BBAW Giveaway #3 – A Literary Trip To New Orleans!

BBAWCelebrateBooks

So for my third and final BBAW giveaway, I figured I’d do a literary trip to New Orleans and give away 3 books set in New Orleans that cover a variety of topics. I love my city. I really do. I know that I couldn’t live in another place for very long. I’ve never moved away from here. I was born here, raised here and the longest I’ve spent away from the city was about 6 months after hurricane Katrina when I lived in Baton Rouge which is only about 45 minutes away :p There’s something about this city that is just fantastic. The atmosphere, the food, the culture, the music, the people, the lazy lifestyle…it’s all just wonderful. So I thought I’d share that with you through literature. Here’s what I’m giving away in this prize pack:

cityofliquorvoodooseason

1. City of Refuge by Tom Piazza – This is an amazing book. It’s a fictional account of Hurricane Katrina, but there’s so much accuracy there that it might as well be non-fiction. I’ve never read another book that gets it right better than this book. The dialects, the food, the people, the neighborhoods…everything is described perfectly. My review of this one can be found here.

2. Liquor by Poppy Z. Brite – I haven’t actually read this one, but I own it. So if it disappoints, I apologize. Poppy is one of my favorite local authors though. I really wanted to give away Lost Souls because it’s one of my favorites of her’s but I figured it may be a little risque for some people’s tastes. This may be too, but I heard that it’s more calm than most of her books. It centers around the restaurant lifestyle in New Orleans I believe. In fact..if you’d rather Lost Souls and you win, just let me know, and I’ll send you that one instead 😉

3. Voodoo Season by Jewell Parker Rhodes – I love this book!!!! It’s so good!! It’s a fictional murder/mystery tale set in New Orleans that centers around voodoo and a descendand of Marie Laveau. So good!! Another one that’s very accurate in it’s descriptions of New Orleans and the surrounding cities. I think everyone should read this book. My review is here.

Please enter this giveaway even if you’ve read one of these books!! You can always give one of them away as a gift 🙂 To enter, just answer the following questions in the comments or do your own post answering the questions and leave a link to the post in the comments.

1. Do you have a favorite book that’s set in a certain location where the location plays a central role and if so, what is that book?

2. Have you visited any new locations due to blogging that you wouldn’t have gone to otherwise? (for conferences, to meet up with other bloggers, for conventions, etc.)

3. Do you have a favorite independent bookstore in your city?

4. Any cool authors born in your city?

5. Any cool books set in your city that we should all read?

While you’re here, don’t forget to enter my other two giveaways to win a copy of Dark Harvest and The Complete Bone!! I’ll be drawing winners for all three giveaways this Sunday!!

31 Responses

  1. 1. In Persuasion, Bath plays a big role. 🙂
    2. Nope. No money=no blogging conferences! But when I’m healthy and have a job, there are definitely some bloggers I plan on visiting!
    3. Yep-Poor Richard’s. It’s a used bookstore/cafe (with an awesome tea selection)/restaurant (w/ gluten free pizza!)
    4. I don’t think so, but it’s not my hometown so I don’t know for sure.
    5. Not that I can think of. :/ There is the Booked to Die hard-boiled book-ish mystery series set up in Denver!

  2. 1. Q & A – the novel that Slumdog Millionaire was based on. India is very central to that novel.

    2. No, but I’d like to 😀

    3. Browse Around Books – it’s a secondhand bookstore, but he also orders new books if you ask 😀

    4. I wish. No. Sigh.

    5. Not that I know of … although parts of Dreamhunter by Elizabeth Knox is set in the province I live in, but I’m not sure that counts.

  3. 1. My favorite book is A Fine Balance set in Bombay/Mumbai. Location and the apartment that the characters live in are absolutely key.
    2. No. But I wish I had the funds to do so.
    3. Yes. Maria’s Bookstore. LOVE it.
    4. Not that I know of, but Louis L’amour wrote here and his family has a ranch here.
    5. ??? But some of Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid was filmed here. 🙂

    Love the giveaway!!

