The Sunday Salon – Linkages

There’s so much stuff that I need to get caught up on and so much fun stuff going on in the book blogging world right now! I just feel really behind right now because of this past week. It was spent moving into our new house during one of the busiest weeks I’ve had at work. And I got put on day shifts all week which I absolutely abhor! I can’t stand to work day shifts. Especially since I’m used to my lovely 3-11pm shift. My sleep schedule just can’t take it and my migraines just kick in full effect when I have to be up for 7 every morning all of a sudden.

But things should begin to seem a bit normal starting this week. I’m back on my normal shift after one more horrible morning shift today. I’m off tomorrow and I have a trigger point massage scheduled!!! I can’t wait for that. They’re just wonderful. And then I should have some reading time. I really want to finish Breathers by S.G. Browne because it’s so good and I still have Normal and the wonderful Her Fearful Symmetry to finish. So the next few days will be reading days. And hopefully the next few days after that will be review days! But while you’re waiting for that, here are some fun links:

Remember my love for John Lawson’s novel, Sorrow? Remember how I wanted everyone to read it? Well Drollerie Press has it on sale now! It’s an E-book and if you’ve never tried an e-book before, let me assure you, it’s not bad at all! And at this price, you can’t pass it up! It’s a fantastic book. Follow this link to get Sorrow and some more books at wonderful prices ($1.99 or less!) now through October 17th!

The weather in New Orleans is absolutely beautiful right now! Highs in the 70’s, lows in the low 60’s with barely any humidity. Loving it! I was just thinking “this is perfect gumbo weather” when I stumbled across this post on Parajunkee’s blog. I’ve been wanting to mention her for awhile. She’s another local blogger from New Orleans! I was so excited when I found her blog because I thought I was the only one!! Anyway, go check out her post…it’s great 🙂 All about Halloween in New Orleans!

As if we need more challenges…however! I can’t pass this one up! Bart is hosting a Young Adult Dystopian Challenge that runs from now until the end of the year and you only have to read one book! One book! I can do that. I’ll probably read more though. I know for sure that I’ll be reading The Ask and The Answer before the year is up, so I have to join! You should join too!

It’s almost time for Dewey’s 24 Hour Read-a-Thon!!!! How freaking excited is everyone about that?? I’m ecstatic! And I didn’t even have to take off of work for it this year. Though I did take off the Monday after so that I can recuperate :p I seriously look forward to the two read-a-thons all year. And the Fall read-a-thon is my absolute favorite. Can’t wait. I need to start getting my pile of books together for it!! Go sign up to be a reader, a cheerleader or both!! Eva is going to have all kinds of cheerleading options for us this year 🙂

And finally, Nymeth has done it again :p She’s written another fabulous fantasy post…this one, a beginners guide to fantasy (though I think it’s great for long time lovers of fantasy as well ;)! Check it out!

19 Responses

  1. Sorry to hear about your migraines, Chris 😦 Hopefully you’ll start feeling better soon! I can relate to what you said about getting your sleeping schedule all messed up. I have to be really careful with mine :/

    Thanks for reminding me that I need to post about Sorrow! And thanks for linking to the fantasy post…it’s brief, but I didn’t want to tl;dr on someone else’s blog 😛

    PS: I’ll e-mail you back about out idea very soon! You can blame the read-a-thon for the delay 😛 I swear, I feel like I spend way too much time on the computer, and I still get NOTHING done.

  2. I’m so excited about the YA Dystopian Challenge and the Read-a-thon! So happy! Everything good happens in fall, I think. 😀

    Now, I’m off to check out that ebook link. As if I need more books…

  3. I forgot to tell you that I love the new house pics! Those bookshelves have me so jealous.

  4. I saw Bart’s tweet about the YA Dystopian Challenge and thought, “Noooooooo!” Because, you know, I swore I was not going to do any other challenges besides the RIP IV. But . . . well . . . gosh. I love YA and I love Dystopian and I think I might have to suck it up and join. One book — yeah, I can probably handle that. I wouldn’t swear to it, though.

    Sorry you’re on the day shift. I know how that messes you up.

  5. 😦 So sorry about the migraines! I really hope getting back to your normal schedule will help!

    When you mentioned that challenge, my immediate thought was “No way! No more challenges!”…but then I read your justification and how could I argue with that logic, right? Just going to steal your excuse if you don’t mind. 😉

  6. I’ll be participating in the 24 Hour Readathon and the YA Dystopian challenge. 🙂 I’m excited about both of course!

  7. Nymeth, I’m hoping they get better soon too! I’ve had headaches every day this week and I think it’s just because of the sleep schedule. Isn’t it miserable when you get off your normal schedule? I loved your fantasy post 😀 It was just perfect!! And I wouldn’t mind a tl;dr version on your blog 😉 Take your time on the email! I know exactly what you mean!! I swear, I’ve spent at least an hour on the internet every day this week yet I feel like I have no idea what happened in blogland this week 😦

    Amanda, Fall really is just the best time of the year! You’re right! Everything cool happens now 🙂 Sorrow really is a fantastic book! Hope you check it out. If you like that one, Witch Ember and The Raven are fantastic as well.

    Other Chris, Why thank you!! I’m totally loving the house. It’s so nice to be here finally!

