BBAW Giveaway #2 – Spreading the Graphic Novel Love!

BBAWCelebrateBooks

bone_jeff_smithI was so honored to be short listed for best graphic novel review blog this year during BBAW!! Honored and surprised! I wouldn’t consider myself a graphic novel review blog, though I have reviewed about 20 graphic novels this year…so I guess I’m headed there :p I also review a fair amount of books with art in them, so I guess I tend to focus on a lot of those types of things. I just love the medium as a story telling device. It’s a great way to tackle any genre of literature be it fiction or non-fiction and we’re seeing the medium travel into new places every day. There’s literally something out there for everyone these days. 10 years ago, I could understand there being people who said “comics just aren’t for me”, but now, there really is something for everyone. There’s one series that I’ve started recently that I absolutely adore and I think it embodies everything that this blog is meant to be about. It’s a fantasy, it’s humorous, it’s a feel good book, it’s emotional at times, it’s cute at times, it’s scary and horrific at times. It’s Bone by Jeff Smith. And there’s an edition out that collects the entire series. You can read my review of the first volume of the series here. I’d like to give one person a copy of that book. I’m going to give it away in the same format that I did the other day! Simply answer the following questions either in the comments or write your own post on your blog and link back to it in the comments:

1. Name a graphic novel that you love (your favorite) or if you haven’t read one, one that you’d like to read.

2. Do you have a favorite graphic novel artist/writer?

3. Why do you think some people are reluctant to read graphic novels and what would you recommend to someone who is reluctant to read them?

4. What’s the best graphic novel/comic book movie adaptation you’ve seen?

5. Do you use the term “graphic novel” or “comic” and why?

6. What was the first graphic novel you read? Was it the reason you kept reading them or did it take a few more to interest you?

Special thanks to Amy, Eva, and Kelly for the twitter help on the questions 😉

23 Responses

  1. 1. I loved Bayou and Incognegro! Oh, and Shaun Tan’s work, although I’m not sure that they’re GN.

    2. If Shaun Tan counts, definitely him! I really like Alison Bechdel’s drawing style.

    3. I know for myself, I didn’t grow up reading comics, so a lot of the art styles turn me off. I’m slowly adjusting to the more ‘traditional’ style (I really enjoyed Fables Vol. One!), but I still prefer different styles. I think I’d recommend either Shaun Tan or, for the sake of variety, Plain Janes to a newbie to the genre. But it would totally depend on their reading habits-I’d want to pick a GN that meshed with their general interests!

    4. I don’t think I’ve seen one! I tried Watchmen, but the violence turned me off. I think I’d prefer an adaptation of a non-comic-book-style GN.

    5. I use the term graphic novel (or memoir!), because that’s what everyone was calling them when I started reading them. 🙂 I’m a newbie to the genre myself, but to me comic is a certain style of artwork. And in an informal poll, my mom thinks graphic novel is a better name too! 🙂

    6. Preludes & Noctures, the first in the Sandman series. Honestly, I didn’t like it that much at all. If I hadn’t had bloggy friends pushing me to try out more GNs, I probably would have simply stopped reading them altogether.

  2. Chris, darn it, you have hooked me. I wasn’t going to enter any giveaways but I can’t help myself with this one. I’ve yet to read the full Bone series, but anything I’ve read of it I’ve adored. I warn you though: I get a little carried away when it comes to graphic novels. This may be an exceedingly long comment.

    1. My favourite graphic novel, hands down, is Lost at Sea by Bryan Lee O’Malley. I loved it immediately, got it from the library and then halfway through bought my own copy. Just loved it to pieces, and I’ve re-read it a couple times this year.

    2. Just one is hard… but I might have to say O’Malley again. His mix of humour, emotional depth, and great/cute art will win every time with me. But to publicize someone else, I’ll throw in a mention for the manga artist group CLAMP, of Cardcaptor Sakura and xxxHolic fame. I don’t like every series they’ve written but the series that I do like, I love.

    3. This is an excellent question. I think a lot of it, in North America at least, has to do with the perception of graphic novels (or comics or what have you) as being for kids. At the library I will often get people telling me that they want their kids to read “real books” and if I don’t think they’ll be offended, I take them over to the gn section and talk them through some of the adult titles, or some of the more “literary” (blech, I do hate categorizing like that) kids’ titles, like gn adaptations of Shakespearean plays, for example. Like with any book recommendation, it really depends on the person asking which gn I will hand to them, but I’ve used Skim by Mariko Tamaki, Bone by Jeff Smith, Amulet by Kazu Kibuishi, Blankets by Craig Thompson, Louis Riel by Chester Brown, It’s A Good Life, If You Don’t Weaken by Seth, and of course Lost at Sea. If they’re reluctant because they think gns are for kids, I do steer away from the more comic/cartoony look, and let them discover those later.