  4. One thing about it Chris, you make a person work to enter a giveaway!!

    1. One of my very favorite books is Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil. It’s set in the city of Savannah, GA. I can’t remember the last book I read where the city was such a central part of the book. Fantastic!

    2. Not yet! I hope to get to either BEA or Comic-Con (or both) in the next couple of years. I had planned on BEA next year, and still might be able to swing it. But Chad just got a great opportunity to study in Scotland/Ireland/England for 6 weeks next summer. I don’t yet know how much tuition is going to cost or if I can get him some type of scholarship. I have a feeling my BEA money might be going oversees this year! Yeah for him. 😦 for me!

    3. We don’t have any local independant stores at all (unless you count some funky used stores.)

    4. Dan Simmons is from Peoria. If you ever read the book Summer of Night, it takes place in a small town outside of Peoria. There are lots of local things used in the book. Oh, Betty Friedan, who wrote The Feminine Mystique was from Peoria too.

    5. See above!! I just picked up a huge tome called Pearls from Peoria. Short stories, but I have no idea how they relate to the city. Other than that, I doubt it. Peoria is pretty boring!

  5. 1. The Witch of Blackbird Pond is set in Wethersfield, Connecticut and Old Saybrook, i.e. New England. Always wanted to visit and do what Kit Tyler did…run through the meadows.
    2. Nope. My church mouse status nicks my wanderlust.
    3. We don’t have indy bookstores. Just the giant corps. I thought indy bookstores were a myth…like Bigfoot.
    4. Francesca Lia Block, author of Weetzie Bat. I’m tempted to say Raymond Chandler since he’s the face of L.A. Noir, but he was born in Chicago.
    5. White Oleander, The Big Sleep, Farewell, My Lovely, L.A. Confidential. I guess L.A. Candy by Lauren Conrad if you consider that ‘a book.’

  6. 1) Memoirs of a Geisha is one of my favorite books and the Japanese setting is sort of essential. 😉
    2) I’m going to the Library of congress for the first time next week!
    3) My closest independent bookstore is Vromans and it’s also the best I’ve been to.
    4) I don’t think so.
    5) My “city” is pretty much ignored by the world. But I am always on the look-out for books about or set in my hometown which is St. Louis.

  7. You do live in one unbelievably awesome city!!! I only spent two days there, but I fell totally in love. Of course, that opinion may be slightly influenced by the incredibly special company I had while there. 😀

    1. Honestly, the very first book that came to mind is The Graveyard Book…how could you not fall in love with that setting?!!
    2. Though I’ve long wanted to see New Orleans, I can honestly say that I would not have been there yet if not for wanting to meet a certain, very much loved by me, blogger! 😀
    3. Sadly, no.
    4. There are several authors born here (I know from a pamphlet I got from the library one time), but I’ve never read any of them. No huge names that I can recall. (Though honestly, I’m not sure if I really yet consider Rochester my hometown. And the little town where I grew up only has a population of a couple hundred with no authors among them.)
    5. I haven’t read any. But there is a series I’d love to try sometime. They’re by Phillip Tomasso (hope I spelled his name correctly). They’re supposedly mysteries with a supernatural twist.

  8. hey Chris: I am not entering your giveaway but you know i have to try to answer the questions anyway!
    1. Do you have a favorite book that’s set in a certain location where the location plays a central role and if so, what is that book?
    There are many because I love books that take place in England, especially England of old, before the 1900’s! Two favorite books I can think of off hand would the The Thirteenth Tale by Diane Setterfield and Touchstone by Laurie R King

    2. Have you visited any new locations due to blogging that you wouldn’t have gone to otherwise? (for conferences, to meet up with other bloggers, for conventions, etc.)
    No conferences.. no conventions…but I’ve visited more cemetaries than I ever have before since getting involved with book blogs! (thank you Carl!)

    3. Do you have a favorite independent bookstore in your city?
    Well, not a favorite as I haven’t gotten around much but have discovered on store not far from me, what I like is that it has both new and used books!

