Here Comes Dewey's Read A Thon!!

Is everyone ready to start reading for 24 glorious hours? I know I am!! I have all of my books picked out, all of my snacks picked out and all of my reading places picked out. How about you? I’ve even picked out my charity. It really wasn’t hard for me. It’s sort of become a tradition for me to donate to NaNoWriMo’s Young Writer’s Program in the Fall Read-a-Thon, so that’s what I’ll be doing again this year. I ususally donate to them in the fall and a humanitarian charity in the spring. And I’ll be donating 10 cents for every page read!! My goal is to get to 1,000 pages read, or $100. Anything over would be great!

This is going to be a very bittersweet read-a-thon because it’s so close to the anniversary of Dewey’s death. I know I’ll be thinking of her quite a bit. This event truly has become Dewey’s 24 hour read-a-thon and I’m glad that it was continued in her tradition. I feel that even for those who didn’t know her, it celebrates her kind, community building nature and shows what she was all about. For those that did know her, it keeps her in our memories and reminds us what she was all about. Not that we really need reminders! She was a wonderful person though and I hope this event continues to go on in her memory and that people who never knew her learn who Dewey was, who that wonderful spirit was.

Enough of that though before I get all sappy. Just know that I miss her so much and these readathons are so special now as a reminder of who she was. Let’s talk about what the day will probably be like in the Chris household. Hopefully I WON’T wake up two hours late like the last read-a-thon :p I probably won’t be on twitter. Twitter is a total time suck for me, so I tend to avoid it during readathons. I’ll probably start posting every hour towards the beginning and then switch to every 2 to 3 hours as the day progresses. I’ll be eating chocolate pudding (thanks Jason), Chex mix (thanks Eva), cheez-its, and apples as my snacks 🙂 And lots of coffee, tea and cokes!! And I have a stack of approximately 16 books to read :/ Like I’ll ever get through all of those. To be fair though, 5 of them are graphic novels and two are very short collections of poetry. So I suppose it IS possible, though definitely not probable!  Oh! And I took off of work on Monday so I still get a two day weekend 😀

Now everyone go watch this video because it’s hilarious:

20 Responses

  1. I agree-it’s going to be very bittersweet. But, hopefully more sweet than bitter. 🙂 (Random note: as I’m typing this, your “Books From My Library” widget is right next to the comments box, & the cover of your copy of Complete Fairy Tales of Oscar Wilde is GORGEOUS!)

    Good for you taking off work-very smart thinking! And I’m so impressed by how you’re going to donate to charity. Oh, and we’ll be Chex Mix buddies together. 😀 I’m not making mine until right before I go to sleep Friday night, though, because I have no self control around the stuff! hehe

    I won’t be on Twitter during the read-a-thon either. I don’t have time to do everything I want as it is, and if I get sucked into Twitter, I won’t read any books! lol

  2. (((((HUGS))))) Bittersweet, indeed.

    But I loved this post so much, Chris. I love it that we can still talk about Dewey and share our loss and share our love for her. I love it that we can all get so excited and share in this wonderful celebration of reading that Dewey started. And well, I love you.

  3. I’ve been thinking a lot about Dewey too. You’re right, the read-a-thon really has turned into HER event. I think I have as many books as you do for the read-a-thon. The book-picking part is just so exciting. I haven’t finished my homework yet or started cleaning the house, so Friday I’ll probably be running around like a chicken with my head cut off!

    I love the video especially the virginity part! I just knew they were goingto make up at the end. 😉

  4. I know just what you mean about the read-a-thon being bittersweet *hugs* BUT we’re going to have a great time. She’d kick us if we didn’t, after all 😛

    I have to confess that the cat video upset me 😦 One of the reasons is that I’ve woken up at 4am with two of my cats making those noises at each other WAY too many times, lol

  5. Good luck to you and everyone doing the readathon. It’s a lovely way to honor Dewey.

    As for the video… you freaked both my dog and my cat out with that thing! Man, that cat was not a happy kitty!

    cjh

  6. I’ve decided I’m going to be try to cheer as much as possible into the wee hours of the night. I have to work, and usually Saturdays are extremely slow. But too much going on during the day to actually read. I’m sad. I do think I’ll try to join Bethany though on her read-a-thon in December. At least it’s something!

  7. I agree – I can’t participate in the Read-A-Thon without thinking of Dewey…it is hard sometimes to realize she really is gone.

    Thank you for the video at the end of the post – it made me laugh out loud!