    4. Um, this is tricky because I don’t watch a lot of movies, especially movies based on books I like. I really enjoyed the first X-Men movie, I guess, but I never read the X-Men comics, so does that count? I loved the anime series based on CLAMP’s Cardcaptor Sakura but that’s not really a movie… I’m cautiously looking forward to the Scott Pilgrim movie, despite the fact that Michael Cera (though wonderful) couldn’t possibly ever be my idea of Scott Pilgrim.

    5. I use the term graphic novel, usually, or manga if it fits in that category. I do like the term, although I know a lot of people feel that it’s trying to “trick” people into reading things they wouldn’t read if they were called “comics” out of some misplaced sense of superiority. But I think if it uses pictures (graphics) to tell a story, and it’s a novel, then… call it a graphic novel, sure, and it gets around the stigma associated with the word “comic.”

    6. I… can’t remember? It was that long ago. Wait, let me go look on the bookshelf… Aha! I think we can suggest that kid koala’s nufonia must fall might have been my first? It comes with a music cd, too. I’d forgotten we had that — I think I’ll have to read it again.

  3. I like it when you review graphic novels. You are one of the few book blogs that I follow that does. So keep it up.

    1. Name a graphic novel that you love (your favorite) or if you haven’t read one, one that you’d like to read.
    Currently reading You Have Killed Me by Jamie S. Rich and Joelle Jones

    2. Do you have a favorite graphic novel artist/writer?
    Not yet. I need to read some more graphic novels before I select a favorite.

    3. Why do you think some people are reluctant to read graphic novels and what would you recommend to someone who is reluctant to read them?
    People tend to think that they are comics and childish. I would probably end up recommending a few graphic novels to them that are similar to the books they normally read.

    4. What’s the best graphic novel/comic book movie adaptation you’ve seen?
    Sin City.

    5. Do you use the term “graphic novel” or “comic” and why?
    Graphic novel. It’s more sophisticated 🙂

    6. What was the first graphic novel you read? Was it the reason you kept reading them or did it take a few more to interest you?
    I think the first one I read was the Stephen King Dark Tower graphic novels. I was a big fan of the Dark Tower series so I was excited when it continued with the graphic novels. I keep reading graphic novels because my bf keeps recommending ones for me to read.

  4. I’m so glad to discover your blog, as I’ve just started reading graphic novels!

    1. It’s a toss-up between Skim by Mariko and Jillian Tamaki and The Impostor’s Daughter by Laurie Sandell (for favourites GNs, that is).

    2. I don’t have any favourite writers or artists yet, as I haven’t read enough in this genre.

    3. I guess people perceive reading GNs/comics as something kids do, but that’s similar to the negative rep of YA: it’s a matter of finding the GNs that appeal to you. I started with a graphic memoir (and I love memoirs), so the transition was easy for me. What appeals to me is the way the illustrations enrich the story being told. I’m too new to this genre to feel comfortable making recommendations, though. It depends so much on what other type of books the person likes to read!

    4. I have yet to watch a movie adaptation of a GN/comic that I’ve read although I intend to read and then watch Persepolis.

    5. I use both “graphic novel” and “comic,” though I tend to use “graphic novel” more often. I think of GNs as books that happen to be comics whereas comic is a more general term that includes serialized stories (if that makes sense).

    6. Although I read things like Astérix & Obélix, Tintin, Lucky Luke and Yoko Tsuno when I was a kid, I hadn’t read any graphic novels or comics in years until I picked up The Impostor’s Daughter by Laurie Sandell recently. I loved it and it spurred me on to read at least a dozen other graphic novels or memoirs.

    Thanks for this great giveaway. I’m enjoying reading the other comments and picking up more titles I can try to find at my library!

  5. 1. Name a graphic novel that you love (your favorite) or if you haven’t read one, one that you’d like to read.

    I love love loved Alice in Sunderland but I can’t wait to read V for Vendetta!

    2. Do you have a favorite graphic novel artist/writer?

    I fell in love with the style of Bryan Thomas.

