September In Review

Well September turned out to be a better reading months than it’s siblings, July and August. Must be because I could see an end to the relentless southern Summer that insists on gracing us with it’s presence every year. I feel like October will be even better. The weather has been absolutely gorgeous down here today and yesterday and it’s scheduled to stay nice for the next couple of days!! Fall has finally arrived! We’ve actually had lows in the 60’s with very low humidity. I feel revived…except not really, but I’ll get to that in a sec. First let’s talk about what I read this month:

71. Fingersmith by Sarah Waters, 2002, 582 pgs., 5/5
72. Wicked Lovely by Melissa Marr, 2007, 328 pgs., 3/5
73. Bone Vol. 2 by Jeff Smith, 2005, 132 pgs., 4.5/5
74. The Purloined Boy by Mortimus Clay, 2009, 249 pgs., 4.5/5
75. The Haunted Playground by Shaun Tan, 1998, 73 pgs., 2/5
76. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness, 2008, 479 pgs., 5/5
77. Uncle Montague’s Tales of Terror by Chris Priestly, 2007, 239 pgs., 4.5/5

September Totals: 7 Books, 2,082 pgs.

That beats my July and August totals COMBINED! And it’s still not even that impressive…sad, huh? It can only get better!! Favorite book this month? Easily The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness…it’s my favorite book of the year and it’s a competitor for one of the top slots of all time. I just loved loved loved that book in every sense of the word. Can’t say enough about it. Least favorite…The Haunted Playgroung by Shaun Tan…such a disappointment. I didn’t even like the illustrations. It’s an earlier Tan book. The story was just horrible, wasn’t scary in the least bit. Basically, don’t bother. Luckily, it only took about 30 minutes of my time if that.

I’ve been a bad blogger for the last few days…or weeks, and I apologize for that. Is it me, or have I been saying that all year. Please forgive me oh kind blogging world, I really have sucked this year! I’ve just been crazy. As you know I’ve been busy with a move and they switched my schedule to dayshifts for this week, so I’m all out of whack. But I’ll get back to normal soon.

I am feeling much better now though because it’s OCTOBER!!! Or it’s almost October at least 🙂 My favorite month of the year, my favorite time of the year!! So I wish you all happy, warm Fall thoughts 🙂 And of course, spooktacular reading! corny….

18 Responses

  1. You read more than me this month!! 🙂 Yay for fall! It’s been a bit cooler here too which does wonders for my spirit! (PS can you add a subscribe to comments via email option?)

  2. Hi Chris! I know exactly how you feel about this summer. It was so bad here. By far the worst summer in recorded Texas history, with 60 or more days above 100 (the record previous to this year was 36 days…). I imagine in NOLA it was even worse, because your humidity far outstrips ours. There was a day in mid-August when I just felt the air shift. It was still burning up, but I suddenly knew we were about to get some relief. Within a day or two, a couple tropical storms started up in the Atlantic, and we finally got rain for the first time in 2 years. The first day of fall actually had HIGHS IN THE 60s! Amazing! Of course, it’s been back in the 90s quite a bit, but at least it’s alternating between 90s and 70s now.

    Okay, why am I here babbling about temperatures?? Sometimes I’m a little nuts. I really need to read Fingersmith.

  3. You’re no worse than I am. I’m wading it some major suckage of my own making. So nice to have a bit of cool air to breathe in, isn’t it? Except, I don’t know about NO, but we’re having a serious mosquito plague, here. I’ve got bites all over my toes!!! Ack!

    Happy October!!!! 🙂

  4. crud I need to do the wrap up post lol..

    I feel revived…but not really? want to explain that one??

  5. A-hem.

    Don’t you think getting your office set up is enough of an accomplishment last month? And you still managed to read 7 books? Good gravy, Chris. That’s amazing.

    cjh

  6. Oh I’m sad to hear that Shaun Tan could do wrong =[

  7. I’m too scared to actually count up what I’ve read this month, August was terrible enough (1 book, maybe 2.)

    But yes the arrival of October has me very excited! It’s the funnest season reading of the year for me.

    I’ve been hearing so many amazing things about Knife of Never Letting Go that I think it will be moved farther up on my must-read list 🙂

  8. I am so excited about October. Absolutely the best month of the year, featuring the birthdays of some of my most favorite people ever, and moreover my university is doing The Importance of Being Earnest on 16th October, which is Oscar Wilde’s birthday. Yayyyyy.

  9. I LOVED The Fingersmith as well. You had a great reading month!

  10. I think I finished up Sept with 7 books as well. I wish I had more time to read. With the shoulder so wonky right now, I thought I would be reading more. But I’ve just been so exhausted that I’ve been overdosing on Supernatural and Gilmore Girl DVDs.

  11. I can’t seem to get my reading act together lately. Why can’t life just leave us alone once in a while and let us just curl up and read for days on end? Not all the time, but now and then would be nice, huh? Anyway, I’d say you did pretty damn well in September, especially considering your move! But I do hope October brings you oodles of reading satisfaction! And keeps on giving you such beautiful weather, too!!! (Our highs have been in the upper 40s the past few days, but the weekend is looking a tad more glorious with temps in the lower 60s…perfect reading weather!)

  12. Yes, Happy October! It’s my favorite month too. 🙂

    I really need to read Knife…

  13. Hmmmm, I’m not sure what I was trying to say but something came out all wrong. Maybe I meant I had a lousy reading month? Oh, heck, I don’t know . . . let’s change the subject. How are you doing, Chris? Loving the new house? The cool weather will definitely help make reading more fun. Do you have a porch at your new house? Okay. I’ll leave you alone, now. 🙂

  14. Hey, progress is progress! I only read a few more books than you and I don’t have the excuse that I was moving house and getting my own office set up and ready for business! Don’t be so hard on yourself, Chris! That’s a perfectly respectable book count!

    May your October see you settle into new routines quickly and easily, Chris! ^-^

  15. I know the autumn weather revived me in September and it was a much better reading month for me as well. And a fantastically enjoyable one too.

  16. Good to see the cooler months reviving you Chris!

  17. October is my favourite month of the year, too! I really need to read Fingersmith…

  18. I’m thinking I need to read TKONLG as soon as I achieve my TBR goals. Hearing everybody rave about it has got me well-nigh desperate to read it!

Leave a Reply

