Some Book Blogger Love

Amy came up with some special posts that we can do if we choose every day during BBAW, and Monday’s post was to list some of your favorite book bloggers that didn’t make the shortlists. There are SO SO many book bloggers that I follow and love!! More of you than you know. I must admit that I’m horribly guilty of lurking at so many blogs :p I really need to get better at that. So I though instead of listing every blog I follow, I’d list some of those blogs that I’ve followed since I’ve started blogging that didn’t make the shortlists. These are some of the people that I consider myself closest too, though there are many new to me bloggers that I’ve become very close to as well. Anyway, here’s just a small sample of some of the blogs that I love and I hope that you’ll start following some of this amazing content and the amazing people behind it if you don’t already!

Debi at Nothing of Importance – Oh, how I love this woman. There aren’t enough words to describe just how sweet and genuine of a person she is. She’s the first book blogger that I’ve actually met. She actually made a special trip (her and her whole amazing family) to come see me during her last vacation. So sweet!! It was a couple of days in my life that I will always cherish. Her blog is one of my daily stops even when I don’t have time to blog hop. My day isn’t complete unless I’ve stopped by her blog. Her post are so great…I love her book babble, the pictures of her family, and I think my favorite posts of all are the ones where she just talks. God I love those. The only thing I hate about Debi is her blog name :p But I’m fighting a losing battle there :/

Pat AKA Deslily at Here, There, and Everywhere – I found a true kindred spirit in Pat and I think when we started talking over email, it was the first time that I realized the power of this medium to form true relationships. Pat is such a beautiful person who has lived such an amazing life. We’ve recently started talking over the phone too and we literally never run out of stuff to talk about!! I say, “hey mama, it’s me” and the next thing we know, an hour and a half has passed!! I absolutely love Pat’s chatty style book reviews, I’m obsesses with her “pond posts”, and I love the little extras she adds like all of her animations and photos 🙂 She’s an amazing artist and I just hope that someday people get to read her writing. It is I.N.C.R.E.D.I.B.L.E.! And so is Pat 🙂

Nancy AKA Bookfool at Bookfoolery and Babble – Nancy is another super sweet woman and I just love stopping by her blog! We don’t always have the most common reading taste and I have to admit to occasionally skipping her book reviews and scrolling down to the bottom of her posts where I know I’ll get some pictures and news about the family, or the latest adventures in the life of a Bookfool 🙂 I ALWAYS have stuff to talk about over at her blog!! I swear…I feel horrible sometimes!! I leave the absolute longest comments over at her blog. Sometimes I’ll go over there and talk about things that don’t even have anything to do with what she wrote :p We share the same weather since she’s in Mississippi and I’m in Louisiana and we both have migraines, so we always have that to talk about :p She’s just a beautiful, warm person who radiates this aura of welcomeness and I just love her!

Kelly AKA Kailana at The Written World – I have to admit that I was horribly intimidated by Kelly for the LONGEST time when I first started blogging! I have no idea why! Once I got to know her I realized that she’s one of the friendliest people out there. Now we email each other all of the time and we’re known to have ridiculously long twitter conversations :p They can go on til 3 in the morning sometimes :p We have basically the exact same taste in books so we always have lots to talk about and she’s just become a really great friend! We even mentioned the other night that we could probably date if she lived closer :p Kelly AMAZES me with the amount of books that she consumes!! Seriously,she’s nearing 300 books for the year already…crazy!! And I just love her reviews. She adds so much to my wishlist!

Becky at Becky’s Book Reviews – Yes, Becky was nominated for best blog design, but I can’t believe that she wasn’t nominated for her content!!! I think it’s the only thing that I’m disappointed about with BBAW. Becky’s book reviews are possibly tied with Nymeth’s for being the most dangerous for one’s wishlist. She’s probably the most responsible for the YA books on my wishlist. What I love about Becky even more than her book reviews though is the person behind them. Seriously, do people get any more sweet than Becky?? She just radiates love. I remember being so super happy when she finally added a picture of herself to her blog so that I could see her 🙂 And I love going over there and seeing that warm, smiling face. She always has the best book recommendations for me and she was one of the first book bloggers that I really connected with when I found out that she shared my love of Orson Scott Card’s works!

CJ at My Year of Reading Seriously – I was so happy when CJ decided not to just have her blog last one year. I think Bookfool first introduced me to CJ’s blog and I enjoyed it right away!! CJ’s another sweetheart. She works the same hours as me, so I found a friend right away in that 😉 Even more than that though, I cherish CJ’s advice. It seems that whenever I’m having a really rough time, CJ comes through with something that puts something in a whole new perspective and makes it better. And I just love her blog. Her book reviews are fantastic and her thoughts on life are my favorite posts of hers. She writes so beautifully. It’s almost poetic.

