BBAW Giveaway! A Spooky Read

BBAWCelebrateBooks

Happy Book Blogger Appreciation Week everyone!!! As you might be able to guess, I just love book bloggers πŸ™‚ They make me happy, you all make me happy. And I love BBAW because it celebrates all of us and all we do and all we love. So what better way to spread the love than to spread some books around! I’m going to do a few giveaways throughout the week (at least that’s the plan for now) so keep your eyes peeled for some more. But I want to start with one of my favorite reads from last year that embodied everything I love about blogging really.

darkharvestfullThat book is Dark Harvest by Norman Partridge. I discovered this delightfully creepy book after reading Carl’s wonderful review of it. As usual, I went out and bought it right after reading that review and saved it to read during my favorite reading challenge, the RIP reading challenge. So I figured, what better time to give this book away than during another RIP challenge! I also read this one during the 24 hour read-a-thon last year, so maybe you can do the same!! It’s a great read for midnight!

What I love about this book is that it harkens back to the days of good old horror novels. Every year, a jack-o-lantern is unleashed upon the town and all of the young children in the town are set out against it to destroy it…only some of them don’t survive. It’s a truly terrifying story and one that’s just a perfect read for Halloween time. So I want to give it to one person who answers the following questions. I’m taking this idea from Nymeth πŸ˜‰ I’m just changing the questions up.

1. What’s one of your all time favorite creepy, gothic, horror, suspense, thriller reads?

2. Do your reading habits change during the Fall months? Do your find yourself reading different types of books? Reading in different places?

3. Do you have any fun or unique Halloween traditions? Do any of them include reading or specific books?

4. Any favorite Halloween movies?

5. Random question: Name a book (any book) that you think everyone should read RIGHT NOW!

Answer these five questions and you’re in the draw for this awesome book! Feel free to either answer them in the comments of this post or do your own post on your blog and link back to it in the comments here. I’ll draw a winner for all of these contests on the last day of BBAW. Good luck! And happy Fall reading!

39 Responses

  1. Sounds like fun! I love answering these questions!

    1. Hands down, it’s The Stand by Stephen King. I love (almost all of) his books anyway. But The Stand is by far his greatest accomplishment. The book is just soooooo good, you can’t put it down. And in the dead of the night when you are alone, it will bring the shivers!

    2. I do generally tend to read more scary books in anticipation of Halloween. At this point though I don’t know whether that’s because of RIP or Halloween! I actually read outside a lot more in the fall. I hate the humidity of summer, but fall is just perfect.

    3. We always go to Tanner’s Farm for apple and pumpkin picking at the beginning of Oct. I love to make homemade cinnamon dutch apple pies. And apple turnerovers. And baked apples. And Apple Cake….you get the idea?? The kids love to carve the pumpkins for our front porch. And usually the Saturday before Halloween, we overdose on scary movies, said apple turnovers, and popcorn!

    4. Halloween! The original Michael Myers still gives me the creeps. And the Exorcist scared the bejesus out of me. I actually try NOT to watch that one too much. Oh, the original Nightmare on Elm Street. That is truly the stuff of nightmares. I loved the Scream movies. They were totally campy, but so much fun!

    5. The Hunger Games. I know you are going to say the Knife of Never Letting Go, so it’s steadily moving it’s way up the pile!

  2. Ohh that book looks cool…

    1. Wuthering Heights. I adore the setting, and the sense of darkness that pervades the whole novel. I watched the recent TV adaptation that was shown over here and was bitterly disappointed that they’d utterly miscast Heathcliff and taken all the fire out of Cathy, so I’ll have to read it again very soon, just to recover.

    2. The music that I listen to changes in autumn, but the reading habits stay the same, just with the edition of a blanket to stop my knees getting hold, and possibly a greater reliance on tea. Sarah McLachlan is my favourite autumn music.

    3. I wear black for the day and I always get a pumpkin and leave it lit overnight. This year I’m doing a big Halloweeny horror display in the library, we’ll be reading spooky stories outloud at lunch time the day after with candles lit. I’m looking forward to it!

    4. Practical Magic. I’m in love with that house.

    5. Jackdaw Summer, by David Almond. This book is currently contending with The Graveyard Book as my favourite for the Carnegie Award.

