I Can Haz New House?

I can! I can’t believe that the day has finally come, but I’m writing my first post from my new house. It’s kind of funny actually. I first started my online life on this same property. In 2000, I started a Deadjournal, and I’ve been blogging ever since then on one medium or another. I didn’t start book blogging until January 2007, but it’s been over 10 years now since I first started blogging in general. So really, I’ve come full circle back onto this property doing the same thing despite hurricanes and tearing the house down and rebuilding it, blah blah blah. So…wanna see the house?

house

Here it is! You should be able to click on all of the pictures in this post to enbiggen them. I’m truly in love with this house. It’s like a dream house in more ways than one. And I’m so happy for my Mom. She deserves this house. I think it’s what she’s always wanted and she’s been through so much crap to get to it. We’ve flooded 4 times, with Katrina being the last, and we finally got to demolish and just rebuild at a higher elevation. And this thing is hurricane proof! It’s 3 bedrooms, 2 1/2 baths…master is downstairs, me and my sister are upstairs and I don’t think I’m ever moving out. Want to know why? Because this is upstairs with me:

newbookshelf

Yep, at the top of the stairwell is a giant built in bookcase!!! And that’s not even all of my books. There’s a very funny story here. I fit all of my books EXACTLY. I literally can’t fit one more book in this house. Well I can, it just won’t look neat on the shelf. See, there’s another shelf in my room (which you’ll see shortly) that continues my TBRs and the very last book by Marcus Zusak fit perfectly in the last spot! I couldn’t believe it!! Looks like I’m going to have to start double stacking because there’s no more room for another bookshelf :/ As for the shelves above, the space you see on the first shelf of the second case is where the books that I have read ends. The second shelf of the second case begins my TBRs and then my TBRs continue onto an ENTIRE bookshelf in my room :/ Here’s my room so you can get a peek:

roomThis is sort of a birds eye view of one wall. See that big stack of books next to the bookshelf? That’s all books that are going on Paberback Swap or Bookmooch! When I was going through my TBRs, I was looking at just how ridiculous it was and I knew I had books there that I was never going to read…so I put quite a few to the side. I filled a whole box and then made that big pile on the top.

buddahSome of my favorite little things like my Buddhas followed me over to the new house. But there’s one thing that’s here that has just kept the biggest smile on my face. I swear, I am just so so so in love with this little guy. Isn’t he cute? And he loves the house just as much as I do! Here he is:

pumpkinSo, now I’m off to kick up my feet, listen to Nick Drake’s Pink Moon album and just spend the night relaxing for the first time in my new room at my new house. Thanks again for all of the wonderful support that you guys have given me over the last few days through emails and thoughts and tweets and everything else. Love you guys!

38 Responses

  1. That’s so cool, Chris! I am happy that you are all moved in and I love the bookshelves.

    I have more books that you. I promise… So, if you get stressed just remember that! πŸ™‚

  2. Your house looks beautiful! Those built in bookshelves make Jason and I really miss our house in Wisconsin (tons of built in shelves all over the place). You’ll have to let us know when you’re adding to your bookmooch inventory so we can snag stuff right away! πŸ˜€

  3. I think the house is trying to tell you not to buy any more books, Chris πŸ˜›

    And it looks lovely! I LOVE the built in bookshelves so much πŸ˜€

  4. Kailana, thanks!! I’m in love with the bookshelves too. And it’s so glad to know that someone has more bookshelves than I do :p I will indeed remember that in the future.

    Amanda, Thanks! I want to see more pics of your shelves! I hope you do a post one of these days πŸ™‚ You should post pics of your shelves now too! I’ll definitely let you know when I’m adding to Bookmooch…or I’ll just shoot you an email before I load them and you can let me know if you want any of them πŸ˜‰

    Nymeth, :p You have a point there. I think it’s saying “I’ve taken all I can take” I’ve been so good with this ban! All I’ve bough is The Ask and the Answer!! Now if I can just stop mooching!! I’m quite in love with my bookshelves πŸ™‚ Now I just need to get a big pouf like you have and I’ll be happy πŸ˜€

  5. So beautiful. I would love to have built-in bookcases! It’s funny that they fit perfectly. I have a whole bookcase just for my swap books (both Mooch and PB)

  6. Congratulations for the new house! It looks totally amazing, from outside and inside, the bookshelves and all. I’m a tiny bit jealous πŸ˜‰

  7. This looks fantastic; congratulations and I hope you have many, many years of happiness in your new home!

  8. See those books you’re sending places, Chris? I’m durned proud of you. (And am reminded I need to figure out something with my own books lying around in wait.)

