All Of The Other Stuff I Was Going To Talk About Yesterday

This may be a long and rambly post and despite all of the amazing advice I got from everyone yesterday, I will probably NOT edit this post still :/ This is the reason why…my internal editor says this to me: “Just delete the whole post Chris!!! That’s horrible!! No one in their right mind wants to read that garbage!!! What on earth were you thinking writing that!!” So that’s why I just hit publish :p Spelling errors, grammatical errors, foot in mouth and all :/

So, first topic. If you haven’t bought it yet, you have GOT to buy the New Moon soundtrack!! It’s freaking incredible!!! I bought it last night and I can’t stop listening to it. The Bon Iver/St. Vincent song is like my new favorite song and the Thom Yorke song is incredible!! But but but..there’s also Death Cab for Cutie and Muse and Grizzly Bear and BRMC and Lykke Li and Editors and Band of Skulls…it’s just SO GOOD!!! I just went and downloaded Bon Iver’s album too because I’m so in love with that song and I can assure you that it is equally as good. So that’s your music news for this week. Ok, well one more piece of music news since it’s book related. The Wild Things soundtrack is amazing too! It’s done by Karen O and the Kids. Karen O is the lead singer of the Yeah Yeah Yeahs and she sings with an untrained children’s choir and it’s really just pure melancholy joy.

I was bad and there’s visual evidence of it:

twtI just had to have it!!! I couldn’t wait any longer. So I broke my book buying ban 😦 But I’m back on track now. I bout The Wild Things by Dave Eggers and it’s such a beautiful beautiful book. No, I haven’t read it yet, but the book itself is designed beautifully. I blame Debi…she told me to buy myself something special, lol. The sad thing is, there was no need to buy this book. I’m in the middle of three books, I really want to start The Ask and The Answer, AND I have a pile of a bajillion books to read next weekend for the readathon. So when the hell am I going to read this??

As for NaNoWriMo, I had a case of the “holy shit NaNo starts in two weeks”‘s today. And I have nothing but the inkling of an idea in my head. Which is how I actually normally like to go into a story. I just know it will involve a 16 year old boy with schizophrenia (that’s changed from an adult female)…I figured I could relate to a 16 year old boy better than an older woman. It will also be set in New Orleans…will involve a graveyard and a graverobber. But I don’t know if it will focus more on the graverobbery story or more on the story of the boy’s schizophrenia…or both equally. Have to figure that out. However!! I think I may do something different this year! I may steal an idea from the wonderfully talented Amanda (and yes, I know she’s wonderfully talented because I’m reading her amazing novel right now πŸ˜‰ I may actually at least do a diagram of chapters ahead of time. So that I have an idea of where the story is going. That may alleviate some of the stress. And I may set goals for myself too…to have x amount of the storyline done each day…say chapter 1 and so much of chapter 2 done on day 1….or half of chapter 1 done on day 1…however it works out. I really think that will help!

As for a new review style…I’m thinking of trying something new. I’m not going to change things up much. Not much at all actually, but there’s one thing that I don’t like about my reviews and I don’t think it’s helpful…and that’s ratings. I think I’m going to drop them. If I could actually give an honest rating that wasn’t OMG this book was amazing read it now 5/5 or, it sucked 2/5, I would stick with ratings. But I can’t do that. So I think what I’m going to do instead is add a “so do you think I’d like it?” section at the end of my review. And try to be honest there and not just say, “of course dammit, read it!!” I’ll try to mention who might not like it for what reasons and if I really do think everyone should read it, I’ll say why. Yeah, I think that will work better than ratings. I just can’t put a number on my beloved books 😦 I want to give them all 5s.

And finally, I thought I’d start off this new round of Bad Bloggers and give out some blame. So here are the books that entered my house in this last week:

123456

1. The Water Babies by Charles Kingsley – I have been wanting to read this book for sooooooooo long!! Seriously, like since I was a kid. And I’ve held out for so long because I could never find the right edition. It’s always abridged. I really wanted the edition with the Arthur Rackham illustrations 😦 But I can never find it. But I found this one on Bookmooch!! It’s a Children’s Library edition with gorgeous illustrations and it’s unabridged!! Can’t wait to finally read this classic. (Bookmooch)

2. Dangerous Angels by Francesca Lia Block – And the first point of Bad Bloggers, round the third, goes to….yep you guessed it…Nymeth :p But how could I not get this book after reading her review of it? It sounds so fantastic. And then Debi went and reviewed it today and added to my excitement. (Paperback Swap)