    πŸ™‚

  3. hey Chris.. I’m NOT entering the contest but i’ll try to answer the questions..

    1. I will say the response to question 1 and 5 would be the same, and that would be The Thirteenth Tale. An excellent Gothic mystery! I don’t do “horror” very well so that’s the best I can do.. but no one who likes gothic mystery should pass up the Thirteenth Tale!

    2. My reading habit didn’t use to change during the year, at least not because of what month of the year it is. I would pick up different books more because I’d get burned out on something or other and so get something “different” to get kick started again. But now i do follow Carls RIP and read books just for that, and look forward to a “reason” to change what I read.

    3. I used to do the Halloween thing when my kids were small.. plus fall was a time I love to bake so we’d do country rides for pumpkins and apples and such..but I don’t do anything for Halloween now.

    4. I’m all for the old back and white movies like Dracula and Frankenstein, The Mummy, or Rebecca than the new horror movies.

    Number 5 is same as number 1 .. :o)
    Remember I’m NOT entering this contest though.. great questions Chris!!

  4. 1. What’s one of your all time favorite creepy, gothic, horror, suspense, thriller reads?
    We Have Always Lived in the Castle by Shirley Jackson and Tideland by Mitch Cullin. WHY haven’t you read those yet, Chris? πŸ˜›

    2. Do your reading habits change during the Fall months? Do your find yourself reading different types of books? Reading in different places?
    They do now because of RIP πŸ˜› As for reading in different places…I actually read in my reading chair by the window more. When I can get my cat to actually let me sit there, that is. He tends to go, “Noooooez! Chair iz mine!!!”

    3. Do you have any fun or unique Halloween traditions? Do any of them include reading or specific books?
    No…my little corner of the world doesn’t do Halloween.

    4. Any favorite Halloween movies?
    This is Halloween, this is Halloween
    In this town, we call home
    Everyone hail to the pumpkin song
    πŸ˜€

    5. Random question: Name a book (any book) that you think everyone should read RIGHT NOW!
    The Ask and the Answer πŸ˜‰

  5. One of these days, the smiley police is going to come for me.

  6. Great giveaway Chris!

    1: I think that would have to be Coraline by Neil Gaiman. Such a deliciously creepy book.

    2: Other than picking books for the RIP challenge πŸ˜‰ they stay pretty much the same as the rest of the year.

    3: Not really, Halloween isn’t that big an event over here, sure, we get costumed kids at the door but that is about it. Our big autumnal event is bonfire night.

    4: Well unlike all my mates I really enjoyed The Blair Witch Project, however I never really watched since it was on at the cinema, it wouldn’t work as well on multiple viewings.

    5: Another Gaiman: Neverwhere.

  7. 1. A Good and Happy Child made me cry because come on, children are terrifying.

    2. My habits have only changed this year b/c it’s my first RIP challenge.

    3. No fun Halloween traditions. Plan on starting a few when I have my own terrifying children.

    4. Nightmare Before Christmas, though it feels a bit out of season.

    5. Doomsday Book by Connie Willis. Not…seasonal per se, but SO GOOD.

  8. I’m afraid my answers are going to be kind of boring, but I’d love to win the book so I’m going to try…
    1. I don’t really have one. I haven’t read much of this type of books. I really enjoyed The Thirteenth Tale, but it wasn’t super creepy.
    2. My reading habits don’t really change with the seasons. I tend to get really into a certain genre or author and read a bunch at a time, but it doesn’t really correspond to the time of year.
    3. No fun and unique halloween traditions. (Unless you count moving, because this will be the third year in a row that we’ve moved at this time of year, not hoping to make it a tradition though!)
    4. I DO NOT like Halloween movies. Period.
    5. Hmm…this is a tough one. I think it would depend on the person who was asking for the recommendation. I really enjoyed The Book of Negroes by Lawrence Hill.

  9. So fun-it’s like a meme book giveaway! lol

    1. Something Wicked This Way Comes by Ray Bradbury

    2. I read outside more, since it’s no longer super-hot and I can wear more clothes to protect me from UV rays (lol-I don’t burn, but I don’t want wrinkles or skin cancer!). And of course, the R.I.P. challenge gets me reading more suspense books. πŸ™‚ Other than that, I don’t think my reading habits change!