    I love the facade of your house, Chris. It looks so pretty! (And I’m so glad to hear your mum has the house she’s always wanted – even if it took a tragedy and four years of waiting for her to get it. *sad noise* I’ll just be over here, with a foot in my mouth…)

    You could just stack books on top of your books, you know. There’s plenty of room for them in the gaps. ^-~ But those bookshelves are so cool! I’m envious! (I’m trying to get my parents to make some more shelving space on the landing, but no such luck. I’ll just have to work on downsizing my collection even more.)

    And colours! Ha! Now I kind-of-sort-of (still really don’t) know what I’m looking for! Muwahahahahaha!

    Congratulations, Chris! May you and your family have loads of joy and happiness from your new home! ^-^

  9. Looks a lovely home Chris, I couldn’t be more chuffed for you to be back in there.

  10. oh wow! What a beautiful home! I am really happy for you and your sister and mom!! (i don’t remember you ever mentioning your sister!! I have a daughter too? geez Chris! YOu’d think you’d let me know! hahahaha How old is she?)

    HOw lucky are you to lug all those books UPSTAIRS! and to think I had to pack mine up alone and carry them DOWNSTAIRS..and there were about 5 boxes (the kind that hold a ream of computer paper) that I couldn’t carry long enough to get them down the stairs and had to slide them down! At may age even that was a strain! I am glad that it is over for you! But I am sure mom’s work is never done and she will be working at it for some time to come yet. Please tell her for me she has a beautiful home.

  11. What a great post!!! Love the built-ins, and your little friends, and your big bookmooch pile! When I re-did my shelves, I culled 6 normal-size target bags full of books. Haven’t decided what to to do with them yet-I might go to a used bookstore and then donate the rest to the library!

    And I’m so happy for your mom and family. πŸ˜€

  12. What a beautiful house Chris! Sending β™₯housewarmingβ™₯ thoughts towards you and your family. And those bookshelves *droools* πŸ™‚

  13. πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    I am sooooo very happy for you all!!! What a big relieve to finally be settled in, huh? I know there must have been many days when you all wondered if this day would ever come. Dammit. I’m sitting here crying now. But it’s good. Happy tears, for sure!

    Those built-in bookshelves are just the most beautiful I’ve ever seen! Your mom sure knew how to keep her little boy close by having those put in the design, huh? πŸ˜‰

    I’m very impressed with the amount of culling of books you did there! I need to get a little more serious about it, too.

    And that’s so cool that you have a collection of Buddhas!!! Rich used to have several Buddhas, too. And we were just talking a couple days ago and wondering what ever became of them. We realized we hadn’t seen them in years…and we’re not sure if we have them packed in boxes in one of our parents’ attics or if they got lost in one of our many moves. And I’m so glad little pumpkin head has made you smile! πŸ˜€

    Ooh, and I see Normal sitting there…have you started it yet?

    Oops. Sorry, I didn’t mean to talk so much here. But this post just made me so very happy! I hope you guys can sit back for a while and truly enjoy this house you all deserve! *hugs to all of you*

  14. Congratulations. It’s an amazing house and I am so glad that at least one of us can fit their TBR in a shelf and organize all of their books.

  15. That is so wonderful to hear, Chris! Your house is lovely. I love how you’re doing this for your mom, too. I had so much fun browsing through your shelves (my husband was laughing ’cause I zoomed with googly eyes).

  16. What a beautiful house, Chris! I’m so happy for you and for your Mom. It’s been a long time coming, but you must all be thrilled! And a house full of books is a happy house. Congratulations!

  17. I am so pleased for you and your family. You sound like you have had such an awful time with the hurricane. May your family enjoy many happy years in the new house.

