Bad Bloggers!!

Not too many more weeks before I come to the end of this round of Bad Bloggers! It’s in October..don’t remember the exact date…I’ll have to check that. Looks like it’s going to be Nymeth again :p So you might as well start picking your book! Though Becky isn’t too far behind!! We’ll see what happens. You’ll notice that there are a few books in the “books bought” section :O I know, you’re thinking…”but he’s on a ban!” Well, all but one of those were bought before the ban!! I couldn’t help myself with The Ask and The Answer!! I’m weak!! Weak I tell you!!! I was going to actually do a vlog this week, but I realized that all of my books that I acquired are currently in boxes šŸ˜¦ So I couldn’t show them to the camera. Maybe next week. Yes! I can do a vlog in front of my new built in book shelves!! I’m going to have to show those bad boys off! Anyway, lets get off with the Bad Blogger point giving!

Books Bought

789

Books Received as Gifts

56

Books Mooched or Swapped

10

Library Books

1234

badbloggers

1. The Magician’s Elephant by Kate DiCamillo – I preordered this one as soon as I saw that it was being released! I’ll forever have a special place in my heart for Kate DiCamillo’s books. There’s something about them that is just so magical, innocent, yet deep and meaningful. Something that touches a reader’s heart at the core. I’ll be reading this one during the read-a-thon. DiCamillo is PERFECT for the read-a-thon!

2. The Book on Fire by Keith Miller – Carl told me about a book called The Book of Flying a couple of years back written by Keith Miller and anyone who’s read my blog for some time knows that it became one of my all time favorite books. Well Keith Miller contacted me the other day to let me know that he’s written a novel set in the same universe. I preordered it immediately and received it shortly thereafter! Thrilled about this one! If it’s half as good as The Book of Flying, I’m in for a treat.

3. The Ask and The Answer – Um…I probably don’t even need to explain why I bought this one. Can I just say that The Knife of Never Letting Go may be my new favorite book EVER and that this is totally worth breaking a ban for?? I’m just sad because it’s packed in a box now and I can’t read it!!!

4. Rose by Jeff Smith – This one is sort of a prequel to the Bone series and it’s illustrated by Charles Vess!!! Yes, I’m all over this one! What makes it even more special is that it’s a gift from my dear friend Debi šŸ™‚ She sent it to me in a package full of wonderful stuff! And she gets a point for it too because I’ve wanted it ever since she reviewed it ages ago! Point to Debi!!

5. Blue Bloods by Melissa De La Cruz – It’s not just Debi who’s sweet, she’s raised the whole family to be sweet šŸ™‚ Her daughter Annie emailed me and asked me if I’d be interested in reading this one and I told her I’d love to! So she sent it my way! Can’t wait to bite into it! Hardee har har…

6. Stoner & Spaz by Ron Koertge – Becky, did you read this one?? Whether you did or not, you’re getting the point, because I think you read it :p It’s sad when you start losing track, huh? Anyway, it sounds fantastic!! Can’t wait to read this one…may be another option for the read-a-thon.

7. Normal by Amy Bloom – This one has Eva’s name written all over it!! A big point to her!! And it’ll work perfectly for Amanda’s LGBT challenge. This one is all about gender issues and sounds fantastic. It’s a book of essays I believe and I really don’t read enough essays! Plan on reading this soon.

8. Spook by Mary Roach – Picked this one up for the RIP challenge! I’ve been wanting to read more Roach for ages….ever since reading Bonk.

9. Uncle Montague’s Tales of Terror by Chris Priestly – A point to Carl for this wonderful treasure of a book. You can read my thoughts on this one by clicking here.

10. Yarrow by Charles de Lint – I figured it wouldn’t be a RIP challenge without a little Charles de Lint, so I picked up Yarrow. The reason being, it’s subtitled, An Autumn Tale. Couldn’t pass that one up šŸ˜‰

If you’re playing along with Bad Bloggers, please feel free to leave the link to your post in the comments!

10 Responses

  1. You know what…there’s just no way in hell I can fault you for breaking the ban for that one. Just can’t. If Rich didn’t insist on breaking my ban for me, I would definitely be doing it myself. Seriously, I think it would be hazardous to our psyches NOT to own that book, don’t you?

    And you know what, look at your loot overall…I definitely think the ban is making a difference! Even counting library books, you’ve kept it well under your typical 25 or so books. šŸ˜‰

  2. Can’t wait to read your thoughts about Normal. I’ve been learning about so many good GLBT books since starting that challenge!

  3. Now, you see I’m not on a book buying/acquiring ban, and yet I’d still consider this a pretty decent haul! :p

  4. Yay for Normal! I hated Spook, but I really enjoyed Stiff. I haven’t read Bonk, in case it’s more in the Spook vein of things!

    I still haven’t read any Kate DiCamillio. Where should I start?

  5. I didn’t know Bone has a prequel!
    Like Eva I’ve never read DiCamillo too. Where to start? I was completely hooked by Carl’s review too by the way.

  6. I am half way through The Ask and The Answer and I have to say it is as good as the first. Not as fast paced, but I think that is a good thing as The Knife of Never Letting Go, left me breathless.

  7. Ah! Not more to read!!! These always give me so many more books to add to my TBR pile. I scream, but really, it’s always a good thing to have so many wonderful choices. Thanks!

  8. I’ve never done a challenge, but I’m considering finding a good one, because everybody seems to be hosting or participating in more than one. What is Bad Bloggers?

  9. I liked Spook a lot, and I looooooove Charles de Lint! Fun stuff, here…

  10. Good haul! Rose was pretty good. I have read that, but have not ventured into the bigger series yet! I wanted to read Normal, but my library doesn’t have it. And, I am hoping to get Patrick Ness’ book tomorrow… Otherwise, it’s taking too long and the mail will worry me!

Leave a Reply

