Dewey's Read-A-Thon Update #1

Currently Reading: Between Mom and Jo by Julie Anne Peters

Total pages read: 71

Total pages read cumulative: 71

Total books read:0

Time spent reading:50 Minutes

Total Time Spent Reading:50 Minutes

Caffeinated drinks consumed: 1 (Iced Mocha)

Money going to NaNoWriMo Young Writers Program: $7.10

Progress Report:

What a great book to start with!! This is the first book that I’ve read based on Amanda’s recommendation and it is such a wonderful book so far and I just know it’s going to get better. It’s about a young boy named Nicholas and his struggles, his memories, and his joys of growing up with two moms. Really a fantastic book!!

I think I’m going to have to move out of the bed because it’s certainly not helping me wake up!! The weather is so beautiful today!! It’s supposed to be in the 50’s and 60’s and sunny all day, so I may head outside for a little while. Ok…time to get back to my book 😀 I may dig into some puppy chow too! It’s so good. Have you ever had it before? It’s super easy to make. It’s basically chex with chocolate and peanut butter dusted with powdered sugar….here’s the recipe:

9 cups Corn Chex®, Rice Chex®, Wheat Chex® or Chocolate Chex® cereal (or combination)
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips
1/2 cup peanut butter
1/4 cup butter or margarine
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cups powdered sugar

Preparation Directions

1. Into large bowl, measure cereal; set aside.
2. In 1-quart microwavable bowl, microwave chocolate chips, peanut butter and butter uncovered on High 1 minute; stir. Microwave about 30 seconds longer or until mixture can be stirred smooth. Stir in vanilla. Pour mixture over cereal, stirring until evenly coated. Pour into 2-gallon resealable food-storage plastic bag.
3. Add powdered sugar. Seal bag; shake until well coated. Spread on waxed paper to cool. Store in airtight container in refrigerator.
13 Responses

  1. wow you read fast chris!! Way to go baby boy!!

    oohhhh how i wish it was in the 60’s here!!!

  2. Traditional read-a-thon blessing:

    May the bookshelf be there to greet you.
    May all the books appeal.
    May the fridge be full of tasty snacks;
    the words fall soft upon your eyes and until the read-a-thon ends,
    may you always hold a book in the palm of your hand.

    Good luck today!

  3. Yay for Between Mom & Jo! I really liked that book!

  4. I’m already eating my Chex Mix lol! But I’m also chugging water to balance out the caffeine/junk food intake. 😉 I’m not sure if it’s cold outside-I know it’s windy-but it’s GORGEOUS so I plan to read out there a bit later, when the sun’s had time to warm it up!

  5. I love puppy chow! We’ve started using dark chocolate when we make it. Yum!

  6. Go, Chris! Go, Chris!

    *waves pompoms for her break*

  7. Have fun reading and taking breaks! GO! GO! GO!

  8. That muffin loos sooo good! Thanks for the advice..This is my first Read-A-Thon and I am having a lot fun cheering other readers. As a matter of fact I have to concentrate on reading a bit more…I am hooked on being a cheerleader and reading all these wonderful blogs. I send you good vibe reading wishes from sunny South Florida!

  9. Give me a R
    Give me an E
    Give me an A
    Give me a D

    Woot Woot READ!!

    Way to go Chris!

  10. I’m glad it’s going well Chris!!

  11. I should have made some puppy chow too!! I don’t want to hear how beautiful it is there CHRIS!!! LOL 🙂 joking…it’s rainy,windy, and dreary here so I’m just jealous. Rock on the reading!!! and save us some chow!

  12. Oh, I loooove puppy chow, and I haven’t had it forever. I wish I had some now!

  13. Chocolate Chex? They have chocolate Chex?? Gotta check that out!

    Good luck today, Chris. I know you’ll do great!

    cjh

Leave a Reply