    3. I don’t think I have any fun or unique Halloween traditions! It is one of my fave holidays though. πŸ˜€

    4. Hocus Pocus!!!! Love it!!!

    5. Complications, since it’s about doctors and medicine and so relevent to US current events. πŸ™‚

  10. 1. Can I say a short story? ‘Cause I’m over the moon about “Sredni Vashtar” by Saki. It’s this tiny little thing, but it’s got such an awesome sense of menace to it. I also love “Gestella” by Susan Palwick. Give me short horror and I am a happy girl.

    2. I find that I crave creepy reads as soon as the weather starts cooling off. This year we had a really cold, rainy summer, so I wanted some ghost stories in the middle of July!

    3. I can’t think of any. I should make one up!

    4. I’m with Eva: I love Hocus Pocus. It was my absolute favourite movie when I was a kid. I used to watch it all year, not just at Hallowe’en.

    5. TIGANA

  11. Blarg, I somehow hit the submit thingy before I was done. I was gonna say TIGANA, because that’s what I always say whenever anyone asks me what they absolutely need to read. πŸ™‚

  12. 1. We Have Always Lived in the Castle. That’s about as creepy as I can usually stand.

    2. Sometimes. Last year I read the above book and Coraline around Halloween…that was fun. And I always read in the same cushy chair with a blanket because it’s foggy where I live.

    3. The only tradition I have is to hide and ignore the trick-or-treaters. Sad, I know, but when I was teaching I really didn’t want the kids knowing where I lived. And now, we get very few trick-or-treaters…so in an effort to avoid a bowl of leftover candy, I just try to ignore the whole thing.

    4. I don’t like scary movies! Unless watched with a large group of people and much mocking is involved.

    5. The Calligrapher’s Daughter.

  13. 1. Thirteenth Tale
    2. No, I don’t read differently, just wrapped up in my favorite quilt.
    3. Not really, just buying a ton of candy and then because we live out of town, we only get about 5 trick or treaters. We eat all the candy.
    4. Any old Dracula movies
    5. The Cave by Steve McGill a book for YA but I found it quite scary.
    annarudow at gmail dot com

  14. 1. IT….scariest book I have ever read hands down.

    2. My habits don’t change…I think I tend to read more in the Fall though

    3. No traditions. I don’t usually do anything for Halloween. Trick or Treaters don’t even come down my street.

    4. I love all the Halloween cartoons that come on.

    5. Vampire Academy by Richelle Mead

    throuthehaze at gmail dot com

  15. I’m definitely ready to get the spooky reading going for this Fall!

    1. What’s one of your all time favorite creepy, gothic, horror, suspense, thriller reads?

    For a classic thrill, I’ll always love Mary Shelley’s FRANKENSTEIN! My contemporary spooky-needs tend to be assuaged by CORALINE by Neil Gaiman.

    2. Do your reading habits change during the Fall months? Do your find yourself reading different types of books? Reading in different places?

    Well, I always make sure to read thematically appropriate books during October especially: you know, THE HALLOWEEN TREE by Ray Bradbury, DRACULA by Bram Stoker, CORALINE by Neil Gaiman, THE GRAVEYARD BOOK by Neil Gaiman, FRANKENSTEIN by Mary Shelley, etc.

    I don’t read in different places, though, considering I read just about anywhere all year long.

    3. Do you have any fun or unique Halloween traditions? Do any of them include reading or specific books?

    Well, see above re: the types of books I tend to read in the Fall. πŸ˜‰ Other Halloween traditions involve Halloween BPAL scents, a change in wardrobe (darker colors, thematically-keyed shirts), and blogging about various Halloween-related traditions and media.

    4. Any favorite Halloween movies?

    I am a sucker for vampire movies, which I love to trot out during October for Halloween-esque delight. I also have an annual viewing of ROCKY HORROR PICTURE SHOW.

    5. Random question: Name a book (any book) that you think everyone should read RIGHT NOW!

    Since I’ve mentioned it so often in this interview, I’m going to say CORALINE by Neil Gaiman!

