Dewey's Read-A-Thon Update #6

Currently Reading: The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo

Total pages read: 64

Total pages read cumulative: 623

Total books read: 4 (Between Mom and Jo by Julie Anne Peters, Sometimes My Heart Pushes My Ribs by Ellen Kennedy, Rose by Jeff Smith, The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling)

Time spent reading: 25 Minutes

Total Time Spent Reading: 5 Hours 35 Minutes

Caffeinated drinks consumed: 3 (Iced Mocha, 2 Cokes)

Money going to NaNoWriMo Young Writers Program: $62.30

Progress Report:

Ack!! I took a nap! Good news, I feel wide awake and refreshed and I don’t have a headache anymore!! That also has something to do with the drugs I took I’m sure :p All legal drugs, I assure you. I did sneak in 25 minutes of reading time with The Magician’s Elephant before I went to sleep though and let me tell you, this book is magical! I think it’s my favorite book of DiCamillo’s so far!

Upon awaking, I discovered that I’ve won a prize!! I won Wendy’s mini-challenge so I’m getting a first edition of The Double Bind by Chris Bohjalian and a bookmark ๐Ÿ˜€ I’ve never won a prize in the readathon before and I was beginning to just accept the fact that I never would, so this is very exciting ๐Ÿ˜€ I also discovered that I was #ticklehugged by Jason from Moored at Sea on Twitter and since I’m trying to avoid Twitter right now, I’m passing that on to everyone here!!! Mwuhahahaha, you’re all getting ticklehugged!!! Ok…so maybe I’m not entirely awake yet :/

My lightbulb also burnt out in my lamp, so I had to put a new one in and so I now have fresh, bright light shining on my pages! Oooh, the mid-event survey is up ๐Ÿ™‚ Here are my answers:

1. What are you reading right now?

I’m reading The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo and loving it!

2. How many books have you read so far?

Only 4 and they were rather short :/

3. What book are you most looking forward to for the second half of the Read-a-thon?

All of them! I still don’t know what I’ll be reading yet because I’m letting random.org pick my reads for me!

4. Did you have to make any special arrangements to free up your whole day?

Nope, I had off of work. I did take Monday off so that I would have a three day weekend though ๐Ÿ™‚

5. Have you had many interruptions? How did you deal with those?

If a migraine counts, I had that interruption. I dealt with that with prescription medication and a nap :/

6. What surprises you most about the Read-a-thon, so far?

Not much! It’s been another fantastic read-a-thon!! I’m really having a fantastic time so far ๐Ÿ™‚

7. Do you have any suggestions for how to improve the Read-a-thon next year?

…….

8. What would you do differently, as a Reader or a Cheerleader, if you were to do this again next year?

Try not to get a damn headache!!!

9. Are you getting tired yet?

I was VERY tired, but I took a nap, so that situation has been fixed ๐Ÿ™‚

10. Do you have any tips for other Readers or Cheerleaders, something you think is working well for you that others may not have discovered?

Take a nap if you need one!! It helps so much!

Alright…back to reading!

6 Responses

  1. I can’t wait to hear what you think of Kate’s new book. I want to buy it, and read it to my class, myself. Congratulations on your prize! And, what’s a ticklehug? Does it hurt? ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. Congrats on the prize! You should celebrate by dancing:

    It’s astounding, time is fleeting
    Reading takes its toll
    But listen closely, not for very much longer
    You’ve almost met the goal

    I remember doing the Read-a-thon
    During those moments when
    The blackness would hit me and sleep would be calling
    Let’s do the readathon again…
    Let’s do the readathon again!

    It’s just a book in your hand
    And then a flip of the page
    With your eyes on the words
    You let your mind engage
    But it’s the cheerleaders that really drive you insane,
    Let’s do the readathon again!

    Your book is dreamy, or hot and steamy
    It stars a banshee, or no one at all
    Itโ€™s in another dimension, thereโ€™s no comprehension
    Oh no, thereโ€™s none at all
    With a bit of a page flip
    You’re suddenly on a space ship
    And nothing can ever be the same
    You’re strung out on cookies, you sound like a Wookie
    Let’s do the readathon again!

    Well I was strolling through the bookstore just havinโ€™ a look
    When what should I espy but my next book
    It shook me up, it took me by surprise
    It had a sale tag and Care gave it 5 pies.
    It lured me in and I felt a change
    Time meant nothing, never would again
    Let’s do the readathon again!

  3. Everyone seems to love the Magician’s Elephant! I read an excerpt on the NPR website and it promptly went onto my wishlist. I hope to find it in the library soon!

  4. I might end up taking a nap ’round 1-ish. I’m already pretty tired and it’s only 9:30. Sheesh. It has to be the lack of sleep from all those readathon nightmares!

  5. Yay! You’re back! So happy that you won a prize for first time! I’ll be doing my Russian vlog in a couple of hours. ๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Glad to hear that you had a nap and that you are feeling awake and refreshed now. Congrats on your 1st ever prize! Enjoy your book!

Leave a Reply