    3. Why do you think some people are reluctant to read graphic novels and what would you recommend to someone who is reluctant to read them?

    I think they’re not used to it. It took me some getting used to when I was reading my first graphic novel. It takes practice to be able to look at the photos and read without being thrown off by either or both. A few folks at old job were “territorial” about what a “book” was. They didn’t want graphic novels and comic books that their kids read to be considered literature. I say pshaw to them.

    4. What’s the best graphic novel/comic book movie adaptation you’ve seen?

    Hmm… I’ve only seen Watchmen and I really enjoyed the graphic novel better.

    5. Do you use the term “graphic novel” or “comic” and why?

    I use graphic novel because I think it better describes the actual thing itself. It has graphics to it but it remains a novel. I don’t think comic describes it as well but I don’t mind using it.

    6. What was the first graphic novel you read? Was it the reason you kept reading them or did it take a few more to interest you?

    I don’t remember the first one, I used to read them a lot when I was younger and then stopped. Not becuase they were bad but becuase my school library didn’t have any more that I hadn’t read. I’m super glad that I’ve started reading them again.

  6. Hi !

    1. Preacher from Ennis – it’s great !

    2. Neil Gaiman – i love everything i’ve read.

    3. I think that people are reluctant mostly because they link graphic novels to children books.

    4. SinCity

    5. Yes. I use the term Graphic Novel for big books with great pictures in special paper, and comics for jounal-like paper “comics”.

    6. I can’t recall… Maybe Neverwhere. I kept reading them because it’s a different way of telling a story and i like stories.

  7. 1. Name a graphic novel that you love (your favorite) or if you haven’t read one, one that you’d like to read.

    Well, I’ve only read 3 so far. I think I’d have to go with Watchmen. I really want to read more though, I wish my library had a better selection. I also loved the first two volumes of Bone, which is why I’m entering this giveaway. 😀

    2. Do you have a favorite graphic novel artist/writer?

    I don’t have a favorite yet, but I loved the way the art was done in Maus by Art Spiegelman.

    3. Why do you think some people are reluctant to read graphic novels and what would you recommend to someone who is reluctant to read them?

    I think some people are reluctant because they think graphic novels = comics = kids, but it’s definitely not true. I love the juxtaposition of pictures and words to create something more than just one of them.

    4. What’s the best graphic novel/comic book movie adaptation you’ve seen?

    Oh, I have no idea! I have seen a lot of movie adaptations of comics but have never read the graphic novel as well. To be honest, I’d go with Batman. I’ve never read any of the comments but I love all the movies, even the bad ones. The most recent two, especially Dark Knight, were fantastic. I hope that counts!

    5. Do you use the term “graphic novel” or “comic” and why?

    I’d use graphic novel. When I think of comics I often think of shorter serial ones and I really prefer to have a longer work. Sometimes they’re serial too, but I’d prefer not to wait month after month for each issue like some of my friends do.

    6. What was the first graphic novel you read? Was it the reason you kept reading them or did it take a few more to interest you?

    Watchmen was actually my first. As I said, I’ve only read three! I definitely liked it enough to keep going and I’m looking forward to reading many more.

  8. 1. Name a graphic novel that you love (your favorite) or if you haven’t read one, one that you’d like to read.

    All the GROO the Wanderer books!!

    2. Do you have a favorite graphic novel artist/writer?

    Sergio Aragones.

    3. Why do you think some people are reluctant to read graphic novels and what would you recommend to someone who is reluctant to read them?

    I think it’s because they haven’t been used to it. I didn’t think of myself as a graphic novel reader (I’ve only read very few of late) but often surprised that not many people enjoy them like I do. I realize it may be because I grew up reading mounds of comics from my dad’s collection.

    4. What’s the best graphic novel/comic book movie adaptation you’ve seen?

    Rurouni Kenshin/Samurai X!! I’m so in love with the series.

    5. Do you use the term “graphic novel” or “comic” and why?

    Not really sure about the distinction but graphic novel sounds more grownup and comic sometimes sounds like the funnies. Although I never knew about the term graphic novel until I was older, and am quite used to “comics.”

    6. What was the first graphic novel you read? Was it the reason you kept reading them or did it take a few more to interest you?

    Do the serial comics count? I mean, not the novelized ones? I don’t remember exactly the first one because all are mixed up in a huge bundle in my memories, but some of the first ones I’ve read were Boris Karloff Tales of Mystery and Space Family Robinson.

