Warning: This Post Poses Imminent Danger!

books

Because we all don’t have TBR stacks that are falling over and wishlists that are 20 pages long, I thought I’d put together a list of books that you must read right now!!! And where did I get these books, you might ask? From the ultimate source! Book bloggers!! I recently hosted a giveaway for Dark Harvest (which is going through Saturday, September 19th by the way) and asked people to name a book that everyone should read RIGHT NOW! Here are the answers. I thought it would be fun to see how many of these I’ve actually read too. Turns out that I’ve actually read 11 of them! That’s over 1/3! Anyway…here they all are:

1. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins (recommended twice)

2. Jackdaw Summer by David Almond

3. The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfeld

4. The Ask and the Answer by Patrick Ness

5. Neverwhere by Neil Gaiman

6. Doomsday Book by Connie Willis

7. The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill

8.Complications: A Surgeon’s Notes on an Imperfect Science by Atul Gawande

9. Tigana by Guy Gavriel Kay

10. The Calligrapher’s Daughter by Eugenia Kim

11. The Cave by Steve McGill

12.Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

13. Coraline by Neil Gaiman

14. Watership Down by Richard Adams

15. The Color Purple by Alice Walker

16. Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

17. Nation by Terry Pratchett (recommended twice)

18. A Song of Ice and Fire Series by George R.R. Martin

19. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins

20. The Grand Sophy by Georgette Heyer

21. Perdido Street Station by China Mieville

22. The Night Country by Stewart O’Nan

23. Dead Until Dark by Charlaine Harris

24. The Wave by Todd Strasser

25. Short Girls by Bich Minh Nguyen

26. Worst Nightmares by Shane Briant

27. Dark Sister by Graham Joyce

28. Hex Appeal by Linda Wisdom

29. The Gunslinger by Stephen King

30. Scary Stories to Tell in the Dark by Alvin Schwartz

31. The Knife of Never Letting Go by Patrick Ness (added by me :p)

32. Sucks to Be Me Me by Kimberly Pauley

33. Between Mom and Jo by Julie Ann Peters

12 Responses

  1. You have a Graham Joyce novel on your list. I LOVE GRAHAM JOYCE. I think everyone should read him, even though Dark Sister isn’t my favourite. I think Requiem is my favourite. And oh … Tigana. I tell EVERYONE to read Tigana.
    Um.
    In the words of David Cassidy, in fact, I think I love you.
    A little bit.
    Also yes, your list is evil 🙂

  2. Well, I didn’t nominate it on the giveaway, but I really must push for Between Mom and Jo by Julie Anne Peters. It’s so so so so good! Better by far than TKONLG! And I say that in the nicest way possible. I think it even stripped out The Hunger Games for me…

  3. Maree, I can see that you love Graham Joyce, lol. I’m definitely going to try him out!! Putting Requiem on my list now!! And I really must read Tigana!! I just love the cover that I linked to, it’s gorgeous! Sorry for the evil list 🙂

    Amanda, Better than TKONLG! Well then, I must read it! Onto the list it goes! I’m going to go ahead and edit this post and put it on there! You’ve been talking about that book so much that I REALLY have to read it!!!

  4. Because we are all into the RIP challenge I think our book “must reads” were mostly one type of book.. now you need to ask for a must read book “outside” of Carl’s challenge of RIP books lol

  5. I love book lists- but this one is great because I have only read three of these. Must put some library books on hold…

  6. Yay! I have the Book of Negroes. I think it’s called Someone Knows my name in the U.S.

  7. Hmmmm…

    Only five for me.

    The rest will have to wait until I can buy books.

    Have I mentioned that the library here is seriously lacking?

    cjh

  8. Well I score 7 1/2 😀 (The Half being TKONLG which I’m reading at the moment!

  9. Great list! Hunger Games is excellent and is very much a must read!

  10. Damn…I can’t even yell at you…you did warn us of the danger. I can’t believe how many on that list I’ve never even heard of! But I fully applaud your addition to the list!!!!

  11. What a great idea for a post! Pinning it now so I can mine it for TBRness. 🙂

  12. […] Chris at Stuff As Dreams Are Made On has a list of 33 books we should all read right now. (I’ve read 8 so […]

Leave a Reply

