Friday Rambles

What a week it’s been, huh? I have to say that this may have been the most busy week of my life in every category imaginable!! We’re in the middle of a move to our new house right now. I know I’ve gotten some new readers since BBAW started, so the quick version of the story is that my house flooded during Hurricane Katrina in 2005 and had to be knocked down and rebuilt. 4 years later we are FINALLY moving in!! I sent out a mass email last night giving everyone my new address. If I missed you and you want it for some reason, just ask and I’ll be more than happy to pass it along! For those that I did send the email to you, thank you so much for the sweet replies that I unexpectedly got back 🙂 But needless to say, the move has been hectic and we haven’t even started moving yet! I think it’s just the idea of a move that’s stressful. Seriously, you should see my boxes of books all packed up :p I haven’t even started packing my room yet..scary. And we’re moving like next weekend!

On top of that, I work at a psyc hospital and it has been crazy there this week. And I mean crazy in every sense of the word. I just can’t get over how busy it has been lately. It’s really quite sad. Not only has our volume increased, but the acuity of the patients who have come in has been pretty severe. The stories are more sad than usual. My heart goes out to all of these people and I’ve just felt so worn down this week. But so energized at the same time to be able to help them and get them on their feet. It’s a really weird conflict of emotions. Hard to put into words. And then there’s just the sheer exhaustion that comes along with it, but I swear, this isn’t meant to be a bitch session.

The best thing about this week has been Book Blogger Appreciation Week!!!! I can’t believe that it’s the last day already 😦 I participated so much more this year than I did last year and it’s just been so much fun! I can’t get over all the new people that have come by to visit me and to those people I’d like to say “hello!! Please come back 🙂 You’ve made me happy!” And I’ve met so many new to me amazing bloggers myself. Seriously, I think my google reader may just explode. It’s just been a big book blogging love fest and I can’t give enough thanks to Amy for all of the incredible work that she put into this. I can’t even fathom putting something of this caliber together. Literally, can’t imagine doing it. You’re my hero Amy! Absolutely amazing!! You mean the world to us!!! I have so much love for this community and I just want you all to know that!

And just for fun, I thought I’d do Friday Fill-Ins this week:

1. My car is my best friend….it plays me music and drives me around when I need to chill out.

2. The 24 Hour Read-a-Thon is coming up next. Who’s got a stack of books picked out already?

3. Lately, things seem like pure f@#$ing chaos .

4. My bed is one of my favorite ‘hiding’ places.

5. What happened to my books is that they all got packed into boxes and now I can’t look at them and that makes me very sad 😦.

6. Making it through even the hardest situations in life is not impossible!

7. And as for the weekend, tonight I’m looking forward to chillaxin’, tomorrow my plans include f@$#ing work and Sunday, I want to watch the Saints game and chilax some more!

11 Responses

  1. Thank you for the e-mail – I’m glad that you made sure we’ll all be able to continue to stalk you 😉 Seriously now, I was happy to hear you’ll be moving at last, Chris! I hope you all get settled in soon. I can’t even imagine handling a busy time at work, a move, and BBAW at the same time! You’re secretly a superhero, aren’t you?

  2. I’m sorry work’s been so rough lately. 😦 That just makes me sad on so many levels.

    And I certainly don’t envy you all the packing and lugging! Goodness knows that Rich and I have moved so many times that I know full well what a pain it is. But on the other hand, I am so happy for you and your family!!! I’m sure the big word that keeps popping in your head is “FINALLY.” And the house really is beautiful, and just think how fun it will be digging all your books out of the boxes and finding new homes for them. Oooo…I think I’m actually am starting to envy you a little there. 😉 Anyway, I hope the move goes smoothly, and you that you’re all settled happily in soon.

  3. It’s so nice to get to know you a little better, Chris.

    PS – I still need you to email me about where you want me to send those books. 😀

  4. Congrats on the move! And I’m sending good thoughts your way for y’all’s patients. Without going into my multi-part rant about how much more money Louisiana needs to be allocating to mental health, I’ll just say that I’ve been volunteering at a suicide hotline since about two weeks after Katrina, and I am glad that your patients are getting the care they need. I hope you’re taking care of yourself too!

  5. I’m sorry to hear about the work stuff. That’s gotta be draining in every way possible. I’m glad you had a good BBAW, though, and I second your kudos to Amy. She did an utterly amazing job!

  6. That’s so so exciting! I can’t wait to hear more about your new house! I know what you mean about your work. I work at a rape crisis center and counseling facility and it seems like there are more and more girls who come in every day, more and more people calling our hotline every week. It’s such a draining field to be in and I’m just an assistant! Not a counselor! You do such wonderful work, never forget that! We all need to be reminded sometimes 🙂

  7. I’m so excited for you and your family!!! I hope you include lots of pics once everything’s set up. 🙂 Of course, moving is a stresser up there with death in the family, so I completely sympathise! I usually end up donating a *ton* of stuff to charity every time I move, because I’m disgusted with my amount of possessions. And then later I always miss a few things!

  8. Nymeth, It’s been a crazy week, but a very fun week!! And please continue to stalk away 🙂

    Debi, I know..it makes me sad too that work’s been so busy 😦 I don’t like to see so many sick people!! Next time you come down here, you can come visit at the new house and we’ll make you a big ole pot of gumbo!!! But we’ll have to find some way to do a vegetarian gumbo :p I’m sure we can work something out, lol.

    Amanda, Thanks 🙂 You’re one of those people that make me feel so comfortable that I feel like I’ve known you forever! I keep forgetting that we really just met, lol. I’ll email you as soon as I have my friend’s address. I haven’t talked to her in a few days because our schedules have both been chaotic, but should talk to her soon!

    Jenny, That’s so sweet that you volunteer for the suicide hotline!!! I’ve probably referred quite a few people to you 🙂 We really do need money and resources down here. The mental health system is pathetic!!! The hospital I work at is really the only mental health hospital left in southern louisiana now that they’ve closed NOAH. It’s pathetic. And we’re a private hospital which means most can’t afford us unless they have insurance which not everyone does. So so sad. And they just keep getting rid of resources instead of adding them. I really don’t get it! Thanks for all you do though!!

    Memory, Didn’t she do a fantastic job!! Work is work…it’s just sad to see so many sick people, but they’re getting better and that’s what counts!

    Lu, Super excited about the new house!! It’s just gorgeous!! We’re loving it 🙂 I don’t know what’s been going on in society lately, but it just seems like things have been really rough lately. Sorry to hear that you’ve been seeing an influx in clients as well. Thanks for all you do Lu!!! Those girls need you!

    Eva, Thanks 😀 We’re super excited!! It’s exhausting, but a good kind of exhausting 🙂 I’m definitely going to be sending some stuff to good will!

  9. Wow, certainly sounds like things have been crazy lately! Hope the craziness gets better soon, and it’s very exciting that you’re able to move into the new house soon!!

    Also: will be asking for your address closer to Christmas, along with a number of other awesome bloggers, to send cards to, so you can wait for that, or send it to me now if you want, whatever. Unless you don’t want a Christmas card, of course. 🙂

  10. Good luck with the move! Having just moved at the beginning of summer, I feel for you. I hope you get settled in soon.

  11. Yay for moving back home!

    I’ve had a great time this week…Amy is definitely The Best!

Leave a Reply