    4. Any cool authors born in your city?
    Nah.. it’s not “cool” to live in florida! (oops, I believe Piers Anthony lives somewhere in fla lol )

    5. Any cool books set in your city that we should all read?
    No again. Not in Vero Beach anyway.. i would assume there might be a book or two around concerning alligators in okeechobee swamp area though.

  9. You know, I wasn’t a big fan of New Orleans when I was there visiting Tulane in 1996. It was so hot and humid, and I like cold and dry weather. Humidity and heat both overwhelm me. I’d love to visit New Orleans in the winter when it’s not so oppressive. Those books sound interesting. So here are my answers:

    1. Recently I read Baking Cakes in Kigali, which takes place in Rwanda. The setting was of course very important, and I loved learning about the different cultures that had congregated there.

    2. Not yet, but I do hope to travel and meet some of you guys sometime. 🙂

    3. Sadly, I know no independent bookstores in my city. I know there’s one tucked back near Brackenridge Park that specializes in out of print books, but I don’t know if it’s even open anymore.

    4. I don’t know if Rick Riordan was BORN in San Antonio, but I know he lives here and says he’s from SA, so that’s close enough for me. He’s the only author I know from here.

    5. I don’t know that I’ve ever read a book set in San Antonio. I’m not a big fan of my city, so I sort of avoid it. I like northern-set books. 🙂

  10. I loved City of Refuge – my review just went up today. If I win, I’ll have you give that one away to another reader since I already own it. 🙂
    1. The Poisonwood Bible, set in Africa. The location is a HUGE part of the book. And it’s a wonderful book.

    2. Not yet, but I’d love to next year if possible. I have so little vacation time so it’s hard to get away for that stuff!

    3. I don’t. 😦 I’ve visited independent bookstores in other cities, but not where I live.

    4. Not that I know of…

    5. Umm, not exactly in my city. But the Screwed Up Life of Charlie the Second takes place in Crystal Lake, Illinois, which is about 20 miles from me. Does that count?

    thanks for the giveaway!

  11. 1. GONE WITH THE WIND…Tara!

    2. Sadly no

    3. The Book Nook

    4. Not that I know of

    5. Not that I know of, sorry

  12. I am officially in love with this giveaway. I’ve never been there, but New Orleans is one of my favourite literary cities. Everything’s just a little bit better in New Orleans.

    1. Well, THE VAMPIRE LESTAT is one of my top books of all time, and I think Anne Rice is tops at evoking whichever setting she turns her hand to. There are some amazing settings in that book, including Paris and New Orleans, and they come vividly to life.

    2. I haven’t gone anywhere on account of blogging (yet), but when I was little I begged my parents to take me to DeSmet, SD, because I loved Laura Ingalls Wilder so much.

    3. Definitely McNally Robinson. They’re amazing, and they also have a great cafe. I love hitting McNally for a meal and some book browsing.

    4. Andrew Davidson, who wrote THE GARGOYLE, is from here. So is Carol Shields, who’s enjoyed a lot of attention from those who enjoy Deep Meaningful Literature.

    5. THE REPUBLIC OF LOVE by Carol Shields is pretty good, but I don’t know that it’s a must-read. I can’t think of any really amazing books set in Winnipeg. It’s not a terribly atmospheric city, unfortunately. 🙂

  13. Man, you’re making us work here. that’s a LOT of questions!
    1. Midnight in the Garden of Good and Evil
    2. I met up with a few blogger friends on a beach in Falmouth Cape Cod Mass and I met book-blogger Jaspreet/BeastMomma at IKEA then we went to a new-to-us restaurant in Canton MA. I love turning imaginary friends into real ones. 🙂
    3. Not in my lil town but Bakers Books in Dartmouth MA is awesome.
    4.&5. NO IDEA about cool authors in my town but the next town over features an author and location that I have yet to read but WILL soon for the Literary Road Trip. She was cool enough to sign the book for me when I bought it at the local book cafe (which now that I think of it – is a cool place for books and coffee…)

  14. I love Poppy Z Brite, Liquor is brilliant, Lost Souls is my favourite too and I read most of exquisite corpse with my eyes half closed, which doesn’t work so well as it does with movies.