  16. 1. Definitely Neverwhere. Mr. Croup & Mr. Vandemar definitely two of the best villains in fiction.

    2. When it starts getting cooler outside (so not yet!), I start the morning sitting outside with a book and a cup of coffee. Lovely.

    3. I always go to the block party by the university – though I usually have an idea for a costume by now. I’m totally scared I won’t think of one in time!

    4. Blech, no. I do not do scary movies.

    5. Watership Down! Watership Down Watership Down! Or else, on days when I haven’t just read a disappointing book by the author of Watership Down, The Color Purple.

    Thanks for doing the giveaway!

  17. 1. I love thrillers!!

    2. I tend to read more in the colder months since I am indoors more often and there is less to do.

    3. Not really. Just the normal giving out candies to the kiddies.

    4. Yes, Halloween! I still have nightmares about Michael Myers!

    5. Twilight!! Its the best!

  18. Thanks for this fun giveaway, Chris! I’ve been wanting to read that one since Carl reviewed it, too. My library doesn’t own it. 😦 So maybe I’ll get lucky. Here are some answers for you:

    1. My all-time favorite creepy reads is “The Dreams in the Witch House” by H.P. Lovecraft (I’m hoping to do a short story RIP reread of that soon).

    2. R.I.P. has definitely impacted my reading for this time of year, as has having children and bringing out the Halloween books along with the decorations, which makes them extra special, since they just come out once a year. As far as where I read, as the weather turns colder I unfortunately have to leave my favorite reading spot on the deck out back and move inside (preferably to the chaise side of our sofa in the family room, which I admittedly hog quite a bit, but the rest of the family doesn’t seem to mind too much!).

    3. This year we’re having our second annual Halloween party, so I’m looking forward to that. I love making decorations with my kids and trick-or-treating, and we have an annual outdoor neighborhood party that’s become a tradition, too. I think my favorite thing is pulling out all the decorations and putting on spooky music and getting into the spirit!

    4. Movies – Shaun of the Dead, which is so much fun. And The Haunting (the old black and white one) – oh, and Something Wicked This Way Comes is a good one, too.

    5. Right now everyone should read Nation by Terry Pratchett. Now! Now!

  19. You know, since I have this book and don’t want to be entered in the drawing, I thought, “Well, I can just save my brain some work and not answer the questions.” But then I thought, “Not very sporting of you there, Debi.” So, I’ll give it a try here…
    1. I automatically think Stephen King. And The Stand. But then, I actually think of it as more post-apocalyptic than horror. So, maybe I’ll go with Something Wicked This Way Comes. Or We Have Always Lived in a Castle. Or Dracula. Oh crap…there’s just too many good ones.
    2. Well, RIP has definitely helped bring me back to these genres that I’d ignored for a while. Something for which I am eternally grateful. And we read Halloween books with the kids throughout the month of October. πŸ˜€
    3. We have lots of fall-ish traditions, but while they’re all fun, I’m not sure any of them are unique (the pumpkin farm, car rides to see the fall leaves, pumpkin carving at the last minute, etc.). We do, of course, have a bookish one in reading Halloweeny stuff with the kids.
    4. A Nightmare Before Christmas.
    5. Damn. I was going to say Nation. Then I saw Darla right above me here said that. Tough. I’m saying it, too. Because everyone SHOULD read it!

  20. 1. It by Stephen King – I had to sleep with the light on for weeks after reading it as a kid.

    2. The books I read don’t change, but the location does. Spring and summer I love to read out on the deck out back. For fall, my favorite spot is my cozy reading chair in the corner of my bedroom, near the window.

    3. The carving of the pumpkin is a big event in our house, as is making the halloween cookies.

    4. The original Halloween. We watch it every Halloween – another tradition.

    5. The Ice and Fire series by George RR Martin – wonderful!

  21. 1. Almost anything by Poe — I love his works and they are always wonderfully creepy — The Tell Tale Heart is a good one!

    2. Outside of reading more (because I’m outside less) I don’t really change my reading habits.

    3. We have lots of Halloween traditions but the one involving books is for my kids — we always keep a set of Halloween books put away and when it gets closer to that time we pull them out so we can read them every night before bed. We try to add one new book each year to the collection also.

