Gearing Up For The Read-A-Thon

Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon is quickly approaching and I’m so excited about it!! There’s something about the Fall read-a-thon that’s just extra exciting. I don’t know what it is, but I always enjoy that one so much better than the April one. This will be my third official read-a-thon, my fourth one that I’ve participated in all together. This time, I decided to go with short, quick reads. I am going to start with one longer book, Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan. At least I think I am. I haven’t totally convinced myself of that yet. I just really really want to read that book!! Amanda said she loved it, but it took her awhile to get through it, so that’s throwing me off a little bit :p I’ve always started the read-a-thon off with a longish book…that’s why I thought of doing that. Anyway, here’s my list of books for the readathon:

IMG_06781. Sometimes My Heart Pushes My Ribs by Ellen Kenneddy – This is a short collection of poetry that was recommended by Bookfool. I thought that some poetry would be a nice little break in between everything else!

2. A Cool Moonlight by Angela Johnson – This one looks just perfect for the readathon. Short, sweet, big words for tired eyes. Recommended by Nymeth…can’t go wrong there!

3. Green Angel by Alice Hoffman – I’ve been dying to read some Hoffman, and this looks like the perfect one to read during the readathon. Looks like I could knock this one out in an hour and it looks like it’s really good too!

4. The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo – I am so so so excited about this one!! Got this one awhile ago and I’ve been saving it for the readathon. It’s going to be hard not to make this my first read of the day. I may just end up reading it first.

5. Skellig by David Almond – Another one that I’ve just been dying to read. It sounds so fantastic and will knock out a spot on the ongoing Printz challenge. Looks very doable for the read-a-thon.

6. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-time Indian by Sherman Alexie – Ok, I really really have to read this one during this read a thon. I’ve had it on my list for the last two! And I still haven’t read it! Robin gave it to me for Christmas two years ago and I can’t believe I haven’t read it yet!

7. Tender Morsels by Margo Lanagan – Here’s the dilemma book. To read during the readathon or not to read during the readathon? That is the question. Help me please people!

8. Where We Are, What We See edited by David Levithan – I’m so excited about reading this one during the readathon. It’s a collection of short fiction, poetry, essays, and art by young adults throughout the US. It looks so good!

9. Pedro Paramo by Juan Rulfo – Another one recomended by the big purple headed avatar. Looks like good RAT reading.

10. How I live Now by Meg Rosoff – Because it’s about time I read some Meg Rosoff, huh?

11. The Tales of Beetle the Bard by J.K. Rowling – Because it’s about time I read this too!

12. That Salty Air by Tim Sievert – Well, we have to have some graphic novel love during the readathon so I added four of them to my pile! I wanted short GNs, so this is the first of them. It looks great!

13. Bone Vol. 3 – Eye of the Storm by Jeff Smith – Because it’s Bone Vol. 3.

14. Rose by Jeff Smith – Because it’s the prequel to Bone and illustrated by Charles Vess!

15. Fables Vol. 4 by Bill Willingham – Wouldn’t be complete without a little bit of Fables!!

So that’s my readathon pile. It’s a bit adventurous, yes, but the sad thing is…there’s more than just that that I want to read. I’ve had recommendations made on my last post after asking for them and I’m afraid that I’ve added those onto the pile now too!! What is a reader to do?

As for the rest of tonight, I’m off to order some pizza and watch LSU kick Florida’s ass…goodnight!

20 Responses

  1. Aw I totally loved Green Angel. And the cover is gorgeous to boot!

  2. I’ve added more since my pile post the other day, too. 😀

    So here’s the thing about Tender Morsels. Jason read it in 2 or 3 days, while he was working. So he read it fast. But for me, the prose was so poetic that it took me longer. For example, I had about 10 pages left before I reached the end of a certain chapter before Margo Lanagan was going to sign. I tried to read through them fast – in half an hour – and barely remembered anything. After the signing, I went back, found my spot, and started again slowly. I’m not sure everyone would find it as slow, but for me, it demanded a luxurious reading. Not slow in a bad way, just slow in the way of wanting to soak in a long bath, you know?

    I love your books, though! I can’t add any more to mine…I think I’m up to 15 now after two more I ordered from thelibrary plus How I Live Now (which Jill from Fizzy Thoughts has mailed me!!!).