  15. 1. Do you have a favorite book that’s set in a certain location where the location plays a central role and if so, what is that book?

    Does London Below, count? ;o)

    2. Have you visited any new locations due to blogging that you wouldn’t have gone to otherwise? (for conferences, to meet up with other bloggers, for conventions, etc.)

    Not blogging no, but along with a friend we took another friend who was visiting the states on mad whistle-stop Harry Potter (film) sites.

    3. Do you have a favorite independent bookstore in your city?

    I’ve recently come across a fabulous one, set in an old wool mill, that for some weird reason I had never been to before.

    4. Any cool authors born in your city?

    Ahem, well there was a group of sisters that dabbled in writing a little bit. You might have heard of the Brontes I think? 😉

    5. Any cool books set in your city that we should all read?

    Well, Bill Bryson stopped by in his Notes from a Small Island!

  16. I love your choices in books. Thanks!
    1. Do you have a favorite book that’s set in a certain location where the location plays a central role and if so, what is that book?
    I love the book My Antonia by Willa Cather it is set in the midwest plain states. I love the location because it is the heartland of the US and reminded me of Laura Ingalls Wilder’s books but with an adult twist.

    2. Have you visited any new locations due to blogging that you wouldn’t have gone to otherwise? (for conferences, to meet up with other bloggers, for conventions, etc.)Nope not yet.
    A
    3. Do you have a favorite independent bookstore in your city?
    There is this little mom and pop used books store in Scottsdale, AZ called The Book Tree. Its the best.

    4. Any cool authors born in your city?
    Not that I know of – its too hot here to be born here. 🙂

    5. Any cool books set in your city that we should all read?
    Not that I know of but there are a few in Las Vegas which has a similar climate like Scent of Shadows by Vicki Petersen.

  17. Hi ! I would like to enter the contest !

    1. Shadow of the Wind – Carlos Ruiz Zafon

    2. nope!

    3. Yes – i live in lisbon, and i love to discover new bookstores. One of my favourites is “Po dos Livros” (Book’s dust)

    4. João Barreiros – one of the few sci-fi portuguese writers

    5. None that i can recall

  18. 1. Do you have a favorite book that’s set in a certain location where the location plays a central role and if so, what is that book?
    I sort of think the Harry Potter series, because Hogwarts is so important to the story. Plus several people have already mentioned!

    2. Have you visited any new locations due to blogging that you wouldn’t have gone to otherwise? (for conferences, to meet up with other bloggers, for conventions, etc.)
    Not yet.

    3. Do you have a favorite independent bookstore in your city?
    Magers and Quinn is in the Uptown area of Minneapolis. We are fortunate to have a few to pick from.

    4. Any cool authors born in your city?
    I’m not positive about born here, but there are many that reside here. (Robert Alexander, Kate DiCamillo, Monica Ferris, Heather McElhatton, Lorna Landvik, Faith Sullivan,

    5. Any cool books set in your city that we should all read?
    Patty Jane’s House of Curl. Monkeewrench. Betsy’s Wedding.

    Thanks for such a fun giveaway! They all look great.

  19. 1. Do you have a favorite book that’s set in a certain location where the location plays a central role and if so, what is that book? – I’m kind of surprising myself by choosing this one, but I’d have to say No Great Mischief by Alistair MacLeod set on Cape Breton.

    2. Have you visited any new locations due to blogging that you wouldn’t have gone to otherwise? (for conferences, to meet up with other bloggers, for conventions, etc.) – Not yet.

    3. Do you have a favorite independent bookstore in your city? – Well, I don’t really have a city, I’ve got a very small town. There is only one indie bookstore, so it kind of has to be my favorite doesn’t it? Oh well, it’s called the Cloak and Dragon Bookstore, it I’m not mistaken, and it’s got a lot of (surprise!) fantasy leanings. I’d like it even if it wasn’t the only one, I mean, it has a section entirely devoted to vampires. Who couldn’t appreciate that? 😉

    4. Any cool authors born in your city? – Not that I know of.

    5. Any cool books set in your city that we should all read? – Again, none that I know of.

  20. 1) Not that I can think of, but I’m notoriously bad at choosing favourites.