  8. First, I must tell you I am sooooo glad my cat was outside when I played that video. It would have freaked her out.

    Second, have fun readathoning! I’m hoping I can join in, next year. This year, I have to pick up a husband from the airport (he’s in Germany) and then I’m not sure whether I’m going along but the guys are going for a college visit day at Mississippi State. Huzzybuns will be begging me to clean the clothing in his suitcase, no doubt. I’ll probably just take the weekend off from blog-hopping and do a mass delete on Monday. The posts are always overwhelming.

    In answer to your question — yes, I am definitely going to do NaNo, this year. I’ve tried planning and when I do I end up starting over, so I won’t know what I’m going to write till I sit down. I hate that, but it’s what works for me. 🙂

  9. Good idea taking off work on Monday. Jason actually took the entire week off next week so we can recover AND get ready for Halloween. Plus he can get caught up on some of his homework then.

    I didn’t know Dewey, sadly. I heard of her for the first time just weeks before her death, but even in that short time, I’d already realized what an impact she’d made on the book blogging community. I wish I’d had a chance to get to know her.

  10. Ooh, getting closer and closer. As I’ve mentioned before, I won’t be taking part in this one but I’m really looking forward to everyone’s updates. 😀 Great choice of snacks. 😉

  11. I can’t wait!!!!! I have my pile all picked out (if I’d stop reading out of it already), and there are plenty of snacks in the house. My stepdaughter will even be reading along. She’s really excited. Can’t wait to check in with you on Read-a-Thon day, Chris!

  12. Eva, I certainly hope it is more sweet than bitter. I remember during the last readathon, there were so many times where I got so sad 😦 But I think I’ll do better this time!! I really do. I’m glad you like the Oscar Wilde cover 😀 I love that one!! Have you read his complete fairy tales? They’re GORGEOUS!! I’m in love with them and they would actually make the perfect readathon read! 😉 I’m super excited about the chex mix, lol. It’ll be my first time making it. I’m trying to start going all natural soon, so it’ll be nice to make it from scratch instead of buying the prepackaged stuff. I need to stop eating processed foods and foods with preservatives. They’re really bad for my migraines.

    Debi, It will be bittersweet, but like Eva said, I think it’ll be more sweet 🙂 Especially with friends like you around! I’m glad you enjoyed the post 🙂 And I’m honestly so excited about this weekend. I think it’s just going to be fantastic!! I just hope that I don’t oversleep this time :/ That sucked last time!! I want to get up in time to take a shower and make some coffee and write a post before I start reading. So I’m thinking I’ll get up around 6…It starts at 7 here. I just probably won’t make it the whole 24 hours :p I usually poop out around 4 and that’s WITH taking a nap somewhere around 2 or 3 :p

    Vasilly, It has turned into her event and I just love that 🙂 It’s so great to keep her memory alive and I love the fact that we’re continuing to do that!! She gave so much to this community and I love seeing that spirit continued. I love the book picking part too :p I just don’t seem to know when to stop!! I’m up to 16 books now and I swear, if Saturday doesn’t come soon I don’t think I’m ever going to be able to stop! I’ll be really busy Friday too..I have work all day, my first client after work, and then I have to go to the grocery and get everything ready for Saturday!! I know how you feel :/ And the virginity part was my favorite too :p

    Nymeth, We really will have a great time 😀 I’m ridiculously excited about this readathon!! I’m so excited about all of the books I have picked out for it..I want to start them all now! And I’m sorry to hear that your cats wake you at 4 in the morning with those sounds :/ I didn’t even know that cats made sounds like that!! That was the funniest thing about the video to me, lol!! I have never heard a cat make sounds like that!!

    CJ, I wish you were doing the readathon with us 😦 I’ll be missing you!! And sorry to have disturbed your animals, lol…I’m sure they were wondering what the hell was going on there!

    Steph, Yay!! I’m thrilled that I’ll have you as a cheerleader during the wee hours of the morning 😀 Those are the hours that I need a cheerer more than any!! That’s the time that I just want to go to bed…and sleep…I wish you could read with us this time 😦 Sorry you can’t Steph!! Bring a book to work with you!