  3. But, but, but…where is The Ask and the Answer??? Did you read it already and not TELL ME??? 😉

    I added The Magician’s Elephant to my pile too.

    I had a hard time with Tender Morsels, but I know Nymeth loved it. I think it would be a slow read; unless you fall in love with it instantly. I say use caution!

  4. Okay so I know that it’s only the start of the second quarter, but I believe the score is 3 to 0? 😛

  5. We had the same idea today! 🙂

    And we’ve both got Alexie in our pile! And Fables! 🙂

    I loved Tender Morsels, but it took me a good 100 pages to start loving it, and I think it’s a book that needs to be savoured. So I say no read-a-thon. But read it right after!

    I think I’m the only book blogger who didn’t love How I Live Now! But then, you know how I feel about post-apocolyptic and dystopian stuff. 😉 Somehow, I had thought it was setin during WWII, so I was really confused when I started listening to it! lol That Salty Air looks really neat.

  6. You know what…I seriously think I just want to steal your pile! 😀

    I’ve got Fables in my pile, too…but no one has picked it yet. 😦 I’m seriously pouting here. I told Eva that I might have to bribe someone to pick it for me. (Shhhh…what you say? #35. I’ll make it worth your while.)

  7. That is one huge stack; nice variety too. I still have to put together my pile. I have some ideas though!

  8. The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian is awesome. I love Sherman Alexie!! Have fun! Looks like you’ve gathered some great stuff.

  9. That’s quite a tantalizing pile you’ve got there! I hope you get to How I Live Now. I love that book, and I’d love to hear what you think about it!

  10. You’ve got a great list there for the RAT…Elephant’s Magician is beautiful and the drawings are so gorgeous!! You are so going to love Part-Time Indian!! Looking forward to the 24 hour reading festival!!

  11. Looks like a great list of books. I still need to read The Tales of Beedle the Bard as well!

  12. my oh my…did you take a recent speed reading coarse?
    tsk tsk I thought Gils All Fright Diner would make the list since it’s fairly short.. but then.. you only have a few hundred books to choose from! They should have the read a thon once a month so everyone would read more of their tbr piles!

  13. *starts sports events style chant*

    SKELLIG! SKELLIG! SKELLIG! SKELLIG!

    *Ahem*

    Anyways, The Almond is a great pick for the read-a-thon! 🙂

    …the big purple headed avatar.

    And, I see Ana’s managed to shift the blame for her bad bloggerness on to her avatar with you as well! *sneaky*

  14. Great pile. I second Darren. Skellig is really good! I am not going to chant, though.

    I also like How I Live Now, Rose, The Magician’s Elephant, and Green Angel!

  15. What a great list of books, Chris! I know you’ll really like Skellig, and I’m curious about your reaction to the Absolutely True Diary. You won’t be surprised about this, but … Beedle the Bard, Green Angel, Pedro Paramo, Fables, and The Magician’s Elephant are all high up on my TBR list, too! Enjoy!

  16. Maybe you prefer the autumn event because you like the season more and/or sitting on a chair reading in autumn weather is more rewarding than in spring when you have that itch to go outside and watch the leaves unfurl?

    Looks like a neat pile, though! So much neater and nicer than mine. You’ll absolutely zip through Beedle if you decide to pick that up at some point. It’s terribly cute! (Unfortunately, of those on this particular pile, that’s also the only one I know.)

    (And remember, you like me too much to kill me! At least I hope you do or I have a big, big problem.
    That line will make sense somewhere around next Saturday, I think, no worries.)

  17. Oh I’m so excited about you reading Skellig! And Green Angel…and How I Live Now…and The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian! I wish I could read them again for the first time. Have a great readathon!

  18. This is the spring readathon for me, but I’m just as excited 😀 I have a modest pile, but high hopes. 🙂

  19. Well….I AM the dissenting vote on Tender Morsals. I didn’t hate it. I didn’t like it. But I had really strong feelings about it. Yeah, I know. Doesn’t make a lick of sense. (I really hated the first parts….liked some of the middle and hated the end) BUT it’s not a quick read. I’m not the fastest reader in the world, but it took me over a week and a half to read it. I couldn’t read it for very long. And I had to read it slowly. Not really sure it would make a good read-a-thon book.

  20. You’ve got a great pile going on! I haven’t read any of your selections but they look good.

Leave a Reply