    2) No.

    3) There aren’t any bookstores in my hometown, but the city I went to university in had one called Books & Company that I really liked.

    4) Not that I know of.

    5) Not that I know of.

    I have a feeling my answers might be disappointing. I guess that’s one of the perils of living in a small town.

  21. Dude, why do you make me work for these giveaways? :-b

    1. Bread Alone, set in Seattle.

    2. Downtown San Jose, for Book Group Expo…not a place I normally frequent. And the UCLA campus for Festival of Books…I’ve been to LA lots, but not UCLA’s campus.

    3. Unfortunately, no. I wish I lived in Portland.

    4. Not that I know of. But Christopher Moore used to live in this county.

    5. The Lust Lizard of Melancholy Cove is set in a fictional version of a nearby town…that’s the coolest I can get.

  22. This is a great giveaway! I have actually always wanted to visit New Orleans so books are the next best thing.

    1. Do you have a favorite book that’s set in a certain location where the location plays a central role and if so, what is that book?

    I thought immediately of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society; the island and what happened on it is very important to the story.

    2. Have you visited any new locations due to blogging that you wouldn’t have gone to otherwise? (for conferences, to meet up with other bloggers, for conventions, etc.)

    Not yet! I’m going to BEA in NYC but it’s only an hour away from my parents’ house, so it’s not a new location for me.

    3. Do you have a favorite independent bookstore in your city?

    If I had a city that I managed to live in for a while, it would help with this question! When I lived in Waltham, Mass., there was a great indie bookstore run by a couple graduates of my college. They had awesome author events and a great selection, neither of which I’ve found since I left.

    4. Any cool authors born in your city?

    Not that I know about, although I’m sure there are a few in all of the cities I’ve lived in.

    5. Any cool books set in your city that we should all read?

    Well, for this one I’ll use the city that I’m living in now! Well, for the next three days. There are loads of books set in York. The best I’ve read is The Apothecary Rose by Candace Robb. It’s set in the medieval period and I know the medieval layout of York very well; reading this book was like walking the streets.

  23. 1. Do you have a favorite book that’s set in a certain location where the location plays a central role and if so, what is that book?

    A: One of my favorite reads from last year, Life of Pi by Yann Martel, used the Atlantic Ocean as the setting, and it practically became a character in the story. A very good read.

    2. Have you visited any new locations due to blogging that you wouldn’t have gone to otherwise? (for conferences, to meet up with other bloggers, for conventions, etc.)

    A: No. Not yet, anyway.

    3. Do you have a favorite independent bookstore in your city?

    A: City? Nowhere near a city, I’m afraid. The closest independent bookstore for a hillbilly like me is a shop called The Inside Story.

    4. Any cool authors born in your city?

    A: City again? Not even close. Best broaden it to province, in which case I can name John Stiles and Bill Jessome off the top of my head.

    5. Any cool books set in your city that we should all read?

    A: I wish. So far, none I’ve cared to read. That may change at any time if I get pointed in the right direction.

  24. Oh my gosh, I have just found THE best giveaway of the week. Girl, I love N’Orleans. I would love to read all of these, and can you include a box of Bengies from Cafe du Monde? (anybody know how to spell beniey?) You know, those little puffy doughnut like things that make your mouth go crazy?

    1. My goal this year was to read most books by foreign authors or set in foreign locations so I have been traveling all year. I guess my favorite was Sara’s Key which was set in Paris. All through the book I could picture where they were, what the street or area looked like, since I had been there and was very familiar with the area.
    2. No, blogs have not sent me physically to any new locations
    3. My city is so small, there are no independent bookstores, there are hardly any chain bookstores, but every time I travel, I search them out. Here is a quick plug for The Poisoned Pen in Scottsdale, AZ. (I live in Alabama)
    4. No authors here that I know of unless you are talking about college text books.
    5. Who would write about Auburn, AL? There are some cool books about football set here, but doubt anyone would want to read them.