  9. P.S. Add to #6, if only novelized ones count, my first would be USAGI YOJIMBO.

  10. I can’t answer all those questions because I’ve only read 5 graphic novels, total. Wait, no . . . 4. Also, I have an inability to count. Okay, I’ll try.

    1. My favorite, so far, is American Born Chinese by Gene Luen Yang — which, of course, you recommended to me.

    2. I guess I’ll have to stick with good old Gene because I know so few, although I’ve liked the pictures I’ve seen from Shaun Tan’s graphic novels (at blog sites).

    3. Snobs like me are hesitant to dive into graphic novels because we don’t feel like they’re “real” books. The old “comic book” stigma is hard to shake. I got over that problem rather rapidly when I decided the time was right.

    4. The Phantom. Nobody seems to know it’s out there, but my whole family loves it.

    5. “Graphic novel” if it’s magazine thickness and has a slightly tougher binding and “comic book” if it’s held together with staples.

    6. I’m not sure. I think I might have read Flight, Vol. 1, first. It took me a few to warm up.

    Your blog deserves to be honored in many ways, Chris.

  11. This is a great idea!

    1. Too many to count! Skim and Safe Area Gorazde are the first two that come to mind.

    2. Well, I’ve only read one by each author, thus far, so I don’t think I’m prepared to say 🙂

    3. I think some people don’t think they’re good enough, that they’re not high literature or whatever. I say that’s ridiculous! The first place I was introduced to graphic novels/comics was in an upper level college English class, so there. I think some people are also just afraid that they won’t “get it” or won’t enjoy it. Everyone just needs to try, because they’re missing out on a whole genre that’s absolutely amazing.

    4. Persepolis!!!! But it’s the only one I’ve seen, so I’m not sure that it counts.

    5. Both! Depending on what I’m speaking about specifically.

    6. Jimmy Corrigan, Smartest Kid on Earth by Chris Ware. It’s really really intense. It’s over 500 pages long and the images are tiny and it’s pretty amazing. (and depressing) I highly recommend it.

  12. 1. I’d say that my favorite has to be Maus I & II.

    2. I love Kaoru Mori’s art in the Emma books.

    3. I think there’s a perception that graphic novels are only manga and that they are only going to appeal to kids who like pikachu. Depending on their tastes I would recommend either of the graphic novels I already mentioned, or maybe Persepolis.

    4. I haven’t seen a graphic novel adaptation, and even with adaptations for comics I don’t have a real favorite, even though I did like the last Batman movie.

    5. I use graphic novel for anything that’s in book form and has a continuous storyline throughout. I use the term comics for things like Garfield, Calvin & Hobbes, and also those that are like Marvel comics – Batman, Spiderman, or Archie comics.

    6. The first graphic novel I read was Maus because my husband was reading it for an English Lit class. I thought it looked interesting. That was back in the mid 90s. I didn’t even know that other graphic novels existed until I started blogging last year and then I was excited to explore new authors.

    This is a great giveaway! I’ve heard really good things about Bone and have been wanting to read it.

  13. 1. Name a graphic novel that you love (your favorite) or if you haven’t read one, one that you’d like to read.
    Preacher! The whole series.

    2. Do you have a favorite graphic novel artist/writer?
    I think the majority of the GNs I own were written by Neil Gaiman, and I adored Yoshitaka Amano’s art in The Dream Hunters.

    3. Why do you think some people are reluctant to read graphic novels and what would you recommend to someone who is reluctant to read them?
    I think a lot of it is snobbery, with equal parts ignorance. Sounds harsh but it’s true – I’ve had parents criticise me for encouraging their kids to read graphic novels when they’d never even picked one up themselves.

    4. What’s the best graphic novel/comic book movie adaptation you’ve seen?
    I adored V for Vendetta, I thought it was beautifully done and the changes they made made perfect sense. But then, I also adored Sin City, Watchmen, and Tim Burton’s Batman films.

    5. Do you use the term “graphic novel” or “comic” and why?
    I use the term graphic novel most of the time, because in my eyes they are novels told in pictures and words. I think the narrative is the important part, and if that’s communicated through images too, that makes it a graphic novel for me. I use comic for those that first appeared in single strips, such as Calvin and Hobbes. And yes, I know there’s a cross over point in there somewhere and I’m not sure where the line is 🙂

    6. What was the first graphic novel you read? Was it the reason you kept reading them or did it take a few more to interest you?
    The Sandman. I walked into school one had and my friend looked up at me, laughed and told me I looked like Death. I slapped him until he explained and handed over Preludes and Nocturnes. Instantly hooked!