3. You Shall Know Our Velocity by Dave Eggers – Just because I want everything by Dave Eggers even though I’ve never read anything by him. Kelly you would’ve gotten a point for this one if you would’ve told me about it before I ordered it!!! (Paperback Swap)

4. Requiem by Graham Joyce – Aha!! Nymeth is not alone in her horrible influences for this first week of bad bloggers!! The horrible (or lovely, actually) Maree has MADE me request this book and bring it into my house from Paperback Swap. And I’m horribly excited to read it! (Paperback Swap)

5. Listen by Nancy Coffelt – I feel horrible, because I don’t even remember what this book is about, but the author contacted me and asked if I’d be interested in reviewing her book and it sounded really awesome! And she was incredibly sweet!! I’ve been turning down review books, but the plot sounded so good that I had to have this one :p And I love that cover!! Animals!! (review copy)

6. The Wild Things by Dave Eggers – See above (#chrisbookbanfail)

20 Responses

  1. First – aw, you’re so sweet. There were so many problems with that mss that I’m ashamed to have mailed it out so quickly. I’ve already rewritten whole sections of the beginning, grr. And at one point I accidentally refer to one character with a different name. Agh! #amandawritingfail

    On the other hand, I’m now very tempted to break my buy ban and buy In a Perfect World by Laura Kasischke. I want it so much! And Metropolis. And several of the books from your vlog – did you see the way my TBR pile grew this week? INSANE! Ugh.

    Lastly, have fun with your outlining. Originally this plot of mine was supposed to take place in one unspecified city and NYC for the other, but now I’m setting it in Houston and San Antonio because I know them better and I figured for NaNo, that’d be easier to write.

    ps – you look really, really young in that picture. Like 17ish kind of young.

  2. Yes, I twisted your arm. All the way from New Zealand. πŸ˜›
    Requiem is The Goods. As is Graham Joyce. I sit on your bad bloggers list proudly. Proudly I say! Dammit though, you’re making me want to add it to my readathon pile … you ARE secretly evil …

  3. Bon Iver is awesome, and so is St Vincent…I have kind of a big crush on her, lol πŸ˜› I saw her opening for The National a couple of years ago and kind of fell in love.

    Anyway, Go Team No Ratings πŸ˜€ As you know, I fully support your decision πŸ˜‰ Also, Don’t feel bad about Where the Wild Things Are. You NEEDED it. And good luck with NaNo! It’ll be fine, you’ll see.

  4. You know, I have ratings. But I don’t usually mention them in my review (unless during a Sunday Salon I’ve read a whole bunch of crappy books-rather than say crappy, I’ll say ‘one or two star’-I think it’s a touch nicer, lol). Instead, they’re just on my Books Read page (where I also have links to my reviews) so that people can get a general idea of how I felt about a book. And I say “My rating system is out of five stars, but it’s not a comparison system, so all of the five stars aren’t of the same value, all of the four stars aren’t the same, etc. It’s more about my experience as I was reading the book-were there flaws? Did I absolutely love it and wish it wouldn’t end? Did I fear that it never would end?” before I explain roughly what the stars signify. And I don’t feel guilty about that at all. πŸ˜‰

    In my reviews, especially the Sunday Salon-ers where I have much less space to write about a book/quote from it/etc. so people can decide if it’s for them, I say who I think would enjoy it. πŸ™‚

    And I’m with Nymeth-don’t feel bad about Where the Wild Things Are!!! Take joy from your purchase-otherwise why do it?! lol

  5. First of all, I’m so glad you listened to me! (No one ever does that around here. πŸ˜‰ ) If ever you deserved a little treat, it was now. Except, really, you deserved a BIG treat! I’m so very proud of you…but well, you already know all this, don’t you?

    I’m so excited for NaNo to start! I know, I know, I’m not even doing it. But I get to share all of Annie’s enthusiasm and fun, and yet have to do none of the work and endure none of the stress. Aren’t I awful? Of course, I also don’t have a novel to show for myself either. Good luck, Chris!!! (Did you see that Annie “buddied” you?)

    Okay, I feel almost guilty saying this, but you really do need to read Dangerous Angels…you’re going to love it to pieces! And guess what I’m reading right now…yep, TAATA…why did I wait so long?!! Why are you?!!