  25. 1. The 19th Wife by David Ebershoff – the area around Salt Lake City really played a prominent role in the novel.

    2. No.

    3. We used to have an independent bookstore that I loved but it shut down a few years ago and we are now limited to only 2 small chain stores.

    4. I don`t know of any particularly well-known authors from my hometown.

    5. Beyond the Sky and the Earth by Jamie Zeppa is worth a read. She is originally from my hometown but wrote this memoir after living in Asia.

  26. Wow, very cool giveaway!

    1. I think that would be Umberto Eco’s The Name of the Rose. The monastery and its labyrinthic library play a very big role in it.

    2. No, unfortunately 😦 Although I’d love to meet the other book bloggers if I could.

    3. Err, no bookstores in my town, actually. It’s a small village and it seems not so many people buy books. Anyway, we have plenty of supermarkets, and they do sell books, even though they don’t have a wide selection; they only have the most recent bestsellers, cookbooks, and some Danielle Steele and books for small children. We do have a good library, though.

    4. Not that I know of. My town is pretty small, anyway. There are no real authors, famous or otherwise. Unless you count the local History teachers who have written chronacles of how life used to be in our town during the Roman period (yes, our town is an ancient Roman settling).

    5. Not that I know of. Unless you count those books about our town under the Roman domination, that is, and I don’t.

  27. Too cool! I’ve been wanting to read Voodoo Season since first reading your great review of it.

    1. Do you have a favorite book that’s set in a certain location where the location plays a central role and if so, what is that book?
    Dan Simmons has a book called ‘Song Of Kali’ that was set in Calcutta, excellent book that actually won a World Fantasy Award in the late 80’s. But anyway reading that book led me to do some research on Eastern India and it is one of the places on the top of my must-visit list!

    2. Have you visited any new locations due to blogging that you wouldn’t have gone to otherwise?
    Sadly, no. But after hearing about the past BEA and other events perhaps that will change soon 🙂

    3. Do you have a favorite independent bookstore in your city?
    I’d have to say all the second-hand bookshops in my area. Although I do buy new books quite a bit, I like the green-friendly aspect of used books, and having stores that accept books for resale saves our landfills from thousands of tons of waste.

    4. Any cool authors born in your city?
    The 2 that come to mind right away are Steve Vernon and Helen Creighton. Both have written/edited excellent books on folklore local to the area.

    5. Any cool books set in your city that we should all read?
    If you are interested in folklore or ghosty type non-fiction I would highly recommend Helen Creightons’ Bluenose Magic and Steve Vernons’ Halifax Haunts.

  28. 1. Armistead Maupin’s “Tales of the City” books are practically one long love letter to San Francisco. I moved there when I went to college. I visit my city by rereading the books every few years.

    2. I did go to Haworth in England to visit the Bronte home, more becuase of them than because of any one of their books.

    3,4,5 are all no’s sadly. I now live in a small town without any of these.

  29. What a wonderful giveaway, Chris! These books sound fantastic!

    1. The graveyard in The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman certainly plays an integral role in the story.

    2. Sadly, no, although I’m very tempted to try to go to Book Expo next year.

    3. Again, sadly no. It’s only a couple of the bigger chain stores in Tokyo that stock a decent amount of English books. I actually do most of my book buying from The Book Depository.

    4. Banana Yoshimoto

    5. Out by Natsuo Kirino, The Wind-up Bird Chronicle by Haruki Murakami, Beyond the Blossoming Fields by Jun’ichi Watanabe, and so on… 🙂

  30. Just stopping by to say I like your theme for this giveaway. 🙂

  31. 1. Hmm Actually I can’t think of one off the top of my head…

    2. Haven’t been to any new locations from blogging yet.. however, I travel A LOT on my own..

    3. I have heard that there are a lot of great little independent bookstore downtown but thats about 1 hour plus drive one way..

    4. Technical not in the city I live in because only a a couple hundred people live here.

    5. Hm yeah see above for the answer.

Leave a Reply