    Bookfool, Of course you can handle one book :p Here’s the way I look at it. I’d probably read another YA dystopian novel anyway by the time the year is over, so I might as well join the challenge, right? But I understand your challenge anxiety…I really do! Day shift is over after tomorrow! Thank God!!

    Debi, Thanks…I’m hoping the migraines go away with the day shift. Can’t wait to get back on nights! And you’re more than welcome to steal my logic 😉 I love the way we make excuses for each other, lol.

    Becky, Yay!!! I’m so glad you’re participating with me 🙂

  8. Hope you enjoy What I Was I read it for the April readathon and loved it, and I think the English bookcover is even better than the US one, see this post: http://katrinasreads.blogspot.com/2009/04/deweys-24-hour-read-thon-what-i-was-by.html

    Looking forward to seeing what you read for Bart’s challenge, although it will make my wishlist even bigger. Have a good Sunday

  9. Oh dear. No wonder your head hurts – Switching from 3-11 to getting up at 7 in the morning is a huge adjustment. I hope it gets better soon though.

    I’m really looking forward to taking part in the read-a-thon. It’ll be my first 🙂

    Wow – you have really great weather for October. It’s getting really chilly over here now. Coat weather!

  10. Totally off topic, but I saw the title of your post and almost ran away screaming. Linkages is program/initiative/thingie that I work on for my my job. So I definitely had a WTF moment when I saw your post. Although I quickly recovered and read on.

  11. Now I know I am going to have join this YA Dystopian Challenge as I seem to read so many of these books. Thanks for introducing us to Parajunkee’s site. I thought it was fabulous.

    I hope your migraines pass soon.

  12. Thanks for the plug. I’ve only found one other NOLA bookblogger, http://sleeplessinneworleans2.blogspot.com/ (Patti). I guess with our low literacy rate that is really good! I think you need to take some “you” time also, I hate crazy shift work – its like it throws your entire world off.

  13. Oh … and go SAINTS!

  14. I’m so with you on the shift changes. It’s hard on a person’s body to adjust. Trust me. I know first hand. And as one that suffers migraines, I feel for you so much. I have found that working the odd shifts has increased mine. I’m sending healing vibes your way so you won’t have to suffer this week!!

    I hope you get tons of reading done. I’m working on that myself this week. I just finished up the second Suzanne Collins book in the Gregor Series that Chad turned me on to. I can’t believe I hadn’t heard of this sooner. Such a great series. And now I need to start working my way through my huge RIP pile.

    Oh…btw. Drew Brees is my QB in my only-girl-in-fantasy league. He’s been good to me so far. Keep it up Saints!!

  15. Best to you on moving. The hard work must be a little bit offset by finally being home again. Still, moving is a chore under any circumstance. I’m glad the weather is good for you!

  16. I wish I could send you the magic pill for those migraines!!! I loved Nymeth’s post on fantasy 101…pretty good, as usual 🙂 Can’t wait for the Read-a-Thon..must go sign up to be a cheerleader again!! Take care of yourself 🙂

  17. Katrina, That’s a great idea! I think I will read it for the read-a-thon this year! Perfect length 🙂 And that cover really is gorgeous!

    Ceri, Yeah, it can be a bummer…but I’m back on my normal shift now, thank God! So glad to hear you’re taking part in the read-a-thon! It’s loads of fun 😀 I’d trade weather with you happily…the colder the better for me!

    Softdrink, :p I’ll be sure to never use that title again…trust me, I know how horrible of a feeling that is to see a work thing in a play thing context!

    Vivienne, The migraines are much better today, thanks! And yes, I do hope you joint the challenge!! Isn’t Parajunkee’s site great?

    Rachel, Absolutely 🙂 I hope you get some more subscribers! And weren’t the Saints amazing today?? I was so happy with them 😀 Thanks for the link to the other NOLA blogger!

    Steph, I know that you can relate more than anyone on shift changes and migraines :/ Aren’t they the worst. I forget how much I appreciate my night shift until it’s taken away from me! I’m hoping to get a lot of reading done this week!! I’m almost done two books this week and halfway through a third, so it should be a good one! I’ll need to check out the Gregor Series…the first one that you reviewed sounded really good. And I’m THRILLED to hear that you picked Brees as your quarterback 😀 Fine choice there, fine choice. Not only is he a great quarterback, he’s just a great guy. And it looks like he’s paying off for you big time this season!

    Bellezza, Thanks!! It feels so good to be home again..so so good! It is a chore, but it’s one that I’m happy to deal with 😉

    Staci, Thank you 🙂 Let me know if you find that magic pill…you’ll be a millionaire! Nymeth’s post really was fantastic..no surprise there though :p I can’t wait for the read-a-thon either! Glad to hear you’ll be cheering us on!

  18. Oh man…a trigger point massage sound absolutely divine. I need!! Hope you get back on track and schedule soon–what a pain to have to get off schedule.

    And yes, so freakin’ excited for the read-a-thon. The fall edition is my favorite as well–hopefully Carl has something frightfully fun planned for that evening!

  19. I’m super excited for the read-a-thon as well! Taking Monday off is a great idea, although when I take a day off most of that time is spent reading and I’m thinking that once the read-a-thon is over, I’ll need a break, so work may actually be some kind of respite.

Leave a Reply