  6. Love to hear you ramble Chris. πŸ™‚

    And I think I’ll like your new rating system much better – numbers are ok, but reasons make more sense to me.

    Hope you had a great weekend!

  7. You know, even ignoring The Wild Things, that’s a lot of books for someone trying to reduce his intake… :p

    And hush on the NaNo front, I’m trying to ignore it and have a year off!

  8. Oh, I see . . . your internal editor is evil and stupid. No wonder you have to shut him up. LOL

    I have no freaking idea what I’m going to do for NaNo. I thought about attempting to write a book that came to me as a dream, complete with title, but I’ve always kind of been afraid of it because the topic is waaaay too serious. I don’t do serious very well. I guess I’ll just wing it. Again.

  9. Surely buying one book is acceptable enough… Especially if you want it badly… (What do you mean ‘enabler’?)

    Good luck with outlining this time! (I’ve had something like 11 years of learning how to outline stuff and I still can’t do it. That’s to say ‘I can outline’. I know how to do it and everything. But it takes about two paragraphs before I can throw that outline away.) My own NaNo subject is still missing its rather crucial ‘why’, but maybe my characters will actually tell me so this draft around… (Maddening creatures.)

    You’ll all have me reading Block at some point, you know… *so grateful to Debi mentioning a non-Weetzie book as that/those scare her*

  10. When you said you had been bad I thought it might have something to do with the Burger King Cup!!! moving on….now you’ve made me want to listen to the New Moon soundtrack really bad. My son and I went to see Where the Wild Things Are. I did like the music, but I’m not hip like you so I have no idea who is doing the singing!! I love your reviews any way you want to write them. And your story sounds very promising!! πŸ™‚

  11. I didn’t know Bon Iver had a song on the Twilight soundtrack. I am so in love with his song In the Woods.

  12. The Water Babies! OMG! Does that ever bring back memories!!!! I should totally reread that… I wonder if I still own it…

    And, yeah, that seems to be how me and bad bloggers works… Oh, well!

  13. Amanda, I haven’t noticed any problems!! I think it’s wonderful so far!! Sorry I’m being so slow reading it 😦 I’m trying to finish four books before the readathon and failing miserably :p I’m glad to hear that you broke your buying ban AND figured out something that works better for you!! That makes much more sense. I usually find that these bans don’t last long for me, but I usually learn something from them. So far, I’ve learned that I actually can enjoy reading from my own shelves! I’ve found that I have to write in a place I know. I would love to set a book somewhere else, but unless it’s a fantasy world that I create it would be a complete fail :p I haven’t started outlining yet, but I’m excited to!! And if you think I look young in that pic wait until you meet me…no one believes I’m 28 😦 I get carded still all the time 😦

    Maree, You did!!! You twisted it so hard, lol. I’m glad to hear that you’re proudly sitting on my list πŸ™‚

    Nymeth, I’m obsessed with the Bon Iver CD!! It’s amazing!! I tried listening to some St. Vincent stuff last night too, but I couldn’t get into her last night. I think it was because I was in the mood for mellow music and she isn’t that mellow. So I’ll go back and try her again when I’m in a more upbeat mood!! If you have a mad crush on her then she must be good :p I’ve been on a The National kick lately…I’ve been listening to them a lot. They’re great too! And thanks πŸ™‚ I really did need The Wild Things πŸ™‚ It’s SO GOOD Ana!! You should get it :p

    Eva, I think that’s what I’m going to do too…I’ll keep my ratings still in my books read tab up at the top, but just stop putting them in my posts. I like the way that you do your reviews. That’s actually kind of what I was thinking of when I was thinking of this new way of doing these reviews. A conversational type of tone just talking about who would or wouldn’t like the book and for what reasons. My ratings tend to be on my experience with the book too rather than a real concrete rating. And I’m totally taking joy in The Wild Things, don’t worry πŸ˜‰

    Debi, I’ll always listen to you Debi πŸ˜€ Especially when you’re telling me to buy myself something!! LOL…And just for the record, I did buy myself something big too :/ Remember when Ana bought herself a bean bag chair? Well I wanted one too so I just ordered one from Amazon :O And it’ll be here in time for the readathon \o/ I did not see that Annie buddied me, but I’m going to head off now and add her as a friend πŸ˜€ I haven’t been on my page in a few days, so I have to do that!! I’m so glad she signed up as an adult!! I don’t know why I’m waiting so long to read TAATA 😦 Well actually I do…because I’m trying to finish 4 BOOKS ALREADY!!! I’m going out of my mind o_O

    Heather, I’m glad someone appreciates my rambles :p I totally agree!! I think that reasons make much more sense than numbers…that’s why I’m switching. And I did have a good weekend, thanks πŸ™‚ Hope you did too!