    4. The Great Pumpkin Charlie Brown — my kids and I watch that every year.

    5. Catching Fire (after having read the Hunger Games, of course) πŸ™‚

  22. 1) Twilight by Stephanie Meyer.
    2) I read different kind of books all year round. I love variety.
    3) I usually hide out with the lights out and read.
    4) No favourite Halloween movies.
    5) The Grand Sophy by Georgette Heyer.

    wandanamgreb(at)gmail(dot)com

  23. Hi !
    I would like to enter the contest !

    1. As the sun goes down – Tim Lebbon

    2. Not in different places, but yes, i do read different books along the year – Shorter and lighter when i’m working.

    3. Nope – there’s no halloween tradition where i live.

    4. I like horror / terror, but i can’t recall any favourite.

    5. Perdido Street Station by Chine Mieville !

  24. I’ve given myself 24 hours to think of the answers and there are so many good horror books to chose from! Pick one, just pick one, Susan……

    My answers to your fabulous contest (and don’t you just love that book cover on the book you are offering? see, if I had known about this book before I would have bought by now, and then I would have had an easy answer to Nymeth’s first question in her contest!!!)
    1. The Shining, The Haunting of Hill House, The Woman in Black, are the first horror books that come to mind. Each of them scared me so much I had to have the lights on and people around in order to read them. And even then I didn’t want to be alone when the book ended!!

    2.I always read more horror/mystery from summer into fall. I’m not sure, it’s just what happens. I think I read so much fantasy in the spring that I get fantasied out. I don’t change places that I read or anything like that. I might read a little more in bed because the evenings are colder!

    3. Hmm…we carve Hallowe’en pumpkins every year – mine tend to scare little kids, too! Last year a little girl cried and wouldn’t come get candy! I might make reading The Night Country a yearly thing. That was such a haunting ghost story. I usually look for something new in horror to read around now too πŸ˜€ but there aren’t any regular Hallowe’en books the kids read because they are so young still.

    4. Hallowe’en, Nightmare on Elm Street – the first ones in both, they scare me so much I can barely watch them, but they are favourites anyway! Shaun of the Dead, The Haunting (1963)….but i’d have to say Hallowe’en is the Hallowe’en movie for me.

    5. Random question: The Night Country by Stewart O’Nan. You’ll never look at ghosts the same way again, or death, or think grief doesn’t leave marks.

  25. 1. Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

    2. No

    3. Not really

    4. The Nightmare before Christmas

    5. Hunger Games!!

  26. Please count me in. Thanks for the chance.

    1. One of my fav is Rose Madder, by Stephen King.
    2. No, I love spooky all year long.
    3. We always go on a hay ride the Sat before Halloween.
    4. My fav Halloween movie is Halloween Town.
    5. Everyone should read Dead until Dark, Charlaine Harris.

    lizzi0915 at aol dot com

  27. This looks like a really fun book….
    1. What’s one of your all time favorite creepy, gothic, horror, suspense, thriller reads?
    I am currently reading Frankenstein its good but the creepiest recently must be Let the Right One in.

    2. Do your reading habits change during the Fall months? Do your find yourself reading different types of books? Reading in different places?
    No – but I do try to read scary stuff around Halloween.

    3. Do you have any fun or unique Halloween traditions? Do any of them include reading or specific books?
    Pumpkin carving, candy to the neighborhood kids, and any kind of exhibit that is oriented around The Mexican day of the dead. Love it!

    4. Any favorite Halloween movies?
    Scary is always on my list but I highly recommend my favorite movie Pan’s Labyrinth. It is incredible on so many different levels.

    5. Random question: Name a book (any book) that you think everyone should read RIGHT NOW!
    The Wave by Todd Strasser – its looks really scary and its based on true events.
    Thanks and I believe that I am now a new reader.