  14. 1) Um does Buffy Season 8 count?
    2) I don’t know enough to have one yet. My 2010 New Year’s resolution is to learn about this world so..hopefully by next year’s BBAW?
    3) For me it’s a different sort of reading experience which is why I’m sometimes reluctant to read them. Because in reading our eyes like to travel over a page and make predictions (yes this is what happens when we read!) and in graphic novels they can’t do that in the same way, though obviously I think that the pictures aid the prediction. wow that was a run-on sentence. I say to the reluctant one…let’s try it together! 🙂
    4)I have high hopes for Surrogates but The Dark Knight maybe? I haven’t read the graphic novels but the film was better than a lot of films based on graphic novels. (rich mythology probably helps)
    5) I prefer the term graphic novel!!! To me, it sounds more adult. (but not in THAT way!) But I know those who bleed true comics often prefer the term comics. 🙂
    6) Buffy…but really it was going to Comic Con these past two years and reading book blogs that has made me want to get into it more.

  15. 1. Neil Gaiman’s Sandman series.

    2. Mike Carey

    3. Because they think that graphic novels are for kids. I would give them a copy of Sandman and get them hooked, the way I got hooked.

    4. Watchman

    5. Graphic novel because it sounds more dignified.

    6. Again, Neil Gaiman’s Sandman.

    lesly7ch(at)yahoo(dot)com

  16. If I could only figure out how to squeeze maybe 4 more hours in a day!! Then I could read every one of the BBAW interviews, memes, giveaways…etc. I’ve hit more new blogs today then I have in ages. Such fun!!

    And now you are making me work!! At least it’s fun.

    1. As you know, this year marks the reading of my FIRST ever Graphic Novel. And so far, I haven’t found one I didn’t like. But to say favorite?? Sheesh. I’d have to go with either The Sandman Series, or the Fables Series.

    2. Umm….can I just use the same answers?? I don’t think I’ve actually read enough to declare a favorite. But, at the same time, I can’t imagine anything better than Neil Gaiman and Bill Willingham.

    3. Like I said, I just read my first one this year, so I totally get that people are reluctant. When I was growing up, my brother used to read all sorts of Marvel comics. I wrote them off as childish. I guess I was a reading snob even back then! And it just stuck. But today’s GN are nothing like the comics of yesterday. You can find the most beautiful artwork, the best storylines, or the most adult content in a GN. Besides, you always try something at least once. You won’t know what you are missing otherwise. I can’t believe I’ve gone through life without GN’s!

    4. The ones I’ve seen, I haven’t read. But the Watchman was brillant. And 300 was incredible too. (of course that might have more to do with Gerard Butler’s abs and less about the GN!)

    5. I say both. GN seems so much more adult. But the kids will look at my library hauls and say, “Mom’s reading Comics Again!”. So I use both.

    6. See Above! Preludes & Nocturnes, The Sandman Vol. 1 was my very first. It was so incredibly amazing that I couldn’t help myself but read more. Right now, I have 4 from the library( American Born Chinese, Girl Genius, Fables 3 and Sandman 3) and I just bought my very first this week.

  17. If this is open to Canadian addresses, count me in!

    1. Thieves & Kings by Mark Oakley. There are others that I think are superior but I enjoy rereading T&K.

    2. If I HAD to pick a favourite, I probably would just go with Mark Oakley.

    3. Some people consider them to be for kids. Some consider them lowbrow. Some complain about the price. I’d recommend Louis Riel by Chester Brown.

    4. I haven’t really been impressed by any comic movie adaptation that I’ve seen but I do enjoy The Crow and Sin City.

    5. Depends on who I’m talking to/my mood/whichever term comes to mind first because I know some people who insist there’s a difference between the terms and I usually want to avoid provoking a rant…and if I’m speaking to anyone else, I don’t usually care either way…sometimes I’ll use them interchangeably or refer to the novel-like ones as graphic novels and all the rest as comics.

    6. I had a Winnie the Pooh comic book and a Donald Duck comic book as a kid. And mini-comics came with my She-Ra action figures. I thought they were fantastic even back then.

  18. 1. Watchmen

    2. Rick Geary

    3. They think they are all superheroes or are for kids. I’d recommend they read any of Rick Geary’s Victorian Crime Series.