    Bart, Yes, yes, yes…I know this my friend, I know πŸ˜‰ But how am I to pass up all of these wonderful books when they become available for FREE on Bookmooch and Paperback swap :p Could you do it? LOL I didn’t know you were even considering NaNo this year!! Come on Darren!!! You totally need to sign up!!! I need all of the support I can get!!!

    Nancy, Yes, he is..he really is. He doesn’t leave me alone, so I just ignore him :p I really don’t know what I’m going to do for NaNo either..I have an inkling of an idea and that’s all. I’m trying to outline but I don’t even know where I want to go with it!! I’m so used to just letting my characters take me where they want to go with the story, you know? I say go with your dream story!!! You know you and your dreams!! They’re signs! They’re meant to be! This could be a great one Nancy πŸ™‚ So you’re definitely in this year????

    Shanra, Ah, but I love my enablers πŸ˜€ And you’re right! One book is definitely acceptable! I’m going to try to outline, but I’m like you…my characters don’t like to tell me ahead of time where they want to go…they like to wait until the last minute and say “oooh, take us here!!” I can’t wait to do NaNo with you this year πŸ˜€ I have never read Block either so we can discover her together!! I’m really excited about that book actually!

    Staci, LOL!!1 You think? Notice it’s a LARGE BK cup too :p Actually, I did ONLY get a drink from Burger King so it’s not too bad :p The New Moon soundtrack is awesome!! And so is The Wild Things Sdtrk. You’d really enjoy it! And thanks πŸ˜€

  14. Chrissy, I’m in love with all of his music right now!! I downloaded the whole cd last night and it’s awesome. The song on the twilight cd is really good though!

    Kelly, I’m actually like ridiculously excited about The Water Babies!! I didn’t realize it was so long!! When I kept seeing “abridged” I was like “how long can it possibly be?” This long! Looks and sounds really good though!! And apparently it’s been banned for some reason or another. I’m sorry you didn’t get a point >_<

  15. I just had to stop by and see about this Chris guy that Debi likes so much! I have not joined the “book blogging” world because, although I LOVE to read, I always feel like my reading material (often too much chick lit) is a little too fluffy to warrant good web space for a review! And I am a little lazy…

    Anyway, I will likely be lurking as I cannot wait to see what you have to say about Niffenegger’s new book.

    And can I just say that I was beside myself to see that you read Catching Fire in June!?!?! I have made everyone I know read Hunger Games – and even with a friend that works for Scholastic and me trying all kinds of bribes on her, I had to wait until September!

  16. Oooh! The new moon soundtrack DOES sound incredible, though I have to admit Bon Iver is too whiny for me (I do like Skinny Love…but the rest…no).

  17. You are like the 3rd person that’s said the New Moon Soundtrack is great. I love Muse and Death Cab, so I’m pretty sure I’ll like it. Hmmmm….I need some new tunes. I was watching a TV show the other night and heard the GREATEST song. I found it on YouTube, and just had to download the song. No Heaven by DJ Champion. I LOVE it!

    Don’t sweat the book buying ban. Gotta treat yourself every once in a while!!

  18. If you find that outlining doesn’t work for you, you might want to consider just working with a word-cloud. Jot down key words or phrases for the book and see what you associate with them. It worked wonders when I was writing my BA thesis story. It’s like outlining, only not. I’m sure you’ve come across the concept before.

    Remind me to introduce you to some of my characters someday… Mine tend to be of the contrary kind. “Go this way? Are you mad, author woman? We ain’t goin’ where you want us to go! That’ll get us killed!” which, of course, promptly leads them into more trouble. *sigh*

    But I want to read the other book that Debi mentioned… T-T *contrary article*

  19. Chris, have you read Eggers’s What is the What? I’m always telling people to read it, and have plugged it on my blog countless times. One of my fave books ever. You should just go ahead and buy it, as you’re planning to read anything by him anyway. πŸ˜€

  20. P.S. I meant: Have you purchased a copy of What is the What? As stupid me, I knew you haven’t read him yet. You just said so. πŸ˜€

Leave a Reply

