Dewey's Read-A-Thon Update #5

Currently Reading: The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo

Total pages read: 125

Total pages read cumulative: 559

Total books read: 4 (Between Mom and Jo by Julie Anne Peters, Sometimes My Heart Pushes My Ribs by Ellen Kennedy, Rose by Jeff Smith, The Tales of Beedle the Bard by J.K. Rowling)

Time spent reading: 55 Minutes

Total Time Spent Reading: 5 Hours 10 Minutes

Caffeinated drinks consumed: 2 (Iced Mocha, Coke)

Money going to NaNoWriMo Young Writers Program: $55.90

Progress Report:

I’m starting to feel a nap coming on…partially because I’m starting to feel a headache coming on and I’m debating on whether or not I should just take meds now or see if a nap will take care of it. I went outside for a second though and read all of your great comments and it woke me up a bit, so I think I’m going to at least START The Magician’s Elephant, but if you don’t hear from me for a couple of hours, it’s because I zonked out…I’ll be back though, I promise!!! This is no where NEAR the end for me πŸ˜€

I LOVED Tales of Beedle the Bard. If I had any complaints, it’s that I wish it were longer and that there were more tales. J.K. Rowling writes a mean folk tale! And I loved Dumbledore’s commentary πŸ˜€

And HOORAY for Nymeth’s mini-challenge which is to read a webcomic πŸ˜€ I headed over to my trusty favorite, Goodbye, Foom. Does anyone else follow his blog? He recently self published his own book and I plan on reading it sometime today!! It’s called Pictures for Sad Children. Really, I don’t recommened that sad children read it. He hasn’t published a new comic lately, but I went back and read some of my favorites…lately, it’s been book news. Here’s a picture of his book though:

cover

18 Responses

  1. The title alone tells me I’ll enjoy it. Thanks for participating, Chris!

    Fingers crossed that you DON’T get a headache!! *send good thoughts*

  2. I like books
    I like blogs
    I hope you’re not reading
    In a fog

    4 books? Woo-hoo!!!!!

  3. 4 down! Great job!

  4. 4 books – so cool! Here’s hoping, with all my might, that you DON’T get a headache also. I’m interested in hearing what you think, whether you like it or not, about The Magician’s Elephant. Also, Pictures for sad children looks very interesting and fun to read! I’ll look it up.
    Keep on reading!

  5. Rah rah sis boom bah, yay books! You’re doing great. Keep reading and smiling. πŸ™‚ Hope the nap knocks out the headache so you’re back in fine form soon.

  6. Excellent progress! I have The Magician’s Elephant waiting for me on my stack. Many more happy hours of reading.

  7. Four books? Well done! Well-deserved nap, I say πŸ˜€

  8. I read the first couple chapters of Bayou for my webcomic challenge!

  9. Almost 600 pages.. amazing! I’ve read only a fourth of that, lol. Go Chris!

  10. Woke up with a headache this morning, so I … um, feel your pain. Great choice for a charity – I’m donating to NaNoWriMo’s Young Writer’s Program too! (If you’re participating in NaNoWriMo, look me up … would love to have you as a buddy. I’m MelissaF on the site.)

    Keep up the great work!

  11. Isn’t Dumbledore’s commentary great?? I just wish the book was longer…read it during the last ‘thon.

    Hope that headache of yours goes away!!

  12. I really enjoyed Tales as well. I even had the same complaint! maybe she’ll do some more in a few years.

    you could always take a break by watching LSU beat Auburn! πŸ™‚

  13. I can’t believe this is my first time coming over to cheer you on. Bad bad Vasilly. I have The Magician’s Elephant in my read-a-thon pile also. I picked up Where the Wild Thing Are by Eggers because of you. Why not take a pill and a nap? Happy reading!

  14. Looks like you’re doing great so far! Good luck in the rest of the read-a-thon!

  15. Hope you enjoy the rest of the readathon…also hope you are feeling better! You’ve already made good progress!

  16. Oh no, sweetie! NO HEADACHES ALLOWED TODAY!!! (Or any other day for that matter!!!) Hope the nap takes care of it. And don’t feel bad…Rich has taken like three naps already today. Yes, for real.

    I can’t believe how many books you’re cranking out! And how well you’re doing with keeping updated. I’m sucking at that for some reason this time.

  17. No headaches (I had to shoot 6 Advil earlier, because my dad used his espresso machine & the whole house smelled like coffee, which triggers the worst headaches for me)! You’re doing great!

    And I’m #44 on my library’s list for The Magic Elephant. One day…lol

  18. Chris,

    I’m glad you loved Tales of Beedle the Bard. I’ve been in a funk since I finished the Harry Potter series last weekend. I think I’ll add that to my pile for later. I’ve never read it.
    Take that nap! I’ve already had several short ones; I’ll have a few big ones later no doubt.

Leave a Reply

