fables Vol. 4 by Bill Willingham, Picture for Sad Children by John Campbell

7. Which book did you enjoy most?

The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo

8. Which did you enjoy least?

Probably Pictures for Sad Children and that’s ONLY because I was falling asleep while reading it :/ It was super cute though and I love the blog that it comes from!!

9. If you were a Cheerleader, do you have any advice for next yearโ€™s Cheerleaders?

Wasn’t a cheerleader.

10. How likely are you to participate in the Read-a-thon again? What role would you be likely to take next time?

Oh, I’ll always participate :p I love doing this too much. I’ll probably just be a reader again. I don’t know how you all do multiple roles!!

19 Responses

  1. You did such a great job, Chris! Reading seven books is quite the accomplishment. Enjoy your day of rest!

  2. You did great! I have The Magician’s Elephant in my read-a-thon pile. I’ll probably try to get to it along with Peter and Max by Willingham today. Have fun hanging out.

  3. You did so well! I am intrigued by all the books on your list ๐Ÿ™‚

  4. “watching the Saints kick the Dolphinsโ€™ ass”…could you not have at least added to that, “though I will feel terrible for the pain and suffering my beloved friend Debi will be going through”?!! Sheesh.

  5. (Can I just say that Jason is made of Awesome? You know, just in case he reads this and me being too chicken to go tell him in person?)

    Yaaaaaaaaaaaaay on reading 7 books! And on liking so many/all of them! (Although, I kind of hate to break it to you, but checking in on your friends’ posts even once is unofficial cheerleading when you comment. ^-~)

  6. congratulations baby boy!! you kicked your own ass!.. oh wait.. that doesn’t sound right.. ummm You did great! (ok that will have to do)

  7. I”m going to have to do away with the multiple roles thing, too. That really ate up my time and stessed me out! I think next time I’m going to go into this a bit more relaxed. ๐Ÿ™‚ Congrats on all your reads!

  8. Love the Tarot card reading! I taught myself how to read Tarot cards last year & I don’t have many opportunities to see other people’s readings. I like to think about how I would have read things differently or just the same way – so cool. ๐Ÿ™‚

    (Did you catch the LSU game? The new #2 (I forget his name! I call him Baby Byrd because I still miss Demetrius Byrd) had a gorgeous play, and Shepard played wide receiver and got a touchdown! Geaux Tigers! :P)

  9. I won my first prize, too! Guess I can’t whine about it anymore. ๐Ÿ™‚ You did really great last night and I had fun watching your updates. Can’t wait until April!

  10. Congratulations on a fantastic read-a-thon, Chris ๐Ÿ™‚ I’ll have your prize in the mail tomorrow!!!!

  11. Seven books is quite the accomplishment. I loved reading your updates even though I couldn’t comment on each one. You did fantastic!

  12. Wow!! You hung in there a long time!!! Enjoy your day ๐Ÿ™‚

  13. Well done I’m so glad you had a great readathon!

    I look forward to reading the Magician’s Elephant…I saw Kate DiCamillo at the National Book Festival and thought she was fabulous! Anyway yay for the readathon! ๐Ÿ™‚

  14. Yet ANOTHER book for my want list – Magician’s Elephant sounds wonderful. Glad you had a great readathon ๐Ÿ˜€

  15. Congrats on reading so many books! Between you and Amanda, I’ve got to get my hands on BETWEEN MOM AND JO.

  16. Awesome totals, Chris! You did amazing. I sacked out about the same time. There was just no keeping me awake past 3:30.

  17. You did fantastic!!! There were a few poems in Sometimes My Heart Pushes My Ribs that grossed me out, too, but some of them made me laugh so I forgave her. ๐Ÿ™‚

  18. Yay!! I hope to make it farther next year, you did great!!

  19. Reading 7 books is awesome! I agree about the cheerleaders — they were very encouraging.

Leave a Reply