  18. Yay! Love the bookshelves!

  19. OMG how gorgeous!

  20. Jeane, Thanks! A whole bookshelf dedicated just to mooch books? You must have a bunch! I couldn’t believe how well everything fit :p

    Mee, Thanks πŸ™‚ I’d totally be jealous too if it weren’t mine :p

    Bride of the Book God, thanks so much!!

    Shanra, You know what? I’m proud of myself! LOL..It takes a LOT for me to say “I really don’t need this book.” That’s not a phrase that you’ll hear coming out of my mouth all that often :p Glad you like the house! I’m quite fond of it too! My mom is making herself a busy body as I suspect she will be from here on out. I can tell she’s just in love with it. I could just stack books on top of books, but I was trying to avoid that 😦 They just look so pretty like this! And they’re all in alphabetical order! Thanks a bunch Shanra!

    Bart, Thanks! And yay!! I learned more new British slang today πŸ˜€ “chuffed!” Keep those coming πŸ™‚

    Deslily, Indeed, you do have a daughter too :p She’s 24 years old…she’ll be 25 in November…you learn something new every day, huh? I can’t tell you how sore I am from lugging all those books upstairs!! And if the books weren’t enough, there were the bookshelves! Only one of which can actually be seen and that is in my room. The other 2 are in storage. You’re right…my mom’s work will never be done!! I hear her downstairs right now doing god knows what :p She says thanks πŸ™‚

    Eva, Wow! Sounds like you cleared out even more books than I did!! You should join Bookmooch or PBS! Oh wait…you are on BM, aren’t you? You just went on a ban :p I remember now. Thanks Eva πŸ™‚

    Joanne, Thank you!!! I’m in love with my new bookshelves!!!

    Debi, πŸ˜€ Thanks!! It is a big relief and you’re so right…we really didn’t think this day would ever come. Yep…she knew how to assure that I’d be staying here, lol. If you plan on getting rid of books, let me warn you now, it’s hard!! Just tell yourself “who am I kidding, I’m never going to read this.” And I’ve decided I’m not saying here which books I’m getting rid of because I don’t want anyone to get their feelings hurt if they recommended it :p Rich should go looking for his Buddhas! I have so many of them. I collect all sorts of Indian and Hindu statuaries. I’ve always loved them. I have shivas and ganeshes, etc. tons of them. They’re just beautiful! And I can’t get enough of this pumpkin Debi!! Seriuosly! I don’t know what it is about him! I did start Normal and read the first section last night on Female to Male…amazing stuff! Loving this book! And of course, never apologize for writing long comments πŸ™‚ They’re my favorite kind!

    Harry, Thanks! And you don’t know how good it makes me feel when I get a comment like that πŸ˜‰ I’m always convinced that *I* have the biggest TBR pile in the entire universe…I’m sure we all feel that way….

    Claire, Thanks! I’m totally guilty of the same thing..every time I see a big stack of books, I bring out the virtual magnifying glass :p In fact, when I posted this, I made sure that it worked for everyone :p

    Robin, Thank you!! It is a very warm house and it certainly feels like home. It feels right. And that’s the best thing of all! Thanks for your sweet words Robin πŸ™‚

    Vivienne, Thanks so much!! The hurricanes were a pain in the ass, but we’re back to normal now! And it is a great feeling! Thanks a bunch πŸ™‚

    Christina, Thanks…me too πŸ™‚

    Hagelrat, Thank you!

  21. It’s quite possible to stack them neatly, provided the books fit. But you’d lose the alphabetiness, yes. *sad noise*

    I can imagine how tough it is to say that about books, though I’m sure it’s harder for you than it is for me. You deserve to be proud of yourself for that stack of books! Go out and treat yourself to… An expensive icecream coupe! *was going to say ‘a trip to the bookstore’, but that probably doesn’t quite work*

    (Ha! More clues on what to look for for you. This is going well. *beams*) You go enjoy your new house, Chris!