Stephanie at Stephanie’s Confessions of a Book-a-Holic – Stephanie! Oh my…I almost forgot Steph! Steph is like my big sister :p We have like the exact same taste in music and books and always have stuff to talk about. I just want to get her down here to visit me in New Orleans!! Lord knows she needs a break. Stephanie is another top ranker of adding things to my wishlist. She writes a mean review! And I mean that in a good way of course 😉 When Steph loves a book, you almost can’t help but add it to your wishlist. Her enthusiasm just shines right through. To be honest, I usually just skip her summaries and go straight to her thoughts on a book because that is what will tell me whether or not I need to read the book :p It really doesn’t matter what it’s about :p If she’s madly in love with it, I know I will be too!

And that’s really just the tip of the ice berg. There are SO many bloggers that I’ve just fallen for. My reader is well over 100 by now and I love every blog that’s on there. I’m very picky. And of those “over 100” I probably comment regularly on maybe 25? So just because you don’t see comments doesn’t mean I’m not reading!! If you comment here, I’m reading your blog…Just know that. Plus I follow many more blogs in addition to those that stop by here. I always feel horrible that I don’t comment on everyone’s blog, but lets be honest, there’s only so much time in a day :/ There are many other blogs that I’ve been following since the beginning too that I still love that I didn’t mention here…Ooooh!! Bellezza!!!! Go subscribe to her!!! I really need to do a part 2…I think I’ll do that soon…I keep thinking of more people :/ Ok, that’s it for now!

14 Responses

  1. You picked some great blogs and shared some very kind words about them. 🙂

  2. Totally agree with you 100% about Becky. I have read so many books based on her recommendation. And she’s a uber blogger. She simply amazes me.

  3. Well, that was enjoyable! You know what, with a couple additions, my list would be like exactly the same! (And, with my name taken off, of course!) I laughed at what you had to say about me. I can’t imagine being intimidating. You should see me in person! I am just a little person. No threat at all! So intimidating is not something I hear all that often! I am glad you enjoy my blog. I love yours, too! 🙂

  4. Holy cow.

    You are not, I repeat, not allowed to make the public safety officer cry while she is at work.

    I have a reputation to protect!

    Man, Chris, you seriously brought tears to my eyes with your very kind words. Thank you very much. You, and the others like you, are such a wonderful benefit of doing this. You’ve enriched my world more than I can say. Thank you again!

    cjh

  5. I could sit here and cry or.. i could act like “mama2” and say that as my son you had better read my blog!

    I”m very glad anyone like the “pond” posts! they have helped keep me going. it’s hard to keep going sometimes, but taking photo’s and reading,even if only to blog helps!

    I know what you mean about all the blogs we each wind up reading..i just shake my head at it all. I’m not sure how I fell into all of this, but sure glad I did!

    (there’s not one you listed that I don’t read and agree with you!!)

  6. Chris, you are so sweet!! I think we started blogging about the same time, and I know you are one of my first real friends out here, in this huge blogging world. I love you dearly, and just know that one day, I will be on your doorstep, making you give the real Grand Tour of New Orleans!

    I agree with the rest of your list as well. In fact, I have most of them, including you, on the list I wrote last night!

  7. Okay, so I just get done writing this post that has me crying away. Then I pop over here and read those lovely things you said about me, and like I’m somehow supposed to not start crying all over again. Thank you, my dear sweet friend. Thank you. And even though you know the feelings mutual…you can go read about it. I got cranky that I didn’t get to talk about my most-loved friends of all because you guys were shortlisted, so I went ahead and made a post anyway. 😉

    And one more thought before I go…”honored” doesn’t begin to describe how I feel to be on a list with these people!!!

    Okay, I lied. One more thought…you were not the only one surprised that Becky didn’t make one of the shortlists for content! I was flabbergasted! We love you, Becky!

  8. LOL I see both of us were in awe of Kailana’s amazing read count! We’re doing a joint review at the moment and you’re right she’s fab person too!

  9. So many great bloggers you listed there!!! Love them! 🙂

  10. What i get the most stressed out about is that I don’t comment enough on people’s blogs! I try so hard, but only manage a handful of comments a week. I’m happy to know that there are others out there who read/don’t comment as well!! 🙂

  11. Ohmygosh!!! You have to move to Canada, date Kelly, marry her and have a half-dozen little book nuts!! That’s the coolest thing I’ve ever read!

    I skim some of your blog posts, too, because of that taste diversity thing. But, I LOVE your long chatty comments. Keep them up. I feel a little empty and lonely when you don’t manage to comment.

    Thanks for including me in your list with so many awesome bloggy people!!! Love ya bunches. But, you knew that. I hope you didn’t have a migraine like mine, yesterday. It was a humdinger. Today was pleasant (but I have an earache — yeeeeow). Hope you’re feeling good. Did I tell you I love your new office??

  12. SIX KIDS? hahaha I think you might be pushing things a bit there, Nancy! Besides, I doubt Chris could handle a Canadian winter, could you, Chris? It snows… ALL the time!

    And, thanks, Bart. 🙂

  13. Maybe you guys could meet halfway, then . . . Kansas and three kids. 😉

  14. Nancy: hahaha! I don’t know if that is any better, but it is better than six kids. That’s for sure!

Leave a Reply