    4. I haven’t seen one. Don’t do movies much.

    5. Graphic novel. To me comics are something to make you laugh, like the Sunday Funnies.

    6. I honestly can’t remember. I grew up reading comic books, superhero stuff, Batman, Wonder Woman, Aquaman, Superman, Captain America, I could go on and on, somewhere along the way I stopped reading them. Then later in life starting reading the “graphic novel” editions that bound up several issues together in one book. But apart from those, my first non superhero graphic novel was The Dark Goodbye Vol. 1 by Frank Farraffino.

  19. 1) I’m terrible at choosing favourites, but one that I love is Louis Riel by Chester Brown.

    2) No, I don’t.

    3) I think people associate pictures in books with children’s books or assume they’re all about superheroes. I’d point these people toward graphic novels that aren’t very similar to superhero comics, like Louis Riel, Persepolis, or Maus.

    4) I can’t think of one that I’ve seen. I don’t watch many movies.

    5) I use both terms, but not for the same purpose. To me, comics are short and published at regular intervals like magazines, and graphic novels are longer and published as books.

    6) The first was probably one of the Asterix books. I kept reading them for a few months in elementary school, but after that I didn’t read any for a long time. I think the one that got me started again was Persepolis.

  20. 1. My favourite graphic novels over all are the books in the Fables series! Such a great series. 🙂

    2. Bill Willingham and company

    3. Well, I was reluctant to read graphic novels because I am a reader. I have a really hard time with reading the words and remembering to concentrate on the pictures. It took me a while to get passed that and I still prefer novels to graphic novels. A good recommendation is Maus or Persepolis.

    4. I don’t even know. I am not a huge movie watcher.

    5. I say graphic novel. No real reason. Just what I say.

    6. I actually came up with this question because I was thinking about the answer. The very first graphic novel I read was Persepolis. I liked it, but I still couldn’t get over my graphic novel issues. This was a couple years ago now. It took me until this year to start reading them regularly. I took another chance and started reading FABLES, and then the library has been a bit help.

  21. I would LOVE to win this!!
    Thankyou!! :D:D:D
    My favorite is “coreline, the graphic novel”.
    -Lindsay

    lindsay15photo@gmail.com

  22. 1. Name a graphic novel that you love (your favorite) or if you haven’t read one, one that you’d like to read. – Castle Waiting by Linda Medley

    2. Do you have a favorite graphic novel artist/writer? I really love Ted Naifeh.

    3. Why do you think some people are reluctant to read graphic novels and what would you recommend to someone who is reluctant to read them? They’re still thought of as the evil comic book and there really is quite a variety to read nowadays. I would suggest to them giving it a try in a genre they enjoy – nonfiction, fiction, fantasy, etc. 🙂

    4. What’s the best graphic novel/comic book movie adaptation you’ve seen?
    V for Vendetta

    5. Do you use the term “graphic novel” or “comic” and why?
    Graphic Novel – cause I’m so PC. 😀 No, that’s really just the way I grew up knowing them.

    6. What was the first graphic novel you read? Was it the reason you kept reading them or did it take a few more to interest you?

    I believe… it was Fables by Bill Willingham. One of my college professors suggested it to me. I loved the series and when I ate up all of the published ones, my teacher guided me to the Sandman series – my obsession just grew from there.

  23. Woot! More fun questions 🙂

    1. Name a graphic novel that you love (your favorite) or if you haven’t read one, one that you’d like to read.
    My favorite and the first graphic novel (not counting traditional comic books) that I read was Maus.

    2. Do you have a favorite graphic novel artist/writer?
    Not really, there are so many different artists with different styles and it really depends on how well it matches up with the specific story the book is telling.

    3. Why do you think some people are reluctant to read graphic novels and what would you recommend to someone who is reluctant to read them?
    I’m not really sure. I have had people tell me that graphic novels aren’t real books, or that they can’t tell as strong a story as text based works.

    4. What’s the best graphic novel/comic book movie adaptation you’ve seen?
    I loved Watchmen, Sin City and The Crow. I thought all three stayed pretty close to the originals which is very important to me in screen adaptations.

    5. Do you use the term “graphic novel” or “comic” and why?
    I use graphic novel or comic depending on who I’m talking to and how they relate to the different concepts. It’s just easier that way.

    6. What was the first graphic novel you read? Was it the reason you kept reading them or did it take a few more to interest you?
    Like I said above Maus was the first I read and it made me realize that comics could be so much more than superheroes and science fiction.

Leave a Reply