    Wendy, I know what you mean 😦 Sometimes I still honestly forget that she’s gone and I’ll want to hop on over to her blog and tell her about something or a book or shoot her an email. It really is sad. Especially during the readathon. But I’m glad we’re doing this in honor of her!! I’m sure she’d be thrilled we continued it!! I’m glad you liked the video :p

    Nancy, I didn’t think about all of the cat people before I posted the video :p I’m sure it freaked out cats all over the world, lol. I can’t wait until we have a readathon where the bookfool can participate!!! Oh, that day will be fantastic 😀 I seriously don’t blame you for just marking all as read and taking the weekend off of blogging. It’s going to be google reader CRAZINESS this weekend!!! And I am SO SO SO thrilled that you’re definitely doing NaNo this year 😀 I need all the support I can get and the more crazy people the better. And yes, I think anyone who attempts to write a novel in a month is crazy…including myself :p But I’ve done it and so have you! I’ll probably end up just doing the same thing as you because I STILL haven’t started outlining..I’ll probably just go with the flow!

    Amanda, Oooh, taking the week off! That just sounds so good right now that I can’t even begin to tell you! I’m sure you’re looking forward to that 🙂 It’ll be nice for you all to have some time together! I wish you would’ve had a chance to know Dewey better too! You two would’ve gotten along SO well!! Seriously. She was great. But that’s the great things about events like these…people can continue to get to know her 🙂

    Ceri, It sure is!! I wish you could participate!! You need to start making plans now for the April one 😉

    Andi, My pile is all ready too! I’ve been so tempted to start reading out of my pile myself, but I’ve avoided doing so so far…only barely though :p Snacks are definitely a must have during the readathon!! And plenty of them! That’s awesome that the stepdaughter is reading along!! Y’all are going to have so much fun 🙂 I’ll be checking in with you too Andi 🙂

  13. Bittersweet, yes, but you’re right. Dewey would kick our asses if we didn’t have fun. My pile keeps growing! I have Coke in the fridge, but no food yet – still have to send the husband out to the supermarket.

    I STILL need to finish The Ask and the Answer before Saturday.

    Oooh, you have The Children of Hurin in your sidebar! I read that when I was pregnant – I’d just finished work, and was waiting for Patrick to come. I’ll always associate that book with that time. Just the waiting and the resting.

    Bring on Saturday! 😀

  14. I am really looking forward to the readathon! I hope to get lots read and also i need to stay off Twitter, too! And yes, I’ll definitely be thinking of Dewey and I’m so thankful she gave us the readathon.

  15. Yay for natural food! 🙂 It’s a pain in the arse sometimes, but I’ve gotten in the habit and making extra & freezing in, so that when I’m lazy/sick/starving I have a ‘TV dinner.’ And I find cooking so magical! Tonight, I made roasted squash risotto and my new fave salad which is romaine hearts w/ sliced up mandarin oranges (out of a jar, lol), dried cranberries, and toasted walnuts. And my parents had roasted chicken as well. 😉 Perfect fall dinner!

    I’ve read several of Wilde’s fairy tales and loved them, but I haven’t read them all yet!

  16. LOL LOL.. i played the video and the entire time BooBoo kept looking all around the room and looking out the door wondering where the hell it was coming from! LOL LOL

  17. I love how you just totally change the topic with that cat-video.

    *hugs* As you know, I never got to meet Dewey, but it didn’t take me long to see what an impact she had on everyone. Not just the Read-a-Thon in April, but in every way. I felt – still feel – that that ‘thon was too personal for me to join in with officially, but throughout that day I also felt that I got to know Dewey a little and made me wish I’d had that chance. But as I just told Debi, I do believe her spirit lives on. Not ‘just’ in the Read-a-Thon or in the reading challenge, or even in the Bad Blogger points awarded, but also in all of you and, by extension, all of us. The impression I got, back in April was that Dewey was like a stone dropped in a pond, that first ripple of motion that creates the others. I’d like to think that this pond that is the blogosphere is still rippling because of us and will continue to do so for a long, long time to come.

    *ducks under her trusty blanket* I’ll… shut up now… *hides*

  18. I think I almost died laughing from the cats video LOL. Thanks for sharing, just what I need! But I’m sorry it steals the show. It was supposed to be about Dewey 😉

  19. I didn’t know Dewey well, but I’ll definitely be thinking of her tomorrow. She touched so many lives. Even though we didn’t really know each other, she was very sweet to me during last year’s October read-a-thon (which was my first). Seems like that was par for the course with her.

  20. That video is absolutely hilarious–even though I think it has my poor cat freaked out a bit. She’s sitting here with her ears back against her head. 🙂

    Your snacks sound so delicious. Instead of vlogging about my books tomorrow I’ll be vlogging about my snacks. Not sure why I’m telling everyone that now. 😛

    And Dewey. Wasn’t she an inspiration? I didn’t know her as well as you guys did, but I’m so glad that we are continually remembering her.

Leave a Reply