  28. 1) Um, it takes a lot to creep me out. I do remember being really creeped out by the Silence of the Lambs.
    2)I prefer to read chilly darker reads in the fall.
    3) I don’t have any current ones, but when I was growing up we always had the kids make supper and watched a creepy movie. (my parents were fairly conservative Christians so we didn’t go Trick or Treating but once in my life–don’t worry, I loved our traditions and wouldn’t trade them for anything!) Now, I still watch something creepy or try to read a ghost story!
    4)I love creepy movies! But I also really really love Ernest Scared Stupid.
    5) I would love to see more people read Short Girls by Bich Minh Nguyen but I’m not sure everyone should read it!

  29. This sounds amazing! Even if I don’t win, I’ll definitely check out this book.

    1. There was this book I read as a kid about a scientist who made a cloud and the cloud got bigger and bigger and tried to eat him. It freaked me out as a child and even today, it was probably the scariest book I’ve read. If only I could remember the name.

    2. I don’t think my reading habits change at all.

    3. I’m boring and don’t do anything special on that day.

    4. Sleepy Hollow – not scary, but it always makes me think of Halloween.

    5. Worst Nightmares by Shane Briant

    ~ Popin

    proudbookworm[@]gmail[dot]com

  30. 1. I’d have to say The Stand by Stephen King. I took a whole summer to read it because I was so engrossed in it not wanting it to end.
    2. I read dark and more suspenseful book around fall and winter and chick lit and lighter stuff during the summer and spring.I think it’s weather related.
    3. Well, we practice a form of spirituality where Halloween is actually new years on our calendar so are quite busy but nothing really involves around books or reading.
    4. No favorite Halloween movies I am afraid.
    5. Dark Sister by Graham Joyce (it’s an old book)

  31. i love true crime books as thrillers that would be my all time favorite, it gets you into some ones mind and you see how people think

  32. 1–I loved Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
    2–I read different genres all throughout the year.
    3–We basically just have fun decorating the house and watch more scary movies during the Halloween week.
    4–We love the movie Sleepy Hollow with Johnny Depp.
    5–Hex Appeal by Linda Wisdom

  33. 1. What’s one of your all time favorite creepy, gothic, horror, suspense, thriller reads?

    A: A recent read for me that’s a true classic: Richard Matheson’s Hell House.

    2. Do your reading habits change during the Fall months? Do your find yourself reading different types of books? Reading in different places?

    A: I have two basic spots where I read–my bedroom and my living room. In the colder months, it’s in the living room where it’s warmer.

    3. Do you have any fun or unique Halloween traditions? Do any of them include reading or specific books?

    A: No Halloween traditions sadly, though this year I want to start by reading Halloween themed fiction every year. Ray Bradbury’s October Country for this year.

    4. Any favorite Halloween movies?

    A: You mean aside from “Halloween”? Nothing springs to mind.

    5. Random question: Name a book (any book) that you think everyone should read RIGHT NOW!

    A: Stephen King’s The Dark Tower (Book One): The Gunslinger. If you’re not hooked on Roland’s journey after this little novel, something may be wrong with you. πŸ™‚

  34. Dark Harvest has an awesome cover! Loving your questions too πŸ™‚

    1. What’s one of your all time favorite creepy, gothic, horror, suspense, thriller reads?
    The one book that scared me so bad I wanted the lights on 24/7 was House Of Leaves. I get creeped out by anything dealing with metaphysics, existentialism, relationism and this book had it all and more.

    2. Do your reading habits change during the Fall months? Do your find yourself reading different types of books? Reading in different places?
    In the time leading up to Halloween I read a lot more horror, thriller type books. Mainly because I cannot resist all the store displays that spotlight this kind of book.

    3. Do you have any fun or unique Halloween traditions? Do any of them include reading or specific books?
    Pretty normal, we carve lots of pumpkins, plan out costumes, go on some graveyard tours, ghostwalks, haunted houses. And the whole family watches loads of horror movies.

    4. Any favorite Halloween movies?
    I’m a die-hard horror fan – there aren’t too many Halloween-ish movies I don’t like πŸ˜›

    5. Random question: Name a book (any book) that you think everyone should read RIGHT NOW!
    Any of Alvin Schwartzs’ books from the Scary Stories To Tell In The Dark series. They’re classic, spooky and fun for all ages.

  35. 1. What’s one of your all time favorite creepy, gothic, horror, suspense, thriller reads? – All time?… I’m not sure. But recently, The Devouring by Simon Holt is great!

