The Fall Recipe Exchange! – Banana-Peanut Butter Bread

pumpkins with fall leavesAmy just keeps on coming up with some of the most fantastic ideas! This time, she’s come up with a Fall Recipe Exchange. And Lord knows I need something to make it feel like Fall. Here in New Orleans, we haven’t really known what Fall feels like yet…today, the highs are in the upper 80’s and it’s humid as all hell 😦 Nothing like Fall, I assure you. So to get myself in the mood, I decided to make Amy’s wonderful sounding Pumpkin Dump Cake recipe. I went to the store to buy the ingredients and melt to the floor when I discovered that they were sold out of pumpkin pie filling T_T Seems like everyone else is trying to make artificial Fall down here too. Oh well, I’ll try it in the future when they restock the shelves.

I thought that I’d share with you one of my favorite Fall recipes. It’s a delicious Banana Peanut Butter Bread and it’s so so easy to make. Strangely enough, it comes from a cookbook called “Tom Fitzmorris’ New Orleans Food”. Now I assure you that Bananu Peanut Butter Bread is not a New Orleans original. And one would think it odd that it’s in a New Orleans cookbook, but I can explain. Tom Fitzmorris is a wonderful radio talk show host down here. He’s been on the waves for years now and his show is all about local food and restaurants. When he first started his show years ago, he threw out this recipe of his and for some reason, people have requested it over and over again. So even though it’s not a traditional New Orleans dish, he included it in his cookbook. Here’s the recipe. I assure you, it’s easy and SO GOOD!

Ingredients:

5 Tbsp. Butter, softened
4 Medium, extra-ripe bananas, peeled
1/3 cup chunky peanut butter
2 eggs
2 cups flour
1/2 cup sugar
1 tsp. baking soda
1/4 tsp. salt

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Grease a 9 x 5 inch loaf pan with 1 tablespoon of the butter.

2. Slice the bananas into a blender. Puree until smooth and set aside.

3. Put the peanut butter and the remaining butter in a bowl and beat with an electric mixer until smooth. Beat in the eggs until completely blended. Then beat in the pureed bananas.

4. Combine the sugar, flour, baking soda, and salt in a bowl. Add to the banana mixture a little at a time, beating until completely blended. Pour the batter into the prepared pan. Bake until a skewer inserted into the center comes out clean, about 50 minutes.

5. Cool 10 minutes in the pan, then turn onto a wire rack to finish cooling. Makes 1 loaf.

Please let me know if you try this!! I’d love to know how it comes out for you. It’s always been a success over here. For me, I’ve needed a little over 50 minutes for the center not to be mushy, but my oven is very tempermental. Have tried it yet in the new oven at the new house!! Looking forward to making some of your recipes too!

16 Responses

  1. My husband would love this.

  2. The only thing I like banana in is bread so I’d probably like this.

  3. I’ve always loved banana peanut butter sandwiches….Wonder why I never thought of making a bread with both?

  4. Boy do we all love our bread. I have had banana bread but never with peanut butter. I’ll have to try it.

  5. I love banana bread, but never thought of the (perhaps obvious?) combination with peanut butter. I’ll have to star this one for the distant and unexpected day when I actually have the motivation to make something. Well, the only recipe I ever *do* make came from a blogger, so maybe I can go two for two….or else we should follow up the Fall Recipe exchange day with “Cook Me Something” Day where everybody just makes me delicious food. Do you think anyone would go for that? πŸ˜‰

  6. Beth, I hope you try it out!! It’s delicious πŸ™‚

    Other Chris, Then you’d like it for sure πŸ˜€ It’s delicious, I swear!!

    Debnance, Well now you have no excuse :p Try it out!!

    Nicole, I was thinking the same think, lol…everyone is posting breads!! This was the first one I had seen with peanut butter too and it’s really good!

    Megan, This is so freaking good. Try it out. I’d totally make you some if I knew how to ship food :p

  7. Oh my gosh this sounds amazing Chris! I am definitely going to try it!

  8. Sounds delicious! Wonder how it would be with part whole wheat flour? I may have to give it a try, I’ve got some very ripe bananas sitting on the shelf.

  9. This does sound good…I hope to try it and will definitely tell you all about it! πŸ™‚ I heard there was a shortage of pumpkin this year.. 😦

  10. Thanks for the recipe. I can’t wait to try it. It sounds wonderful. Thanks again.

  11. I just threw this recipe in the oven. It sounded great, I had some overripe bananas, so I thought why not! I’ll have to let you know how mine turned out! πŸ™‚ Thanks for sharing it.

  12. Mmmmmmmmmm. I do like peanut butter… and banana. πŸ™‚

  13. HOLY COW! This looks so good-love the idea of peanut butter and pumpkin. Yum!!

  14. Um, idiot trish–was looking at the picture of pumpkins. I meant banana. Must go to bed…

  15. Thank you so much for posting this recipe!!!

    I was raised in New Orleans and this was actually the first recipe I ever made by myself (well I needed my mom to place the bread in the oven and to take it out). I made it yesterday and it was delicious! You have brought back so many memories from my childhood in Nola.

    Again, THANK YOU SO MUCH!

  16. This sounds delicious – I’m definitely trying it. Thanks!

Leave a Reply