  22. Congrats on the house – it’s beautiful. and how fun fun fun are those awesome bookshelves! I I just found you on bookmooch; I look forward to seeing what all you’re soon add to inventory. πŸ™‚

  23. I love smiling pumpkins. I have one of my own! Aren’t they just so adorably smiley and sweet?

  24. YAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAAY. It looks absolutely beautiful! And I’m so ridiculously jealous of your bookshelves! And your buddha! And your smiling pumpkin πŸ˜‰

  25. Dude, that is a NICE. HOUSE. With built in bookshelves! I’m so happy for you, moving into a gorgeous space like that. πŸ™‚

  26. It’s a fantastic house! It’s beautiful, and that built-in bookcase is every reader’s dream! I’ll have to keep this idea in mind for the day we have our own house.

  27. Wowsers, that is one gorgeous house! I’m so happy for you, finally getting to move in. The bookshelf is drool-worthy!! I have more than that on a single wall of my living room, but we won’t go there . . . it’s kind of horrifying. I need to do some more purging, too.

  28. Shanra, I think I’m just going to have to suck it up and admit that they’re going to have to start getting stacked :p And no trip to the bookstore!! I did treat myself to a chicken sandwich though :p

    Care, I got you as a bookmooch friend!!! Woohoo!! Thanks πŸ™‚ Aren’t the bookshelves incredible…I need to go wipe the drool off of them :p

    Sharry, I think that pumpkin is the cutest thing I have ever owned!!

    Lu, Thanks πŸ™‚ Glad to hear that you like everything πŸ™‚ I have lots and lots of buddhas and stuff…I should dig them all up and post a pic of the collection one of these days.

    Memory, Why thank you ma’am! Glad you like it! I’m quite fond of it myself πŸ™‚

    Kay, The built ins have been my dream for a long time. I’m so thrilled to finally have them!! You definitely need to build some for yourself!

    Bookfool, Thanks πŸ™‚ You need to come visit it one day! It feels so good to finally be moved in! I can’t tell you how great it is. Ooooh, I really want to see your living room, lol. There’s nothing I love more than looking at a giant wall of books! I doubt it’s horrifying. I’m sure it’s joy inducing πŸ™‚

  29. I’m so happy for you and your family! The house looks like such a dream (and if I were you, I’d probably never move out either!).

  30. I’m so glad your family finally can move into a beautiful house! I hope you can all settle in nicely now. =)

    I have so much trouble giving books away, especially ones I bought. Good for you on going through and making firm decisions!

  31. It gives me great joy, yes. What doesn’t give me great joy is the fact that I also have books on every other wall in that room, which means . . . you know. Overload. But, you’d like my living room. You’d walk around and around and probably ask me if you could move a few aside to see what’s behind the front layer on those double-stacked shelves. I’d love to come visit you, some time. πŸ™‚

  32. Once again, I am so very pleased for you and your family. I couldn’t be more pleased. The sense of peace and fulfillment and ‘all is right with the world’ must be almost overwhelming for you all. It makes me smile to think of you walking up those stairs and seeing that bookcase every day and whatever has happened that day will just melt away, seeing this incredible collection of portals to other lands. I am so glad you all got to move in time for autumn, for Halloween, for Thanksgiving, for Christmas. These occasions will certainly be all the more special for what you’ve all been through and for where you are now. You are doubly blessed, traveling between a new house/room and a new office every day! It is wonderful news for you and your family, Chris. Thank you so much for sharing your joy with us.

  33. What a beautiful home! And all the photos look so cozy and serene. I’d definitely be at home and relaxed there. Love your little pumpkin guy πŸ™‚

  34. What a beautiful house! I love how the bookcase overlooks the wrought-iron stairs. Lovely πŸ™‚

  35. Sorry for the late posting. I’m so far behind in my reading. But I just wanted to say Congrats!! The house is gorgeous, and I’m completely jealous over the built-in bookshelves!! But you guys so deserve this!! It’s beautiful!!

  36. Marry me!

    Seriously, this bookcase is awesome! I envy you πŸ™‚ Enjoy the beautiful new house!

  37. Those bookshelves are absolutely utterly to die for!! Congrats on the “new” house, especially as it looks like it’s a dream house!

  38. Beautiful home, it’s a dream. Awesome bookshelf. I love that green Buddha too. I am happy for you.

Leave a Reply