    2. Do your reading habits change during the Fall months? Do your find yourself reading different types of books? Reading in different places? – Not exactly… but I guess I do read a lot of paranormal books.

    3. Do you have any fun or unique Halloween traditions? Do any of them include reading or specific books? – My best friend and I dress up as characters from the books we’re currently writing!

    4. Any favorite Halloween movies? – I’m not sure… it’s hard to choose from among the wealth of horror and paranormal movies.

    5. Random question: Name a book (any book) that you think everyone should read RIGHT NOW! – Sucks to be Me by Kimberly Pauley!

    paradoxrevealed (at) aim (dot) com

  36. 1. The Castle of Otranto by Horace Walpole. Best. Gothic. Novel. EVAH!!! πŸ˜€

    2. Nope, all those change according to my mood, not the season.

    3. If I’m stuck at home in the evening, keep all the lights at the front of the house off and pretend no one’s in. πŸ˜‰

    4. It’s the Great Pumpkin, Charlie Brown

    5. Lois McMaster Bujold’s Vorkosigan Saga…from the beginning, right through. Not quite one book but oh well. πŸ™‚

  37. 1. What’s one of your all time favorite creepy, gothic, horror, suspense, thriller reads? – The Historian by Elizabeth Kostova –

    2. Do your reading habits change during the Fall months? Do your find yourself reading different types of books? Reading in different places? – Yes. I think it’s thanks to RIP that I start reading creepier, spookier, more mysterious books. –

    3. Do you have any fun or unique Halloween traditions? Do any of them include reading or specific books? – We have to watch The Nightmare Before Christmas at least 100 times. πŸ™‚ –

    4. Any favorite Halloween movies? – The Nightmare Before Christmas, Corpse Bride, and we’ll probably add Coraline to the mix –

    5. Random question: Name a book (any book) that you think everyone should read RIGHT NOW! THE KNIFE OF NEVER LETTING GO!!!! πŸ˜€

  38. 1. What’s one of your all time favorite creepy, gothic, horror, suspense, thriller reads? – Any of the Scary Godmother books by Jill Thompson. They are cute; I can’t really handle horror.

    2. Do your reading habits change during the Fall months? Do your find yourself reading different types of books? Reading in different places? – I think I read more during the fall. I always seem to take a vacation then and bring a half dozen or so books with me.

    3. Do you have any fun or unique Halloween traditions? Do any of them include reading or specific books? – Although Halloweekend is held annually at a friend’s house a few states away, I usually go every other year. It’s a weekend of Halloween fun for adults with a pumpkin carving contest and a costume party.

    4. Any favorite Halloween movies? – Sleepy Hollow is one of my favorites. I grew up watching the animated movie but Sleepy Hollow has more ambiance.

    5. Random question: Name a book (any book) that you think everyone should read RIGHT NOW! – Blink by Malcolm Gladwell.

  39. Hello, Chris! My first time on here (found your blog at BBAW on the tribute to Dewey) ^_^

    First off, I like the book’s cover and I think that’s a great sign that the book would be fabulous. Second, I’m not sure if I’ll be able to answer all the questions but I’ll try.

    1. What’s one of your all time favorite creepy, gothic, horror, suspense, thriller reads? – Battle Royale by Koushun Takami. Not super scary but it still gives me the creeps every time I think of the possible horror should the circumstances happen in real life.

    2. Do your reading habits change during the Fall months? Do your find yourself reading different types of books? Reading in different places? – Not so because I have postponed reading the ones in my TBR because I have notes and assignments for school that I have to attend to. Although the blogs that I frequently visit increased thanks to RIP and BBAW. (Chris, yours is one of blogs that just piqued my interest and the list is getting longer. ^_^)

    3. Do you have any fun or unique Halloween traditions? Do any of them include reading or specific books? – We don’t do a Halloween party every year but we planning to have one this year. As for books, maybe starting this year as it’s my first time to join RIP.

    4. Any favorite Halloween movies? – anything works for me

    5. Random question: Name a book (any book) that you think everyone should read RIGHT NOW! The Hunger Games+Catching Fire and Cleopatra’s Daughter.

Leave a Reply

